Koch slams Kennett over pokies

Does Tassie footy sponsor the Hawks? Nope.
Your argument about the state of local footy in Tasmania being the Hawks fault is so far from reality.

There are many issues with Footy in Tasmania but the Hawks were not sponsored by the Government to grow local footy or fund it out of gate receipts.

I'm sure the AFL is happy with that view, even though last I checked they gave Tassie to North for NGA, and probably have done everything in their power to avoid helping footy down there themselves.

Kennett was all full of ideas & concerns about Tassie footy. All aimed at attacking anyone who would threaten the Hawks position here. Their wouldn't be such an attack on the value of the Hawks here if they's actually put something back into the community game here.

Saying we blame the Hawks is just defensive dribble we get from everyone else in football. No one blames the Hawks. Its just that they've been here & done SFA while problems developed & were so apparent.They could have shown a lead & helped out. But were too greedy to bother.

Community camps, getting paid to play, bringing the cups down! Wowee. Thanks heaps.

Community camp means what? Games, bring the cup down!! How does any of that help Tasmanian football?

They've played in Launceston for 17 seasons & achieved absolutely nothing for Tasmanian football. They've just flown in, kissed some political arse, then flown home with a truck of money.

Hawthorn being here has been a waste of bloody time for our football. They've given no value & done nothing but take money & Fkoff

The Hawks have serviced their sponsorship & deserve credit when other clubs sell games & grab the cash, look at North, they've been everywhere ... Canberra, Sydney, the Gold Coast, now Hobart.
Community camps mean nothing.

2016 Pokies and Hospitality Revenue
  • Collingwood – $21,656,298
  • Hawthorn – $18,338,797
  • Carlton – $ 17,949,201
  • Brisbane – $15,192,965
  • Essendon – $13,540,006
  • Melbourne – $12,193,285
  • Geelong – $9,060,375
  • Port Adelaide – $7,281,065
  • Richmond – $7,217,846
  • St Kilda – $2,069,132
Pleasing to see the Tigers are on the right side of the ledger.

Pleasing to see the crows not on the list at all.

.... But if that's the difference between a premiership, then maybe we need to do it if all the premiership clubs are doing it.

Hawthorn, Geelong, Port, Brisbane, Richmond, Collingwood all premiership sides since 2001, only premiership sides not on that list since then are Sydney who get significant help, West Coast and bulldogs . That's all isn't it?

The Hawks have serviced their sponsorship & deserve credit when other clubs sell games & grab the cash, look at North, they've been everywhere ... Canberra, Sydney, the Gold Coast, now Hobart.

Yes, its as much about the Hawks mouthy president. All full of himself & full of comment about Tas footy, but has done precisely nothing.

If he'd just shut up & take the cash he wouldn't make himself & the Hawks non action, such an obvious target.

So you're agreeing with me that Kennett was a s**t premier and damaged the Victorian state long term

Not agreeing with you at all, bit more complex than yes/no, your sort of call is for the mind dead political cheerleaders - he took the hard decisions & Vic has ridden on the $coat tails ever since.
Remember its the State that got the $money, not the Feds.

Pleasing to see the crows not on the list at all.

.... But if that's the difference between a premiership, then maybe we need to do it if all the premiership clubs are doing it.

Hawthorn, Geelong, Port, Brisbane, Richmond, Collingwood all premiership sides since 2001, only premiership sides not on that list since then are Sydney who get significant help, West Coast and bulldogs . That's all isn't it?
No moral high ground at the Tigers, blues stole a bunch of our pokies else we would still have them.

Think the club has gone towards health + fitness centres which is a good fit and morally defensible

Re. Crows u don't need pokies to win the GF, just pick your tea tree gully prodigies before the 3rd round!

Kennett was all full of ideas & concerns about Tassie footy. All aimed at attacking anyone who would threaten the Hawks position here. Their wouldn't be such an attack on the value of the Hawks here if they's actually put something back into the community game here.

Saying we blame the Hawks is just defensive dribble we get from everyone else in football. No one blames the Hawks. Its just that they've been here & done SFA while problems developed & were so apparent.They could have shown a lead & helped out. But were too greedy to bother.

Community camps, getting paid to play, bringing the cups down! Wowee. Thanks heaps.
If you don't blame the Hawks for the state of Tassie football stop saying its the Hawks fault then. The Tasmanian government sponsor the Hawks, not Tassie Football, and they do it for the economic benefit they see in having AFL games played down there, not so that Hawthorn can pour money back into local footy.

I think there are a lot of things the Hawks do in Tassie to interact with the community as a whole that is good and above what a sponsor usually gets. I'd like Tassie football to be strong again, there have been some amazing players come out of Tassie and it would be a shame if that stopped, but the issue is bigger than Tassie not having their own AFL team, something that wouldn't fix local footy

If you don't blame the Hawks for the state of Tassie football stop saying its the Hawks fault then. The Tasmanian government sponsor the Hawks, not Tassie Football, and they do it for the economic benefit they see in having AFL games played down there, not so that Hawthorn can pour money back into local footy.

I think there are a lot of things the Hawks do in Tassie to interact with the community as a whole that is good and above what a sponsor usually gets. I'd like Tassie football to be strong again, there have been some amazing players come out of Tassie and it would be a shame if that stopped, but the issue is bigger than Tassie not having their own AFL team, something that wouldn't fix local footy

Yes as I said. Hawthorn are here for the money. Please Let us know the "above what a sponsor gets'?

The Hawks have 'hoovered' up other sponsorship in the community. But not a cent back in to help the game at any level.

So don't give us your holier than thou dribble. Your here for the money.

Kissing a few babies & political arses doesn't amount to much.

Yes as I said. Hawthorn are here for the money. Please Let us know the "above what a sponsor gets'?

The Hawks have 'hoovered' up other sponsorship in the community. But not a cent back in to help the game at any level.

So don't give us your holier than thou dribble. Your here for the money.

Kissing a few babies & political arses doesn't amount to much.
Again what has sponsorship money the Hawks are receiving got to do with local footy?

Why do you think it's the Hawks who should be spending money on footy in Tassie?

Again what has sponsorship money the Hawks are receiving got to do with local footy?

Why do you think it's the Hawks who should be spending money on footy in Tassie?

Every other state league benefits to a greater or lesser extent from AFL clubs in their areas, WAFL, SANFL, VFL & even NEAFL. We get nothing.

Geez even transfer fees have been scrapped by the AFL so who ever we develop goes for nothing & the cost is born by the league & the clubs. With no return on their investment to help with the up & coming players development.

The AFL & VFL/AFL clubs here is more akin to a parasitical relationship than anything, anywhere else.

North, just like the Dog's and Saints had to sell home games because the AFL screwed us to the wall, Saints in the last 5 years or so has played most interstate teams at their home venues ( forgoing the return home game ) in a loss reducing effort, our returns from Etihad were so bad. Saints made more money from 1 game in NZ than we did in an entire season at Etihad. The FIXture and stadium retuns for those 3 clubs left little choice but to sell games elsewhere.

Bart Tryhard, clearly you will believe whatever suits you, & you are wrong again, ref same article & this time read it.
Loud mouth no nothing . See I can use name calling also to deflect from the argument.
Was happy to chat about it but your so full of self importance you seem to miss the point.
Jeff Kennet rolled out thousands of poker machines.
Devastated many families.

Bart Tryhard, clearly you will believe whatever suits you, & you are wrong again, ref same article & this time read it.
Who are trolling on behalf of, Jeff Kennet or the poker machine lobby.
The Poker machines that Kennett rolled out decimated communities.

Not interested in that?
Just like to blow your own trumpet and pretend you know all and run others down?
Poker machines suck the life blood out of people who cannot afford it.

Its your demonstrable lack of knowledge of the facts Bart, and some equally well informed soul as your good self, MIGHT believe you.
You may choose to spread folklore that has been taught to you by some spin doctor, any trolling here is your good self.

Read on & learn:
The most controversial project of the Kennett era was the $1.85 billion Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex, a gambling and entertainment centre on Melbourne's Southbank. Initial plans for a casino had been made under the Labor government, however the tendering process and construction occurred under Kennett. Allegations of financial inconsistencies in the tendering process (which eventually saw longtime Kennett supporters Ron Walker and Lloyd Williams successful) were to dog the Kennett government for many years, despite the verdict of an enquiry which found no wrongdoing on its behalf.

For your information I've never put a $ through pokies in Vic & I've been here right through since Joan Kirner introduced them to try & sort out the rust bucket status she inherited from John Cain.
I've no doubt of the hypocrisy of Kennetts stance on pokies.

Its your demonstrable lack of knowledge of the facts Bart, and some equally well informed soul as your good self, MIGHT believe you.
You may choose to spread folklore that has been taught to you by some spin doctor, any trolling here is your good self.

Read on & learn:
The most controversial project of the Kennett era was the $1.85 billion Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex, a gambling and entertainment centre on Melbourne's Southbank. Initial plans for a casino had been made under the Labor government, however the tendering process and construction occurred under Kennett. Allegations of financial inconsistencies in the tendering process (which eventually saw longtime Kennett supporters Ron Walker and Lloyd Williams successful) were to dog the Kennett government for many years, despite the verdict of an enquiry which found no wrongdoing on its behalf.

For your information I've never put a $ through pokies in Vic & I've been here right through since Joan Kirner introduced them to try & sort out the rust bucket status she inherited from John Cain.
I've no doubt of the hypocrisy of Kennetts stance on pokies.

Look history shows the first two venues in this state to open were in Footscray (Whitten Oval) and Croydon (Dorest Gardens Hotel) and last time I checked Croydon was deep in the South Eastern Suburbs, so his memory is shot to pieces. The other remaining fact that first 10,000 of the states 27,000 non Casino machines were rolled out before Jeff took office.

What can't be ignored regardless of who was in charge before or since Kirner is that they allowed and continue to allow machines to be placed in suburbs that contained higher risk players and they were allowed to be programmed in such a way that problem gambling was encouraged.

Look history shows the first two venues in this state to open were in Footscray (Whitten Oval) and Croydon (Dorest Gardens Hotel) and last time I checked Croydon was deep in the South Eastern Suburbs, so his memory is shot to pieces. The other remaining fact that first 10,000 of the states 27,000 non Casino machines were rolled out before Jeff took office.

What can't be ignored regardless of who was in charge before or since Kirner is that they allowed and continue to allow machines to be placed in suburbs that contained higher risk players and they were allowed to be programmed in such a way that problem gambling was encouraged.

Ahh, an inconvenient truth, just ignore it, Bart will.

Every other state league benefits to a greater or lesser extent from AFL clubs in their areas, WAFL, SANFL, VFL & even NEAFL. We get nothing.

Geez even transfer fees have been scrapped by the AFL so who ever we develop goes for nothing & the cost is born by the league & the clubs. With no return on their investment to help with the up & coming players development.

The AFL & VFL/AFL clubs here is more akin to a parasitical relationship than anything, anywhere else.
You seem utterly confused as to what Hawthorn’s involvement in the failures of Tasmanian footy is.

The Hawks suck up $s that could be better directed is the mugsta's view IMHO.
That ball is in Tasmanias court for the local politicians to do with as they choose - put pressure back on Gil.

The good job the Hawks do with the sponsorship is a problem in some respects for the proponents of a local team.

1) wasnt tabaret in the cbd the first gaming venue in vic?

2) croydon is outer eastern suburbs, not se (just past ringwood)

No.

In relation to Australian rules football in this state, Hawthorn have continued & exceeded previous VFL then AFL clubs behaviour in & to Tasmanian football.

They are the ultimate performer in the parasitic relationship we've had with the major Football organisations & clubs through our footy history.

They didn't have to be like that. They chose to be.

They have been in the position to do much more than just have Kennett fill the airwaves with his meaningless & useless platitudes.

Hawthorn, the family club. What a friging joke.