Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

I found this article on the gold coast website. seemed a bit out of place.
http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/news/2013-10-04/kolodjashnij-on-the-rise

Knightmare do you reckon there's any chance gold coast will take Kolodjashnij with pick number 5?

It's pretty common for clubs to post these kinds of articles on their website before the draft. Particularly those club websites who post less content during the year you see plenty of draft based articles floating around on their websites.

I wouldn't take too much notice. It's not impossible, but it's not a reason to believe Kolodjashnij is a likely choice at 5.

I wouldn't worry too much about it. Our media people aren't that savy. Just trying to make the combine results appeal a bit more.
Would make sense as a first pick though, probably the best player of his type in the draft and I doubt you will be looking for too many pure mids this year. Ablett, Prestia, Swallow, Lonergan, O'Meara, Martin, Bennell, then more fringe players that would get games at most clubs like Rischa, Russell, and Shaw who can all run through there :eek::eek: Scary midfield potential! So Kade would possibly be on the radar at pick 5. Don't make me turncoat again, Bluey!

Hey KM just wondering if you know much about WA KPD Tom Barrass and wether or not he is much of a chance to get drafted in the main draft or more of a rookie option??
Any chance Lions would use 1st pick to land Blake Acres or Dom Sheed? From what I have read would love both these guys in Brissie.
cheers

Would make sense as a first pick though, probably the best player of his type in the draft and I doubt you will be looking for too many pure mids this year. Ablett, Prestia, Swallow, Lonergan, O'Meara, Martin, Bennell, then more fringe players that would get games at most clubs like Rischa, Russell, and Shaw who can all run through there :eek::eek: Scary midfield potential! So Kade would possibly be on the radar at pick 5. Don't make me turncoat again, Bluey!
I'll admit I don't know much about him. Would pick #5 be reaching?

I do think we need a type like him though. We're also apparently right into Acres, who I see is a similar size and can also play across half-back. If either of those are available at with our pick #18, I think we'll be very interested.

He probably doesn't go first round but I'd be surprised to see him slip past the second round. I have him comfortably inside my best 30 this year as one of the very few KPPs worth persuing.

I don't know enough about any disciplinary issues with Harvey. I've been exceptionally impressed by the work Harvey has put him to change his body and develop his game so I wouldn't be too concerned about Mitch the person and how he trains and prepairs going by the improvement I've seen.

All the better for Collingwood. Might be another year where we secure a quality big South Australian on the cheap. ;)
I have heard Harvey has Glandular fever this is why he is not playing and his testing was down

Hi Knightmare, first of all love your work, always a great read to see where you rate players..
My Question is in regards to Kelly. You currently have him at 21 in your power rankings which I understand is where you personally rate players. So are you saying in your opinion he isn't even a first round talent, where majority would have him as an absolute lock to be in the first 5 but more than likely top 3 come draft day.. Is the low ranking due to him being looked upon as a predominantly outside player, and in juniors he uses his elite endurance to outwork opponents and you have doubts about it translating at senior level? Also I'd just like to know what you see in Aish that you think his game will translate so much better at AFL level than that of Kelly because I wouldn't have them too far apart myself.
Thanks mate

I do think we need a type like him though. We're also apparently right into Acres, who I see is a similar size and can also play across half-back. If either of those are available at with our pick #18, I think we'll be very interested.
Hard to say because I don't know much about who else will be available at five, but Kade projects well as a future prospect and doubt he'll be available at 18, but is possible. If taken at five, would strongly doubt e'd be the worst number five in history. Guys with his height, athletecism, skills and ability to play all over the ground aren't dime a dozen. He reminds me a bit of Gibbs, similar type of player. Would be a good fit on the coast, but there may be better at that pick.

I would love Kade at pick 5.

I think this is one of those times where GC would see little benefit in taking someone like Dom Sheed at pick 5 (who I believe will probably be best available) as we really need someone like Kolidjinashnij. We would not regret that decision.

And then all I have to do is pray for Acres at 18 :)

Remember Sunny and Thurlow2Mackie we took Lonergan last year at pick 13 because he filled a need but he was touted to be more of a pick 18-25.

I think this is one of those times where GC would see little benefit in taking someone like Dom Sheed at pick 5 (who I believe will probably be best available) as we really need someone like Kolidjinashnij. We would not regret that decision.

And then all I have to do is pray for Acres at 18 :)

Remember Sunny and Thurlow2Mackie we took Lonergan last year at pick 13 because he filled a need but he was touted to be more of a pick 18-25.

Suns will be a real weapon in a few years time because you already have such a great young developing midfield (Omeara, Martin, Prestia, Lonergan, the list goes on) which you can guarantee will be awesome. You can start filling needs. You don't have a large amount of older players like other teams have either meaning you don't constantly need to replace people.

Even though Lonergan was a player who could make an immediate impact, I think you drafted him for with the long term in mind. It's always good to have a real tough guy to be in amongst the talented playmakers. I wouldn't be surprised at all if the suns recruited a player to fill a need, because another midfielder could be somewhat wasted. :)

Suns will be a real weapon in a few years time because you already have such a great young developing midfield (Omeara, Martin, Prestia, Lonergan, the list goes on) which you can guarantee will be awesome. You can start filling needs. You don't have a large amount of older players like other teams have either meaning you don't constantly need to replace people.

Even though Lonergan was a player who could make an immediate impact, I think you drafted him for with the long term in mind. It's always good to have a real tough guy to be in amongst the talented playmakers. I wouldn't be surprised at all if the suns recruited a player to fill a need, because another midfielder could be somewhat wasted. :)

Exactly. Agree with everything you just said.

Hi KM

What do you make of the Lions not bidding on Isaac Conway and Cain Tickner in the ND?

How likely is it that one or both will slip through to the RD in your mind?

Would other teams have put in much effort to scouting these guys and their performances during and after the championships?

Hey KM just wondering if you know much about WA KPD Tom Barrass and wether or not he is much of a chance to get drafted in the main draft or more of a rookie option??
Any chance Lions would use 1st pick to land Blake Acres or Dom Sheed? From what I have read would love both these guys in Brissie.
cheers

Barrass is a draft chance but not certainty. He's a late/rookie chance but I'd lean towards rookie draft if selected.

Acres and Sheed may well receive consideration.
I'm increasingly thinking Marcus Bontempelli might be a chance with the focus Brisbane put into finding those tall, high motor guys. Cameron McCarthy is another who I wouldn't be shocked to be considered.

In any case a wide range of guys will be strongly considered. No clear select at this stage super closely linked to Brisbane.

That 2-20 range is so even that you could really select anyone projected to go first round at pick 5 so Kolodjashnij is an option at that choice.

Hi Knightmare, first of all love your work, always a great read to see where you rate players..
My Question is in regards to Kelly. You currently have him at 21 in your power rankings which I understand is where you personally rate players. So are you saying in your opinion he isn't even a first round talent, where majority would have him as an absolute lock to be in the first 5 but more than likely top 3 come draft day.. Is the low ranking due to him being looked upon as a predominantly outside player, and in juniors he uses his elite endurance to outwork opponents and you have doubts about it translating at senior level? Also I'd just like to know what you see in Aish that you think his game will translate so much better at AFL level than that of Kelly because I wouldn't have them too far apart myself.
Thanks mate

It's more a showing of how even that first round is. Pick 2 is hardly better than pick 15 or pick 20. Personally if I had a selection I wouldn't be concerned whether I had pick 2-5 or pick 6-20.

Boyd, Crouch and McDonald I really like. Beyond that I'm Sheed I also like and Aish not too far behind that having coped all well as a junior relatively can deal with a tag every week.

Aish I'm considering moving down from my A-graders group. I agree that there is a lot similar with Aish and Kelly and you could pick either. Both are outside. Both use it exceptionally well. Kelly has the higher motor and accumulates more.
Aish just has a touch more special to him which is why I favour him. He's more silky and composed in traffic. Has a stronger 1v1 game. Some more positional versatility. Has some more potential to develop an inside game. He's also shown that he can deal with a tag and has really performed in some big games and against strongest competition.

With Kelly I just wouldn't personally spend a top 5 pick on him. Anything after that I'd be comfortable recommending him to a club to select as one of thoe more sure things in a draft with very few. I'm just not seeing the upside to take him any earlier than that because I'm just not seeing anything gamechanging about a vanilla outside player - as productive and efficient as he is. It's just not something early picks should be spent on.

Hi KM

What do you make of the Lions not bidding on Isaac Conway and Cain Tickner in the ND?

How likely is it that one or both will slip through to the RD in your mind?

Would other teams have put in much effort to scouting these guys and their performances during and after the championships?

It doesn't shock me. Both came into the season with expectations and I liked both back last year but this year I just haven't seen enough from either.

Both can still go as rookies and be good fits for Brisbane but I wouldn't spend a national draft selection on either.

Hey Knightmare. Just wondering why you think we'll take Billings over Scharenberg? We already have smart forwards in Hunter/Dahl/Dickson so it's not a position that we're lacking in, and there are question marks on his ability to play midfield.

Of course if he can play midfield then he's a good selection at pick 4. But all i've heard is that he won't be able to play midfield, and so I thought we'd be more interested in Scharenberg. Is your opinion that he will definitely be able to play midfield and utilise his kicking skills and smarts there?

Hey Knightmare. Just wondering why you think we'll take Billings over Scharenberg? We already have smart forwards in Hunter/Dahl/Dickson so it's not a position that we're lacking in, and there are question marks on his ability to play midfield.

Of course if he can play midfield then he's a good selection at pick 4. But all i've heard is that he won't be able to play midfield, and so I thought we'd be more interested in Scharenberg. Is your opinion that he will definitely be able to play midfield and utilise his kicking skills and smarts there?

Billings won't start out as a midfielder. It's something he can work towards and develop over time.

There will be plenty of back flankers available at that second round selection who can use the ball. At least one of Battersby or Zac Jones will be available who from a back half perspective can help with that rebound with both excellent by foot so Scharenberg doesn't necessarily need to be that pick for the Dogs if available.

Knightmare Josh Mahony has confirmed Sydney is looking at trading for pick 2 who do you think they'll select if they acquire it?

Sydney are in win now mode after the acquisition of Lance Franklin.

It's going to take a whopping asset to acquire pick 2 and I'm not so sure Sydney will put what is required on the table to make a serious play.

To acquire pick two, one of Hannebery, K.Jack, J.Kennedy or Jetta is what would be requested.

Or T.Mitchell and Luke Parker together in a package may also receive strong consideration after the seasons they've both had.

Melbourne want their premium midfielders and they want their premier young midfielders. This would be the expectation if Sydney want to even enter the conversation for pick 2.

Sydney are in win now mode after the acquisition of Lance Franklin.

It's going to take a whopping asset to acquire pick 2 and I'm not so sure Sydney will put what is required on the table to make a serious play.

To acquire pick two, one of Hannebery, K.Jack, J.Kennedy or Jetta is what would be requested.

Or T.Mitchell and Luke Parker together in a package may also receive strong consideration after the seasons they've both had.

Melbourne want their premium midfielders and they want their premier young midfielders. This would be the expectation if Sydney want to even enter the conversation for pick 2.
Mitchell and Parker package for pick 2???? They were prepared to trade pick 2 for Shuey he's hardly a star

Billings won't start out as a midfielder. It's something he can work towards and develop over time.

There will be plenty of back flankers available at that second round selection who can use the ball. At least one of Battersby or Zac Jones will be available who from a back half perspective can help with that rebound with both excellent by foot so Scharenberg doesn't necessarily need to be that pick for the Dogs if available.
KM is it possible that billings could play the bob murphy role in time? Understand he's lethal around goal, but seems to have the delivery, decision making, vision and feel for the game to make that attacking half-back role his

Billings could play off a back flank. Excellent user of the footy. So strong 1v1 that he could go with anyone. Wouldn't provide that same run and carry, it's just not his game but not everyone has everything.

I see Billings more as a Dal Santo or Bartel. He has that same class as a Dal Santo through the midfield and with his entries into the forward 50 but then has that Bartell type ability to take marks up forward and win his 1v1s. In any case he gives you some options.

I'd look at a Battersby in the 2nd round if available as that rebounder. He's a genuine playmaker off a back flank. He doesn't have Shannon Hurn penetration but he's someone you want the ball in the hands of with the decisions he makes and with his precision kicks and superb vision.

Mitchell and Parker package for pick 2???? They were prepared to trade pick 2 for Shuey he's hardly a star

Shuey is more the age they want.

Melbourne are looking more for 22-25 year olds.

They have already made mention that they are satisfied with their youth and want more experience capable of growing with their list.

Shuey better fits the age profile they are looking for and also better provides something more different as someone with genuine explosiveness. That Melbourne list for those who actually watch them is painfully slow and moves more like a VFL team at this point.

They'd in their situation take Shuey before Mitchell or Parker. Regardless of whether Mitchell or Parker may potentially achieve more over their careers.

Shuey is more the age they want.

Melbourne are looking more for 22-25 year olds.

They have already made mention that they are satisfied with their youth and want more experience capable of growing with their list.

Shuey better fits the age profile they are looking for and also better provides something more different as someone with genuine explosiveness. That Melbourne list for those who actually watch them is painfully slow and moves more like a VFL team at this point.

They'd in their situation take Shuey before Mitchell or Parker. Regardless of whether Mitchell or Parker may potentially achieve more over their careers.
Parker had a much better year than Sheuy and has a fair bit of Experience for a 21 year old, doesn't have the injury worries either