Legacy Esports results and news #LGCWIN

WE'RE GOING TO WORLDS!

Legacy clinched the League of Legends OPL split 2 GF 3-1 over Order, and have qualified for the world championships to be held in China later this year. Back to back premierships.

WE'RE GOING TO WORLDS!

Legacy clinched the League of Legends OPL split 2 GF 3-1 over Order, and have qualified for the world championships to be held in China later this year. Back to back premierships.

Will they (or anybody) actually be travelling to China later this year?

One thing to keep in mind is even a first place win likely doesn't go back into Crows coffers.

Most esports players have their contracts set up so the vast majority of winnings get split between the players from my understanding.

Obviously I haven't seen the contracts Legacy players are on, but it's more likely than not they're following the industry standard.

Good effort to get to worlds given Australia has failed about 6-7 years straight to qualify. Very good for the Aus scene.

I still think the only hope for this to take off is if we see it on Foxsports or ESPN.

Expecting first round exit, asian teams, mainly China, can pay players $1 million+

Europe have a superteam, they were already the best team by far and then they bought the best player on the 2nd best team.

Unlikely.

2019 the entire prize pool was only 2.2 mil

Why mention only part of the story.
"The 2019 League of Legends World Championship will feature a prize pool of at least $2.2 million combined with an additional secondary funding generated via sales from specific fan purchased in-game items during the course of the tournament. A similar model to each of the past three world championships, this prize pool will aim to eclipse last year's record-setting figure of $6.5 million."
From your posted article you use as Proof.

I didn't realise it had dropped off so much. I only pay attention to the Farm Simulator League (World championship September 19/20!)
Future proofing revenue steams, we don't have Pokies and Membership and basic Football Sponsership only go so far. And the old Chook raffle don't work in the AFL. So they need to look elsewhere for future revenue streams via multi level sponsership deals, straight up revenue steams, social media streams etc
The trend around the world is to diverise into other revenue streams to future proof you main team.

If the Crows sat back and totally relied on Membership, AFL handouts and sponsers, they would be in trouble in 10 to 20 years and strugle to paid the Football department, let alone build a new training centre with uptodate services.
At this time some of these ventures give the Crows collateral that allows them to get Loans. Loans needed to get thru the Covid 19 and to build a new training centre. without affecting our 2028 full ownership date.

Why mention only part of the story.
"The 2019 League of Legends World Championship will feature a prize pool of at least $2.2 million combined with an additional secondary funding generated via sales from specific fan purchased in-game items during the course of the tournament. A similar model to each of the past three world championships, this prize pool will aim to eclipse last year's record-setting figure of $6.5 million."
From your posted article you use as Proof.

Because from my understanding that prize pool isn't distributed in the same way?

Future proofing revenue steams, we don't have Pokies and Membership and basic Football Sponsership only go so far. And the old Chook raffle don't work in the AFL. So they need to look elsewhere for future revenue streams via multi level sponsership deals, straight up revenue steams, social media streams etc
The trend around the world is to diverise into other revenue streams to future proof you main team.

If the Crows sat back and totally relied on Membership, AFL handouts and sponsers, they would be in trouble in 10 to 20 years and strugle to paid the Football department, let alone build a new training centre with uptodate services.
At this time some of these ventures give the Crows collateral that allows them to get Loans. Loans needed to get thru the Covid 19 and to build a new training centre. without affecting our 2028 full ownership date.

It's only collateral if it has value.

So much negativity here. Why don't we actually support them? At least they are winning. Hell, they have won two grand finals this year, when we can't even win a single regular season footy game.

For the record, going to Worlds is a massive accomplishment. Well done to them.

1. We didn’t do this garbage 20 years ago and up until COVID we were in a very sound financial position and were bankrolling new headquarters and training facilities.

2. Geelong and West Coast don’t waste their time with this s**t and seem to be doing ok. Few more bits of silverware to show for the last 20 years than us too.

So much negativity here. Why don't we actually support them? At least they are winning. Hell, they have won two grand finals this year, when we can't even win a single regular season footy game.

Because the name above the door says Adelaide Football Club. Not Adelaide esports club. Maybe if we didn’t have people and resources focused on this garbage we’d actually have won a game.