Koschitzke

Not really - many people (including me) thought Zac did OK.

Although Buddy (or Lance as Ross calls him) did kick a ripper from inside the square.

Do you really want to compare 19 possessions and 5 tackles with 6 possessions and 1 tackle?

So you want to have Kosi playing through the midfield now as well? If you're going to compare, make sure it's apples with apples.

Hey :eek: I didn't start the comparison!

So you guys are saying becuase Buddy played up the ground he is a god by kicking 5???

Hey :eek: I didn't start the comparison!

So you guys are saying becuase Buddy played up the ground he is a god by kicking 5???

No way.

Only BJ's effort of kicking 5 against Freo was god like!

buddy is 4 years younger, fitter, with no injuries like back injuries, head injuries.
Aagh, this is what I mean. NONE of those reasons are justifications for continuing to play him. They're reasons to pity him, to lament his rough luck, to rip into GT, etc, etc. But they are NOT legitimate reasons for him to keep playing. Teams pick players on current ability, or to give them experience given their potential - not on their previous ability, or their rough deal in life, or this or that thing that's unfairly hurt them, or because they're just a nice guy. That's because rough deals don't win games. Current playing ability does.

I agree that Kosi played a good game on Friday, and he should certainly continue to be picked after that, at least for a couple of weeks. But sheesh, enough with the "you have to realise Kosi would be awesome if blah blah blah hadn't happened to him..." I sympathise with the guy, but sympathy doesn't win premierships.

i am expecting kozi to peak at finals time and silence his critics. expecting a haul of 10.

This is a major part of the problem, you are expecting too much. I also expect him to peak in the finals, but I'll be happy with a couple of goals, second efforts, forward pressure, and helping out in the ruck.

I thought he had a really great start of the game against Hawthorn, something he hasn't had all year. The he rolled his ankle during the 2nd quarter and this slowed him down for the rest of the game, although if you watch the replay closely, you will see that he keeps trying and trying relentlessly.

This said, there's soemthing off with him. He doesn't take the pack marks as he used to, he doesn't lead as he used to, and he doesn't outmuscle most opponents as he used to. It's like if he has lost something (form? ability? getting old? endurance? ... I don't know).

Hopefully, he can peak during finals!! It would be our surprise weapon.

wasn't there when the Saints needed him in the first half, when the game was over he got into it into the second.

However, two massive changes. The first half we played shocking 'stop the momentum' footy that is getting us no where, and the 2nd we played with abit of flair and attack.

thoughts?

Kicked junk time goals when the sting went out of the game and the Bombers lost interest.

After half time we didn't kick a goal until 23 minutes into the third quarter.

Abysmal effort tonight.

He wont be dropped.

The structure of the side would be out of whack. Stick with him.
So some players, like Koschitzke, are undroppable, no matter how bad they play?

We have a shocking forward line, full on non achievers, apart from Riewoldt. Occasionally, someone else pops up & has a good game.

Fcuk the structure. There is no structure.

So some players, like Koschitzke, are undroppable, no matter how bad they play?

We have a shocking forward line, full on non achievers, apart from Riewoldt. Occasionally, someone else pops up & has a good game.

Fcuk the structure. There is no structure.

look at Zac Dawson unfortunately, wont be dropped ...

Who do you bring in for hm, Stanley, Lynch, Pattison?

All that will do is put more pressure on Riewoldt to kick 6+ goals a game, whilst having the two best defenders on him whilst he does it.

At lease Kosi will keep the opposition honest, they have to play a genuine defender on him, which frees up Nick to at least have an honest contest with his defender.

If you drop Kosi, who lays full forward and actually makes the opposition coach think that they may kick a bag . no one in this squad !

look at Zac Dawson unfortunately, wont be dropped ...

Who do you bring in for hm, Stanley, Lynch, Pattison?

All that will do is put more pressure on Riewoldt to kick 6+ goals a game, whilst having the two best defenders on him whilst he does it.

At lease Kosi will keep the opposition honest, they have to play a genuine defender on him, which frees up Nick to at least have an honest contest with his defender.

If you drop Kosi, who lays full forward and actually makes the opposition coach think that they may kick a bag . no one in this squad !

Say what. Hes doing the opposite. His opponent last night got 30 possessions 13 marks and 6 rebounds.

Whilst he is no ruckmun IMO he needs to be rotated through the rucks for the next few weeks to get his poor fitness up and maybe even help his agility. In sept we need him to be keeping pressure on defenders who have the ball which he cant do atm. Having said that I think Milne playing a bit more forward time (as much as our structure can allow anyway) would help make the forward line more potent

Wow read what I said again.
Doesn't matter how times you read it, it's still nonsense.

We get the ball inside 50 enough to be able to score more than 10 to 14 goals a game. We had more inside 50's in both loss's to Essedon & only about 3 less when we lost to Carlton. Half our goals come from midfielders. Our weakest link is our forward line, particularly Koschitzke.

Making a contest & bringing the ball to ground doesn't make a FF.

There is no room for sentiment in footy, if a player is a liability, then they have to be dropped. He has shown some glimpses of of form, last week he was ok, apart from that he' been crap all year.

Time to go & give Stanley a shot. Those who might say "he had his go & didn't do much", I agree, he did about the same as Kosi but I reckon between the two Stanley has the most potential to improve.

Time to go, not just Koschitzke either.

Koschitzke