Laverton Magpies

The Laverton Magpies FC enjoyed a first round win against Parkside in the seniors and sadly a 70 odd-point loss in the reserves.

All-in-all our club are emerging as a very good family, local community and all round football club. We have made some significant changes both on and off the field over the past few years and Saturday encompassed all of what we have been trying to do to realise that with belief, passion and a supportive and positive culture and environment will result in some very good things.

We are not getting carried away as the season is a long one but we have chalked up a win we didn't expect, whilst we of course hoped for, we now have 4 more points in the bag than we though we would have and for us that is exciting. Now we are extremely focussed on Caroline Springs at home this week!

We blooded 4 under 18 players from last season whom were tremendous and we have a few more players to come back so competitiveness for spots is high and will continue to grow... All I care about at this stage is that our whole playing list can see what we are capable of if we are prepared to work for each other, to believe in each other and stick to our game plan and team rules and that we now go up another gear at training this week and each and every week moving forward and if we do we will win more games than we lose.

If we play to our potential then anything is possible!

The Laverton FC are a great club and if any aspiring ruckman is out there not getting an opportunity at whatever club you are at and reading this, there is plenty of time to come and join us and help me free up Michael Kennedy from ruck duties (or at least share them)....

We are back training on our ground on Tuesday and Thursday nights at 6pm and although we have a list of over 60 players, if you are potentially going to be in our best 45 players and TRAIN 2 nights a week, then you are more than welcome to come down and join our proud club.

Go Lavo!

www.lavertonmagpies.com.au

A great article for us on the revamped WRFL website and in this weeks record!

LAVERTON AIMING FOR SUCCESS BOTH ON & OFF THE FIELD

The resurgence of the Laverton Magpies Football Club under Senior Coach Justin Moran has continued into the 2011 season, with a solid pre-season and some positive early results indicating the Magpies are definitely a team on the rise.

Early indications in the off-season were that 2011 was going to be a different sort of year for the Magpies, with swarms of players turning up to train way back in November with a renewed sense of enthusiasm about the club.

A new administration was installed, including newcomers Steve Bourke, Paul Spottiswood, Tim Cooper and Reece Luenig, while Matthew Pratt was elected as the club’s new President & Monita Broughton as his deputy.

Off-field changes have been the key component of the club’s re-emergence as a leading WRFL club, with a five-year plan “The Resurgence of the Magpies” providing guidance on all club related issues. The installation of a rule on 'zero tolerance’ to anti-social behavior and the formation of the Laverton Ladies Club are part of this plan as the club strives to improve and build its relationships within Laverton and the wider community.

On the field the club has benefited from the return of Michael Kennedy, Leigh Hartshorne & Matthew Zurek, and the addition of quality former under-eighteen’s, including Troy McAskill, Ryan Murphy, Ash Murray, Jake Styles & Sean McCann has further boosted the playing roster.

Senior Coach Justin Moran said the addition of these players, as well as John & Michael Henry, will add some much needed hardness to the side, and that some tough pre-season work would reap rewards for the side later in the year.

“A number of our younger talented players put in some very solid pre-season training and have definitely stepped up their own standing within the club,” said Moran.

“We are poised for a vastly improved season on 2010 and with over 60 players on our list and regularly training we intend to be pushing for a finals berth in both seniors and reserves.”

As well as the usual grueling physical work that is associated with the pre-season, the club varied their routine with a triathlon at Port Melbourne, community initiatives (such as players donating blood one night), team DVD tasks set, a night out at Federation Square, a trip to the St Kilda Festival, & attending a "life coaching" information night held at the club.

This new-age coaching mentality has been well received by players, and Moran is a coach that is definitely switched on and able to extract the most from his chargers.

“The club is trying in every way to make our club the best it can be on and off the field and to make it a place where you want to spend more time around and 'to give something back',” said Moran.

A pool table at the club, a revamped social calendar and a facebook page for regular contact may seem like small steps, but they are a way of keeping players involved, in-touch and part of the club & community.

Moran also is a strong believer of instilling discipline & respect into his side, and over the Easter weekend Moran will continue this theme with a visit to the Shrine of Remembrance for the ANZAC Day Dawn Service.

For Moran breaking into the top four will be the side’s short term goal on the park, but longer term the now 29 (make that 35 actually - but I will take it:)) year-old is helping rebuild and reform a club & playing roster that is definitely moving in the right direction for future years.

A great article for us on the revamped WRFL website and in this weeks record!

LAVERTON AIMING FOR SUCCESS BOTH ON & OFF THE FIELD

The resurgence of the Laverton Magpies Football Club under Senior Coach Justin Moran has continued into the 2011 season, with a solid pre-season and some positive early results indicating the Magpies are definitely a team on the rise.

Early indications in the off-season were that 2011 was going to be a different sort of year for the Magpies, with swarms of players turning up to train way back in November with a renewed sense of enthusiasm about the club.

A new administration was installed, including newcomers Steve Bourke, Paul Spottiswood, Tim Cooper and Reece Luenig, while Matthew Pratt was elected as the club’s new President & Monita Broughton as his deputy.

Off-field changes have been the key component of the club’s re-emergence as a leading WRFL club, with a five-year plan “The Resurgence of the Magpies” providing guidance on all club related issues. The installation of a rule on 'zero tolerance’ to anti-social behavior and the formation of the Laverton Ladies Club are part of this plan as the club strives to improve and build its relationships within Laverton and the wider community.

On the field the club has benefited from the return of Michael Kennedy, Leigh Hartshorne & Matthew Zurek, and the addition of quality former under-eighteen’s, including Troy McAskill, Ryan Murphy, Ash Murray, Jake Styles & Sean McCann has further boosted the playing roster.

Senior Coach Justin Moran said the addition of these players, as well as John & Michael Henry, will add some much needed hardness to the side, and that some tough pre-season work would reap rewards for the side later in the year.

“A number of our younger talented players put in some very solid pre-season training and have definitely stepped up their own standing within the club,” said Moran.

“We are poised for a vastly improved season on 2010 and with over 60 players on our list and regularly training we intend to be pushing for a finals berth in both seniors and reserves.”

As well as the usual grueling physical work that is associated with the pre-season, the club varied their routine with a triathlon at Port Melbourne, community initiatives (such as players donating blood one night), team DVD tasks set, a night out at Federation Square, a trip to the St Kilda Festival, & attending a "life coaching" information night held at the club.

This new-age coaching mentality has been well received by players, and Moran is a coach that is definitely switched on and able to extract the most from his chargers.

“The club is trying in every way to make our club the best it can be on and off the field and to make it a place where you want to spend more time around and 'to give something back',” said Moran.

A pool table at the club, a revamped social calendar and a facebook page for regular contact may seem like small steps, but they are a way of keeping players involved, in-touch and part of the club & community.

Moran also is a strong believer of instilling discipline & respect into his side, and over the Easter weekend Moran will continue this theme with a visit to the Shrine of Remembrance for the ANZAC Day Dawn Service.

For Moran breaking into the top four will be the side’s short term goal on the park, but longer term the now 29 (make that 35 actually - but I will take it:)) year-old is helping rebuild and reform a club & playing roster that is definitely moving in the right direction for future years.

Well that just wrecked tomorrows footy record for me lol....no seriously, well done.

Laverton Magpies 2011 wrap up

The Laverton Magpies finished the 16 game season with 7 wins and 9 losses and 7th spot missing the finals by 2 games and % to Coburg Districts in 5th spot, whom we lost our game against them by 1 point! Had we won that game and beaten Yarraville Seddon (whom we lost to by 11pts), we would have taken 5th spot with 9 wins and 7 losses! Not crying over spilt milk but just to prove how close 3-8th spots were this season and we simply didn't do what we needed to do to ensure those wins amongst others to earn a finals berth!

On the positive side of things is that we as a playing group and coaching group feel and know that we underachieved this season but will lose minimal if any required senior players for 2012 and with another year experience of senior footy these young guys will all take another step next season and we will continue to attract new players as the wider football community sees that our club continues to improve it's standing, reputation and culture. As senior coach for 2 seasons thus far (and hoping for a third), it has been most rewarding to see vast improvements in attitudes, commitment and overall playing performance. We played 7 under 18's from 2010 at senior level with 4 of them playing all if not at least 14 of the 16 games and will continue to play youth if they are willing to train 2 nights a week and commit to improving and I urge anyone that is playing elsewhere but not getting a senior opportunity or looking for a change but made of the right stuff and will train 2 nights a week to come down and give us a try or make contact to discuss your 2012 playing options, because mark my words, we WILL play finals next season!

A decision on my re- appointment will be made in the next week or so but if and when I am re-appointed we will start pre-season Mondays and Wednesdays as of November 21.

Best wishes to all teams and at all levels that are playing finals as it is a fantastic achievement to get there and it is something that all players and clubs wish they were a part of.... It takes a bit of hard work and dedication to get there but well worth it!

Best wishes,

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC
0411 798 934

Re: Laverton Magpies 2011 wrap up

hahahahaha........cant believe you;ve changed your tune........

here;s 1 for ya.....id rather be a lion for a day than a sheep for life......time to start culling the sheep down at lavo!!!!

Re: Laverton Magpies 2011 wrap up

hahahahaha........cant believe you;ve changed your tune........

here;s 1 for ya.....id rather be a lion for a day than a sheep for life......time to start culling the sheep down at lavo!!!!

this is the funniest thread i have ever seen, whens lavo's annual function on this year, the "s**t blokes night" ????
Im tipping it will be chokers at the hovel that night:D

Thanks for your vested interest in our club over the year and our major function this season will be our Vote Count and Presentation night to be held next Friday (September 9) at the Kooringal Golf Club where we are expecting 100-120 people that night, including our this season formed ladies club (and self-formed Laverton Magpies weekly indoor netball side) and a special guest speaker. The night will go from 6.30-11.30pm and tickets are $50 per person or $90 a couple.

Should be a great night to round out our vastly improved season on-field from 2010 (2 wins up to 7 wins and things are looking to improve with a certain finals berth in 2012 if all goes to plan- which it should). We felt that we certainly under-achieved this season and had we attained the required 9-10 wins we could have pushed for a final 3 spot come finals end... But that is footy and what we will go away and work hard at over summer and the pre-season at rectifying.

Our club continues to improve in the quality of person and footballer at our club and whilst some may cast stones from outside, I am sure anyone that came down to pre-season or to one of our functions would be pleasantly surprised at the family friendly, fun and great club that the Laverton Magpies FC are and will continue to improve in 2012 and beyond.

Cheers and thanks for your support.

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC

Thanks for your vested interest in our club over the year and our major function this season will be our Vote Count and Presentation night to be held next Friday (September 9) at the Kooringal Golf Club where we are expecting 100-120 people that night, including our this season formed ladies club (and self-formed Laverton Magpies weekly indoor netball side) and a special guest speaker. The night will go from 6.30-11.30pm and tickets are $50 per person or $90 a couple.

Should be a great night to round out our vastly improved season on-field from 2010 (2 wins up to 7 wins and things are looking to improve with a certain finals berth in 2012 if all goes to plan- which it should). We felt that we certainly under-achieved this season and had we attained the required 9-10 wins we could have pushed for a final 3 spot come finals end... But that is footy and what we will go away and work hard at over summer and the pre-season at rectifying.

Our club continues to improve in the quality of person and footballer at our club and whilst some may cast stones from outside, I am sure anyone that came down to pre-season or to one of our functions would be pleasantly surprised at the family friendly, fun and great club that the Laverton Magpies FC are and will continue to improve in 2012 and beyond.

Cheers and thanks for your support.

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC

good work jason:(

Laverton Magpies 2012 and our 2011 Best and Fairest Results

I am thrilled to announce that I have been re-appointed senior coach of the Laverton Magpies FC for 2012 and for my third season.

This was announced last night at our Presentation Night which was well attended and was great to see pretty much a 60/40 split of both men and women... The club continues to grow in stature and as a place that people want to be involved with and we are all looking forward to the 2012 season where those from within know that we as a club underachieved this season by missing out on finals football and I believe are very well placed to continue our improvement and development and reap the rewards of a finals spot next season.

The club has improved from 2 wins in 2010 to 7 wins in 2011 and whilst not only will we retain 80-90% of our senior list from this season, our current players (average age of 22-23) will mature and improve and we will attract more new recruits to help us take the necessary next step. It is great to see that I have already had players from other clubs enquiring and/or committed to coming across next season as they are seeing our improvement in attitudes, culture, discipline and as a family/partner friendly club. This makes my job easier and we will work hard on continuing to do the right things and success and positivity builds success.

What we need and hope to get is 1-2 playing assistant coaches that may be interested to learn from me and help develop their future coaching aspirations and I believe that there will be a number of players running around in Division 1 that this will appeal to and a number of EDFL A and B grade senior/reserve players that i/we will approach to come across and assume these roles... What we have is a lot of home grown youth and raw talent, what we need is some 'extra' strengths to compliment our list and this plus an expanded list of players that will train 2 nights a week and prepared to play 100% for the team and with a positive and hard-working mindset will make all the difference...

We need to and will not be able to keep players that continually want to play as individuals and stick to where the team needs to and wants to head and as such the players that do leave (big name or small name) will not be losses at all as they will only derail the rest of our playing list if they are to stay. We stand by that any player that doesn't want to be a part of what we can all see (SUCCESS) and to do all of the right things and be there for the right reasons, then they will automatically be given a clearance as long as they are fully financial with our club.

Lastly, if anyone that reads this is keen themselves or may know someone that is, what we do need is some really pertinent people to join our football department - Reserves Coach, Team and/or Football Manager, runner/s, sports trainer/s and water boys, so please don't hesitate to make contact with me or the club if you may be interested.

2011 Best and Fairest Results:

Senior Best and Fairest - Michael Kennedy
Runner up - Craig Wells

Reserves Best and Fairest - Michael Seex
Runner up - John Cott.

Congratulations to these guys and all other trophy winners!!!

Pre-season will start on Monday November 21 at 6pm!

Doing a good job down there Justin, but the No.1 priority for Laverton FC must be to re-eastablish your junior program.

Your long term future depends on it.

Thanks heaps for the positive words, much appreciated.

I couldn't agree with you more about getting our junior program up and running and it is something that we are well aware of and working very hard at getting back up and going. The hardest part is having the active off-field support required to get these up and running... It is almost a case similar to the chicken and the egg... When you don't have the teams in place and running then you need to try and advertise that you do and will have sides up and running but at the same time a reluctance of players/parents committing until they 100% know that a side is and will be running... At the same time there are minimal if any parents/volunteers ready to run it without the kids there and ready to go...

We are in the midst of our 5 year plan that includes re-establishing our juniors and after having an Auskick program held at the club over the past 2 seasons, we are hopeful of now starting an under 9/10 side this season and then building from the bottom up... Meanwhile we know just how important it is at the senior and reserve end of the equation of how vital it is that we have under 18's to add to and be the future of our senior list... so we are very keen to have that up and going in 2012 after not having enough numbers this season...

Important to note that of our 2010 under 18 side, three of those kids finished 5th, 7th and 12th in our senior best and fairest this season and we had a further 5 under 18 kids play senior football at the club this season... So I am hell-bent on nurturing and developing as much young talent to play senior football and provide them with opportunities to excel in their senior careers whilst we as a club will continue to strive to build better relationships with local schools and the community to further strengthen our brand and our image and hopefully sooner rather than later we will have a full compliment of juniors from Auskick through to every age group from under 9's-under 18's and feed into our senior and reserves... This is our model and our vision and we realise just how vital it is in our pursuits to be a sustainable and ultimately in Division One in the coming seasons...

2012 planning for season has commenced!

Last night we conducted a "Leading Teams/Stop, Start, Keep" style voluntary session facilitated by Stuart Harrison from Western Wellness in Point Cook for players and myself and had a very good season review and session that was well attended, particpated in and has definitely shown the path and vision that I and the players share for the 2012 season and beyond... No doubt at times confronting but 100% of the players in attendance both gave and took on-board the positive and negative feedback given and provided and I know that I definitely did and we are now very well placed not only in terms of commencing 'actual' pre-season training from November 21 but a core group of the players not only started their own fitness/conditioning regime weeks ago but now how some very individual feedback to work on and apply to their own training but the season proper!
We as a club are in a very good position to reap the rewards for the improving attitudes and maturity from our playing group and are extremely excited about what lies ahead for us as a club in 2012! Go Lavo!

Laverton Magpies 2012 Pre-Christmas training schedule

All sessions start at 6pm.

DATE ACTIVITY

Mon Nov 21 MEET THE COACH - Mandatory attendance for all prospective 2012
players. Introductory night. Running fitness and ball skills

Wed Nov 23 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Mon Nov 28 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Nov 30 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Fri Dec 2 Comic’s Lounge for players/partners – From 7.30pm
(Adam Richard, Justin Hamilton, Troy Kinne)

Mon Dec 5 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Dec 7 Sand running, ball games and drills and sand wrestling

- Bring bathers, runners, towel -

Mon Dec 12 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Dec 14 Game plan/full ground drills & running.

Followed by Christmas drinks and BBQ at the club.

For further information, please contact myself or the club.

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC

Re: Laverton Magpies 2012 and our 2011 Best and Fairest Results

I am thrilled to announce that I have been re-appointed senior coach of the Laverton Magpies FC for 2012 and for my third season.

This was announced last night at our Presentation Night which was well attended and was great to see pretty much a 60/40 split of both men and women... The club continues to grow in stature and as a place that people want to be involved with and we are all looking forward to the 2012 season where those from within know that we as a club underachieved this season by missing out on finals football and I believe are very well placed to continue our improvement and development and reap the rewards of a finals spot next season.

The club has improved from 2 wins in 2010 to 7 wins in 2011 and whilst not only will we retain 80-90% of our senior list from this season, our current players (average age of 22-23) will mature and improve and we will attract more new recruits to help us take the necessary next step. It is great to see that I have already had players from other clubs enquiring and/or committed to coming across next season as they are seeing our improvement in attitudes, culture, discipline and as a family/partner friendly club. This makes my job easier and we will work hard on continuing to do the right things and success and positivity builds success.

What we need and hope to get is 1-2 playing assistant coaches that may be interested to learn from me and help develop their future coaching aspirations and I believe that there will be a number of players running around in Division 1 that this will appeal to and a number of EDFL A and B grade senior/reserve players that i/we will approach to come across and assume these roles... What we have is a lot of home grown youth and raw talent, what we need is some 'extra' strengths to compliment our list and this plus an expanded list of players that will train 2 nights a week and prepared to play 100% for the team and with a positive and hard-working mindset will make all the difference...

We need to and will not be able to keep players that continually want to play as individuals and stick to where the team needs to and wants to head and as such the players that do leave (big name or small name) will not be losses at all as they will only derail the rest of our playing list if they are to stay. We stand by that any player that doesn't want to be a part of what we can all see (SUCCESS) and to do all of the right things and be there for the right reasons, then they will automatically be given a clearance as long as they are fully financial with our club.

Lastly, if anyone that reads this is keen themselves or may know someone that is, what we do need is some really pertinent people to join our football department - Reserves Coach, Team and/or Football Manager, runner/s, sports trainer/s and water boys, so please don't hesitate to make contact with me or the club if you may be interested.

2011 Best and Fairest Results:

Senior Best and Fairest - Michael Kennedy
Runner up - Craig Wells

Reserves Best and Fairest - Michael Seex
Runner up - John Cott.

Congratulations to these guys and all other trophy winners!!!

Pre-season will start on Monday November 21 at 6pm!
Congrats on beeing re-appointed, Why are you guys looking for a Reserves Coach? what happened to the one you had?

Re: Laverton Magpies 2012 and our 2011 Best and Fairest Results

Congrats on beeing re-appointed, Why are you guys looking for a Reserves Coach? what happened to the one you had?
Thanks mate for the congratulations, very excited and enthused about where we are heading.

As for our reserves coach (Damien Harwood), he was fantastic and was instrumental in helping me and the club forge ahead in the direction we wanted to go and was a pillar of support for me as not just a reserves coach but as an assistant and also in many off-field roles.... A genuine great guy.

Without speaking out of turn here and I am still on a phone call every few days basis with him (instead of every day during the season), he wants to explore possible further coaching opportunities at senior level if at all possible and/or contemplating just playing after his recent knee operation... So just wanting to sit back and change focus/role... I hope he is involved in any capacity at our club as he is one of those genuine great guys that you wish you had more of at your club :thumbsu:

Laverton Magpies 2012 Pre-Christmas training starts Monday November 21 at 6pm

Just a quick update to let all potential new players know that we start pre-season training on Monday November 21 at 6pm at the club (then Monday and Wednesday nights for 4 weeks).

As stated I have been re-appointed for my 3rd season as Senior Coach, 2011 recruit from Aberfeldie FC (EDFL) - Adam Jacobs has been appointed as a playing assistant coach and we are in the process of interviewing for a reserves coach and hope to announce that in the coming weeks but are in no rush as we want to ensure a more than suitable replacement of the outgoing Damien Harwood (whom has been appointed as Reserves Coach and Senior Assistant of Romsey FC in the RDFL).

Another of our players Johnny Cott (2011 Reserves Captain and Runner's up B and F) has been appointed the Senior Coach of Rockbank (RDFL) and as a long and loyal servant and valued clubman we wish him well!

Meanwhile we as a club believe we are extremely well placed to continue our rise up the ladder and impose ourselves on and make the top 5 in 2012! Yes we have had a couple of players move on (as all clubs do) but we have attracted plenty of interest from new players wanting to join the club and although this needs to transpire to them coming on board we are in our best position in years with respect to the number already committed as well as those keen to come down and see for themselves and hopefully stay!

As usual I expect a few reponses trying to knock our club and where we are going, who has left us and so on and so forth and good on you... I and we will just go about doing our business and continuing our 'team first mentality'!

I encourage any player out there keen for a 'positive' change in their football career and the opportunity not just to play football but to learn more about the game, their fitness and how their body works and to play alongside a very young, vibrant and enthusiastic side and with finals a very real prospect to come down and train even if only for one night, you'll be amazed that there is more to football than just running and five star handballl!!!

The fact that I have had 2 understudies in Damien Harwood and Johnny Cott moving on to bigger and better things with their coaching careers is testament to the fact that there is a lot to learn under me for any potential 'coach in waiting' and for any player wanting to learn more about the game and to develop your skills.

Looking forward to the 2012 season and for more information, look us up at www.lavertonmagpies.com.au

Justin Moran
Proud Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC
jm@healthbydesign.com.au

Good move posting your own forum, suprised others havent thought of it.

Question
Do you have juniors at Lavo?

Thanks.

They are in our plans to get up and running again and will have a junior registration day. We have an auskick program and hope to start under 9's and/or 10's this season and use that as the catalyst for totally rebuilding our junior program.... We are well aware that we need juniors for our club to be sustainable in the years to come and are working desperately hard behind the scenes to make this happen.

Pre-season training starts Monday November 21 at 6pm - note venue change!

Training starts Monday night (November 21) at 6pm but please note the venue change for all nights previously listed as at the club. Due to council ground allocation, we must train from Altona Green in Victoria St, Melways Ref 208, G4

All sessions start at 6pm.

DATE ACTIVITY

Mon Nov 21 MEET THE COACH - Mandatory attendance for all prospective 2012
players. Introductory night. Running fitness and ball skills

Wed Nov 23 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Mon Nov 28 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Nov 30 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Fri Dec 2 Comic’s Lounge for players/partners – From 7.30pm
(Adam Richard, Justin Hamilton, Troy Kinne)

Mon Dec 5 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Dec 7 Sand running, ball games and drills and sand wrestling

- Bring bathers, runners, towel -
NOTE: This session to be held at Williamstown beach.

Mon Dec 12 Running fitness, core and strength training and ball skills

Wed Dec 14 Game plan/full ground drills & running.

Followed by Christmas drinks and BBQ at the club.

For further information, please contact myself or the club.

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC

Laverton Magpies Coaching appointments for 2012

The Laverton Magpies Football Club are proud to announce that Mal Hartshorne has been appointed the Reserves Coach for 2012 replacing Damien Harwood. We thank Damien Harwood for the last two years in this role and wish Mal the best of luck for 2012.

This is in addition to the already re-appointed senior coach for his 3rd season Justin Moran and the appointment of a senior playing assistant coach in Adam Jacobs.

We are well placed leading into the 2012 Division 2 season and are quietly confident of a good showing and with pre-season well underway and 1 week to go before the Christmas break, we are looking forward to resuming on Wednesday January 23 at 6pm.

We have had a number of new faces thus far and a few handy pick-ups and are hopeful of some more come the New Year.

Regards,

Matthew Pratt
President
Laverton Magpies FC

Re: Laverton Magpies Coaching appointments for 2012

The Laverton Magpies Football Club are proud to announce that Mal Hartshorne has been appointed the Reserves Coach for 2012 replacing Damien Harwood. We thank Damien Harwood for the last two years in this role and wish Mal the best of luck for 2012.

This is in addition to the already re-appointed senior coach for his 3rd season Justin Moran and the appointment of a senior playing assistant coach in Adam Jacobs.

We are well placed leading into the 2012 Division 2 season and are quietly confident of a good showing and with pre-season well underway and 1 week to go before the Christmas break, we are looking forward to resuming on Wednesday January 23 at 6pm.

We have had a number of new faces thus far and a few handy pick-ups and are hopeful of some more come the New Year.

Regards,

Matthew Pratt
President
Laverton Magpies FC

Daissapointed to hear JB missed the maggoos role. I hope the decision doesnt come back to bite you as I have heard a number of players maybe looking for opportunities in the local area may have been prepared to go a few Klms down the road under JB and potentially push for the ones. And Im talking kids you could build around. Anyway your call

May have.

With the WRFL fixture released today and the early start to the season our practice matches are now:

Saturday March 17: Geelong West (AWAY)
Saturday March 24: Belmont Lions (AWAY).

We are very keen for a 5-6 x 15-20 minute practice match under lights AWAY on Thursday March 8 if any club outside of the WRFL may be interested in hosting us... If not we may just have an intra-club practice match that night.

We resume training on Monday January 23 at 6pm and will then be Mon and Wed nights from then on until further notice. See our website for details, contact myself via email: jm@healthbydesign.com.au

Justin Moran
Senior Coach
Laverton Magpies FC

The Laverton Magpies Football Club are proud to announce that Mal Hartshorne has been appointed the Reserves Coach for 2012 replacing Damien Harwood..
Good move getting Mal back involved in the club in a coaching capacity

I dont think theres anybody more passionate about the Laverton Football Club.

In our continuing path to help develop our players off-field and offer an array of educational experiences and access to professional development and player welfare, we have the following seminars locked in early in the New Year and these are not only made available to players but also partners, families, supporters and sponsors:

MONDAY JANUARY 30 - Altona Green 6-7.30 training and then from 7.30-8.30pm Leadership mtg

LEADERSHIP taken by David Kudlak – Projects Manager for Esso Australia and a member of the Production Unit Leadership Team.
- Compulsory for all potential leadership group and captains but would encourage all to attend!

WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 15 - Altona Green 6-7.30 training and from 7.30-8.30pm Life Coaching seminar

LIFE COACHING taken by Stuart Harrison (Western Wellness).
Compulsory attendance for all players interested in the two life coaching positions offered (partners/families/friends/sponsors welcome) for the season.

TUESDAY MARCH 20 - Altona Green 6-7.30 training and from 7.30-8.15pm Motivational seminar

'The Secrets to Success in Football taken by Ken Davis (Motivational Speaker). See link for info on Ken's background.

http://books.google.com.au/books?id=l9bq_Yp9H0QC&pg=PA155&lpg=PA155&dq=ken+davis+cricket&source=bl&ots=IQw_gtS5Qv&sig=1enaoCd9DSEd2vsnmJBQitE7NWc&hl=en&sa=X&ei=zALxTvTYGaeriAfTs5DAAQ&sqi=2&ved=0CC8Q6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q&f=false
(partners/families/friends/sponsors welcome)
</SPAN>
Any potential new players are welcome to join our club and be a part of not only will be a very exciting season but to join a very progressive club destined for years of sustained success.