Leo barry

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

Yay im glad leo is around for another year
he will go hard at it next year seeing it will be last and this is good for Faulks and Murphy who are both still developing and having Leo around during games will be good for the both of them! Plus Faulks and Murphy still need to bulk up more!

I for one do get a tad frustrated when Leo is pinged for having the ball but at the same time i applauded him for actually trying 2 take on the game and have a go but i do hope he takes the risk and trys 2 boot it long this year :)!

I do hope he enjoys 2009 he deserves it and we should all be happy hes still wanting 2 give it a go!

He is he will be teaching the new kids exactly how 2 play they will be learning from the best

dont be so bitter

How am I bitter?
Personally, I couldn't give a toss.

From a club perspective, I think it's a mistake and I'm happy to be proven wrong.

What irks me is the inconsistency of some posters and the sheer infuriating obtuseness of others.

How am I bitter?
Personally, I couldn't give a toss.

From a club perspective, I think it's a mistake and I'm happy to be proven wrong.

What irks me is the inconsistency of some posters and the sheer infuriating obtuseness of others.
Sorry i am not allowed to go at the poster, but your attitude against Leo is disgraceful.
Seeing you want him out who replaces him and he wasn't our worst last week.

Sorry i am not allowed to go at the poster, but your attitude against Leo is disgraceful.
Seeing you want him out who replaces him and he wasn't our worst last week.

"Disgraceful"??? How is it disgraceful?
I think Leo's finished. I don't think he's that important to the team any more that we should be letting him play while possibly thwarting the progress of players who WILL be part of the club's future beyond 2009, or are you telling me you think Leo will go on beyond next year as well.
Mate, I've read your posts for a considerable time, and I really don't think you're in any viable position to be telling me my opinions on a Sydney player are disgraceful.

I don't so much "want him out" as much as I think nature has overtaken him. He's slowed right down, he cannot do what he used to be able to do very, very well, he makes bad decisions and he gives away too many free kicks.
As for me being "disgraceful", don't be such a heckin'g hypocrite.
There's a LOT worse gets said on this board by Swans fans about Swans players.

"Disgraceful"??? How is it disgraceful?
I think Leo's finished. I don't think he's that important to the team any more that we should be letting him play while possibly thwarting the progress of players who WILL be part of the club's future beyond 2009, or are you telling me you think Leo will go on beyond next year as well.
Mate, I've read your posts for a considerable time, and I really don't think you're in any viable position to be telling me my opinions on a Sydney player are disgraceful.

I don't so much "want him out" as much as I think nature has overtaken him. He's slowed right down, he cannot do what he used to be able to do very, very well, he makes bad decisions and he gives away too many free kicks.
As for me being "disgraceful", don't be such a heckin'g hypocrite.
There's a LOT worse gets said on this board by Swans fans about Swans players.
You still havent answered his question.Who replaces him ?

I hope he recaptures some of his form of 2004-05. But if he doesn't, I hope he has the balls, along with the rest of the leadership group to drop himself. We'll see.

Thank you Grim, spot on.He does deserve to at least have a go there is not a lot to replace him due to poor recruiting of KPP which goes back to the Saddington days.

Funny you should say that, Faulks reminds me so much of Saddo. Bulk up Columbo!!!

I'm happy enough to see him go on. Barry really does leave himself open to an inglorious mid-end-season exit next year if his form is not great and if things don't pan out well for the Swans....I hope that doesn't happen for his sake.

Best case scenario is that he contributes and makes it to 250. Worst case scenario is that he's Schaublized and plays most of the season in Canberra. I don't see any benefit of dumping him; you can't finish top six and turn over half your list unless you want to top up with a bunch of turnips.

If Leo is playing that role, why did we sign Marty Mattner?
Mattner, Kennelly and Malceski are supposed to be our running backs, yes?

AS for the "odd times" Leo gets caught with it ... those odd times stretch back at least two seasons.
What about his inability to deal with the hands-in-the-back rule, another flaw going back two years (remember first quarter, round 1 v Essendon 2006?)

OK!
Let's begin with the "first Q, Rd 1, 2006 V's Ess.
This is quite possibly where your obsession with ridding the Swans of Leo Barry began!
This was the first game where the new rule was introduced in order to stop undersized defenders, of which Leo is the ultimate, using skills that were used on Plugger, Dunstall & co, by the likes of the full back of the century, Stephen Silvagni. You are saying that a player such as Leo, that took the p'ship saving mark (remember........you were off your seat jumping up & down) only 1 match before this one (1Q before in fact), is not entitled to readjust his technique to allow for an opponent that is a notorious diver (Lloyd). I would love to see Silvagni handle the big time now with these new rules.

But Leo has addressed the problem quite well & survived to still be one of the premier defenders, pound for pound, of the AFL.

As for getting caught running out of defence. You do remeber Leo missed 4 games with a hammy but came back for the good of the team when not quite ready. The game against Collingwood it was & the midfield was dreadful that night. The defence was bombarded for the first 15 minutes without it entering our forward line. they had no rest & NO help for 15 minutes. Before we knew it we were 6 goals down. What were your thoughts on the midfield that night Batey?
You need to take a look at a report that 2 of the 3 players you mention will be having, or have undergone surgery. Kennelly onhis groin & shoulder, Mattner on hip & groin, Craig Bolton on his groin & we all know Malceski's difficulties with a ground breaking return from a major injury.
Add to that the fact that we had no Goodes for the second half of the year & you have your answer as to why Leo tried so hard to break the lines.
Have you ever had a groin injury Batey Boy? You can't run for shit! You can try! But you get away with not running because people like you won't bag certain players. They'll only bag the ones that have a crack but make the odd mistake, with little or no help from the players around them.
LRT is another one that cops it for having a crack. Get off their backs!

Let me get this straight: you start a thread on Paul Roos using up all the points won for the 05 flag, and make mention of him giving the older players one last crack in 08, and I THINK you allude to possibly trading Baz Hall. I could be wrong on that last point but I think i'm right with the general gist of your Roos thread.
Yet here you are championing the re-signing for a year of probably the one bloke among Roos and that 05 crop that really SHOULD give it away.
Specifically, Leo's season was finishing on a downer. I'm sorry, you bring up the first half v the Dogs and I don't think he was particularly outstanding, but even if he was, compared against the backdrop of his whole season you can hardly be excited about building our future, or even our 2009 season, around the likes of creaky Leo.
yet you seem to want to trade Hall (ignore this entire part if that's not what you meant) and Baz played better this season than he's done for two years.

You seem to be contradicting yourself. If you're not, I withdraw this entire post.

The thread I started was not my actual thoughts of what has or should happen. If you read through ALL my post THOROUGHLY, you see that I quite often made mention that I was trying to get into the mindset of the coaching panel. The points I raised were in no way what I wished or hoped would happen. Quite the contrary actually. So go over it again.

The game I mentioned that Leo was our best player, in the first half, was in the FIRST FINAL against the Kangas. He kept us in the game early on when the Roos were having a crack.I was there & he was right in front of us. a great effort by Leo. The coaches & team mates thought so too judging by their comments.

So yeah.........you need to withdraw the post & get yor facts right before you jump down people's throats.

You should also have an open mind as to why this or that happens at a club. Fair to say that Roos & his men have a better idea then you & I as to whether a player deseves another contract or not. They are afterall the ones that REALLY know that Kennelly has gone into battle with an arm dangling & a crook groin.
Oy yeah.......................but we could only notice the shoulder 'cos it kept popping out in front of us all.

As for Bazza! The guy was as fresh as a daisy having missed 10 weeks of hard contested footy. So he should have had a couple of good games "at the end".

Oh dear. I hope this is not true. Have to get the kids in and not have guys like Barry holding them back! This is a bad decision by the club if true. Should have said thanks for the great mark, but now it is time to finish up.

Leo Barry is good enough to be in our best 22. The only guy we currently have who can fill Leo Barry's role is Luke Brennan and while i like Brennan he isnt as good as Leo Barry.

This is a typical comment from those that don't watch week in & week out.

"That mark"!

Has anyone really watched Leo's efforts this year. No where near our worst player & a sublimely fit player which will basically will allow him to play a further 2 years if form allows. Obviously his form has warranted another year. Why don't you ask the people that know. The coaches.
They arte the ones that offered him another year.

Should Leo choose to retire, as he hasn't accepted as yet, then we will all be sorry!! It is important to have him there whilst developing others for his position.

Leo could be a mentor for the kids but not a player any more.He has been a constant tool this year running around in circles with the ball,taking players on front on and kicking or handballing to the opposition are a couple of clanger type plays for Leo in 2008.He should retire now,with dignity.

OK!
As for getting caught running out of defence. You do remeber Leo missed 4 games with a hammy but came back for the good of the team when not quite ready. The game against Collingwood it was & the midfield was dreadful that night. The defence was bombarded for the first 15 minutes without it entering our forward line. they had no rest & NO help for 15 minutes. Before we knew it we were 6 goals down. What were your thoughts on the midfield that night Batey?
Just a thought on that.

He really, really needs to be prepared to run onto his right side if necessary to compensate for losing a bit of pace.

I have seen him kick on his right foot, and he seems more than adequate.

He is not going to be able to outrun them as often as he used to, so this to me seems to be an obvious way of compensating for that.

*Yes, it is one of my bugbears, elite players who can`t/won`t use their so-called `non-preferred` side. :p
**Genuine comment from an interested party - I received my ten-year Swans member pin a month or so ago (although I reckon it has been more like 15). :)

Leo could be a mentor for the kids but not a player any more.He has been a constant tool this year running around in circles with the ball,taking players on front on and kicking or handballing to the opposition are a couple of clanger type plays for Leo in 2008.He should retire now,with dignity.

Once again people have highlighted what he can't do.

What he still can do is DEFEND.
Better than anyone at the club other than CB.

Eradicating his 'run/disposal' issues is far easier than teaching Murphy/Faulks etc to defend at the AFL level.