Lachlan Hunter

from the stats in the profiles in the dogs magazine:
Lachlan Hunter HT- 181cm WT- 80kg
compare to Libba HT- 181cm WT- 81kg
Obviously still a bit young but I think there's no doubt at all he will play AFL this year unless he gets injured. I think everyone saying how far away he is, is a little over the top. He is playing well against men already its not like he is playing against 17 year olds.

We are going to have a fairly short team in a few years, I wouldn't be going near any more sub 180 players unless its as a specialist small forward.

Obviously still a bit young but I think there's no doubt at all he will play AFL this year unless he gets injured. I think everyone saying how far away he is, is a little over the top. He is playing well against men already its not like he is playing against 17 year olds.
Bear in mind that Veszpremi and Campbell are playing well against men also. Doesn't mean they're ready for AFL.

Hunter's surpassed my expectations of him at this point of the year by a fair margin, but I would hazard a guess to say that he's still got a bit to work on. The concerns (not horrific concerns, just reasons I didn't expect him to play this year) I had pre-draft don't just disappear with a few games and a pre-season. We're more likely to see him this year than I originally expected, but he still has a lot to work on to get to AFL level.

This is one guy I havent seen enough on to comment.
From what I have seen he appears to be a smart footballer - knows where to be and uses the ball well.

One of my concerns is speed/pace. Can someone who has seen a fair bit of him tell me at what sort of pace he runs. He has ducks decease (small legs and bum close to the ground) so hard from videos to judge. Who would he be as quick as in our team ?

From what I have seen he appears to be a smart footballer - knows where to be and uses the ball well.

One of my concerns is speed/pace. Can someone who has seen a fair bit of him tell me at what sort of pace he runs. He has ducks decease (small legs and bum close to the ground) so hard from videos to judge. Who would he be as quick as in our team ?

No idea who to compare him to. But he top scored for agility in the combine. Could be he's finds time by dancing rather than running.

Not quick, but not slow !
But being a lefty gives you that little bit more time. Fronky says about Hrovat pace, and that's a good comparison.Very smart and very good user of the football.Also will end up quite strong with a couple of pre-seasons.
Only saw him once live, his first VFL game, he, Hrovat & Prudden all outstanding. Not much between all 3 on the day , and I think we saw enough of Hrovat to know he belongs at AFL level.

I don't care if he debuts this year, I would like him & Prudden handled carefully , but never been more confident we have 2 more very footballers on our hands !

I think he's a little bit quicker then Hrovat on the field, by his combine results he's definitely much quicker then Hrovat. I'm starting to understand that the combine results are a bit deceiving as I think Hrovat's results are a little down on what I expected.

Anyway if your interested Hunter's results, he got a 2.99 in the 20m sprint, agility was the quickest of anyone and for repeat sprints he tested in the top 25%.

I don't care if he debuts this year, I would like him & Prudden handled carefully , but never been more confident we have 2 more very footballers on our hands !

Thanks everyone for your responses - seems he has a bit more zip than I first thought.

Looking fwd to seeing hunter live in the coming weeks - seen alot of prudden and just pumped about his future. Great user of the ball - a footballers footballer too it appears.

Thanks everyone for your responses - seems he has a bit more zip than I first thought.

Looking fwd to seeing hunter live in the coming weeks - seen alot of prudden and just pumped about his future. Great user of the ball - a footballers footballer too it appears.

got to see first hand him playing against frankston

bloke has got some speed and is really used to moving inbetween traffic and making good decisions on his kicking and when to take the game on.

will def be a 200+ gamer for us.

got to see first hand him playing against frankston

bloke has got some speed and is really used to moving inbetween traffic and making good decisions on his kicking and when to take the game on.

will def be a 200+ gamer for us.

Think you have pretty much nailed it there VitalD. I have seen a number of his games. Don't think he is quite ready yet [ for AFL]. Pace is good, but he is not the next Jetta. But what he does have is natural footy smarts, that give him a little extra time than most players, couple that with his agility and I think our recruiters have backed us a winner.

We will not see the best of him or Prudden till next year at least though, with a second pre season under their belts, and improved tanks.

Both kids will be very good.

BUMP

Just wanted to say how impressed i am by Hunter. You can't teach natural football instinct and he has it in truckloads. Could very well develop into the best of the 2012 class
Macca said in his presser that he has needed very little coaching this year as he is a natural

Ridiculous coming from the second youngest player on an AFL list! Just everything about him, I honestly can't name one weakness, he will be such a gun for so many years, dat hanger then land on feet then kick was amazing, and the kick to Wally!

I honestly cant believe how good our off season was last year, just absolutely crazy. Macrae, Hunter, Stringer, Hrovat, Prudden, Stevens, Young. Only one who hasn't already convinced us they will be apart of the team for the next 10 years is Prudden and thats through no fault of his own.

I know this thread is about Lachie but I'm bored at work and want to share a memory of his old man.
The year escapes me but we played North at the G. It was a quiet period in the game and at the time there was no crowd noise and Mark shirt fronted a North player and knocked him into next week. The crunch echoed around the ground and was just magnificent. Anyone else remember it ?

Wasn't 94 was it? night game? I recall something like that happening at my first ever AFL game that i went to. Whoever it was that got laid out didn't move for a while. I remember thinking how hard this game is

I can't remember the year but I'm sure it was a day game.
The North player didn't move for a long time, I thought Mark killed him.
Back then it wasn't so politically correct, I called for the screen and the gun like they do at the races, much to the North supporters disgust. :)

I can't remember the year but I'm sure it was a day game.
The North player didn't move for a long time, I thought Mark killed him.
Back then it wasn't so politically correct, I called for the screen and the gun like they do at the races, much to the North supporters disgust. :)

It was 1991 Wocka, i was sitting right in front of it in the Olympic stand. Your right mate, i can still remember the sound of the bump (there was a pic in the sun the next day of the bump!)...brutal! The player in question was Ben Buckley who was pretty badly injured(lacerated kidneys or something similar) and never played again after that from memory. Incidentally Ben is now one of the big bosses at my work! Ive never been game to mention it to him!

Edit: Just did some research, Buckley didnt play that game, think it was Shaun Smith now that i think of it! Lucky i never mentioned it to the Boss, would have looked a right knob.

It was 1991 Wocka, i was sitting right in front of it in the Olympic stand. Your right mate, i can still remember the sound of the bump (there was a pic in the sun the next day of the bump!)...brutal! The player in question was Ben Buckley who was pretty badly injured(lacerated kidneys or something similar) and never played again after that from memory. Incidentally Ben is now one of the big bosses at my work! Ive never been game to mention it to him!

Edit: Just did some research, Buckley didnt play that game, think it was Shaun Smith now that i think of it! Lucky i never mentioned it to the Boss, would have looked a right knob.

It was a shame we didn't get Mark senior until he was 23 (delisted by Geelong ... their loss x2 now). I remember a game where he was stand-in captain (maybe Joyce as coach?) where he laid probably the best game saving smoother I've ever seen. I can't find the footage unfortunately. He was a ripper!

Lachlan Hunter