Leon Davis/Rex Hunt Issue

Re: Leon is a hack blah blah blah

For ********s sake..ever heard of Freudian slips?

This was one. If Leon really sat down and listened to it in the context that it was broadcast on air, then even he would have a chuckle.

More importantly though..how about actually getting a kick now and then and justifying being in the team and worry about the things YOU can control.

All this is about is just Leon wanting his 15 minutes of fame and finding a way of getting it.

pazza said:
For ********s sake..ever heard of Freudian slips?

This was one. If Leon really sat down and listened to it in the context that it was broadcast on air, then even he would have a chuckle.

More importantly though..how about actually getting a kick now and then and justifying being in the team and worry about the things YOU can control.

All this is about is just Leon wanting his 15 minutes of fame and finding a way of getting it.

You are proving to me how pathetic you are. This has NOTHING to do with on field performance. It is to do with a Racial Slur whether is was meant in that particular context or not. Like talking to a brick ********ing wall.

davidsonsyear05 said:
You are proving to me how pathetic you are. This has NOTHING to do with on field performance. It is to do with a Racial Slur whether is was meant in that particular context or not. Like talking to a brick ********ing wall.

Why not just accept Rex's apology. He's paid for what he said..and he regrets what he said. That would be the best way of dealing with the problem.

Re: Leon Davis Issue: Rex Hunt is a plonka!

Biggest joke i've ever heard in my life. Davis needs to get off his high horse. Was so obviously an innocent mistake. Bloody rude not to accept his apology. If i was Rex i'd say, well i tried stuff him. Doesn't deserve a second apology. Who does he think he is. I'll be very disappointed if Collingwood don't nip this in the bud and tell neon to concentrate on playing good footy. I know heaps of aboriginals through my current and previous business interests and none of them are nearly this precious. He is giving them a bad name and acting like a big sook. Get a kick you weak pr!ck (i never usually bag my own players but this has got me going).

davidsonsyear05 said:

some people have to deal with other slurs which they take in their stride. Rex already acknowledged it wasn't meant in that way. I cannot see how it was taken so wrongly.

Who reported it to Leon that it was apparently a racist slur? It clearly wasn't meant that way and everyone has said that even Rex knew it would be taken the wrong way and corrected himself. Honestly. I have a black dog. I call her a black dog. We have been so indoctrinated with anti racial vilification laws that this is just bordering on ridiculous.

The insult if any as far as I can see is that Leon didn't play too well. Unfortunately the insult got included with a 'black' word. It wasn't meant in that context and has got completely out of hand.

Re: Rex Hunt is a plonka!

Murray said:
There you go - if you scatch hard enough a racist appears

What a shock, a Sydney supporter...

I guess he is the type that has a go at players like Goodes aswell. Very sad. 2005 and the rednecks are still out in force.

Hope you're not calling me a redneck. ? :eek:

I don't like insults but this has gone a little too far.

Oh I just realized the irony of my post. Isn't that the point though. I thought not.

It's ok for commentators to call an umpire a "white maggot", but (accidentally) calling an aboriginal a "black dog" is racial vilification.

As an Essendon supporter I am very disappointed that Long has gotten involved in this non-issue. How precious do you want to be? This is creating racism.

No doubt Eddie will build it up, and already is so that he can do something on the Footy Show come Thursday night, when in fact it should be worked out in-house (not that there IS much to work out).

Rex makes a slip on radio, and anyone with half a brain knows that it was not intended to come out like that. Davis should have accepted the apology, and moved on. I'm sure most other aboriginal players would have.

How ironic that Collingwood are involved in the racial vilification fiasco with the boot on the other foot.

Rex talks crap we all know that but it would fair to say he wasn't intentially being racist,If Leon came out and said that Rex is a dill for saying what he said , Rex would cop it and Leon could back to trying to play football, Leon should be finding a better way to get his name in the media.

danstar84 said:
It's ok for commentators to call an umpire a "white maggot", but (accidentally) calling an aboriginal a "black dog" is racial vilification.

As an Essendon supporter I am very disappointed that Long has gotten involved in this non-issue. How precious do you want to be? This is creating racism.
No doubt Eddie will build it up, and already is so that he can do something on the Footy Show come Thursday night, when in fact it should be worked out in-house (not that there IS much to work out).

Rex makes a slip on radio, and anyone with half a brain knows that it was not intended to come out like that. Davis should have accepted the apology, and moved on. I'm sure most other aboriginal players would have.

Exactly

MarkT said:
He may not have made racist remarks before and he probably didn't mean to this time, if indeed that is what they can objectively be judged as, but he has said and done plenty of insulting things to plenty of people in the name of sensationalism, self promotion and grand standing. Generally he ends his idiotic rants with something like "but what would I know I'm just a poor boy who grew up blah blah blah trying to get by blah blah blah a humble ex copper blah blah blah...."

Very true that, Hunt is a self-serving egomanic who's primary concern is himself.

And what about Hunt's supposedly hilarious 'William Wong' character impersonation he often does after matches? Others will probably disagree but imo obnoxious and racially offensive.

I think we could solve probelms like this pretty easily

1 - keep the law saying it is unfair to judge people on race

2- teach our kids to ignore people who insult them in a racial way the same as you do if the insult you in anyway other way

really whats the difference between being called a fat prick or a white/black prick ? or saying someone is as white as a sheet or as black as night ?

maybe we need to cool our heels about things like this and teach people to get over it. if it wasn't such a taboo topic that gets such a reaction people wouldn't say things

Macpie said:
is that shoe a little tight?

Get over yourself. I thought I said that Rex had apologized. I also said that there are many slurs that affect people.

I also said that this could be a collingwood bandwagon.

I don't agree that this is about a black dog. He didn't say that. He didn't call him anything. Like I said, can you not use black and dog in a sentence and just because it applies to an aboriginal player that it has some racist terms.

I don't know what Leon felt but I guess at times there are issues to be made from anything anyone said.

And don't tell me the shoe fits because it doesn't. :mad:

oops, I just allowed myself another post to vent. sorry. I am a bit slow today. :(

I'm hearing ya. Remember when Darryl White got off from the tribunal after calling the goal umpire a "white c**t?" Okay for it to go one way but not the other? :rolleyes:

Some people are too precious and get offended too easily. That's the problem.

Was listening to Neil Mitchell in the morning, and a number of people rang up about the issue, and said that it had been taken out of context. These were dark skinned people.

An African-American fellow rang up and said that he was not offended by the comments one bit, as he knew it was not meant to come out as it did.

The ones who thought is was a racist comment seemed to have a grudge against Rex Hunt, and didn't take the passage as a whole, but focussed on the two words.

itsintheblood said:
I can't believe Leon Davis is even considering taking this matter to the courts. It's just plain stupid. Surely he can just sit down like a grown man and thrash out the issues with Rex like many others before him have done. To not accept Rex's apology for what was obvioulsy a commentary passage gone wrong is just childish and IMHO, alienates his people even more from ordinary society. It's just crazy.

Grow up Leon.

Totally agree iitb. This is political correctness gone mad.

Don't be ridiculous. The article is wrong he didn't trail off he stopped because he realised what he said and meant no harm in it. Leon will probably be delisted anyway and is a hack who is taking offense to something which clearly meant nothing and wasn't directed at him in a racist sense.

Agreed with most of the guys on the first page. Seems like an honest slip up, i'm positive Rex isn't racist and is a top guy. The way he calls a game it's amazing he hasn't slipped up this big before but geez it's only a couple of misdirected words in the heat of a call.

Also as pointed out,

Focus on footy Davis because most of the football world see you as a complete hack.

:)

The Interesting thing here i think is that the only people who think it was racist are collingwood supporters.

What does that tell you?

Who does the little tool think he is anyway? Demand an apology so Rex meets with him face to face and apologises. Then Dud Davis refuses to accept his apology!

Make the most of your celebrity Davis coz by this time next year no one will remember you anyway.

We will find him living in some dark place with that chick that won the last Australian Idol thing, ... what was her name? .... all i remember was that if you typed her name into google you got a pr0n site.

Its over for you Leon

They obviously have a short memory those pies supporters.

What exactly were most of the collingwood crowd yelling out to Winmar again?

I always say it takes one one to know one. good saying.. :)

Leon Davis/Rex Hunt Issue