Knightwheelrqr 2010 Mock Draft

Wow. Comments really building up here in a hurry.

hey Knight, any chance that Heppell will slip t the Lions at pick 10? or will we have to hope the GC give as a generous pick like #7 for brennan to have any chance?

Also, I get the feeling Darling's stocks will go up again and end up at the eagles at pick 4...what are your thoughts on darling? Guys like him and Gorringe could really shape the draft in letting midfielders slip to teams like the Lions & Bombers

Heppell could be, but I doubt it. Really risen up the rankings and is now getting the acknowledgement he has deserved. Big chance to go in the top 4-6 and thoroughly deserves it. Only question might be midfield potential because there isn't a huge demand for back flankers from the bottom placed teams, but he can play anywhere so I don't think that will hurt him.

Darling is an interesting one. Heard about him getting beaten up. Not sure what has happened there or how, where he is at now or how this is likely to effect his ranking. Two months ago he was said to be West Coast's preferred option over Gaff and Atley interestingly so you are not wrong with your comment. They saw him as someone who could develop into an Aaron Hamill type role, so he would have to still be under consideration. Hard to say where clubs see him. Certainly could be in the top 10, or top 5 mix. My gut says he might slide though. Will be very interesting to see where he goes because there will be varying views from clubs on his personality and upisde.

Brennan I'm not sure he is worth a top 10 pick. My estimated worth for Brennan would be pick 13.

I would be surprised if he is still there by the end of the 3rd round. Showed rapid improvement this season and has midfield potential.

Certainly. Not sure he will go 2nd round, but big chance in the 3rd round. Has the midfield potential certainly.

What is he like one - on - one?

Am I able to continue picking your brains out Knight?
clip_image001.gif

What are your thoughts Corey Buchan? Despite him only being 187cm, he plays a lot taller than he looks and is a good mark. Has a good shot at goal (obviously for a Full Forward
clip_image001.gif
).

Just wondering, where do you see him in this years draft?

And also Callum Currie? another player I would love to know a little bit more about..

Thanks Knight

HFF_07

Absolutely Batchelor can play one on one. Can play shut down roles if you need him to. Could play either and offensive or defensive role which does make him handy. Wing he can play also.

Buchan had a good start to the season and probably is more a rookie chance. Had a few nice hauls along the way. Led the league in goals. He has struggled against some of the better sides which does pose the question how will he go with the step up? Could be a handy Macaffer type pickup as a rookie who was in a similar position a few years ago. But will certainly need to become a more versatile player and learn a few new roles if he is an chance at AFL level.

Callum Currie I haven't seen a whole lot of so probably not one I can't fairly judge. Led the competition in disposals but just haven't seen enough Rebels games so taken close notice of Currie's game. Not one i've been looking at all that closely. The game I saw of him he got allot of handball receives and didn't have a huge influence. His tackling was ok without being great, but didn't see all that much in his game that I was all that keen on. Probably a rookie chance.

I would be surprised if he is still there by the end of the 3rd round. Showed rapid improvement this season and has midfield potential.

Gents,

i have heard that St Kilda are very keen on him...

i dont expect him to be available for Collingwoods 3 pick!

Wow. Comments really building up here in a hurry.

Heppell could be, but I doubt it. Really risen up the rankings and is now getting the acknowledgement he has deserved. Big chance to go in the top 4-6 and thoroughly deserves it. Only question might be midfield potential because there isn't a huge demand for back flankers from the bottom placed teams, but he can play anywhere so I don't think that will hurt him.

Darling is an interesting one. Heard about him getting beaten up. Not sure what has happened there or how, where he is at now or how this is likely to effect his ranking. Two months ago he was said to be West Coast's preferred option over Gaff and Atley interestingly so you are not wrong with your comment. They saw him as someone who could develop into an Aaron Hamill type role, so he would have to still be under consideration. Hard to say where clubs see him. Certainly could be in the top 10, or top 5 mix. My gut says he might slide though. Will be very interesting to see where he goes because there will be varying views from clubs on his personality and upisde.

Brennan I'm not sure he is worth a top 10 pick. My estimated worth for Brennan would be pick 13.

Certainly. Not sure he will go 2nd round, but big chance in the 3rd round. Has the midfield potential certainly.

Absolutely Batchelor can play one on one. Can play shut down roles if you need him to. Could play either and offensive or defensive role which does make him handy. Wing he can play also.

Buchan had a good start to the season and probably is more a rookie chance. Had a few nice hauls along the way. Led the league in goals. He has struggled against some of the better sides which does pose the question how will he go with the step up? Could be a handy Macaffer type pickup as a rookie who was in a similar position a few years ago. But will certainly need to become a more versatile player and learn a few new roles if he is an chance at AFL level.

Callum Currie I haven't seen a whole lot of so probably not one I can't fairly judge. Led the competition in disposals but just haven't seen enough Rebels games so taken close notice of Currie's game. Not one i've been looking at all that closely. The game I saw of him he got allot of handball receives and didn't have a huge influence. His tackling was ok without being great, but didn't see all that much in his game that I was all that keen on. Probably a rookie chance.

With reference to Buchan...

He does have a few tricks. He is very quick, comes with a strong athletic background. suprised many with his improvement this year and many suggest, plenty of upside to this player. i certainly agree he would be worth a late pick or rookie.

Gents,

i have heard that St Kilda are very keen on him...

i dont expect him to be available for Collingwoods 3 pick!

Logic fit into the St Kilda side and certainly this would not surprise me. I think he might come onto the radar mid-late in the 2nd round of clubs.

I have him from 35-late at this stage. Certainly a very good prospect with allot to offer clubs.

"#43 (Collingwood) – Tom Hickey (QLD)
Height: 199cm, Weight: 88kg, DOB: 06/03/1991
Recruited from: Morningside
Style: Todd Goldstein
Range: 37-60
Why: Has good mobility and a nice leap. Lays tackles and while an overage kid his upside is very high and has improved very rapidly this year. After Gorringe and Lycett probably the next best ruckman so he might be a good pickup for Collingwood who have little ruck depth and could do with a young project ruckman to have developed by the time Darren Jolly retires to put added pressure on Cameron Wood to continue his development. "

Saw Tom Hickey run around in the QAFL final last week end and come on 20 min to go down by 20 and helped turn the game on its ear by dominationg Spida Everitt and Trent Knobel and Morninside went on to beat Labrador by 22pts

Knighta:

Found it interesting you went for Crocker for Richmond's second round - does he have the potentency up forward that someone like Josh Green is renowned for?

I think if we went tall in the first round we go for someone in the Green, Crocker or Prestia mold - but if we go small we try and snap up Mitchell with our second round pick.

What are your thoughts on Uysal too?

Saw Tom Hickey run around in the QAFL final last week end and come on 20 min to go down by 20 and helped turn the game on its ear by dominationg Spida Everitt and Trent Knobel and Morninside went on to beat Labrador by 22pts

Heard from Snoop that Hickey had a ripper. Don't have footage of the game but he is a very draftable ruckman and have liked the bits that i've seen.

Knighta:

Found it interesting you went for Crocker for Richmond's second round - does he have the potentency up forward that someone like Josh Green is renowned for?

I think if we went tall in the first round we go for someone in the Green, Crocker or Prestia mold - but if we go small we try and snap up Mitchell with our second round pick.

What are your thoughts on Uysal too?

Crocker is an interesting one. But one to look out for. Comes from the same school as Gaff. Big left boot, has nice athleticism, strong overhead. Really like his game and wouldn't put it past him to go 1st round. Should be somewhere on that 1st-2nd round boarder for mine. Not an inside player like Green but I can see him being very dangerous on a forward flank at the next level. Very draftable kid. Gone a little under the radar having spent much of his time playing private school footy.

Uysal. I'm leaning towards him going as a rookie. Had a really nice patch from midseason but then was a little disappointing in the finals where his form did taper off a little. Not completely sold on his game, but could be a handy rookie pickup.

Logic fit into the St Kilda side and certainly this would not surprise me. I think he might come onto the radar mid-late in the 2nd round of clubs.

I have him from 35-late at this stage. Certainly a very good prospect with allot to offer clubs.

Sub note on Batchelor...

He won the Dandenong B & F on the weekend.
Runner up - Benbow.
Not sure of the rest!

I really rate your midfield honestly.

So do I. Martin, Cotchin, Foley, Deledio, Connors, Jackson, Tuck, but it probably needs more and we were lacking for depth with Foley gone, we can't be so shallow and we need to be able to rotate players through the midfield instead of having a base group constantly in there.

Graham and Vickery seem set with Browne, and are quite young. I mean given they need to learn, they should both be playing, and should be our rucks for 10 years. They wont learn any quicker with Gorringe in the team.

We have quite a few tall defenders, and Riewoldt and Griffiths hope to form a partnership forward with bit players like Post and Taylor. Overall I would like us to add to our good kicks and draft someone like Pitt or just an overall midfield general like Atley or Gaff, they should be our targets. I wouldn't draft another tall we have quite a few and surely talls need someone to kick it to them. Hardwick may want to build from the talls (I don't know about this, if it is true) but he also wants midfield skills.

Great work Knight, much appreciated.
Do you think there is any chance that Watson could slip to the hawks at 19? I'm really impressed by this kid. Know that Carlton (amongst others) would be interested before us but here's hoping. Dont the blues have a best player available with 1st pick policy?

Someone would have to slide pretty far (top 8) for us to pass on Watson I would think.

The only chance the Hawks have of getting him is if we somehow trade our pick, or you upgrade yours.

To be honest I dont even like the chances of him being available at 18.

Someone would have to slide pretty far (top 8) for us to pass on Watson I would think.

The only chance the Hawks have of getting him is if we somehow trade our pick, or you upgrade yours.

To be honest I dont even like the chances of him being available at 18.

I agree. Carlton at 18 is the most he will slide. Personally I think the GC will take him before carlton with #15, or before the Lions 2nd pick they get for brennan.

Great work Knight, much appreciated.
Do you think there is any chance that Watson could slip to the hawks at 19? I'm really impressed by this kid. Know that Carlton (amongst others) would be interested before us but here's hoping. Dont the blues have a best player available with 1st pick policy?

He is a chance.

Likely? No.

Great pickup if he does slide. Would be a great fit for Hawthorn. I agree.

If Hawthorn decided they were keen a good way would be to upgrade the pick which could be a possibility but it can be hard sometimes to know the earliest possible pick a specific player could go. I'd say the earliest could be pick 7, but I wouldn't recommend you trade up to a pick so high because it will come at a cost.

My recommendation would be to target Chris Tarrant if he can fit into the salary cap and work out an appropriate player for player trade. Quality, and an ideal immediate fit into your best 22. Tarrant is a short term 1-3 year rent and this should be more than enough time to allow Shoenmakers to develop.

Another player I would target as a late/rookie is Kyle Hartigan. He slid through the draft last year. For mine was a top 40 prospect. KPD who had a strong season at VFL level. Would be a really good option long term who could be a gem if you do miss out on Watson.

hey just wondering where Tom Lynch stacks up against other KPF from previous drafts? Apart from Sam Day he would have the most potential of the crop this year right? however i have heard the tall forward department is a bit lacking this year and possibly making him go higher than he usually would?? is this true

Personally i think the depth of key position players in this draft is exceptional. The big man depth would rival that of 2006 imo.

Love reading a detailed and knowledgable draft like this one... cheers mate...

Dodoro has said that Ess may take a ruckman at pick 8... or definately at some stage in the draft, who do you think they may be targeting??

Ess will probably upgrade Howlett with their last pick as well.

This draft is excellent for key position forwards.

In 1st round consideration: Sam Day, Tom Lynch, Jack Darling and Lucas Cook. So certainly the top end key position forwards are very good.

Then others who are also likely to go somewhere in the draft include: Luke Mitchell, Thomas Gordon, Jamie Solly and Darcy Barden amongst others. So both top end depth and overall depth for key position forwards is very much a strength of this draft.

do you know if the pies are still interested?

I don't expect Collingwood will select Irving and it is more likely that another club take a stab if someone does. Certainly will be on our radar and might get considered, but I don't think he will be all that high on our list.

Love reading a detailed and knowledgable draft like this one... cheers mate...

Dodoro has said that Ess may take a ruckman at pick 8... or definately at some stage in the draft, who do you think they may be targeting??

Ess will probably upgrade Howlett with their last pick as well.

I'm just putting names out there for now and will later include pick upgrades including all the correct number of picks per team once the delistings have been decided. Collingwood will with Jarryd Blair and I'm sure a number of other clubs will also no doubt.

For Essendon unless Gorringe slides I'd say your 1st rounder will be a midfielder because your club really needs quality inside and outside mids. Lycett would be an option at 8, but with midfield needs I would label it as unlikely for Essendon to go in this direction.

I think Essendon will rookie a ruckman or take one late.
Some options in that late-rookie bracket include: Russell Gabriel (21 y/o ruckman who had a fantastic season at VFL level), Matthew Jones (from WA who is a long left footer who can go forward), Jonathan Ceglar (Vic mobile overage ruckman) and Andrew Phillips (from Tasmania would be the other likely option who is another overage prospect).

What are the chances of Wilkinson sliding to the Pies first pick? Sound like he has impressed at the combine camp with his testing.

Another player I would target as a late/rookie is Kyle Hartigan. He slid through the draft last year. For mine was a top 40 prospect. KPD who had a strong season at VFL level. Would be a really good option long term who could be a gem if you do miss out on Watson.
Are you confident he can develop enough speed/acceleration to make it as an AFL footballer? Every other part of his game seems good enough.

What are the chances of Wilkinson sliding to the Pies first pick? Sound like he has impressed at the combine camp with his testing.

I'm not sure if the Gold Coast still have a chance to pick him up under one of their zone selections. But if not then we are certainly a chance. He could go anywhere from 10-43.

Being a mature ager it likely will mean that he does drop a little which might be he is a possibility.

Certainly would encourage Collingwood to take a good look at Wilkinson because I do rate him very high in my personal player rankings. Just will be interesting to see what clubs will think of him.

Before the draft combine my feeling was that he was viewed as a 2nd rounder, but with his good testing and also hopefully good interviews I think he might be a chance to go 1st round. I did the speculate thing and put him at 10 for Brisbane which I think would be one hell of a pick.

Would he be available in the open market? Hard to say. At this stage he would be a chance but I can certainly see him going earlier.

Are you confident he can develop enough speed/acceleration to make it as an AFL footballer? Every other part of his game seems good enough.

Haven't seen a whole lot of him this year at VFL level to know how exposed he has been but certainly has been amongst the best a couple of times from memory. Not super quick but I don't think it will be a huge problem and it is still more than passable from what I have seen. Physically he is more ready to go than most key position defenders at his age. Is great one on one and regularly beats his opponent so for a Hawthorn being a more physically able key position defender he would be an ideal fit to go in their mostly undersized defense. St Kilda should also look at him, with their zoning and midfielders getting back into defense to clog up space I don't think Hartigan would be so exposed, so this might also be an option.

I certainly think with time he can be a very serviceable AFL level player who can make it.