Leigh Brown replacement 2012?

what about Keefe? surprised no one pushed for him

Sure there is still some development.
Tall enough to provide a contest in the ruck
Better than Leroy as follower type
Can play forward and back

Sure he's not quite there yet but he will fill that 2nd ruck/versatile tall role really well

Heard a few people say he lacks endurance, lacks mongrell too from what i've seen.

I think we will go with 2 rucks on plenty of occasions next year, and it won't always be a Jolly/Wood combo with Jolly rested at times and the likes of Witts/Ceglar/Keefe given plenty of experience at senior level.
I agree with this.
What about Jordan Lisle? He did a good job on Dawes when Lisle had 10 disposals 10 marks kept him goaless. I would give use Lisle in a straight swap for MaCaffer. Lisle can play forward/Back/Ruck Thoughts?
He can't kick to save his life. If we had someone rotating through the ruck we'd want them to be able to play as a forward. Lisle would end up losing more games than he'd win. The only way we'd draft Lisle would be if he was delisted by the Hawks and we desperately needed to fill the position short term.

He's played 5 games for you guys in an injury effected year and kicked a total of 1.3, (1.1 coming from round 24 against Gold Coast). I know he's played in defence as well but he hasn't exactly been starring there either.

Hardly worth trading for, especially for Macaffer who when fit is in the side.

1st option- Wood will become number 1, shifting jolly to play the leigh brown playing more time in the forward time and playing in the ruck less as his knee is becoming a serious problem.
2nd option- We develop the likes of celgar, witts and get serious game time into them while we keep jolly right for the finals as geelong has with ottens in the past.
3rd option- Dawesy becomes the third tall, with nathan brown coming back, he can be slotted back into FB again, and if Taz decides to play on shift him forward! If he does retire...i've said it once, twice, now for third..FEV to fill in dawesys position!

Why would we want that Idiot Fev at the Club?

The same reason we wanted pants mate, he can play, and lets be honest here, Pants made Fev look like a saint (as in a good saint, not the St Kilda kind)

Well Times has Changed Mate.

I would hate to think how much Trouble Pants would of Gotten in IF he was playing Now:eek:

Well Times has Changed Mate.

I would hate to think how much Trouble Pants would of Gotten in IF he was playing Now:eek:

Who cares, the 1990 cup means more to me than the 2010 one, always will too, 4 points are still worth 4 points.

Remember back in the mid to late 90s when journo's didn't hate our club? (as much), do you know why that was?, it was because we were shit!!, TBH, i breath a breath of fresh air with every anti Collingwood artical i read, it means we're getting to them, it means we're hated again and that's just the way i like it, us turning Fev into a semi model human being would just shove another carrot up their asseholes and if it fails so what?, we can take the high ground and say we were just trying to help a brother out, win/win IMO, it isn't going to unsettle our club.

Who cares, the 1990 cup means more to me than the 2010 one, always will too, 4 points are still worth 4 points.

Remember back in the mid to late 90s when journo's didn't hate our club? (as much), do you know why that was?, it was because we were shit!!, TBH, i breath a breath of fresh air with every anti Collingwood artical i read, it means we're getting to them, it means we're hated again and that's just the way i like it, us turning Fev into a semi model human being would just shove another carrot up their asseholes and if it fails so what?, we can take the high ground and say we were just trying to help a brother out, win/win IMO, it isn't going to unsettle our club.

I reckon there is a Chance that is Could

Look Dave, we both know it isn't going to happen, it wouldn't be a good look for our multi million dollar business, but still, give me flags over bottom lines any day of the week, i don't care how we win them, as long as we do, i'd rather us have to can rattle and win a flag than build state of the art training facilities and not win one.

Look Dave, we both know it isn't going to happen, it wouldn't be a good look for our multi million dollar business, but still, give me flags over bottom lines any day of the week, i don't care how we win them, as long as we do.

I know where you where coming From.

Hey if Fev was Younger I might of Considered it

Geez, we must be a pretty weak club if someone like Fev could come in and disrupt the culture...

I don't expect we will recruit another ruckman (i.e. any of the above listed). Bucks obviously has a plan (otherwise he wouldn't have let Brown go), and I believe his plan would involve filling the role from within.

Wood will have first crack at pairing with Jolly in the role, and if he struggles, then I expect Keefe to come in somewhere there. I wouldn't be against having Dawes do a little bit of rucking as well. I think that Witts may be able to put himself into consideration late in the year (depending on how his form is in the VFL), and as I have said before, I am a fan of trying to develop his forward work this year on the twos (moreso than his ruckwork).

I wouldn't be against seeing Fev at the club, and pushing Dawes into the role.

1st option- Wood will become number 1, shifting jolly to play the leigh brown playing more time in the forward time and playing in the ruck less as his knee is becoming a serious problem.
2nd option- We develop the likes of celgar, witts and get serious game time into them while we keep jolly right for the finals as geelong has with ottens in the past.

Good post.

Look Dave, we both know it isn't going to happen, it wouldn't be a good look for our multi million dollar business, but still, give me flags over bottom lines any day of the week, i don't care how we win them, as long as we do, i'd rather us have to can rattle and win a flag than build state of the art training facilities and not win one.

Or we could do both like we did last year?

Personally I think one of Reid, Brown.N or Taz will be getting the Anvil role, with Taz the favorite already having impeccable credentials forward or back. All he needs to to pressure the opp ruck and he's ready made.

That said no-one will ever reach the laconic heights of Anvil in full FYSU flight.

The same reason we wanted pants mate, he can play, and lets be honest here, Pants made Fev look like a saint (as in a good saint, not the St Kilda kind)

I find it a little distasteful mentioning Pants in relation to Fevola.
Maybe it's just me, but Fev has never shown the heart of Pants, I don't care how "naughty" they both were in comparison.

Totally different players from totally different era.

Unless our game style changes next year, I can't see Wood and Jolly working in the same team. Our forward line press can't have a weak link in it otherwise it fails.

I think Wood is likely to take the #1 ruck mantle next year and I really wouldn't be surprised if Jolly retired at the end of the year.

So, my Leigh Brown replacement will be Dawes. When Wood (or Jolly) is resting in the forward line, Dawes can pinch hit in the ruck.

That will be for 2012 only. We should hopefully see sufficient development in Ceglar/Witts/Keefe to have one of them break into the team in 2013.

3rd option- Dawesy becomes the third tall, with nathan brown coming back, he can be slotted back into FB again, and if Taz decides to play on shift him forward! If he does retire...i've said it once, twice, now for third..FEV to fill in dawesys position![/QUOTE

I reckon you're not far off. Woods is finally developing into the ruckman we hoped we'd drafted. Only thing I think slightly different is N Brown more likely to ruck than Dawes. Nathan has done it before in the past for us if you remember.

Also I'll pretend that I didn't read the bit about Fev. Remember Buckley vetoed any move for him before he moved to Brisbane so Fevs chance is now officially "Buckley's"

3rd option- Dawesy becomes the third tall, with nathan brown coming back, he can be slotted back into FB again, and if Taz decides to play on shift him forward! If he does retire...i've said it once, twice, now for third..FEV to fill in dawesys position![/QUOTE

I reckon you're not far off. Woods is finally developing into the ruckman we hoped we'd drafted. Only thing I think slightly different is N Brown more likely to ruck than Dawes. Nathan has done it before in the past for us if you remember.

Also I'll pretend that I didn't read the bit about Fev. Remember Buckley vetoed any move for him before he moved to Brisbane so Fevs chance is now officially "Buckley's"

Not saying you're wrong, but things are much different now, Fev wouldve put a massive hole in our cap last time and he wouldve cost us Dawes (most agreed at the time), this time we could get him for minimum payments and maybe offer Brissy a 3rd rounder (which we would offer if we were fair dinkum)

Gifts like Leigh Brown come around once in a blue moon. Its ridiculous to assume we can simply replce Leigh Brown with another Leigh Brown....and certainly not with a fifth round draft pick. Dawes is too important structurally to be removed from the forward line.

We will revert to two traditional ruckmen next year with Jolly spending a bit of time forward and Wood gradually taking over the number one ruck spot.

We may shop around for a cheap backup ruckman as insurance because none of Keefe Ceglar or Witts will be ready if either Wood or more likely Jolly suffer long term injuries. But he's likely to more the specialist ruck type than the all-rounder....simply because all rounders arent easy to find.

My number one target, if we're talking about ruckmen to bring in, would be
Jonathon Griffin. With Sandi and Clarke, surely freo would be willing to talk. And the fact they are even open to talking to the Pies works in our comparative favour.

They need defenders and FWDs; I'm sure they'd love a Goldsack-type...

Vote 1 Jonathon Griffin (although I have no idea of his contract status, and he wanted to go back to WA from Adelaide a couple of years ago...)

FWIW I think Witts will play a few games next year either way, despite being only 19.

Not saying you're wrong, but things are much different now, Fev wouldve put a massive hole in our cap last time and he wouldve cost us Dawes (most agreed at the time), this time we could get him for minimum payments and maybe offer Brissy a 3rd rounder (which we would offer if we were fair dinkum)

Why would we offer Brissy anything?
Or are you speculating on the basis he was still with Brisbane?

Leigh Brown replacement 2012?