Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

Hi KM any chance bonar slips to the tiges first pick?

Unlikely.

SEN have said that Dow is firming as no.1, how will that change the top 5 picks if true?

Dow has long been in the mix for pick 1. If he goes pick 1, Fremantle have the enviable decision of either LDU/Rayner. Then Carlton presumably go with the leftover and the order continues unchanged from there.

Hey KM appreciate all your work on here and sharing your knowledge
Your thoughts on the Giants picks?
I have Higgins at 11 although that is from articles and reading threads on bf but any others who could be in the mix
I liked what I read in the article on Lochie O'Brien but if the club sees him as a better option than Higgins
Others would be Spargo and Shipley with 27/28 and then a couple of academy picks in Powell and Richards either late in the main draft or rookie
Hope ESPN give you an all expenses paid trip for the draft

Dow has long been in the mix for pick 1. If he goes pick 1, Fremantle have the enviable decision of either LDU/Rayner. Then Carlton presumably go with the leftover and the order continues unchanged from there.
A poster on the Lions board who gets some good insider type information says that Adam Cerra is right in the frame for us at pick 1 and don't discount Andrew Brayshaw from the discussion.

Fagan loves players with elite decision making/disposal skills KM, who do you see out of LDU/Dow/Rayner/Cerra/Brayshaw as the best in that area?

Unlikely.

He has been mention as number one pick but Raner has been the No1 all year. dont think Dockers will pass on rayner if he still there at 2.

In 2016 it was Will Brodie most of the season or perhaps Ainsworth, and then Hugh McCluggage was discussed heavily after he won the Morrish Medal.

They all fell to #6, #4 and #3 respectively as McGrath/Taranto leapfrogged into top 2, and Setterfield was taken at 5.

Fremantle will take the player they believe is the best available at #2. If it’s not Rayner, it’s because someone has passed him in their estimation. I wouldn’t be surprised at all if they pass on him.

If North and Freo take Stephenson and Naughton, would you still expect pies to take Fogarty at 6 or Cerra?

Skewz the interruption but anyone know where i can find replays of the 2017 U18 champs games?
Can only seem to find Vic C vs. Vic M on the AFL.com.au site...
Potentially on YouTube?

Hey KM appreciate all your work on here and sharing your knowledge
Your thoughts on the Giants picks?
I have Higgins at 11 although that is from articles and reading threads on bf but any others who could be in the mix
I liked what I read in the article on Lochie O'Brien but if the club sees him as a better option than Higgins
Others would be Spargo and Shipley with 27/28 and then a couple of academy picks in Powell and Richards either late in the main draft or rookie
Hope ESPN give you an all expenses paid trip for the draft

I look at Higgins if there for GWS' first pick as with the departure of Devon Smith, I suspect GWS look for a replacement and Higgins is as immediate of a replacement as there is as a ready-to-go prospect.

O'Brien is good and could be considered in GWS' situation as a rebounding back flanker with that another need. Though the talk is he goes in the teens or even possibly early 20s.

There are a few GWS academy types who are in the draft mix. Will be interesting to see which combination GWS take.

A poster on the Lions board who gets some good insider type information says that Adam Cerra is right in the frame for us at pick 1 and don't discount Andrew Brayshaw from the discussion.

Fagan loves players with elite decision making/disposal skills KM, who do you see out of LDU/Dow/Rayner/Cerra/Brayshaw as the best in that area?

Brayshaw is interesting and could go higher than many (myself inclined believe) with several clubs very high on him.

Best decision maker/disposal from that group I'd credit to Cerra. Though they're all pretty good in both categories in their various ways. LDU being exceptional over short distance. Rayner good over longer distance. Dow and Brayshaw also capable.

Gday mate.Hugh Dixon thoughts on him and draft range ?

Like him. Good size and has genuine footy smarts. From the third round I see Dixon entering draft discussions and see him potentially slipping in late draft or as a rookie.

If North and Freo take Stephenson and Naughton, would you still expect pies to take Fogarty at 6 or Cerra?

Would be an interesting question. Depends entirely on who they rate more. I suspect Collingwood would favour the tall, but if it's me, I'd go Cerra. While there will be people who say the same of Fogarty, but Cerra is special and has the scope to be the best in the draft. If recruiting for Collingwood in that case, I'd look to get talls later.

but Cerra is special and has the scope to be the best in the draft. If recruiting for Collingwood in that case, I'd look to get talls later.

Can you elaborate on what is special about Cerra. I've only seen the youtube clips and I'm just not seeing this 'special talent' everyone else is talking about.

Obviously there is quite a bit more to the kid than 5 minutes of footage.

Can you elaborate on what is special about Cerra. I've only seen the youtube clips and I'm just not seeing this 'special talent' everyone else is talking about.

Elite disposal and decision making, can use both sides of the body, great marl gets in the right positions. Only knocks on him are his speed and injury proneness.

He's an extremely high volume contested baller and accumulator, but he's also an excellent ball user and decision maker. Has while in a small sample also when pushed forward gone bananas kicking 3 goals, 5 behinds in a half.

With Cerra, it's not about doing something freakish or having a moment where he wows you, he's just one of those guys who is seriously good seemingly just about all the time - as you'd say about most of the better mids in the game.

In a word.

Will Gillon McLachlan read out the picks again?

Hope not.

Not something I follow (having never actually heard the picks read out - rather just tracking live on my monitor who is picked), but I'm anticipating he will.

When hasn't the AFL CEO been the one reading out the picks? For those who follow this?

Whilst they wouldn't be my first choice picks for West Coast, I'd be over the moon with your selections.
All those early picks have to be mids and or small fwds. Reckon we should go for Marsh as a rookie pick and not go for a tall def with one of our early picks.
Love to draft Starcevich, reckon he's got huge upside.

Unlikely.

Tomorrows heroes. Rayner the only video on freo web page

Hey KM, any chance Liam Baker gets picked up this year? Missed out last year. A little write up on him on the AFL website.
Yep, I know only a highlight package but he looked like he has something to offer, a lot of the highlight packages I have seen this year have been pretty uninspiring, even the top rated players.

We are in need of a small pressure forward or two, I hope we are having a look at him, he looked good contested possession wise as well.

When hasn't the AFL CEO been the one reading out the picks? For those who follow this?

Up until 2015, all picks were read out by club recruiters.

Then last year, Gill read out the picks.

Whilst they wouldn't be my first choice picks for West Coast, I'd be over the moon with your selections.
All those early picks have to be mids and or small fwds. Reckon we should go for Marsh as a rookie pick and not go for a tall def with one of our early picks.
Love to draft Starcevich, reckon he's got huge upside.

Starcevich would be in the mix. I'm planning to slot him into the third round of my upcoming three round phantom draft.

Marsh I don't believe has nominated for this years draft. I believe he just wishes to continue living in WA. Don't know his intentions regarding a return to AFL level, but I haven't heard any indication that he wants to return to the system. If he wanted to return, I'd be advocating a club pick him up late draft, as he's a genuine 17 position player (can play anywhere other than ruck) and is also a really high impact type with his athleticism, acceleration but then ball winning capabilities at his height.

Tomorrows heroes. Rayner the only video on freo web page

I wouldn't read into it. Club websites do that all the time with draft prospects around this time of year. It has not had any correlation with who has actually been picked in any way. It's just to boost the club websites content around this time of year, if not producing anything much.

Hey KM, any chance Liam Baker gets picked up this year? Missed out last year. A little write up on him on the AFL website.

Small mid, but had a terrific season and looked good at WAFL League level. Finding the footy, hitting the scoreboard. Baker is in the mix late/rookie.

I'd personally be happy with him at pick 6 from what I can see on videos and what I've read. Admit I haven't seen him in person but we need some good kicks.

If O'Brien was picked by the Pies at 6 the recruiting team would need to find a safe house or get lynched.

Pies have delisted multiple kp players and have an over supply of quality mids, sure O'Brien would be a nice Sidebottom replacement but when you look at the Pies spine of talls it is cringeworthy.

Pies simply must draft a quality tall at 6.