Koschitzke

Ross Lyon just defended him publicly again by saying that he had a jab after rolling his ankle early in the game against Collingwood. What about his performances in the previous 15 weeks Ross?

Didn't play in half of those games GC. Please re-phrase your question.

We need Stanley & McEvoy.

If we can still keep Kosi in the side I'm all for it but his spot is costing these young guns critical development.
Exactly. Pretty sure nearly all Saints supporters want Kosi to do well.....

Didn't play in half of those games GC. Please re-phrase your question.
..... but having played 11 from 16 games without making a ripple, it's time for affirmative action.

a couple of games he looked dangerous (Essendon, took a couple ripper marks, 3 goals 2. Freemantle, 17 possessions, 2 goals 1.) but other than that very minor contribution to the saints footy.

These next rounds if we dont' see any improvement with Koschitzke, then he may be done.

OK, I thought the just stop may of been directed at the likes of me.
Nah mate, not having a go at you - I disagree with your argument here, and I think kosi should stop. But you and I're still mates.

Which, ultimately, would please me no end. I don't mind if he proves me wrong, believe me. In fact, if he DOES prove me wrong, then he's playing awesome footy, and we'll become a stronger team.

Is it a performance based contract he's recently signed? :D

I like Kosi, always have and just hope the big fella can re-find some form, and soon. Not immediately mind you, but soon

I think we like the idea of him performing as a forward target, but he seems to do so much better when allowed to roam the ground, leading up to the wings and playing a role in the ruck

I wonder where he actually wants to play, positionally?

The articles makes some fair points but it assumes that there is no one else that can do that job & if he goes then there will be a void left in his absence.

The problem is we don't don't kick enough goals, we rely heavily on our defense to win us games.

Twelve goals from 11 matches is just not enough from a full forward, how many did LeCras get last week?

good article, though agree to an extent what Templar has had to say, especially when it comes to the assumptions that nobody else can do that same role. Although, we have had a few players up there, and maybe we don't have anyone that can play that role? Scarlett is hardly going to go to Stanley, I wouldn't have thought

I hope the Saint isn't suggesting that West Coast are a better unit than St Kilda though ;)

I'm not convinced that we don't kick enough goals due to personnel. It's more that our game style is about preventing goals first. Besides, to win 34 of the last 41 suggests we kick enough goals to beat the opposition

By not kicking enough goals each week we don't give ourselves much margin for error. If we don't kick straight we will probably lose. If 6.16 52 was 16.6 102 we would have pipped the Pies. We lost against Essendon by poor kicking & there's been a few games where we have just scraped in. I don't think we kick enough goals for how good a team we are.

I hope the Saint isn't suggesting that West Coast are a better unit than St Kilda though
Lol, no way but LeCras did an exceptional job last week.
to win 34 of the last 41 suggests we kick enough goals to beat the opposition
In most cases yes but one of the games we lost by not taking full advantage of our dominance was a Grand Final. It maybe OK to lose the the odd Home & Away game through poor kicking but when it comes to GF you want to make sure you have the formula to take full advantage of your opportunities

Kosi's statistical averages

2001: 20 gp, 6.85 kpg, 4.5 mpg, 4.8 hpg, 11.65 dpg, 0.1 gpg, 0.1 bpg, 1.25 hopg, 0.4 tpg, 3 BVs.
2002: 4 gp, 4.25 kpg, 4.25 mpg, 2 hpg, 6.25 dpg, 0.5 gpg, 0.0 bpg, 1.0 hopg, 0.25 tpg, 0 BVs.
2003: 17 gp, 6.71 kpg, 4.82 mpg, 4.24 hpg, 10.94 dpg, 0.76 gpg, 0.29 bpg, 9.0 hopg, 1.53 tpg, 0 BVs.
2004: 17 gp, 7.35 kpg, 5.41 mpg, 3.82 hpg, 11.18 dpg, 1.18 gpg, 0.59 bpg, 6.12 hopg, 1.59 tpg, 3 BVs.
2005: 13 gp, 9.08 kpg, 7.31 mpg, 5.46 hpg, 14.54 dpg, 1.85 gpg, 1.08 bpg, 13.54 hopg, 2.85 tpg, 11 BVs.
2006: 7 gp, 4.57 kpg, 4.57 mpg, 2.57 hpg, 7.14 dpg, 0.86 gpg, 1.14 bpg, 3.0 hopg, 0.29 tpg, 0 BVs.
2007: 19 gp, 8.32 kpg, 6.11 mpg, 4.68 hpg, 13.0 dpg, 1.37 gpg, 0.68 bpg, 8.16 hopg, 1.58 tpg, 0 BVs.
2008: 22 gp, 7.59 kpg, 6.64 mpg, 4.36 hpg, 11.95 dpg, 1.36 gpg, 0.95 bpg, 5.91 hopg, 2.23 tpg, 3 BVs.
2009: 23 gp, 8.04 kpg, 6.74 mpg, 2.83 hpg, 10.87 dpg, 2.09 gpg, 1.3 bpg, 1.09 hopg, 1.3 tpg, 11 BVs.
2010: 11 gp, 5.64 kpg, 4.55 mpg, 5.27 hpg, 10.91 dpg, 1.09 gpg, 1.09 bpg, 3.36 hopg, 2.09 tpg.

that would seem to indicate that this is the worst full season kosi's ever played. and that last year was possibly the best, second to 05 maybe. very strange

By not kicking enough goals each week we don't give ourselves much margin for error. If we don't kick straight we will probably lose. If 6.16 52 was 16.6 102 we would have pipped the Pies. We lost against Essendon by poor kicking & there's been a few games where we have just scraped in. I don't think we kick enough goals for how good a team we are.

So really you're saying we can leave Kosi there, he just needs to kick straight. No argument from me there

It's not that we're not creating the opportunities (GF and last game two examples) but that we're not taking them

There aren't many players in our side at the moment I have total confidence in kicking for goal. I used to be confident with Kosi, but not so much this season. Goddard is probably who I'm most confident with at the moment, then probably Riewoldt but that is no gimme

Kosi's statistical averages

2001: 20 gp, 6.85 kpg, 4.5 mpg, 4.8 hpg, 11.65 dpg, 0.1 gpg, 0.1 bpg, 1.25 hopg, 0.4 tpg, 3 BVs.
2002: 4 gp, 4.25 kpg, 4.25 mpg, 2 hpg, 6.25 dpg, 0.5 gpg, 0.0 bpg, 1.0 hopg, 0.25 tpg, 0 BVs.
2003: 17 gp, 6.71 kpg, 4.82 mpg, 4.24 hpg, 10.94 dpg, 0.76 gpg, 0.29 bpg, 9.0 hopg, 1.53 tpg, 0 BVs.
2004: 17 gp, 7.35 kpg, 5.41 mpg, 3.82 hpg, 11.18 dpg, 1.18 gpg, 0.59 bpg, 6.12 hopg, 1.59 tpg, 3 BVs.
2005: 13 gp, 9.08 kpg, 7.31 mpg, 5.46 hpg, 14.54 dpg, 1.85 gpg, 1.08 bpg, 13.54 hopg, 2.85 tpg, 11 BVs.
2006: 7 gp, 4.57 kpg, 4.57 mpg, 2.57 hpg, 7.14 dpg, 0.86 gpg, 1.14 bpg, 3.0 hopg, 0.29 tpg, 0 BVs.
2007: 19 gp, 8.32 kpg, 6.11 mpg, 4.68 hpg, 13.0 dpg, 1.37 gpg, 0.68 bpg, 8.16 hopg, 1.58 tpg, 0 BVs.
2008: 22 gp, 7.59 kpg, 6.64 mpg, 4.36 hpg, 11.95 dpg, 1.36 gpg, 0.95 bpg, 5.91 hopg, 2.23 tpg, 3 BVs.
2009: 23 gp, 8.04 kpg, 6.74 mpg, 2.83 hpg, 10.87 dpg, 2.09 gpg, 1.3 bpg, 1.09 hopg, 1.3 tpg, 11 BVs.
2010: 11 gp, 5.64 kpg, 4.55 mpg, 5.27 hpg, 10.91 dpg, 1.09 gpg, 1.09 bpg, 3.36 hopg, 2.09 tpg.

I have pg overload :(

So really you're saying we can leave Kosi there
No, I'm not happy with 1 goal a game. So you're happy with 1 goal per game from him & you think that Stanley, Patterson, Hayne or even Lynch can't do a better job?

Kosi is kicking at 50% averaging 1.1 goals & 1.1 behinds. Just over 2 scoring shots per game. Compare that with other tall forwards that are out of form like Tippett, Roughead, Dawes & even the Fevola virus. They are all kicking at least 2 goals per game.

I think those forwards mentioned play under different playing styles, alot more attack, rather than focusing on the defence element as the Saints do.

If it were up to me this week I would've left McEvoy out and just have Kosi as the second ruckman. Kosi's form is getting beyond terrible and I think we're a much better team when he's in the ruck instead of clogging up our forward line because all he does is stand there.

I think those forwards mentioned play under different playing styles, alot more attack, rather than focusing on the defence element as the Saints do.
So what do we do when we get the ball inside the forward 50? Do we have some other plan besides taking marks & kicking goals?

If it were up to me this week I would've left McEvoy out and just have Kosi as the second ruckman. Kosi's form is getting beyond terrible and I think we're a much better team when he's in the ruck instead of clogging up our forward line because all he does is stand there.

I don't get to many games live, but I have to disagree with this
I certainly agree that Kosi's output is not where we'd like it to be, as far as results on the (score)board

But having watched him fairly closely at the few live matches I've been able to attend, I was actually pretty impressed with his work-rate, and how many times he actually leads, doubles back, works up the ground, and then presents as an option back in the F50

To me forward line defense , ie locking the ball into our 50 and refusing to let it rebound, is in fact an attacking style.
So we have the ball locked in our attacking 50, what do we do next? Run down the shot-clock?

Koschitzke