damo95

Liverpool LA Lakers Oakland Raiders
I have us sneaking into the top 8 going by the ladder predictor on the AFL website.

1/ St.Kilda 22-0
2/ Geelong 20-2
3/ Collingwood 16-6
4/ Brisbane 15-7
5/ Bulldogs 13-9
6/ Adelaide 13-9
7/ Hawthorn 12-10
8/ Carlton 11-11

Long way to go and my tipping has been terrible this year but I would almost be happy with this scenario playing the Bulldogs in week 1 of the finals.

I did the predictor and got the same results, except Carlton 7th, Hawthorn 8th.

Brisbane to become the 'Bottom 8 team that makes the Top 4' - and Carlton to face Adelaide Rnd 22 & 1st Final - surely we couldn't lose to them two weeks in a row :D

I have us sneaking into the top 8 going by the ladder predictor on the AFL website.

1/ St.Kilda 22-0
2/ Geelong 20-2
3/ Collingwood 16-6
4/ Brisbane 15-7
5/ Bulldogs 13-9
6/ Adelaide 13-9
7/ Hawthorn 12-10
8/ Carlton 11-11

Long way to go and my tipping has been terrible this year but I would almost be happy with this scenario playing the Bulldogs in week 1 of the finals.

Dont we all wish for that ladder to happen, but it wont....

i don't.

i don't wish for only 1 more win this season. should be 3 and potentially 4 more wins.

If we don't get our heads out of our bums we do not deserve to be in the 8
Watch the replay and look at the tempo of the last 5 mins compared to the rest of the game. Only time we showed desperation.
Every other team in the 8 sustains that level for most of the game. Wake up and start getting dinkum. Could not care less about the ladder if we keep serving up these types of performances. Yes we won but we should not be content with that.

I can't see us dropping out of the 8 if we beat the Dees. I see both Essendon and the Hawks winning two of their next three.

If we only beat the Dees, we'll all be on 11 wins going into round 22 but us with the greater percentage. Essendon and Hawthorn to play each other - if we lose to the Crows, the winner will move into 7th and we'll likely remain 8th. We can't afford a belting though, as the Bombers' percentage isn't far off ours.

If we beat Melbourne, is we should make the 8.

In saying that, it's not much to get excited about because we haven't played well since the Saints game. We seem to put in 1 good quarter and get away with the win.

Gunslinger you're right, they need to pull their heads out of there bum and the sooner the better!

I'd say if we finish 8th then we're a chance against any team we play away against except the Crowbots at home.

We could be a dangerous team in the finals IF we get up and running. I'd say we can't beat the Saints and Cats obviously and the Crows at AAMI. The rest we are very capable of beating. :thumbsu:

If we beat Melbourne, is we should make the 8.

In saying that, it's not much to get excited about because we haven't played well since the Saints game. We seem to put in 1 good quarter and get away with the win.

Gunslinger you're right, they need to pull their heads out of there bum and the sooner the better!
The way we are going we will be lucky to beat them, they play with greater passion and intensity then we do atm, they also have 1 more win in them for the year and will be setting themselves for us if it they dont get that win before they meet us.

Whilst i agree with you and Guns i just don't think we have much more to call upon, we need to face reality! We are ordinary in alot of area's and are at about the right mark imo 7th to 10th atm. Pinch a few and finish 7th drop a few and fall to 10th.

It is not calling on other players but getting the best out of the individual and the group.
I think we are a long way off our best and there is a gulf between our good and our bad

port-hawk game this round, and hawk-ess in last round is pretty handy. we could fall in if we win 1 of 4 but you wouldn't want to be going in with that kind of form. have a pretty good idea after our port game r20 (assuming we'd win the melbourne game next week, which probably isn't the best thing to do).

personally eager to see how we go against a backless geelong, too. fev is usually scarletts bitch.

It is not calling on other players but getting the best out of the individual and the group.
I think we are a long way off our best and there is a gulf between our good and our bad
Thats what i was referring to Guns, sorry should of made it clearer. Unfortunately we have too many players who have the issues that the modern game exposes like never before and they are that ingrained that they will never be changed or developed to an appropriate level because they are not our developing kids with these problems.:thumbsu:

I am not sure if you guys saw On The Couch this week with Riewoldt but they talked about how he warms up before the game for 2 hours and other things he does that few do. Judd they say is the ultimate pro. We have heard how Crawford and Harvey and the like always did the extra yard in every facet of their preps and games.
Are we not just applauding Judd and Harvey but mimicking them?
Are our players trying hard enough?
Yes they are trying but so many people use terms like gut busting run - do our guys push themselves that hard? Do they focus enough?
I know what you mean about developing
Fev for example. The character flaws of dummy spitting and selfish behaviour should have been drilled out of him as a youngster. It is too late to teach the ol dog new tricks now. Kreuzer seems to be one of the few who seemed intent on working his bum off.
I think players like Murphy and Gibbs are at critical points of their development. Physically, mentally and with their skills they now can step up and become champions or be content with just being good players. Will be the difference not just with these 2 but most of the list between us being a pos 6-9 team and a top 4 team.

I've got us finsihing 7th and the winner of essendon/hawthorn in round 22 to be 8th on the ladder..

Us facing Brisbane the first week. And if Geelong beat Bulldogs then we'll play bulldogs week 2. then sainters (or collingwood if they beat saints week 1) in week 3 (assuming we win)

Anything can happen really. If Hawks beat Saints and Bombers beat Hawks, both will beat us out if we only win one more. Even with 12 wins. it also comes down to percentage. Bombers have the chance to put on some with a couple of their games and we have the chance to lose some as Cats and Crows could put big scores on the board against us.

We are nowhere near home yet.

I must admit we are not in outstanding form of late but do think we have had just 3 terrible games for the whole season.
Unfortunately 2 of these were high profile games which got heaps of coverage on Friday night (Essendon and Collingwood) with the other being Adelaide over there.
There is not too much between 3rd and 8th in how they have played this season overall.

PS. Cmon Eagles!!! 12mins to go but only up by 13 points.

Anything can happen really. If Hawks beat Saints and Bombers beat Hawks, both will beat us out if we only win one more. Even with 12 wins. it also comes down to percentage. Bombers have the chance to put on some with a couple of their games and we have the chance to lose some as Cats and Crows could put big scores on the board against us.

We are nowhere near home yet.

Hawthorn will have to win all four to finish above us if we beat the Dees. 3 wins will have us on equal wins but it's close to impossible to make up 16% in a month of football (at this stage of the season).

Ive got us finishing 5th or 7th depending on the adelaide game. Thats with us beating melb by plenty and port by 5 goals. For 5th we would need to get ahead of adelaide on percentage. Thats very unlikely I can see 7th with us playing brisbane first final (in bris). Then going on to lose to the pies.

8th spot will be port unless the hawks beat essendon last round for me.

Not sure why so many reckon the Hawks will win their last 4 games and storm into the finals. They havent shown anything to suggest that they will. Oh, they beat Collingwood by 45 a fortnight ago... Lock em in for the flag please :rolleyes:

The way I see it, they'll be lucky to win another 2 for the year.

Ive got us finding that form we have been promising, but not delivering of late. We beat a weakend Geelong this week, which gives us the confidense to go on and win our last 3 as well. Crows beat the Pies this week, Dogs win this week, but then drop there last 3 as they are just stuttering at the moment, and the Lions drop one of there last 4 ( but not the Dogs game).

All of a sudden we are in 4th spot and looking forward to playing the Saints in week 1 of the finals...

Why not?? :)

all that matters is that we avoid adelaide week 1

that would be VERY bad

we shouldn't do well, but if the cards fall our way we could face teams we have good records against - port, brisbane, the dogs and fluke our way to a prelim we have no right to be in.....