Leo

• Thread starter Thread starter Sanecow

Leo is an interesting one. Can be really creative, and then really stupid.

Often he is the 'unlikely culprit'.
By that, I mean... Our defense is generally so strong. Often, one forward will kick multiple goals, and most others do very little.

Leo Barry seems to get this person regularly. This is not necessarily a bad thing. If we are only leaking goals via one person, then happy days.

You might say, well if we can plug that hole...
It does not quite work like that. If the Leo shuts the player down, somebody else will step up.

Leo's most frustrating aspect is his run. He does not have a great vision. He needs to realise that sometimes he is unable to create space.

At the moment he still offers us something. We have no likely replacement for him.

He's actually had a pretty good year, with the odd shocker just to keep it interesting.

Still has to something to add and he does make life just that little more exciting for a supporter.

My nephew idolises him & after the game at Subi recently was able to tell Leo himself that he gets confirmed today and has chosen as his confirmation name- you guessed it - Leo. Leo was suitably chuffed - tho apparently this isn't a first! - and organised for all the players to sign my nephew's jersey. Now, he really will be the most hated kid in Perth!

He's actually had a pretty good year, with the odd shocker just to keep it interesting.

Still has to something to add and he does make life just that little more exciting for a supporter.

My nephew idolises him & after the game at Subi recently was able to tell Leo himself that he gets confirmed today and has chosen as his confirmation name- you guessed it - Leo. Leo was suitably chuffed - tho apparently this isn't a first! - and organised for all the players to sign my nephew's jersey. Now, he really will be the most hated kid in Perth!
Oh, that's awesome! What's a confirmation, though?

Leo is an interesting one. Can be really creative, and then really stupid.

Often he is the 'unlikely culprit'.
By that, I mean... Our defense is generally so strong. Often, one forward will kick multiple goals, and most others do very little.

Leo Barry seems to get this person regularly. This is not necessarily a bad thing. If we are only leaking goals via one person, then happy days.

You might say, well if we can plug that hole...
It does not quite work like that. If the Leo shuts the player down, somebody else will step up.

Leo's most frustrating aspect is his run. He does not have a great vision. He needs to realise that sometimes he is unable to create space.

At the moment he still offers us something. We have no likely replacement for him.

Agree with that in all respects.

We are the most miserly defence in the comp, by a fair way.

This has a fair bit to do with our mids not letting quick ball into the 50, but also points to a solid backline, of which Leo is key defender.

soooo considering hes in the leadership group and instructs other players how they should improve their game when they have a few shockers, who pulls him into line and has a chat to him when he isnt playing so well??

atm im not seeing how he contributes to the leadership group as it would almost be hypocritical for him to have words with the guys who are...not so up to standard(?)...when he himself is nowhere near his potential

i think it would be a safe bet that roosey might have a little chat to him about his future at the end of the season...even though it would be sad to see him go after 'that mark' and other ones like it

soooo considering hes in the leadership group and instructs other players how they should improve their game when they have a few shockers, who pulls him into line and has a chat to him when he isnt playing so well??

atm im not seeing how he contributes to the leadership group as it would almost be hypocritical for him to have words with the guys who are...not so up to standard(?)...when he himself is nowhere near his potential

i think it would be a safe bet that roosey might have a little chat to him about his future at the end of the season...even though it would be sad to see him go after 'that mark' and other ones like it

I think it's probably a safe bet that theres a rather large gap between Roosy's opinion of Leo's season and the posters in this threads opinion of Leo's season. He's really not going as badly as people seem to be suggesting. He's played some very good games this season, sure he's had a couple of shockers too but I've seen absolutely nothing to suggest that Roosy will be discussing anything other than him continuing on at the end of the season.

We agree again. Leo is not doing as badly as most think. He has just made silly errors that has made him look worse.

For instance, since we've been playing lower sides, and winning easily... the players have not been under a lot of pressure. They are not making as many skill errors because of this. Leo has made a couple of obvious blunders (with 1-2 poor games) and it sticks in peoples minds.

Yet, when the pressure is on... Leo often responds. He is an experienced player. We have no-one to replace him with anyway. And, if we are to be a serious contender this year, we need experience and calmness under pressure.

Leo won't be going anywhere this year.

Another question I ask. Is why do fans allow Adam Goodes to be inconsistent, however, pick and choose other players because they are expected every week.

I do think the job he has done over the years, of taking on guys taller and heavier and, let's be honest, mostly a helluva lot more talented, has been sensational. Who would ever have thought that the erratic half-forward seemingly intent on just taking hangers could ever become that player? Not me, that's for sure. He still does that job, even though he's obviously not as sharp as he was. He still rarely gets completely carved up by anyone.

By Confirmation are we talking about like in the catholic church or what....?

Nobody really wants to hear my opinion but here it is.

Leo Barry is like a can of coke, get's older and get's a different taste some people like that taste other's don't.

Now we have that out of the way here: If Leo Barry goes to the forward line and goes for the spectacular mark LEGALLY then won't the ball crumble down to our smaller forwards? If his run is lacking then why not swap him for the slower forward put Ted on Lynch.

Craig on the best forward Leo on the third and LRT on the last:). Kennely well he get's tagged he can do whatever he likes!:rolleyes:

Now if Leo came out this week and kept whoever he is going to play on to two or three goals will we be happy? Or are you all really expecting Leo to keep him goaless. Matthew Scarlett for example the best fullback in the competition{Before his injury} Played well all year keeping players to a low amount of goals {In a very dominant side} and then Rocca comes along and really gives Scarlett something when they lose.

Now in this case sides are getting hammered so they are targetting Leo with that little bit less pace with the little less jump that he had to go with that player maybe a year or three ago.:thumbsd:

Give him a while, I reckon he has a more then a couple good games left in him, no not in the ressies. IN the AFL.

I must admit I'm a little dissapointed to hear so many people on here writing him off. I know he hasn't been able to get back to his 2005 form and at his age he never will, but he's hardly finished. Instead of moving him forward why not play him on the 4th/5th best forward (physical matchups permitting) instead of having him play on the 2nd/3rd best forward? If, as many of you are suggesting, there is another player ready to step up and take his place then surely this is a reasonable option? I still think Leo gives us a lot of value as a rebounding defender (The game against Geelong this year he was the only player that was able to give us some drive from the backline in Kennellys absence). Maybe I'm just in denial but I reckon he is still a very good defender on his day and until we have an adequate replacement OR it becomes quite obvious that he's completely out of his depth back there we should stick with him.

exactly the bloke he played on last weekend was a monster, and quite young! he played as well as he could on him i thought. I cant believe Leo is slightly shorter than me and getting these assignments!

a case of:

their mouth > than their brain

Thats a bit harsh mate. To answer the question though, I think it's simply a case of Leo playing in the backline where bad mistakes immediately translate into opposition scores. If a midfielder stuffs up and the opposition team run the ball into their forward line and our defender is caught out of position then the defender is more likely to cop the blame than the bloke that turned the ball over is. I noticed a lot of people slagging off LRT after the West Coast game because on several occasions he was caught a metre or two behind Lynch but upon watching the replay you can see it was a clear result of bad turnovers in the midfield and a lack of defensive pressure on the guys delivering the ball.

Anyone that has played as a defender will tell you that when the ball is delivered into the opposition forward line quickly and without adequate pressure from your own midfielders then there is often very little you can do other than watch your opponent cop the ball laces out on his chest a couple of metres in front of you. This is probably why I have a bit more patience with our defenders than I do with some of our forwards (Davis) and Midfielders (Jude).

meh, there are some smart people on here, and some really BIG twats, hence i read alot more than i post. it's just not worth arguing/debating with some people. not enough ex-footballers or thinkers. just my opinion.

Leo is still contributing to the team, but when he has played well this season we have commended him for his running play or marking.

It is 100% accurate that Leo's one on one performances this year have waned on the past. While not necessarily advocating a role on the forward line it would be best if we could find a way to stop him one on one to close to goal, but the running Half Back Flanker role is well covered with Malceski, Kennelly and Mattner. I have a lot of respect for Leo but acknowledging our players poor performances or weakness does not make us traitors.

Sydney Swans Points against.......957

Nearest rival Geelong........1051

leader Swans total Marks......... Leo Barry 92

Yep he is crap

I saw that stat too .. leading in marks even though I rarely see him mark the ball down back. Transparency is a mark of a good defender :thumbsu:

By Confirmation are we talking about like in the catholic church or what....?

Yeh, strange Mick ritual where you get to take the name of your most revered saint - personally, I had no idea there was a Saint Leo and I suspect my nephew didn't either until he started looking!

Actually, "Saint" Leo has a nice sound to it, tho not as alliterative as Leaping of course.

you forget...its what he DOES with the marks that counts

LMAO, as Mase pointed out

Leading Swan effective disposals..... L Barry 87.12%

Nearest rival......C Bolton 81.76%

Maybe you should check your facts first ?

So is it his hair you dont like ?

Leo's going better this season than last season, BUT this week we play the Pies who's forward's, pressure and tackle, defenders heaps more than the teams we've played.

The games last year Leo was shown up as overly creative/indecisive and his poor option taking, usually resulted in a turnover, and no surprise a bloody goal.

The Pies will target him, and it may be a career defining game, as this sort of pressure will be the norm, with the swans to play the better teams and then finals for the rest of the season.

I hope he goes well, but if he doesn't it's just another sign that he time is getting closer, and that's just a function of his age, his size and the position he is being asked to play. It's got nothing to do with 2005 and that mark, and years of service, just simply what he's got left and and what he has to offer the club in 2009.

Just ask Matthews and Crouch.

I am a fan, in fact I rarely criticise any player or coach because I feel all the current group have performed well above themselves

No less Leo who has had to be undersized in a difficult positon on the ground... the one that cops a lot and rarely gets pats on the back

BUT SURELY.... NOW

They need to sit down with Leo and review the number of times he is getting caught

Surely they can recognise that after years of doing his jinks and runs other teams have worked out his weaknesses (mainly being so left sided)

JUST KICK or handpass the eff'n ball QUICKLY! and make sure someone up the ground is leading to his left side.... that will open up opportunities for him to occasionally run again... if they are second guessing instead of being certain.

He is NOW more predictable than Milne was!!!

I am a fan, in fact I rarely criticise any player or coach because I feel all the current group have performed well above themselves

No less Leo who has had to be undersized in a difficult positon on the ground... the one that cops a lot and rarely gets pats on the back

BUT SURELY.... NOW

They need to sit down with Leo and review the number of times he is getting caught

Surely they can recognise that after years of doing his jinks and runs other teams have worked out his weaknesses (mainly being so left sided)

JUST KICK or handpass the eff'n ball QUICKLY! and make sure someone up the ground is leading to his left side.... that will open up opportunities for him to occasionally run again... if they are second guessing instead of being certain.

He is NOW more predictable than Milne was!!!

I think realistically, the other players need to support him by getting into space. Your comments are accurate, however, no good unless he has somebody to go to. We need the players to run off each other to create options.

The next question is why isn't that happening?

Are they too obsessed with being accountable?

Somehow I think the Plan or coaches or whatever don't seem to see that when the SWANs open up the trottle and go for broke attack they can keep sides virtually scoreless!!!!:confused: