Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Hey mate cheers for the write up! behind durdin who's the best key back that can play on the gorillas.?

Goddard I tend to prefer as a key defender but as with Durdin he can play either end to a high level.

As a guy who can take the bigs Sean McLaren is ruckman/key defender who as a mid draft option be someone you could look at as this type.

Knightmare , so early in the year and it will be a fair while before we know we we all will finish or need. You have Geelong taking Lever , comparing him to Taylor . Now the limited vision I have of him he really doesn't strike me as Taylor like . For a start he is 188 , and seems to be more of run of HBF Corey Enright perhaps. Thoughts?

Im not sure we would take that type over other roles which we may need more . KPB & Ruck... and with the recent injuries we have had I wonder if a player who can play both roles would be a higher need than another HBF type.

What have you heard about Josh Clayton? Potential Brisbane F/S

Draft eligible this year.

Only appeared in the four games last year in the TAC and the rest of the time from what I understand he played APS footy so we probably need to see what he can do this year before anyone can say yes/no.

It's plausible late draft as he's a nice height and has played reasonably well in his four TAC Cup games but again we'll need to see more against better competition before any call is made.

Knightmare , so early in the year and it will be a fair while before we know we we all will finish or need. You have Geelong taking Lever , comparing him to Taylor . Now the limited vision I have of him he really doesn't strike me as Taylor like . For a start he is 188 , and seems to be more of run of HBF Corey Enright perhaps. Thoughts?

Im not sure we would take that type over other roles which we may need more . KPB & Ruck... and with the recent injuries we have had I wonder if a player who can play both roles would be a higher need than another HBF type.

He plays that similar style and that's where I'd leave it. They're different players and I'll put more time into players comparisons at a later draft.

He's similar to Lachie Plowman but given Plowman hasn't played much I'll have a bunch of people asking for comparisons to guys they've seen more of. He's the equivalent to Matthew Scharenberg last year or Matthew Buntine a few years earlier. That type of thing, that type of talent though I prefer Scharenberg/Plowman/Lever to Buntine.

I'll be interested to see whether Lever grows to KPP height or close this year but he's largely that new generation slightly undersized key defender who depending on growth this year may be more a high level 3rd tall or equivalent in a back half.

He plays that similar style and that's where I'd leave it. They're different players and I'll put more time into players comparisons at a later draft.

He's similar to Lachie Plowman but given Plowman hasn't played much I'll have a bunch of people asking for comparisons to guys they've seen more of. He's the equivalent to Matthew Scharenberg last year or Matthew Buntine a few years earlier. That type of thing, that type of talent though I prefer Scharenberg/Plowman/Lever to Buntine.

I'll be interested to see whether Lever grows to KPP height or close this year but he's largely that new generation slightly undersized key defender who depending on growth this year may be more a high level 3rd tall or equivalent in a back half.

OK , Im certainly critiquing you , only by what I've seen , which is bugger all. His kicking action is what strikes me as sort proficient rather than great. ..but as I said he may well be a good kid but im thinking on your list as its stands that Goddard would suit us better. Perhaps Durdin. If Menzel fails to come up maybe Petracca. Of course I doubt we will be having picks anywhere near this early but if we were any chance of Wright he sounds a ripper.

I've got a half done, completely unfinished upgrade with different draft positions, different players in different positions among other things so don't treat what I've got up as bible. I just haven't had/taken the time to this point to put together a proper update.

I've only got this poor old half done version up for now mostly to generate some discussion and interest in the upcoming draft.

Once a few clubs start losing hope, that's probably when I'll get to work as the demand for an improved upgrade increases.

Billy do you know if he'll be eligible for academy nomination, given he was away for a year?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

No Idea, He has spent more time in WA then in QLD so by that way of thinking I am going to assume he isn't

I've got a half done, completely unfinished upgrade with different draft positions, different players in different positions among other things so don't treat what I've got up as bible. I just haven't had/taken the time to this point to put together a proper update.

I've only got this poor old half done version up for now mostly to generate some discussion and interest in the upcoming draft.

Once a few clubs start losing hope, that's probably when I'll get to work as the demand for an improved upgrade increases.

As I said not a critique , not trying to put you on your back foot. Discussion is great. Let me ask this then , GC to me eyes only lack a quality key forward of which GWS have 3 off . This draft seems to me be the icing draft for them. Now id say they will finish 8-12 but if they could get one last early pick of someone , someone like McCartin might be the last piece to the puzzle . Reasonable? Can McCartin be their Patton.

I was strong on Gold Coast as a top 8 side before the Jack Martin injury but I'm still leaning towards them making the 8. I'm not even sure key forwards are an issue for Gold Coast. Sure they can always add a McCartin and maybe they do if the price is right. But it's less a need as it would be a luxury.

In Gold Coast's situation at seasons end I'd be more inclined with the what appears probable departure of Karmichael Hunt and the salary cap relief that comes with it to target some of the name free agents. Namely: James Frawley, David Mundy, Shaun Higgins to add that further experience, help further fast-track the development of the youth while helping them to become better now as a team with more than enough talent to win a flag dare I say as soon as next year if their list is completely healthy and their development continues as expected.

The GWS key forwards are obviously on another level and their trio all have the scope to become top 5 key forwards in the competition if things go right so it depends on how much stock you put into the importance of having the very best key forwards.

Gold Coast are looking exceptional already just with Dixon and Lynch particularly who are both already AFL quality key forwards and excellent for their respective reasons with Dixon's incredible presence with that size, marking ability and ability to crash packs and Lynch's ability to be a rare tall workhorse with his running almost but not quite Nick Riewoldtesque. Day is the third guy and is showing signs but I do despite my initial draft projection have questions about his consistency and ability to do more than just the occasional freak athletic thing as a low volume ball winner, mark and goalkicker. Maybe he becomes the no.2 ruckman which with his athleticism might solve that and be the right dynamic and mix of talls but I wouldn't say I'm down on Gold Coast's front half or feel like anything further really needs to be added with anything extra a bonus for sure, but optional depending on the price required to get in the market for a McCartin.

In GWS' situation they may not have that very top pick and I could see them settling on Durdin specifically if available as a key defender which could do with another of, if of top level quality to play alongside Phil Davis and Sam Frost if he continues to develop as he has. It leaves the Jaksch's, McCarthy's and Tomlinson's among other KPPs in no man's land but as Gold Coast did with Tom Hickey in that surplus situation they had going with ruckmen that would be the situation where GWS similarly could then capitalise with others always looking for more quality young talls.

I'm liking the sound of Brayshaw to the Tigers, however I believe that Clem Smith or Jarrod Pickett would represent more of an immediate need for us at the moment. We seriously lack a blisteringly quick player who can bust a game wide open a la Jetta or Rioli. That being said, I'd be happy with Brayshaw. Seems to be a typical Francis Jackson pick. You know exactly what you are going to get, isn't the flashiest but will be a solid contributor to the team week in week out.

We're cooked. Time for an update. :p

Pickett and Smith are the clear standouts for WA. I haven't seen a lot of Smith this year but Pickett was dominant against Claremont two weeks ago in a scratchy. He will be pushing for top 3 by the end of the year

How often do those small, speedy blokes go top 3? Even if they are in the best 3 players in the draft.

I agree with you there but I'm saying that he is probably the best quick in the draft and if teams want an immediate impact he is probably the best option.

We could certainly use him. Though our record with indigenous kids is just awful. Answering my own question, Yarran is the last one I can think of. Ben Kennedy was talked up as top 10 but went late teens. Rioli was 12.

I'm liking the way this draft is shaping up from an Essendon perspective, lots of key position players, but no shortage of decent smalls either, pretty much exactly what we need

Depending on what happens with Frawley, will determine the path that Melbourne take at the draft. Hopefully Frawley re-commits and we can go after the best mid.

Brayshaw sounds a likely type at this very early stage of the year and seems a Paul Roos like player - ball winning & tackling beast!

KM is jarrod garlett related to Jeff Garlett ?

There might be someone else who knows but don't have that information.

Depending on what happens with Frawley, will determine the path that Melbourne take at the draft. Hopefully Frawley re-commits and we can go after the best mid.

Brayshaw sounds a likely type at this very early stage of the year and seems a Paul Roos like player - ball winning & tackling beast!

Roos does like his power guys.

Durdin is an obvious selection as a key defender if Frawley goes. Even if he stays he's an option.

Roos likes his strong bodies and Bradyshaw is a strong body at 184cm, 83kg last year. Probably put on more size over the Summer.

Worth noting clubs are from now going to put a greater weighting on endurance and pace with the way the game is going. That's why guys like Dunstan and Crouch specifically last year dropped much further than they should have as guys who in my view both should have been top 10 selections. It will be interesting to see if clubs continue to go more for guys who can run as opposed to the absolute best performed competitors who have the numbers to support their cases.

jarrads not like any other indigenous kid that have created the negative stereotype, the kid is on another level with his pace skills and natural ability, also has a really good head on his shoulders and is from a really good nice family. Will go very high