Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

All the potential under the sun.....except he is a hog who only plays for himself. I preferred him in a couple of state games where he was played down back, he had no option but to look for team mates there......but up forward, he thinks it all about him !

Lots of forwards do think it's all about them. Personally selfishness doesn't concern me in a key forward. More than any other position on the field it's all about talent.
Historically I can't think of too many elite unselfish full forwards.
Franklin? Fevola? Gehrig? Lloyd? It's a position based around selfishness and egos.
Unselfishness is just a bonus rather than a requirement of the position.

Lots of forwards do think it's all about them. Personally selfishness doesn't concern me in a key forward. More than any other position on the field it's all about talent.
Historically I can't think of too many elite unselfish full forwards.
Franklin? Fevola? Gehrig? Lloyd? It's a position based around selfishness and egos.
Unselfishness is just a bonus rather than a requirement of the position.
He plays centre half forward and in the 7 or 8 games I have seen this year.....I have never.....repeat never seen him kick or handball to any one.....serious hog and I hope he is reading this because someone needs to tell him.

Medium sizer. Has some versatility. Very strong hands and probably looking more like a 3rd tall forward. Not a great athlete.
There are some others of similar types who I sense are better (Lennon, G.Dickson, Sicily) but I'd like to see more before I make any stronger comments .

Thanks for that mate. Will be interesting to see if anyone takes a punt with him. Even a rookie list?

Would GWS be more likely to sniff out a player like McEvoy given the potential asterisk over the next two years of Bellchambers career? What would the Saints need to add to BigMac to get pick 1?

Bellchambers is the better of the two. McEvoy finds the footy around the ground and can go behind the ball to take a mark but he's a below average tap ruckman and isn't someone I'd look to invest in.

St Kilda would need to add a strong bodied midfielder of quality to the deal to spike GWS' interest.
Although a smaller mid I know I'd be asking for Jack Steven and another young asset/picks instead of McEvoy.

Thanks for that mate. Will be interesting to see if anyone takes a punt with him. Even a rookie list?

If he gets invited to state screenings perhaps but I'll let the clubs make the call having seen more.

Bellchambers is the better of the two. McEvoy finds the footy around the ground and can go behind the ball to take a mark but he's a below average tap ruckman and isn't someone I'd look to invest in.

St Kilda would need to add a strong bodied midfielder of quality to the deal to spike GWS' interest.
Although a smaller mid I know I'd be asking for Jack Steven and another young asset/picks instead of McEvoy.

If he gets invited to state screenings perhaps but I'll let the clubs make the call having seen more.

Saints would be stupid to give up Jack Steven you'd reckon.

Not wrong mate. I've really enjoyed the way he has played this season.

But to get a no.1 overall selection you need to give something to get something.

hey knightmare, i know its 99% not going to happen anyway but hypothetically if North Melbourne were to somehow get Luke Mcdonald with a second round pick who could you see us looking to go for with our first round pick? We will most likely have pick 7 at this stage.

I consider McDonald a top 5 guy this year. It would be incredible to get him 2nd round.

In the strange scenario he could be had in the 2nd round Lewis Taylor and Josh Kelly are two I can see North Melbourne strongly considering.

He'd be so far from being on the trade table it wouldn't be funny. I reckon we'd almost burn down the club if he was traded without exceptional circumstances being involved!

I know Freo didn't have much of a midfield yesterday, but he had 47 possies and a goal and used the ball beautifully and wasn't even on the ground for 80% of the game! He is a bloody ripper and just as effective zooming from contest to contest in the packs, like a flea in a bottle, as he is breaking the lines outside the packs with his run and carry.

Would GWS be more likely to sniff out a player like McEvoy given the potential asterisk over the next two years of Bellchambers career? What would the Saints need to add to BigMac to get pick 1?
It will be interesting to see what GWS do if Bellchambers and Mumford both re-sign and we put Mac on the table.

Apart from anything else, he would bring fantastic leadership (and some GF experience) to the table that would appeal greatly to GWS and to SOS, who of course worked with him when he was coaching us (prior to taking over the list management role at GWS), so he would know all about him in that regard and may feel that they can improve his tapwork (apparently this last preseason was the only time he's done specialist ruckwork over a preseason in recent years, if ever, which I found extraordinary).

If it were me and I felt it wouldn't make too much of an impact on the morale of our group, I'd be perfectly happy to package Mac up with pick 3/4 and maybe someone else that they are interested in (I think Gilbert would appeal to SOS- has lots of finals and GF experience, is super-versatile and came 3rd in our B&F when SOS was coaching our backline in 2010- before all that off-field stuff derailed his career for a while- and they have stated they want a "tall running player"), for pick 1 and maybe 10/11, or Adams and an upgrade of a later pick, or something along those lines.

I wouldn't like to lose pick 3/4 and the opportunity to get an Aish/Kelly/Billings (who bring the sort of disposal we could really do with, apart from anything else), but with there being so much midfield talent in this year's draft, we ought to be able to get someone really good with 10/11, or else Adams and there ought to be some more good options remaining at pick 21 or so, not to mention next year.

If GWS genuinely don't want to add Boyd, they may be able to get whoever they really want with pick 3/4 anyway and then they are effectively getting McEvoy and Gilbert for pick 10/Adams and maybe steak-knives. I think both clubs could come out of that happy.

can not see gws giving up pick one for an ok afl player and swapping a couple picks they would want a star and they have said that , mckevoy is slow as hell and can barely win a hit out there is no way they will give up 1 and swap some draft picks and for bellchambers if anything they would use 19 which is still overs or package a taylor adams somhow if he was wanting out.

if i was in gws postion i'd be wanting players like sloane,hepell,beams,martin,fyfe,lenberger,jack steven perfect age group and are already stars obviously would be hard to land because clubs arn't willing to take this risk

knightmare who can you see hawks targeting with 17?? obviously searching for a young midfielder to be able to take over from mitchell sewell in a couple years would dunston or a dumont still be available??

What good is pick 1 to GWS though if they don't want Boyd (hence them supposedly offering up pick 1)? If that is the case they may as well have a pick like 3 and also get someone they want who can play a key role immediately and bring the leadership and experience they are looking for. This is all assuming they don't get any better offers for pick 1 of course.

No-one is going to be offering GWS someone who would be worth pick 1 on their own though.

What good is pick 1 to GWS though if they don't want Boyd (hence them supposedly offering up pick 1)? If that is the case they may as well have a pick like 3 and also get someone they want who can play a key role immediately and bring the leadership and experience they are looking for. This is all assuming they don't get any better offers for pick 1 of course.

No-one is going to be offering GWS someone who would be worth pick 1 on their own though.

there is no point in GWS giving up a potential superstar like boyd for average players, as mentioned they either take a gun or take boyd who will be a very good player and get a very dangerous three pronged forward line or even use one of patton or boyd in defence in the future, or even use them as value for a high draft pick down the line when their list has matured and is entrenched in the top 8

knightmare who can you see hawks targeting with 17?? obviously searching for a young midfielder to be able to take over from mitchell sewell in a couple years would dunston or a dumont still be available??

I expect Hawthorn to take that best available slider. One of Sheed/Dumont/Dunstan would be an excellent outcome.

there is no point in GWS giving up a potential superstar like boyd for average players, as mentioned they either take a gun or take boyd who will be a very good player and get a very dangerous three pronged forward line or even use one of patton or boyd in defence in the future, or even use them as value for a high draft pick down the line when their list has matured and is entrenched in the top 8
Do you think they'd be getting someone "average" with pick 3/4 and there are also plenty who think McEvoy is better than "average". A quick glance at the
Top 10 Players Drafted Each Year 2005-2010 thread shows that some (who don't follow us) have him between 5-7 from his draft year (although I'm not one of them) and I'm not sure this year's draft is any stronger than the 2007 one was.

Again, pick 1 wouldn't be on the table if they wanted Boyd and there's every chance they'd be able to get who they really want at 3/4, especially if it's Scharenberg, as many are suggesting.

Think it's a moot point though, as we keep on saying we won't trade our first pick, so there's probably not much point discussing it.

Do you think they'd be getting someone "average" with pick 3/4 and there are also plenty who think McEvoy is better than "average". A quick glance at the
Top 10 Players Drafted Each Year 2005-2010 thread shows that some (who don't follow us) have him between 5-7 from his draft year (although I'm not one of them) and I'm not sure this year's draft is any stronger than the 2007 one was.

Again, pick 1 wouldn't be on the table if they wanted Boyd and there's every chance they'd be able to get who they really want at 3/4, especially if it's Scharenberg, as many are suggesting.

Think it's a moot point though, as we keep on saying we won't trade our first pick, so there's probably not much point discussing it.

think if you guys can strike a deal you obviously should, but i really think they would want more than McEvoy, there are better ruckman out there, they had it on the table to tempt clubs to give them something outstanding for that choice if they dont get it im sure they would be happy to take boyd

How do you assess the swans priorities for the trade period and their first rounder? do the swans recruit a "type"?
What would be the dream/ the slider type picks on their radar and then the more likely picks?
Garlett would be a possible project for a club like SSMFC too.

thanks pal

Hey Knighter...(or anyone else for that matter ) Be interested to find out your thoughts on Matthew boag from the geelong falcons, In particular is he more a midsized foward or a mid???