Cars & Transportation Learners Driving..

I now understand why my father told me to assume that everyone on the road is trying to kill you when I started driving... because there are people like this out on the road that are doing their best to make it happen.

If you genuinely believe that passing a 15 minute practical driving test means you are capable of driving safely on the road in all weather/traffic/road conditions you are seriously deluded, with all due respect there is only ONE thing that makes you a competent driver, and that is time spent safely behind the wheel encountering different scenarios.

When you get in your car, whether it be just around the corner or driving across the country you are responsible for the safety of everyone else on the road near you, and not being able to distinguish between an ability to reverse parallel park and the ability to safely negotiate a dangerous situation to me suggests that is a responsibilty you are nowhere near deserving of.

Pro tips for some new and old drivers out there.

1. You know those white signs with the number within the circle, like 50, 60, 80 etc. Those numbers aren't suggestions, the faster you go the less time you have to react to unexpected events, while accidents do occur regardless of speed, and some accidents you cannot control, your speed is one thing you can control, and if you are one of the few people are I see everday regularly doing 95 in a 80 zone or 80 in a 60 zone, you're a ********, no excuses, no ifs no buts, YOU'RE A ********! FACT

2. brake into a corner and accelerate out, not the other way around.

3. Give way means give way ********s.

4. When changing lanes on a multilane road please use your indicator prior to changing lanes, not during or after you do, the old flick on flick off while in motion doesn't cut it and you might as well not bother with that, I mean its called an indicator, its supposed to INDICATE YOUR INTENTIONS IN REGARDS TO WHICH DIRECTION YOUR CAR IS GOING TO MOVE. While your at it, its good to check if there is a car in the lane opposite to you before you attempt to change into that lane.

5. Don't tail gate people who are doing the speed limit, there is no point,

6. When the traffic light turns yellow, it does not mean "hurry up, go faster"

7. DO NOT ENTER AN INTERSECTION UNLESS YOU CAN MAKE IT TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE INTERSECTION, IF YOU ENTER AN INTERSECTION WHEN IT IS NOT CLEAR YOU HOLD UP THE TRAFFIC FOR EVERYONE ELSE. DO NOT DO IT.

DON'T.

8. People who drive SUV/4x4/mum vans in the city are stupid, Some lonely house wife needs a big car too feel powerful to compensate for their shitty marriage.

9. When you're reversing, look behind you.

10. When you come to the end of a street, stop and look to see what traffic is coming your way. Instead of going straight through and slamming on the brakes when you realise that yes, you are not after all the only man alive on this planet and that you do coexist with other human beings.

11. When the speed limit changes on a road that is say 80kmph to 60kpmh as signified by a sign with the number 60 on it, well that sign isn't a suggestion to slow down to 60kmph, you actually have to slow down to 60kmph before you reach that sign, this will help you avoid getting done for speeding by the police who love to park radars/speed cameras right after these signs to catch idiots. Don't be an idiot.

12. I can't think of anymore right now.

13. Oh wait here we go

14. Don't use your mobile phone while driving, it can wait, shazzah or darleen or kylie or whatever name said bogan has, can wait to hear back from you.

15. Finally, pick a lane, and stay in it, none of this swaying shit, learn to control a car or don't drive. Is driving in a straight line that hard?

comic%20book%20guy.jpg

Worst. Post. Ever.

Agreed mate. Some people just think they're invincible!

Pro tips for some new and old drivers out there.

1. You know those white signs with the number within the circle, like 50, 60, 80 etc. Those numbers aren't suggestions, the faster you go the less time you have to react to unexpected events, while accidents do occur regardless of speed, and some accidents you cannot control, your speed is one thing you can control, and if you are one of the few people are I see everday regularly doing 95 in a 80 zone or 80 in a 60 zone, you're a ********, no excuses, no ifs no buts, YOU'RE A ********! FACT
?

Great post.

I encounter all these shitheads on a daily basis (not that I claim to be the best driver in the history of the world- but my record of no speeding fines and no car accidents in over 10 years is pretty good imo)... you could add a few points in it about trucks/ truck drivers...

Eh I could do it, but i'd be swearing my head off and going on about it/them FOREVER.

But yeah great post. Common sense isnt it... but not alot of people actually have or display it. :rolleyes:

Agreed mate. Some people just think they're invincible!
Its not one of those 'invincible' things.

I dont go out hooning, break speed limits, run red/yellow lights etc.

My point is that the learners system drags on for far too long, there are some people like myself who NEED to be able to drive for various reasons, for basic things like getting something to eat or getting to work, and these people suffer as a result.

Mate, the law hasn't deemed you adequately qualified enough to hold a drivers licence, albeit in your mind the fact that you think it's because of age.

You are reckless in that you THINK that you are capable of driving yourself around. It's idiots like you that take the risk of driving, unsupervised, and put other road users at risk in doing so.

I don't care how safe you are driving, do you understand that your insurance would cease to cover you should you have an accident on your own? Do you understand the ramifications of such culpable actions? These are the things you don't think about before you go out and do stupid things like that.

And the fact you think because you drive safely you won't have any trouble just proves how invincible you think you are. Other drivers may make those accidents occur, and then what? Have you done a defensive driving course? Have you been in situations where you know how to get yourself out of potential prangs?

You are a ********. Plain and simple.

matera: Dude, you realise two things as you get driving experience...

1) Other road users make mistakes all the ****ing time, and you have to get used to anticipating them.

2) You'll also make your own fair share of mistakes. No one is a perfect driver.

I reckon about half my friends, maybe more, had accidents within their first year or so of driving.

matera: Dude, you realise two things as you get driving experience...

1) Other road users make mistakes all the ****ing time, and you have to get used to anticipating them.

2) You'll also make your own fair share of mistakes. No one is a perfect driver.

I reckon about half my friends, maybe more, had accidents within their first year or so of driving.
And I can 100% guarantee that when mater_goal actually does get his license and has some experience he will realize how god damn silly he looks in this thread;)

That's if he gets there. Cops are attracted to ********s and if caught driving unlicenced, he may just find he'll be waiting a little longer than October to get his licence!

I drive with the mindset that every other person on the road is capable of making a massive error in judgement at any time in any situation.

Have not had an accident in 15 years. Just stay on the speed limit, obey the signs and be alert to everything is around you.

I know an 18yo kid who got his licence about 12 months ago. Has already had 3 accidents and he is quite sensible normally. His problem is when he drives he has the music going louder than what it really should be and his concentration is impaired - he also can't hear whats going on around him.

But do you think you can tell an 18yo kid that.....:(

Forgot to add - stay 10 meters behind the car in front of you. It gives you time to react and you also get a better view of whats in front of you on the horizon.

I'm currently on my reds...get on my greens in about 2 months.

Know for a fact that 3 of my mates should not have their P's. Will never get in a car with them again. One of my mates got his ****ing full lisence. Has a turbo charged Impreza and is ****ing nuts. Never getting in a car with him again either.

I've been run up the back...and kinda span the car out in the rain one night. Thankfully there wasn't another car anywhere near me. Probably to do with the fact I did little driving in the rain...experience does matter man, specially when you've rarely driven in different weather conditions.

I think the laws are pretty good. But the fact that 2-3 aforementioned mates have their licence is a little concerning.

Gee, some shocking posts in this thread. Some brilliant ones too.

Slow down, pay attention, keep some space between you and the car in front and we'll all be happier. Oh, and use your L's years to gain some valuable experience so that your P's driving is much less of a risk.

Yes, I was on my L's once and my P's and I know the frustrations and the nerves of the system. But let's be responsible here. Each and every one of us.

And don't get me started on drink driving :D Actually there's another thread on that!

I'm also on my reds... the passenger restriction is quite possibly the worst law ever and it's just a massive pain in the arse.

I realise that's a pain in the arse, but can you put forward a guess as to why that may have been introduced?

Catch a bus w***er. We all had to go through it. Shut your whining and wait your turn.

I realise that's a pain in the arse, but can you put forward a guess as to why that may have been introduced?

I do understand that one. And have lived with it pretty well to be honest.

One thing I don't understand is the new laws for mobile phones. Can anyone tell me the difference between talking on a mobile phone and talking to a back seat passenger? I realise this is a moot point cos I'm on my reds, but when I get on my greens in a couple months and can have back seat passengers...I actually reckon back seat passengers would be a lot more annoying and putting off than talking hands free into a phone.

I think the penalty for talking on your phone is far greater than the penalty for a Red P-Plater carrying more than 1 passenger.

Actually it's not just talking is it? It's like just using your phone at all...I can see why they would bring it into to stop people from texting while driving...but talking on a hands free or with your phone on loudspeaker, thats no different to talking to a passenger!

I thought it was legal to still use the phone hands free.. as long as its in a console or something??

And sorry I cant explain how its more distracting. Also whats the difference between handling a phone or say drinking from a bottle... or putting on makeup. (never done the latter while driving tho!)... or whatever. Or is that actually illegal too while driving? It just doesnt get enforced all that often I suppose....

Ah okay. It's legal for people with their full licence to use a hands free. Nothing else.

But P-Platers can't use their phone at all. We're more likely to text I guess....which is easily more dangerous than talking on the phone.

No idea if there are any laws on those things...I spose you'd have to get a pretty pissed off cop to be pulled over for drinking a bottle of water or something lol.

Ah okay. It's legal for people with their full licence to use a hands free. Nothing else.

But P-Platers can't use their phone at all. We're more likely to text I guess....which is easily more dangerous than talking on the phone.

No idea if there are any laws on those things...I spose you'd have to get a pretty pissed off cop to be pulled over for drinking a bottle of water or something lol.

Check out the list on VicRoads website. (I looked it up after my bf got a speeding fine). There are ALOT of different things to get busted for. DYN Its illegal to drive with P-plates on if youre NOT a P-plater.

And for not indicating, its like a $50 fine or something similar. Dam if the cops could get ALL the fines out of people for that, they'd clean up. Id say more than half of the idiots on the freeway changing lanes dont indicate.

Check out the list on VicRoads website. (I looked it up after my bf got a speeding fine). There are ALOT of different things to get busted for. DYN Its illegal to drive with P-plates on if youre NOT a P-plater.

And for not indicating, its like a $50 fine or something similar. Dam if the cops could get ALL the fines out of people for that, they'd clean up. Id say more than half of the idiots on the freeway changing lanes dont indicate.

On that infrigement alone the police would have little time to do other policing duties. I've watched heaps of people just lazily drift into another lane without indicating.

"experience" means nothing. If you can pass a practical driving test, your driving skills are good enough to drive on public roads. Go ahead, try and prove me wrong.

Mate, this seriously highlights the exact reason why getting a license these days is a long drawn out process. That has to be one of the most ridiculous things i've read on this website (saying something).

You might be the best driver in the world (and being just off your L's thats very unlikely), fact is there are many drivers on the road that are terrible. Frankly until you've spent years on the road having a few close shaves and sometimes even the odd bingle, you have no idea of what can happen and how to avoid situations.

P platers do stupid dangerous things (like change lanes when approaching intersections while traffic is attempting to turn onto the road) without even thinking.

When I got my license 15 years ago it was way too easy, exactly how you describe really. You got your L's, went in on your 17th birthday and if you passed the test, you got your P's. For the first 6 months i basically drove around pretty ignorant of what happens out on the road.

The more training before people are let lose solo the better