Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

Fisher is a plausible first rounder. He has the performances on the board and has the game. I wouldn't dismiss it.

Partington's struggles have been surprising as he was fine in SA and played League games in the SANFL last year, featuring in the bests in his final game of the season.
yeah i don't know if its the add pressure from his contract extension at the start of the year or not but he seems to struggle against the bigger bodied players. His had a handful of good games but his form has been all over the shop. Was dropped to reserves a few weeks back. Im just hoping his a late bloomer cause we can't afford to have another midfielder turn into a dud. Malcom karpany has had a similar career trajectory. After 2 and a half years of crap football,Karps now ls showing his potential and maybe a sneaky chance of a debut soon.

Bradley's point of difference is he is an elite endurance runner

Picks 1/2 have not been decided. Essendon and Brisbane both are in the mix for that pick. Essendon could beat Brisbane (as I'm tipping), but Brisbane could well for all we know win another game and surprise an unsuspecting team.

Pick 1 has not been decided with several in the mix. McCluggage is one of those in the mix for the first overall pick, but far from a certainty at pick 1 at this stage, maybe not even the favourite just yet.

Jack Graham, Dylan Clarke, Brad Scheer, Will Brodie and Willem Drew would all be right up there.

Gallucci and McGrath both have earnt their position inside my 10 through performance.

I moved them both up on the back of their consistent and high standard performances during the u18 championships. Both sold me on their games.

They've both got the games in combination with attributes to be high level pros. Gallucci with his footskills, vision and pace. McGrath with that explosive pace, ability to read the flight and intercept mark as well as win his own ball. They're both terrific.

McGrath is now getting the kudos his play deserves on the back of his play during the u18 champs.

Gallucci in my view probably not as much as he should - with my rating higher than generally most tend to view him.

Fisher while small I haven't had major issue with. He is small which limits his upside and scope to dominate at stoppages at AFL level. Overall the more I saw him the more I found I liked what he brings to the table. Very good all-rounder with a very advanced game.
I could also have added performances v WAFL League competition which has been strong this year.

Fisher has the scope to become better than Gregson and a better midfielder at the next level, but ultimately looking at his height, physical profile and game that was the rough comparison I went with.

Compared to other gun smalls - not nearly as powerful and won't be as dominant a contested baller as Prestia but is better skilled.
V Zorko he isn't nearly as dynamic or damaging in the front half but as a midfielder could become something comparable if things work out.
He isn't the heavy scoreboard impact forward of a Betts and is more someone who can play forward if need-be as more of a midfielder.

Hopefully that gives you more of a feel for his game.

Fisher is a plausible first rounder. He has the performances on the board and has the game. I wouldn't dismiss it.

Partington's struggles have been surprising as he was fine in SA and played League games in the SANFL last year, featuring in the bests in his final game of the season.

I'll assume Brodie, McCluggage, Petrevski-Seton and Bowes are taken (if any slip, they'd be great gets for Carlton).

Of those non-academy players if those four aren't available, Andrew McGrath and Ben Ainsworth would be the two more likely given Carlton went tall last year and probably want to let the young talls develop for another season and re-assess after that. Of the two, McGrath also would be my choice. Back or midfield McGrath is terrific as a linebreaker and intercepter down back who can also push into the midfield and win his own ball.
Ainsworth as a forward I'd found to lack consistency and reliability in front of goal. He can have an impact and is very hard to defend with that leap at his height and strength overhead. I just can't justify spending a top 10 and certainly not a top 4-6 pick on him.

Jake Bradley is a top-ager and has been good in the TAC Cup without dominating. He is 177cm and for me lacks a point of difference. He could be considered as a rookie but I see that as against the odds.

Hey KM, a few Qs that you can hopefully A.

Which mids do you think are the best decision-makers in this draft?

Are you able to provide a bit more info on Willem Drew, I haven't seen him live but he seems to fit the profile for the type of player the Blues are after this year (a player who can win the ball + use it well).

g'day Nightmare, just wanted to hear your thoughts on Liam Ryan and his potential at afl level, strengths and weaknesses, and around what draft range he will be. cheers

Hey KM, a few Qs that you can hopefully A.

Which mids do you think are the best decision-makers in this draft?

Are you able to provide a bit more info on Willem Drew, I haven't seen him live but he seems to fit the profile for the type of player the Blues are after this year (a player who can win the ball + use it well).

Sam Petrevski-Seton and Hugh McCluggage are my top two for decision making. Jordan Gallucci, Will Setterfield and Harry Perryman are all right up there.

Really like Drew's game. Hard nut. Does all the hard stuff to a high level through the midfield. Hard over the ball, contested ball winning beast and tackles with force - with excellent numbers in both categories. He can have 25 disposal and 10 tackles in a game, and he'll get 18 contested possessions and win probably 5-6 clearances. Really like how contested and hard his game is.

In other areas Drew is also fine. Footskills and pace are both average-above average which is good for a tallish mid. Can push forward as required.

Overall I'm finding Drew to be one of the underappreciated players this year. He seems like a likely 2nd/3rd round selection, but I look at him on quality as a first rounder.

I was disappointed not to see him get a shot on the ball through the U18 Championships. His numbers through the TAC Cup are well up there though.

Hey Knightmare

Any chance Ashley Krakauer from the Sandringham Dragons gets picked up?

Lots of interest in this thread in Krakauer from posters.

Must have a lot of Caulfield Grammar readers?

You may be the first to spell his surname correctly so kudos.

Krakauer is unlikely to be selected having not been selected to play for Vic Metro and having only been good but not great this season for Sandy at 172cm.

g'day Nightmare, just wanted to hear your thoughts on Liam Ryan and his potential at afl level, strengths and weaknesses, and around what draft range he will be. cheers

As a mature ager Liam Ryan's draft range is unclear. His performance being a forward is very up and down. To estimate I'd look at Ryan as a mid draft onwards selection.

He is a high leaper who can really taking a flying mark - see youtube. Scoreboard impact good and has some goalsense.

On the weaknesses side of things forward pressure could be better. He also seems like a forward half only player.

Hey Knightmare, just wanted to get your opinion on Peter Ladhams and how he's progressed so far this year. I first saw him in the Metro vs SA game last year and he really impressed me, and presents as a mobile ruck/forward type that the Dogs could do with right now in case we missed out on someone like Tim English.

Ladhams as a tap ruckman I rate behind several of his peers but after English he is probably the better ruckman around the ground and up forward he is relatively the more capable of this years rucks.

He would be suitable for selection mid draft onwards and is someone who you can stick in the VFL for a few years and track the development of.

If mobility/play forward of centre are priorities he is probably the better pick if you're looking for someone who is also a genuine ruckman.

interesting how you still have sumich in line to get drafted. his form has dropped and hasn't played since round 13 injured? We might recruit him but probably as a rookie.

Those I listed as "rookie if picked" are those I see little chance to get selected but just wanted to make mention of as they are eligible for father-son.

By contrast those I list as third round onwards are no certainty to get selected. So Sumich isn't necessary getting selected, he just may be a chance with the earliest position he could plausible be considered being the third round.

KM you've mentioned a couple of times how there's no clear number 1 pick and the evenness of the top end. Has there been a draft lead up similar to this view with no clear standout and the evenness that you're aware of?

Krakauer is unlikely to be selected having not been selected to play for Vic Metro and having only been good but not great this season for Sandy at 172cm.

Oh ok chees. He played for my junior club, Ajax and there was a bit of talk around the club that he's a chance to get pick up. Saw he had a few BOG performances for the Dragons

I just had a thought, and I know I am asking a lot, (so no worries if you choose to ignore my post) but all your profiles and comments had me thinking - If you could do an 'All Star' team right now of all the players eligible to enter the draft this year, who would you put in your best 22, and what position?

Knight how's josh Hannon tracking at this point? Reckon he's a chance to get drafted? And also your thoughts on Lachie Harris from Sandy for next years draft?

Sam Petrevski-Seton and Hugh McCluggage are my top two for decision making. Jordan Gallucci, Will Setterfield and Harry Perryman are all right up there.

Really like Drew's game. Hard nut. Does all the hard stuff to a high level through the midfield. Hard over the ball, contested ball winning beast and tackles with force - with excellent numbers in both categories. He can have 25 disposal and 10 tackles in a game, and he'll get 18 contested possessions and win probably 5-6 clearances. Really like how contested and hard his game is.

In other areas Drew is also fine. Footskills and pace are both average-above average which is good for a tallish mid. Can push forward as required.

Overall I'm finding Drew to be one of the underappreciated players this year. He seems like a likely 2nd/3rd round selection, but I look at him on quality as a first rounder.

I was disappointed not to see him get a shot on the ball through the U18 Championships. His numbers through the TAC Cup are well up there though.

As a mature ager Liam Ryan's draft range is unclear. His performance being a forward is very up and down. To estimate I'd look at Ryan as a mid draft onwards selection.

He is a high leaper who can really taking a flying mark - see youtube. Scoreboard impact good and has some goalsense.

On the weaknesses side of things forward pressure could be better
. He also seems like a forward half only player.

Today was the first time i saw him on tv. Took a massive grab in the last and kicked 3. Looks silky smooth but defensive pressure was close to non existent. Also his fitness might be a weakness as well. After a few chases in the first quarter i saw him hunched over taking some huge breaths in.

If McCluggage has speed, feel he'd be a better fit for us than Brodie who (despite not seeing heaps) doesn't fill me with as much confidence of becomng a genuine star.

Inside/outside goal kicking mids are worth there weight in gold. McCluggage does all that + some.

Am hoping to get along to Stingrays v Murray in a few weeks to catch all of Battle, Piper, Brodie, Marshall, Ratugolea and F/S prospect Matt Neagle.

Would be awesome to see you down there and put a face to the name. Would be one of the most viewed games of the year imho with a plethora of top end to mid draft prospects in the one game.

Hey Knightmare, interested in your thoughts on Tyson Lever, younger brother of Jake?

Is he draftable? And if so how late do you reckon he'd go? What's his game like?

Cheers

Ladhams as a tap ruckman I rate behind several of his peers but after English he is probably the better ruckman around the ground and up forward he is relatively the more capable of this years rucks.

He would be suitable for selection mid draft onwards and is someone who you can stick in the VFL for a few years and track the development of.

If mobility/play forward of centre are priorities he is probably the better pick if you're looking for someone who is also a genuine ruckman

Considering the way in which we play our rucks forward a fair bit especially this year I'd say that we have a record for drafting ruckman who are versatile especially forward of center. Reckon that Peter Ladhams, Lloyd Meek and Brock McGregor would be on our radar either late in the draft or as rookies.

Knightmare I have searched but cant see any comments you may have posted on players...

Juhdan DUNDON & Taylin DUMAN

Thoughts? I have not seen a lot but both seem reasonable kicks.

Good names and not spoken about enough.

Duman is draftable. I'd like to see him win more of the footy but overall I like the ball in his hands. He has some good evasiveness and a good sidestep. Can do some damage. Probably not an early pick but later in the draft he should be on club radars.

Dundon is a damaging ball user himself and can also offer some run. Again, late draft chance.

KM you've mentioned a couple of times how there's no clear number 1 pick and the evenness of the top end. Has there been a draft lead up similar to this view with no clear standout and the evenness that you're aware of?

AFL Drafts I find tend to have a lot of evenness up the top end. Coming out of the u18s occasionally there will feel like a certain superstar coming through, but that doesn't happen every year and often it can feel like you're going with your preference from a fairly even group. And with how infrequently the first overall selection actually ends up being the best player in that particular draft, there probably should be a lot less consensus within the industry as to who the best player is coming into each AFL draft - or that's my opinion anyway based on my looking back through past drafts.

2014 had a fair bit of evenness up the top end with McCartin and Petracca really fighting it out for that top overall selection, with Brayshaw also popular along with Peter Wright earlier that season.

Do you think it will depend on who has pick 1 out of Essendon and the Lions I can see Essendon pick Will Brodie for some inside hardness and the Lions picking McCluggage for some outside class do you see it going that way?

With those early draft selections it's weighing up best available v list needs.

From a list needs perspective you could well be right in your assessment.

It's just unclear at this stage who the list management team list based on their viewings - and that can from club to club differ.

Essendon if they love McCluggage may think about looking for an inside midfielder with their second round selection. Or perhaps a stoppage specialist may be considered during trade week. There is always more ways to address a need than just that first overall selection.

Personally I'd be encouraging both clubs to decide who they feel is the best player in the draft, and pick them, worrying about needs with other picks or through trade week.

Oh ok chees. He played for my junior club, Ajax and there was a bit of talk around the club that he's a chance to get pick up. Saw he had a few BOG performances for the Dragons

This year the problem for smalls such as Krakauer is the quality of the other smalls in this years draft, and it seems an issue most years. He isn't out of the draft mix, I just overall see others being favoured to him.

Krakauer is a good pressure player and has good skills and pace/movement. Overall as a 172cm midfielder who is averaging less than 25 disposals per game and only has the three goals from seven games. There are too many others doing more.

I just had a thought, and I know I am asking a lot, (so no worries if you choose to ignore my post) but all your profiles and comments had me thinking - If you could do an 'All Star' team right now of all the players eligible to enter the draft this year, who would you put in your best 22, and what position?

Best 22 requests are always hard to resist.

Would welcome others to have a go also if anyone else thinks they can do better. I'll exclude mature agers to make it more reflective of this years U18s. I did similar after the U18 Champs a few pages back, so the lineup probably would be much the same.

I'll make this a team based on career projections over what they're doing today/have done already this season.

It's not as easy as it should be with several positions not super filled with options (eg. key defence).

B: Andrew McGrath Harrison Macreadie Jack Graham
HB: Jack Scrimshaw Josh Rotham Jacob Allison
CEN: Hugh McCluggage Will Setterfield Sam Petrevski-Seton
HF: Daniel Venables Joshua Battle Jordan Gallucci
F: Tim Taranto Todd Marshall Ben Ainsworth
FOLL: Tim English William Brodie Harry Perryman
BENCH: Jack Bowes Brad Scheer Kobe Mutch Sam Powell-Pepper
With apologies to: Jy Simpkin Willem Drew Jonty Scharenberg Dylan Clarke Alex Witherden Shai Bolton and Zac Fisher.

The team reflects the lack of high end talls and also shows the strength of and in many ways the versatility of this years midfielders.

Knight how's josh Hannon tracking at this point? Reckon he's a chance to get drafted? And also your thoughts on Lachie Harris from Sandy for next years draft?

Hannon has some attributes with his contested marking.

He had a few big games earlier in the season when he hit the scoreboard.

He is well suited to the relieving ruck role.

Possible to get drafted but late/rookie pick if he is.

I've seen several Sandringham games this year (in fact was in Sandringham today watching their game v Dandenong) but I don't believe I've had the opportunity to watch Lachie Harris play. At 170cm looking at his measurements I hope he has freakish ability as a small forward.

Today was the first time i saw him on tv. Took a massive grab in the last and kicked 3. Looks silky smooth but defensive pressure was close to non existent. Also his fitness might be a weakness as well. After a few chases in the first quarter i saw him hunched over taking some huge breaths in.

Consistent with what I've seen of him.

If McCluggage has speed, feel he'd be a better fit for us than Brodie who (despite not seeing heaps) doesn't fill me with as much confidence of becomng a genuine star.

Inside/outside goal kicking mids are worth there weight in gold. McCluggage does all that + some.

Am hoping to get along to Stingrays v Murray in a few weeks to catch all of Battle, Piper, Brodie, Marshall, Ratugolea and F/S prospect Matt Neagle.

Would be awesome to see you down there and put a face to the name. Would be one of the most viewed games of the year imho with a plethora of top end to mid draft prospects in the one game.

You must be out from that way Yoda, as I'm always fielding your Dandenong questions.

Dandenong v Murray should be a good game. The two best front halves in the TAC Cup. Both teams have a genuine front six filled with players who either project to become AFL standard or very good state league players.

Always happy to say g-day at games to any from the bigfooty community or any of my readers.

Skippos a couple of weeks ago at half time in a game in Sandringham noticed me and introduced himself.

May make it down to the game.

Hey Knightmare, interested in your thoughts on Tyson Lever, younger brother of Jake?

Is he draftable? And if so how late do you reckon he'd go? What's his game like?

Cheers

Very different player to Jake.

He is no key position player, at 185cm, 79kg.

Tyson is a hard-nosed midfielder. Strong tackler, puts his head over the ball. Wins the footy.

Tyson wasn't selected to represent Vic Country, so if a club is considering him, he is probably a late/rookie selection.

At this stage considered against the odds to get selected. Has been a good midfielder for Calder and has improved over the course of the year, but in a strong midfielders draft has not been a standout.

Knightmare, can you explain why Brodie Romenski hardly gets a mention from anyone ,but leads all players in the Coaches votes? And where do think he should be drafted?

Good names and not spoken about enough.

Duman is draftable. I'd like to see him win more of the footy but overall I like the ball in his hands. He has some good evasiveness and a good sidestep. Can do some damage. Probably not an early pick but later in the draft he should be on club radars.

Dundon is a damaging ball user himself and can also offer some run. Again, late draft chance.

AFL Drafts I find tend to have a lot of evenness up the top end. Coming out of the u18s occasionally there will feel like a certain superstar coming through, but that doesn't happen every year and often it can feel like you're going with your preference from a fairly even group. And with how infrequently the first overall selection actually ends up being the best player in that particular draft, there probably should be a lot less consensus within the industry as to who the best player is coming into each AFL draft - or that's my opinion anyway based on my looking back through past drafts.

2014 had a fair bit of evenness up the top end with McCartin and Petracca really fighting it out for that top overall selection, with Brayshaw also popular along with Peter Wright earlier that season.

With those early draft selections it's weighing up best available v list needs.

From a list needs perspective you could well be right in your assessment.

It's just unclear at this stage who the list management team list based on their viewings - and that can from club to club differ.

Essendon if they love McCluggage may think about looking for an inside midfielder with their second round selection. Or perhaps a stoppage specialist may be considered during trade week. There is always more ways to address a need than just that first overall selection.

Personally I'd be encouraging both clubs to decide who they feel is the best player in the draft, and pick them, worrying about needs with other picks or through trade week.

This year the problem for smalls such as Krakauer is the quality of the other smalls in this years draft, and it seems an issue most years. He isn't out of the draft mix, I just overall see others being favoured to him.

Krakauer is a good pressure player and has good skills and pace/movement. Overall as a 172cm midfielder who is averaging less than 25 disposals per game and only has the three goals from seven games. There are too many others doing more.

Best 22 requests are always hard to resist.

Would welcome others to have a go also if anyone else thinks they can do better. I'll exclude mature agers to make it more reflective of this years U18s. I did similar after the U18 Champs a few pages back, so the lineup probably would be much the same.

I'll make this a team based on career projections over what they're doing today/have done already this season.

It's not as easy as it should be with several positions not super filled with options (eg. key defence).

B: Andrew McGrath Harrison Macreadie Jack Graham
HB: Jack Scrimshaw Josh Rotham Jacob Allison
CEN: Hugh McCluggage Will Setterfield Sam Petrevski-Seton
HF: Daniel Venables Joshua Battle Jordan Gallucci
F: Tim Taranto Todd Marshall Ben Ainsworth
FOLL: Tim English William Brodie Harry Perryman
BENCH: Jack Bowes Brad Scheer Kobe Mutch Sam Powell-Pepper
With apologies to: Jy Simpkin Willem Drew Jonty Scharenberg Dylan Clarke Alex Witherden Shai Bolton and Zac Fisher.

The team reflects the lack of high end talls and also shows the strength of and in many ways the versatility of this years midfielders.

Hannon has some attributes with his contested marking.

He had a few big games earlier in the season when he hit the scoreboard.

He is well suited to the relieving ruck role.

Possible to get drafted but late/rookie pick if he is.

I've seen several Sandringham games this year (in fact was in Sandringham today watching their game v Dandenong) but I don't believe I've had the opportunity to watch Lachie Harris play. At 170cm looking at his measurements I hope he has freakish ability as a small forward.
Ok Nightmare brilliant as usual...a real challenge but could you put together a bottom age team of the year?