Kostya Tszyu

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Smokin said:
mate, what planet are you on???

Mordey lost a stack in Tszyu, an absolute stack! Do you think the courts just tossed a coin and threw darts at numbers to come up with the $7.5 million figure? Just took a wild stab in the dark?

You read the judgment? didnt thinkso.

All promoters do their balls initially all over the world. You need some exposure into the world of boxing. Yep, Even King and Arum will sign young fighters up, pay them hansomely and await their return in years. It's the only way to do it, unless you fall across a ready made superstar with box offical appeal.

Tszyu made Mordey nothing up until then. Mordey leached nothing off Tszyu - if anyone leached it was Vlad Wharton, a guy who wouldnt know (still) a left hook from a fish hook, who got in Tszyus ear and made him sign with him AFTER winning the world title, even tho Tszyu was under contract.

What I wanna know is how the hell could you come to the conclusion Mordey made "millions" from Tszyu, outside of the court ruling? Absolutely befuddling, somebody who obviously dont know what they are talking about. Nobody in boxing sided with Tszyu at the time, nobody. Go talk around the gyms in this country, get insiders opinions on the guy. Not the most popular bloke in many circles, take that to the bank. My gut tells me you have never set foot anywhere near a boxing gym.

Option clauses are common place in boxing - every promoter in the world uses them and why the hell would you invest in something without protecting your return? It's an industry standard.

Your under the illusion Mordey made a stack from Tszyu, your so far from the truth its not funny. You simply made that up.

Go read the judgement and get educated, your embarassing yourself.

I haven't been to boxing gyms around the counrty to ask for insiders opinions pal, only been to the local gym a few times lol, haven't discussed the issue there and I'll admit that I'm not totally informed on this issue.

This is the only thing I know. Knowing how to box is an art. Knowing how to promote is knowing how to talk scchit, place hype on things and leech money off the artistry of others.

That Mordey didn't make money off Tszyu (if that is the case) doesn't really concern me. Mordey was an opportunist and gave Tszyu a deal which he took, fair enough. If Tszyu stayed in Russia he would have won a gold medal and would have had offers coming out his ars regardless. Mordey just got in first.

I haven't got time to look up the court proceedings at the moment, but I find it very hard to believe that Mordey made nothing off Tszyu even after he had become a world champion and left him what in 1995? 1996? (If you know different talk specifics, don't just say he made nothing. What did he lose money on him? Did he break even? I reckon you're talking hyperbole.) The 7 mill. was given to Mordey for the money Tszyu made in the subsequent years that should have been his under the contract extension.

Also couldn't give a farc about Wharton. He looks as shonky as the next promoter to me.