Kyabram DFL 2016

It will be interesting to see how Stanhope have covered their losses from last year. Having watched the Avenel vs Stanhope final last year, I thought Avenel were about half a dozen players off Stanhope. They now seem to have closed that gap, but it will obviously depend on injuries and the quality of both side's recruits, with Avenel seemingly retaining their list and Stanhope having to first replace a few quality players who have left.

Having a look at the clearance list on the weekend Stanhope look to be one of the more active Clubs with players coming in along with the Tally Redlegs. I didnt know some of them but big Eric Edwards going back out to Stanhope from Rumba to team up with Fonzy looks potent on paper. Be great for Avenel if they were top dog its been a long time between drinks for them.

Great discussion. And yes it is across threads because many of these blokes played KDFL, GVFL,or MFL. I still reckon Exell is the best in KDFL ... Can't have Meka as he caused trouble everywhere he went, and simply wasn't as good as Ex. All of the blokes mentioned were gun players lets face it.
I would rate Excell the best in KDFl in past 20 years. 3 seasons 2 flags, lots of goals says it all!. Yze in 2002 had the most incredible single season, Centre half forward, bags of goals and ripped us a new arseh*le in the grand final!

Aaron James is a name not yet mentioned. Didn't play that many games but he absolutely dominated literally every opponent (often 2 at a time) he played on. As far as guys having an impact on the league in the time he spent at Stanhope he has to be up there.

Go back to 7 jab and you'll see that I did give the man mountain a mention cheers mate !!

So.....
Who does everyone think was the best??
I spoke to my old man and he rated Loveless and Meka as true great forwards ever! I was way to young to remember but I'm keen to hear if anyone agrees with him a few comments have already been made. The old fella played FB so I guess he would have a bit of say but that is his opinion.

I was (un)lucky enough to play on excell, Meka and loveless and Irwin during intra club.. And must agree ex was best. Beautiful shot on goal, although Irwin wasn't far behind for accuracy, and had great ball users kicking it to him and his other forwards blocked for him too. Meka and loveless were more stay at home and would use their ample frames, and for a big fella Irwin was exceptional below his knees and had a pretty good turning circle. All kicked bags on me but in saying that even woody woodman kicked a couple on me in a club match once so that should tell you how poorly I played full back...
In saying all that jayco I reckon you were lucky that you played on these true legends of the game

loveless and meka were great goal kickers but could only play one position excell could play anywhere so could irwin yze was a freak very tough match up and was more dangerous when they ball bit the ground because he was so quick.

Can say i was there on one occasions when ex kicked his ton... might have been his tenth for the day too
Stanhope have picked up another handy one by the looks of it.. But still chasing a ruckman which would finish their recruiting I'd say..

WTF was I doing down that end??? You must have had hamstring niggles that day.

Tat, Shepp Utd, Ardmona, Merrigum, Stanhope in the space of a couple of years. Say no more!

Simple way to fix this, as soon as someone plays for more than 2 clubs in the same league, they are a 6 point player, at least then the point system might actually work for something.

Is players playing for more than 1 Club in one Competition killing Country Footy? My personal opinion is no I dont think its that big an issue at all.