Coaster2012

Jul 10, 2012
Manchester City, Lakers
Glad your tanty is over now. If you actually read further you will see I have the greatest respect for all states and their histories. I have actually studied them extensively. You claim this is the funniest post but you don’t seem to be laughing you seem agitated.

So let me get this straight. So you can label an entire demographic disrespectful but we can't respond in like because "you" don't feel that way? You can't make an assertion like that and then take your hat out of the ring. Pathetic. Either recognize the rebuttal that Victorians (not you sunshine) likewise don't respect interstate footy or don't bother making a thread. To honestly say Victorians respect other states footy and other states don't respect Victories footy is so completely wrong that you are in desperate need of a reality check, which is what you are implying.

pablo668

May 3, 2007
Claremont
Claremont Tigers
Glad your tanty is over now.
Speaking of pot-kettle-black.
It was your OP that started the argument. It came across as quite shrill, and essentially un-needed. I cannot think of anyone anywhere who disrespects the history of footy in Victoria. Maybe it doesn't get as much as you think it should, but that's a different thing.

Jun 20, 2008
Rainy Park City
Yes but the intro of WC (not sure about Freo) has rejuvenated WA footy and i have to take my hat off to them the way they go about it. AFL has been good for Australian footy.
P.S..hope Carlton come good. I supported them as a kid in WA and lusted after their guernsey.

Agree. It wasnt just the royalties the eagles paid. It can be argued it was WC professional and disciplined approach that made them a powerhouse so quickly. Other clubs observed this and followed suit, transforming the AFL into the professional sporting code it is today. This often gets forgotten in these history wars.

Oct 3, 2007
West Perth
Glad your tanty is over now. If you actually read further you will see I have the greatest respect for all states and their histories. I have actually studied them extensively. You claim this is the funniest post but you don’t seem to be laughing you seem agitated.

You were the one with the tantrum, stating we don’t respect Vic footy. Where or what made you go off on that tangent?

Jan 14, 2016
Interstate clubs are like that weird friend you invite to a party who gets there late. Everyone else is already happy and drunk and they just complain and are generally unhappy with the circumstances.

Actually it is more like West Coast rocked up to the party and instantly started pulling chicks, probably because the losers already at the party use words like 'bonza' and think up there cazaly is a good song. Fair enough West Coast had an on-again-off-again meth and cocaine problem - but still manages to head off to the upstairs bedroom with a couple of lookers while the old guard are still talking about the good old days and all trying to finger bang the same bird who looks like she maybe was possibly hot 30 years ago.
Hawthorn and Geelong pretty much the only other guys at the party still managing to impress any of the hot chicks.

The locals already at the party try intimidating the new arrival with lines like "bit bigger than the parties you're used to from where you're from ay?". West Coast just responds with "pfffft it ain't like this is New York or London" as he pulls out a fat wad of cash and makes sure everyone knows about it, also showing pics of his pad back home on his large screen phone.
One of the jealous onlookers feeling disrespected by all of West Coasts' ceaseless complaining reminds him "remember, you joined our party", West Coast replies "I didn't come here to take part, I came to take over" - little did they know that he has started flogging some of the house valuables everytime he takes a new bird upstairs.

The party went to a new level once West Coast arrived cos previously they only had mid-strength beer and West Coast brought a few bottles of whiskey he had swiped doing a runner at a bottlo, obviously cracker jack when he managed to pull of that little stunt. West Coast over-estimates the level to which he has ramped up the party, no doubt about it - but there is no denying it was more of a gathering than a party until he rocked up.
Cops eventually arrive to harass the party guests, they seem to leave West Coast alone which leaves some party guests throwing accusations of favouritism with those who adjudicate such matters. They should be pissed, West Coast has paid them off to leave him alone. Some suspect but they can't prove it, West Coast makes them feel like conspiracy minded nutters for even suggesting that the cops are crooked, some buy the story but some others don't.

As jealous as some of them are they instantly start to feel better about themselves as they spot some other newly arrived loser party guest with purple hair ranting about his 'moral victories' in life.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Good opportunity to raise the history of footy in the WA golldfields, spawned by the goldrush in the late 1800s:

For much of the early 20th century, the standard of football in the Goldfields was considered equal to that of the coastal West Australian Football League (WAFL). The Goldfields were awarded a separate seat on the Australian National Football Council from 1903–19, although both leagues combined to form one Western Australian representative team for National Carnivals during this time. The quality of football declined after World War I, although a Goldfields Football League representative team defeated both Claremont and Port Adelaide in 1939.[1]

IF you are for one moment interested in the history of our game, you already have read about it, if the last Carlton flag is history try this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austr...oldfields_region_of_Western_Australia#History

Its a rich history Aussie Rules, not just one or other State.

chaddy22

Mar 26, 2012
perth
The history of other states leagues are not respected by most Victorians.
Did you know haydn bunton snr not only won three brownlow medals but also 3 sandover medals and captain coached Subiaco.
Did you know hassa mann came west and captain-coached south fremantle for three years and to a premiership.
Did you know that ross smith came west to captain-coach Subiaco for a couple of years including the 1973 premiership.
Did you know kevin murray captain-coached east perth in 1965-1966
Did you know that david parkin captain-coached Subiaco in 1975
Did you know bob johnson came west to captain coach east fremantle 1962-1966 won the goalkicking once and coached a premiership.
Did you know ron evans came west in 1963 and topped the goalkicking with 97 goals
Do you realise that graham farmer won three sandover medals at east perth before going to geelong and revolutionising the art of handball
Do you realise Darrell baldock and Ian stewart are actually Tasmanians and so is peter Hudson.
Do you realise that alex jesaalenko came from the ACT.
Respect all state leagues history because before the afl each state league had a rich history and just because a player didn't play in the vfl doesn't make them lesser.Stephen Michael an example of one who never went but proved himself against sam newman in state games

Port 2004

Jun 27, 2012
Bellevue Heighta
Port Adelaide
There seems to be an absolute lack of respect for the history of our great game by some Interstate clubs supporters simply because their clubs were not present.

Should Carlton forget about champions such as Nicholls and Jesaulenko because they only played in 12 team competitions?

Should the legends of the Colliers and Coventry’s be wiped from the record books because they played iagaindt ‘suburban’ teams’ ?

Should the Coleman medal be renamed the ‘Kennedy Medal’ because the great man played in a time of ‘amateur’ footballers and should Reynolds exploits be ignored?

Perhaps Bunton and Murray should be thrown on the scrap heap.

Maybe the immortal that is EJ Whitten should be relegated to suburban footballer and forget about Charlie Sutton.

Farmer and Goggin should be removed because they were not part of the AFL. Even Ablett’s 9 goal GF heroics would be wiped.

Matthews the greatest of them all would not be considered with the modern greats because he played in pre AFL

Barrassi and the immortal Demons teams of the 50s and 60s should not be celebrated due to the the fact they didn’t play in the expansion. The Norm Smith medal should be renamed

Grieg and Dempsey only played part time and could not possibly rank with the greats of today

Forget the Jack Dyer medal, Tigers fans should ignore his legend and rename it the Dusty medal. As for Hart and Bartlett they would not rate.

Pratt’s 150 and Nash’s heroics do not count

Baldock and Stewart ??? Who ???

And well we are at let’s rename ‘Up there Cazaly’ - Up there Modra
and the Jock McHale medal the ‘Simpson Medal’. No matter what era, no matter how long ago, a champion of the game is a champion of the game. They were the best on a level playing field against their peers. A Premiership whether Essendon in 1897 or West Coasts in 2018 was just as important. The history of our great game has been carved and written and for those who don’t like it the answer is simple. Stop whinging about our past and go and make your own history.
Now, I have always respected the Victorian sporting culture and i love it heaps. I love going to Melbourne to watch football, and not just my team, but you are talking s**t. The AFL needs to respect and recognise the history and culture of non Victorian AFL clubs.

PowerForGood

2020. The year the competition became terminal. Ju
10k Posts
Sep 1, 2006
Port Adelaide
Liverpool, Lakers, Rabbitohs
There seems to be an absolute lack of respect for the history of our great game by some Interstate clubs supporters simply because their clubs were not present.

Should Carlton forget about champions such as Nicholls and Jesaulenko because they only played in 12 team competitions?

Should the legends of the Colliers and Coventry’s be wiped from the record books because they played iagaindt ‘suburban’ teams’ ?

Should the Coleman medal be renamed the ‘Kennedy Medal’ because the great man played in a time of ‘amateur’ footballers and should Reynolds exploits be ignored?

Perhaps Bunton and Murray should be thrown on the scrap heap.

Maybe the immortal that is EJ Whitten should be relegated to suburban footballer and forget about Charlie Sutton.

Farmer and Goggin should be removed because they were not part of the AFL. Even Ablett’s 9 goal GF heroics would be wiped.

Matthews the greatest of them all would not be considered with the modern greats because he played in pre AFL

Barrassi and the immortal Demons teams of the 50s and 60s should not be celebrated due to the the fact they didn’t play in the expansion. The Norm Smith medal should be renamed

Grieg and Dempsey only played part time and could not possibly rank with the greats of today

Forget the Jack Dyer medal, Tigers fans should ignore his legend and rename it the Dusty medal. As for Hart and Bartlett they would not rate.

Pratt’s 150 and Nash’s heroics do not count

Baldock and Stewart ??? Who ???

And well we are at let’s rename ‘Up there Cazaly’ - Up there Modra
and the Jock McHale medal the ‘Simpson Medal’. No matter what era, no matter how long ago, a champion of the game is a champion of the game. They were the best on a level playing field against their peers. A Premiership whether Essendon in 1897 or West Coasts in 2018 was just as important. The history of our great game has been carved and written and for those who don’t like it the answer is simple. Stop whinging about our past and go and make your own history.
Oh dear. What a rant. And complete with made up 'victim' statements even.

Hope it made you feel better, because it's not worth any other response. but you do get a participation medal.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    615.7 KB · Views: 35

Rustyrich

Aug 17, 2018
And yet Tasmania (a true footy state) don't have a team while we give 'interstate' licenses to what suits the AFL, not the history.

PowerForGood

2020. The year the competition became terminal. Ju
10k Posts
Sep 1, 2006
Port Adelaide
Liverpool, Lakers, Rabbitohs
Did you know haydn bunton snr not only won three brownlow medals but also 3 sandover medals and captain coached Subiaco.
Did you know hassa mann came west and captain-coached south fremantle for three years and to a premiership.
Did you know that ross smith came west to captain-coach Subiaco for a couple of years including the 1973 premiership.
Did you know bob johnson came west to captain coach east fremantle 1962-1966 won the goalkicking once and coached a premiership.
Did you know ron evans came west in 1963 and topped the goalkicking with 97 goals
Do you realise that graham farmer won three sandover medals at east perth before going to geelong and revolutionising the art of handball
Do you realise Darrell baldock and Ian stewart are actually Tasmanians and so is peter Hudson.
Respect all state leagues history because before the afl each state league had a rich history and just because a player didn't play in the vfl doesn't make them lesser.Stephen Michael an example of one who never went but proved himself against sam newman in state games
Well played. All deserving nominations and hardly understood by those Victorians like the OP who like playing the victim.
And indeed by South Australians. But we don't claim superiority over WA's history.
(Except for Barrie Robran. and Ken Farmer. and Russell Ebert. Maybe just those 3.:moustache:)

chaddy22

Mar 26, 2012
perth
Well played. All deserving nominations and hardly understood by those Victorians like the OP who like playing the victim.
And indeed by South Australians. But we don't claim superiority over WA's history.
(Except for Barrie Robran. and Ken Farmer. and Russell Ebert. Maybe just those 3.:moustache:)
Both west Australia and south Australia used to occasionally beat the vics in state games before the afl.The reason state of origin came in was that the vics could load up with foreigners.State of origin was a W.A. idea which NRL has taken to another level.The fifty metre arc also a W.A. idea.Don't know much about S.A.footy but the three you mentioned are legends without playing VFL and should be recognized by all footy supporters from every state.

Yes I knew all that plus lots more