Leigh Colbert - was he treated fairly by the Geelong supporters

• Thread starter gocatsgo
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

G

gocatsgo

I know I'm a Geelong supporter and my views are one eyed so I'd like to invite an open forum as to whether or not football supporters believe that Leigh Colbert was treated fairly by Geelong fans at 'Shocklands' in round 4.

My view is YES HE WAS

1. I think he showed a lack of character leaving Geelong when he did, and heading out of the country and not facing up to the media.

2. He was given the captaincy as a 24 year old. You didn't see Wayne Carey or Nathan Buckley leave once they were given the captaincy at a young age.

3. He dissappointed many fans by leaving and their frustrations boiled over when they saw him in another strip.

4. He was the captain who left what he thought was a sinking ship, we all know now that there was still life in Geelong.

These are just some of the reasons why I think he deserved everything he got.

Any comments?

My understanding is that Colbert was offered a new contract with an injury clause that made it impossible for him to even contemplate signing and was told to "take it or leave it". He was more or less forced to leave by the unbending attitude of the administration (they did have financial constraints of course). Don't forget as a result of the transfer, as pointed out by the Herald-Sun's Jon Anderson recently, Geelong gained Spriggs, Ezra Bray, Corey Enright and Cameron Mooney-not a bad result really!I can understand the emotions involved but they did go way over the top. Wayne Carey said he was pleased as he hardly heard his boos when compared with Colbys!

I stand to be corrected but Paul Roos left Fitzroy to go to Sydney. He was the captain of Fitzroy at the time. I do not recall any negativity in the media the time. I would have thought that Geelong supporters would be better off concentrating on what have they have received from North over the years, Pickering, Mc Grath, Sholl instead of focusing on what they have lossed. Far be it from me to criticise Leigh Colbert I have never worked for the one company my entire life either.

Sont worry about him going if he didnt want to be down at Cat land then I reckon they did the right thing by barganing hard for whoever wanted him most. Spriggs is already playing great footy for you and with the other draft picks and the added depth of Mooney the Cats will end up well ahead for the deal.

GoCatsGo

Colbert, while not facing the media, at least fronted up at your best and fairest night last season. And he spoke to the audience. I think that deserves some respect.

As Groucho pointed out, Geelong picked up some handy players with the Colbert trade. With any luck, Geelong will do just as well with these players as St. Kilda did (for a short time anyway) with the players they picked up from the Lockett trade.

I was not surprised by the boos given by the Geelong crowd to Colbert. I remember booing Peter Mann after he left North to play for Fremantle. But what did surprise me was the vitorol and hatred. What surprised me even more was chatting to some Geelong fans and hearing a couple of them say that deep down, they did hope that Leigh did well for us and that a few would even follow his progress. Remembering Peter Mann, deep down, I probably did want him to do well and was a touch saddened by his delisting this season (we never did see the best of him). The point? Something about glass houses and stones......

Unlike Gavin Wanganeen who left Essendon for all the right reasons, Leigh colbert is a footballing mercenary more concerned about the comforts in life than showing loyality. I'm glad to see him injured because then he can sook some more. Leigh colbert - thy name is scum

Geelong4Eva

Loyalty runs both ways. As someone else pointed out, the contract allegedly offered to Colbert by Geelong showed a lack of faith by Geelong in Colbert being able to recover from his injury.

Secondly, the money issue. Leigh earns less at North than what he could have done if he had stayed with the Cats. At North, he is not the key player while at Geelong, he was.

Thirdly, and it has been pointed out here many times, without the Colbert trade, you would never have picked up your latest pinup boy, Spriggs. So, some good came out of the bad.

Lastly, being happy that a player is injured just proves that you need a little bit of growing up to do. Sorry, not a little, a lot. Those Essendon fans that you consistently slag off....well....most of them while still hating Wanganeen still respect him for his footballing abilities. And I haven't heard any one of them posting here wishing him any injury. No-one people seem to enjoy using you as a punching bag....you should keep your mouth shut more often.

Think about it, Doug Wade left Geelong and within two years he was a member of a Premiership team, little wonder Leigh Colbert chose the Kangaroos as his new home.

I don't see what all the fuss is about.

So he copped a bit of abuse from the cats supporters. It's a big boys game & as long as he is not physicaly assaulted who cares.

Of cause Cats fans are going to let him have it because rightly or wrongly he is seen as being disloyal.

Unfortunately the only people in football these days who appear to have any loyalty are the supporters.

Geelong4eva,

Whilst i appreciate your brutal honesty, there is nothing to be won by taking delight in the injury of any player.

Leigh Colbert - was he treated fairly by the Geelong supporters