Koch slams Kennett over pokies

Here here Kochie...Kennett the dinosaur and one of the worst Premiers this state or any other state has ever had, whacks Saints and Power re finances and yet his club makes a shedload of money in the western suburbs from pokies.

Those Hawks have always had close relations with the western suburbs

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...orn-s-reliance-on-pokies-20180315-p4z4iq.html

You can dislike Kennett all you like but as Premier he took Vic from rust bucket status setting the foundation for subsequent State Governments - he made the hard decisions that politicians of ALL persuasions squib.

AFL industry has a gambling problem. Until it can work out a way live without gambling revenue we are stuck with it. Its the biggest blight on the game.

Just because it’s legal doesn’t mean it’s ethically or morally right. I hate the fact my club has them.

The FIXture is a bigger blight on the game, it effects all the clubs, pokies dont. Not a fan of pokies or gambling generally.

It was Kennet who legalised pokies in Victoria putting a curse on communities who could ill afford to have such a blight available to them.
They always attract the people who should avoid them most, the poor.
Kennet knew this yet decided it would be good, net result is a burden on the community.

Hope you didnt research the history of pokies in Vic, whomever told you it was Kennett, remember to ignore anything else they tell you, its crap !!

Joan Kirner ... deserves to be remembered for her many achievements and unquestioned devotion to the progress of Victoria.

Kirner, Victoria’s first – and so far only – female premier, also introduced poker machine gambling to the state. Her government passed legislation in 1991 to enable a duopoly to establish poker machine venues in local hotels and clubs.
https://theconversation.com/pokies-in-victoria-joan-kirners-difficult-legacy-42689

On the wrong horse bart, but you probably know that ... from the same article:
This is not a legacy of which a reforming and progressive Labor premier would be proud. It is little wonder, then, that along with former Liberal premier Jeff Kennett – who succeeded Kirner as premier and energetically oversaw the expansion of the gambling business – she regretted the expansion of poker machines into pubs and clubs. They both believed that poker machines should be limited to the casino, as occurs in Western Australia.

I think Kennett’s absolutely right on overseas games, fwiw.

Taking games away from supporters for a shameless cash grab. It’s pretty rank.
any different to moving home games away from Victoria?

both taking games away from their supporters tbf

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Everybody knows Kennett was just trying to divert attention from the fact Hawthorn have ****** Tasmania for their own benefit for 15 years. Chinese AFL has exponentially improved since Port has been there. Tasmanian football has gone dramatically backwards since Hawthorn have been there.
You're kidding, aren't you?

Everybody knows Kennett was just trying to divert attention from the fact Hawthorn have ****** Tasmania for their own benefit for 15 years. Chinese AFL has exponentially improved since Port has been there. Tasmanian football has gone dramatically backwards since Hawthorn have been there.
chinese afl? hahaha

Pokies are trash, but this thread seems to be about discussing all the worse things to minimise the relative trashness of the pokies.

It costs WA a fortune not to have them, it doesn't factor into the GST distribution calculation.
One of the things I respect about wa is that they haven't allowed pokies. They should be banned and burnt nation wide.

You can dislike Kennett all you like but as Premier he took Vic from rust bucket status setting the foundation for subsequent State Governments - he made the hard decisions that politicians of ALL persuasions squib.
We are still feeling the pain from Kennett selling everything that wasn't legally bolted down. Noone in Vic thinks Kennett did well in hindsight.

Selling public infrastructure (most which was in poor areas) and closing institutions like schools is NOT the thought decision. It's the short sighted easy way out. The real tough decision is figuring out how to fund all th things that the government should.

Answer me this: if it is profitable for a private company to run the trains/power/gas etc, then why did Kennett keep those money making asserts which could still be producing revenue for the state? The answer is that he wanted the short term cash because it was the easy option to make himself look good, to the long term detriment of the state. He was looking to the next election in 3 years, not the next 30 years.

We are still feeling the pain from Kennett selling everything that wasn't legally bolted down. Noone in Vic thinks Kennett did well in hindsight.

Selling public infrastructure (most which was in poor areas) and closing institutions like schools is NOT the thought decision. It's the short sighted easy way out. The real tough decision is figuring out how to fund all th things that the government should.

Answer me this: if it is profitable for a private company to run the trains/power/gas etc, then why did Kennett keep those money making asserts which could still be producing revenue for the state? The answer is that he wanted the short term cash because it was the easy option to make himself look good, to the long term detriment of the state. He was looking to the next election in 3 years, not the next 30 years.

Here here. He a treasure chest of money instead of spending on important things like education and health.

We’re now paying a s**t load for electricity and gas and a select few are making money from it. A joke of a man

Not as far "overseas" as such, but Tasmania anyone?
Tasmania, and in particular Launceston does very well out of the 4 games, due to tourism dollars.

Here's some quotes...

"A consultancy commissioned by Tourism Tasmania in the early years of the deal put the direct economic benefit of the sponsorship at $3.9 million, in addition to media exposure worth $1.9 million."

"The city’s mayor claimed Hawthorn provided economic stimulus of $50 million each year to Launceston."

"A 33-year veteran on Council and long-standing chairman of Aurora Stadium has put the marketing value of the sponsorship alone at $80 million."

"Current and former Premiers have talked of ‘direct economic benefits’ of $15 million each year.
"

The numbers vary, but the theme remains the same. Tasmania/Launceston receive a hefty dividend for their sponsorship of Hawthorn.

Tasmania, and in particular Launceston does very well out of the 4 games, due to tourism dollars.

Here's some quotes...

"A consultancy commissioned by Tourism Tasmania in the early years of the deal put the direct economic benefit of the sponsorship at $3.9 million, in addition to media exposure worth $1.9 million."

"The city’s mayor claimed Hawthorn provided economic stimulus of $50 million each year to Launceston."

"A 33-year veteran on Council and long-standing chairman of Aurora Stadium has put the marketing value of the sponsorship alone at $80 million."

"Current and former Premiers have talked of ‘direct economic benefits’ of $15 million each year.
"

The numbers vary, but the theme remains the same. Tasmania/Launceston receive a hefty dividend for their sponsorship of Hawthorn.

But doesn't Hawthorn receive a lot of money and exposure too, hence why they do it?

any different to moving home games away from Victoria?

both taking games away from their supporters tbf

Nope. Whole practice of selling games anywhere should be banned.

Think the Bulldogs is ok, Ballarat is an hour up the road. Other than that, not a fan.

Nope. Whole practice of selling games anywhere should be banned.

Think the Bulldogs is ok, Ballarat is an hour up the road. Other than that, not a fan.
I agree.

I think it's funny that old Jeffy is at his usual hypocritical best. Blasting a club for selling 1 game to China yet forgetting he sold 3 to Tasmania

But doesn't Hawthorn receive a lot of money and exposure too, hence why they do it?
Of course they do. They receive a sponsorship.

Kennet shows his true colours in being a typical liberal who lives money over all else. He claims to speak for beyond blue, yet overseas a club that makes most of its revenue by bleeding money from the alone, depressed and addicted. He was also only too happy to close schools in poor areas for some short term cash.

Hawks fans showing their true s**t and piss colours supporting such a hypocrite who is all too willing to live off the suffering of the disadvantaged.
Like your good self, I don’t think the privatisation of public assests has been beneficial to citizens of Victoria. And I am anti pokies, so don’t lump us all in together mate.

We don't sell games theyre our sponsor and we don't lose money going to Tasmania unlike Port who lost 200k.
So if China sponsored Port it would be ok?

I wouldn't be worried about losing $200k in their first visit. There would have been alot of start up costs which are absorbed in the first year. Standard business to lose money at the start up.

You mean he was right? Clubs which only exist and run due to their handout from the AFL shouldn't be allowed to take such financial risk without some real world punishment, it's illogical to keep throwing money behind clubs which continuous piss that money out the window with no improvement.

Get back into the black before you take such ambitious investments, atm these clubs are like someone taking a personal loan and investing all the money into cryptocurrency in the hope they find gold.
Like a cash strapped Hawthorn heading to Tassie to bleed the apple isle without any intention of helping them get their own team?