Retired Koby Stevens

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Ross can run and distribute. So can Kobe from the look of things. Dunstan is the one that can't so he'd better have his spikes on over the summer unless he wants to play at Sandy. Acres and Gresham can break lines so we do have some spread but agree we need more.

Ross doesn't run with the ball but he does distribute. Dunstan is the same but doesn't get the ball as much because he is inside. Stevens isn't a great runner either. Hope he is a star.

It's a shame Sam Mitchell is moving on. The Hawks Saints game would have been hilarious...

Now we need to draft Jack Noone.

First name is just a bonus.
That leg break though... :(

I'm very consistent. You are also consistent. You don't understand what is written and in your head make up things that aren't written. I said we need more mids who are top 15 players. Not just depth so please don't make things up. Kobe is not an upgrade on Armo this year. He has played 75 games in about 8 years. Blame injury blame being in good sides but don't blame facts. And as you said who could the WB drop to play him? None of them because they are better. How does that make us get near WB? It doesn't. If Stevens replaces Dunstan it may make us a point better. We need goals better. We don't need to drop a 4th year player to improve marginally. So Gringo read anything you like into what I write except facts.
I don't think Koby is a better player than Armo at his best. He is a different type of player, I wrote earlier here he is comparable to a Stephen Powell who played for us then you guys. He is more Lenny Hayes than Robert Harvey, obviously not in the league of those two champions but I'm trying to draw a picture of the type I see him as.

Ross doesn't run with the ball but he does distribute. Dunstan is the same but doesn't get the ball as much because he is inside. Stevens isn't a great runner either. Hope he is a star.

Bottom line:

He is likely better than 3 or 4 fringe dwellers on our list.

He hasn't cost us a good pick.

I'd he plays round one then he is better than some of our kids.

If they overtake him then that can only be good for our list depth.

Not sure what the issue is.

We gave added Steele and most likely add 1 OR 2 more mids in the draft.

Bottom line:

He is likely better than 3 or 4 fringe dwellers on our list.

He hasn't cost us a good pick.

I'd he plays round one then he is better than some of our kids.

If they overtake him then that can only be good for our list depth.

Not sure what the issue is.

We gave added Steele and most likely add 1 OR 2 more mids in the draft.
We got him for free?

I'm very consistent. You are also consistent. You don't understand what is written and in your head make up things that aren't written. I said we need more mids who are top 15 players. Not just depth so please don't make things up. Kobe is not an upgrade on Armo this year. He has played 75 games in about 8 years. Blame injury blame being in good sides but don't blame facts. And as you said who could the WB drop to play him? None of them because they are better. How does that make us get near WB? It doesn't. If Stevens replaces Dunstan it may make us a point better. We need goals better. We don't need to drop a 4th year player to improve marginally. So Gringo read anything you like into what I write except facts.

He's 25, just hitting his prime. Who's to say he doesn't have a lot of improvement in him? He got 8 Brownlow votes this year, not playing a full season. Judging by the videos we've seen ( yes, I realize it's a highlights reel) I think he has a lot to offer....but if it turns out he is just depth, he'll be better depth then what we currently have. And he'll cost next to nothing.
I know you are very much a realist, but try and throw a little optimism in there sometimes...it's amazing how good it makes you feel. Glass half full :rolleyes:

I don't love his kicking action/style, but it looks like he can run, take a grab and is hard at it, so I look forward to seeing how he goes for us.

Will be an immediate upgrade on what Dunstan was giving us this year if he's fit and in form, that's for sure and if Luke struggles in his first year after his shoulder reco like he did his last one, then Koby could be a very smart addition indeed.

Rumour a while ago at the Dogs was that in Koby's first year or two, not sure when, but Will Minson was getting ahead of himself at training. He was roughhousing and bullying a younger player and generally being a horses behind. Koby fronted him about it in the locker room and when Will still was carrying on Koby sat him on his arse.
Of course this rumor is a bit like Chinese whispers but it shows the quality of the bloke to 1 stand up for younger blokes. 2 standing up to a giant like Will. 3 Tough enough to supposedly sit Will on his arse.

I've heard the "Will Minson acting like a horses arse" story many times in many different ways, the one thing no one ever seems to dispute is that big Will is a bit of a flog.

I don't love his kicking action/style, but it looks like he can run, take a grab and is hard at it, so I look forward to seeing how he goes for us.

Will be an immediate upgrade on what Dunstan was giving us this year if he's fit and in form, that's for sure and if Luke struggles in his first year after his shoulder reco like he did his last one, then Koby could be a very smart addition indeed.

I have WB supporting mates and when I watch them play he always looks good. He has had a bad injury run and it often seems to cost him his place in the team like Longer and Hickey. I have often had a twinge of jealousy that he picked the dogs when he plays. I think You'll be pleasantly surprised by him. He looked better than Hartlett this year and will cost SFA in a trade or dollars in comparison.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d2=8&type=A&pid1=3110&pid2=3336&fid1=S&fid2=S

I'm quite bullish on him. Apparently was averaging 26 disposals per game until injured early this year (compare that to Dunstan who averaged 17 for the year) and like Armo at the same age, seems to be improving from year to year, so I reckon if he has a full preseason and really gets a lot of opportunity in the midfield he could have a bit of a breakout year.

His dominant performances to date have been against mediocre opposition, but you've got to start somewhere and hopefully the confidence he gets from having played games like that will help him to start performing better against the better teams.

He's 25, just hitting his prime. Who's to say he doesn't have a lot of improvement in him? He got 8 Brownlow votes this year, not playing a full season. Judging by the videos we've seen ( yes, I realize it's a highlights reel) I think he has a lot to offer....but if it turns out he is just depth, he'll be better depth then what we currently have. And he'll cost next to nothing.
I know you are very much a realist, but try and throw a little optimism in there sometimes...it's amazing how good it makes you feel. Glass half full :rolleyes:

Don't worry I'm not negative about what the club usually does. If anything people have a go at me for agreeing with most things the club does. I just feel we are past depth players at this stage of our rebuild unless its a KPP or ruck. It does cost something. Every player you get cost something even if you aren't paying to get a player. And don't worry I feel great about our clubs rebuild. I just don't agree on this move but like I keep saying I hope he is a star and people show my posts in a years time saying I know bugger all about footy.

His dominant performances to date have been against mediocre opposition, but you've got to start somewhere and hopefully the confidence he gets from having played games like that will help him to start performing better against the better teams.

He'll add polish and compliment the skills of those around him, more than anything. He isn't a game breaker, but knowing you've got someone reliable to possess and dispose of the ball is obviously always welcome

I like him going forward most. He ain't the biggest bloke but he's my height from memory (6'1"), so he will definitely add some running-into-CHF floating menace, as he has done for us

Don't want to sound condescending or anything but I'm happy he went to an emerging club like you guys. If he sold the farm to move to an established top 8 side I don't think we would have seen the best of him, he's got a tank and the skill to move a club into that top 8, definitely

And that is the issue. Why we want a player who many think is a stop gap or depth is beyond me. Hope he is a star. He will get a lot of the ball but is he the type of player who will improve us. I'm doubting it. Perfect for a top side.

We are a top side. Try to keep up.

I've heard the "Will Minson acting like a horses arse" story many times in many different ways, the one thing no one ever seems to dispute is that big Will is a bit of a flog.
He has had issues for sure on field v other teams. I can understand why other clubs fans don't like him. This is only example of him being a horses arse within the club I ever heard though. His send-off video at presentation night was fantastic.

Yeah I liked Big Willy in his prime he was a nutter on field, he got serious white line fever. I have heard he's a good bloke off field and smart.