Kyabram DFL 2019

So let’s say the ruling gets overturned , the $12k in the go fund me page most likely pays off the debt owed to the kdfl , that leaves them starting with most likely a minimal amount of money to recruit.
Due to the point system they may have 20 points worth to go and get players , is the 20 points enough to make up the 40 goal avg defeats.
My concern would be that it’s all fine next year and in 3 years time they find themselves back in the same position.

I think the kdfl would be worrying more about losing Avenel , Longwood and VT in 2021 , along with rumours of Tally , Murchison and Shepp east keen to look elsewhere
A couple of things plenty of Clubs recruit with no money in the Bank and make it along the way. The other part of this if Crawford is coming in as part of a TV Show etc Im tipping they will Sponsor the Club to help make it the story they want it too be then Bank on selling a Truckload of advertising around that timeslot.

So let’s say the ruling gets overturned , the $12k in the go fund me page most likely pays off the debt owed to the kdfl , that leaves them starting with most likely a minimal amount of money to recruit.
Due to the point system they may have 20 points worth to go and get players , is the 20 points enough to make up the 40 goal avg defeats.
My concern would be that it’s all fine next year and in 3 years time they find themselves back in the same position.

I think the kdfl would be worrying more about losing Avenel , Longwood and VT in 2021 , along with rumours of Tally , Murchison and Shepp east keen to look elsewhere

Where are Avenal Longwood and Violet Town going in 2021? I know from a Violet Town Perspective we have no intentions on leaving the KDFL (unless forced by bigger authorities) and yes we have been approached numerous times from different potential leagues this year

I think Longwood are more likely to transfer to the northern league that the Outer East Division 2 is developing into rather than Violet Town.
Do people think Avenel is a better fit for this northern league or for the KDL? I would have thought KDL at this stage.

I would say Longwood would still want to have shepp as a possible recruiting location. If they go north that rules out Shepparton as a possible location for players as the travel would be nuts.
Can’t see them looking to leave the KDFL unless pushed

By removing the teams south of Kinglake, which is what will happen if AFL Outer East goes with a separate northern competition, then the travel factor is reduced.

The five current Outer East clubs (purple) would highly likely be joined by Bonnie Doon given the proximity to the league and having much less travel.

The bigger issue is getting to at least eight clubs. If AFLV, AFLOE and AFLGM all agree to it then Avenel and Longwood may end up in the league without a choice.

I can't see other clubs joining unless the Riddell league drops in numbers and Lancefield and Wallan cross over or else Kilmore fall out of love with the Northern league or Heathcote choose to leave the HDFNL.

AFLOE Northern.jpg

By removing the teams south of Kinglake, which is what will happen if AFL Outer East goes with a separate northern competition, then the travel factor is reduced.

The five current Outer East clubs (purple) would highly likely be joined by Bonnie Doon given the proximity to the league and having much less travel.

The bigger issue is getting to at least eight clubs. If AFLV, AFLOE and AFLGM all agree to it then Avenel and Longwood may end up in the league without a choice.

I can't see other clubs joining unless the Riddell league drops in numbers and Lancefield and Wallan cross over or else Kilmore fall out of love with the Northern league or Heathcote choose to leave the HDFNL.

View attachment 757750

You need to change your identity to the Mortlock Analyser with that sort of review!

A couple of things plenty of Clubs recruit with no money in the Bank and make it along the way. The other part of this if Crawford is coming in as part of a TV Show etc Im tipping they will Sponsor the Club to help make it the story they want it too be then Bank on selling a Truckload of advertising around that timeslot.

I wonder if this will turn into a tv show like when the hammerheads played in the WRFL our at Kensington. Now there is no ch9 footy show could this be there next tv sports venture. It’s highly possible as the hammerheads were successful on field and on tv. I’m hearing Fevola will be playing most weeks as well. Let’s wait and see I guess.

and when the circus leaves Ardmona after a year or two ...

I don't see sustainability in this plan beyond a year or two. Fevola changes clubs like underpants so he's not there for more than a season, let alone the long haul.

Even if it does turn into a modern-day Hammerheads, reality TV shows like that lose their lustre within 2 years. 'The Recruit' lasted two seasons over three years and isn't being resurrected.

I wonder if this will turn into a tv show like when the hammerheads played in the WRFL our at Kensington. Now there is no ch9 footy show could this be there next tv sports venture. It’s highly possible as the hammerheads were successful on field and on tv. I’m hearing Fevola will be playing most weeks as well. Let’s wait and see I guess.
That's what I'm thinking it will be like the Hammerheads which used to be great fun to watch.

Would be different to the Hammerheads though .... points system says Ardmona can't bring in 18 try hard wanna-be-on TV boys like the original conception of that version of reality TV.

Hey Silver old mate, hope your well buddy. I do agree with you but it might drag in some publicity and some sponsors but is it sustainable. Well hopefully they have a smart business plan to hold them in good stead after this finishes. Bloody tough gig for some country clubs in small towns.

My opinion is that they need to start somewhere. I’d it sustainable to do what they plan to do this year every year..absolutely not but can they build sustainability of it yes they can

Shoot me down if you like.

Ardmona are done..either merge or make sure the history of the club is preserved some how.

Yes it’s harsh but it’s reality.

Haven’t been competitive for yrs, only 1 side. No one goes to watch. Why beat a dead horse.

Yes it’s said but sometimes the line in the sand has to be drawn.

It’s great to have passion to try and keep a club open but if the only way of doing it is publicity which will probably be circus like it’s not a long term program.

Unfortunately there’s just so many other options so close

Ardmona are done..either merge or make sure the history of the club is preserved some how.

Haven’t been competitive for yrs, only 1 side. No one goes to watch. Why beat a dead horse.

It’s great to have passion to try and keep a club open but if the only way of doing it is publicity which will probably be circus like it’s not a long term program.

W

Well said

I won’t be shooting you down. Warm fuzzy feelings don’t run footy clubs.

Not sure if any of your are following the fortunes of Glenrowan FNC. Ovens & King Premiers 2014-2017, possibly going into recess in 2020.

We are in a really tough period in the history of the game.

Well said Post , l actually sent a letter 2 years ago to the club lm a 25 year life member of in the Kdfnl ,expressing my concern with the future of the club going forward and that they should at least discuss maybe looking at a merger , well you can imagine the response l got but have a look at whats happening in our league and others across the state , country football is in major trouble.

Interesting read on this forum.
Seems majority of people and opposition clubs are happy to see the club go down which is very disappointing I wouldn’t wish any country football club to be forced to close the doors being apart of the KDFL majority of my life I would hate to see any of the participants in the league gone.
The club has a strategic plan in place over a 5 year plan and has the backing of some corporate businesses in doing so and that is not what Shane Crawford has bought to the table the club is really shaping well.
I don’t understand why everyone has to be so negative about what the club in what steps they take to move forward Crawford reached out to the club to help rebuild it if it was any other club in the KDFL I guarantee it wouldn’t be an issue.
The club has been pushed around for far to long I for one won’t sit back an give up on something I love so much I an many others have put in too much hard work to just give up I am a father of 7 kids I work full time live in Melbourne and have travelled up 3 days a week this year and done a preseason to help support the club.
Many people involved at the club are heavily invested in making it better an stronger just remember Rome wasn’t built overnight an Ardmona will rise again and will maintain the structural plan that has been put in place no committee before this one at the club has really ever had business an structure plans in place.

Seems majority of people and opposition clubs are happy to see the club go down which is very disappointing I wouldn’t wish any country football club to be forced to close the doors being apart of the KDFL majority of my life I would hate to see any of the participants in the league gone.
The club has a strategic plan in place over a 5 year plan and has the backing of some corporate businesses in doing so and that is not what Shane Crawford has bought to the table the club is really shaping well.
I don’t understand why everyone has to be so negative about what the club in what steps they take to move forward Crawford reached out to the club to help rebuild it if it was any other club in the KDFL I guarantee it wouldn’t be an issue.
The club has been pushed around for far to long I for one won’t sit back an give up on something I love so much I an many others have put in too much hard work to just give up I am a father of 7 kids I work full time live in Melbourne and have travelled up 3 days a week this year and done a preseason to help support the club.
Many people involved at the club are heavily invested in making it better an stronger just remember Rome wasn’t built overnight an Ardmona will rise again and will maintain the structural plan that has been put in place no committee before this one at the club has really ever had business an structure plans in place.

When a club has struggled as much as Ardmona has for past 10 years or so I think people have every right to be negative and pessimistic. It’s not like Ardmona has just had a couple bad years and are turning it around.
5 year plan is fantastic but where was it 5 years ago.

I don’t wish closure of clubs either but there has been plenty of time given to turn things around and the argument is there things have gone backwards not forwards so sadly when time is up it’s up I’m sorry. Harsh I know but being realistic.

And that’s in no way a slur against the people at Ardmona who have had a crack in recent years. But it just hasn’t happened.

G'day keego.i was president in 2008 to 2010. I inherited a larger debt that the club has now. We had a business plan in place. We had many sponsors. The club was financial when I stood down. Hopefully the club can become strong again.

When a club has struggled as much as Ardmona has for past 10 years or so I think people have every right to be negative and pessimistic. It’s not like Ardmona has just had a couple bad years and are turning it around.
5 year plan is fantastic but where was it 5 years ago.

I don’t wish closure of clubs either but there has been plenty of time given to turn things around and the argument is there things have gone backwards not forwards so sadly when time is up it’s up I’m sorry. Harsh I know but being realistic.

And that’s in no way a slur against the people at Ardmona who have had a crack in recent years. But it just hasn’t happened.

Better late than never

G'day keego.i was president in 2008 to 2010. I inherited a larger debt that the club has now. We had a business plan in place. We had many sponsors. The club was financial when I stood down. Hopefully the club can become strong again.
I mean no disrespect to you Guido I honestly forgot you were President in them years.

Not sure if any of your are following the fortunes of Glenrowan FNC. Ovens & King Premiers 2014-2017, possibly going into recess in 2020.

We are in a really tough period in the history of the game.

My understanding of Glenrowan was 2012 or so it was on its knees. White knights rode in on their horses with practically a full side from Melbourne. I’m guessing those guys are involved anymore ??

Those guys left after their last flag in 2017, the finished 2018 back in debt, The "white Knight" put his hand up to take back the Presidency in 18 again, only to walk out on the club in Feb this year, they got themselves out of debt, but the work that was left to too few has seen a mass exodus of personnel