Lessons learnt from Port

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

The arrogance is born from a successful footy culture at Port Adelaide(SANFL) into the AFL side.

Also they must be doing something rigth with Clarkson and Bailey getting Head coaching jobs and Hardwick(prem player at Port) now in the mix for Bummers job.

Walls is a tosser.

Spot on! I have no doubt we would be the same if Easts (or maybe even Sowf's) got the licence. ;)

Seriuosly though, we have to work together for the common good , instead of having a small minority trying to de stabilise things all the time - something that Port have never had to combat.

What does that mean? Are you suggesting that everytime someone posts on an internet forum that we should have drafted this guy instead of that guy, or player x is crap, or our coach is no good it contributes to us losing games of footy?

Surely you have been to a game or listened to talkback Radio.

Medhurst's best is as good if not better than Sampi's best. Troy Longmuir >> Sampi at present.

Ray probably wouldn't come that cheaply.

Laidley said that they aren't speaking to Judd because the eagles would want Hansen or Wells + draft picks and he wouldn't trade either of those players in a straight swap for Judd. Hypothetically, if Wells was out of contract and wanted to come home they'd want 2 x first round picks.

Wells has had a very poor finals series and struggles to get any consistency during the season. He would be every Freo supporting Headland critic's worst nightmare (and his price tag would be far too large).

Yep Chaplin is nearly as good as Mundy and M.J.

Success starts at the supporter base , We will never get anywhere while we reckon the "grass is always greener".

We just have to run what we brung.
Just saying he got that one wrong, which he did.

Nothing wrong with wanting the club to improve Ripper, are you happy with our grass? Hasn't ever gotten very green has it? I'll always stay on our plot of grass but I'll always want it to better than the rest of the street, I'll make no appologies for not accepting mediocrity.

Wells has had a very poor finals series and struggles to get any consistency during the season. He would be every Freo supporting Headland critic's worst nightmare (and his price tag would be far too large).

Spot on Chook. They would be ringing up 6pr every night counting goals or possesions per dollar as they did with Croad.

Spot on! I have no doubt we would be the same if Easts (or maybe even Sowf's) got the licence. ;)

Seriuosly though, we have to work together for the common good , instead of having a small minority trying to de stabilise things all the time - something that Port have never had to combat.

Either you're winding me up or you're getting stuck into the bundy's in a big way!

Winning games of footy will silence any critics. No supporter base in the country would sit and back and accept the mediocrity we've been dished up over the last 6 years. If someone isn't doing their job then they need to be pushed aside and replaced.

Either you're winding me up or you're getting stuck into the bundy's in a big way!

Winning games of footy will silence any critics. No supporter base in the country would sit and back and accept the mediocrity we've been dished up over the last 6 years. If someone isn't doing their job then they need to be pushed aside and replaced.

Why pick out the last six years Dom?

The last six years are infinitely better than the previous six.

Just saying he got that one wrong, which he did.

Nothing wrong with wanting the club to improve Ripper, are you happy with our grass? Hasn't ever gotten very green has it? I'll always stay on our plot of grass but I'll always want it to better than the rest of the street, I'll make no appologies for not accepting mediocrity.

Fact is that in a year that everything that could go wrong went wrong , we finished in 11th place marginally out of the top 4.

Much the same as the Cats in 2006.

I know when i was in competitive sport (speedway) , early on every time you got beaten the temptation was there to throw out the lot and start again or buy a bigger Carburettor or camshaft or something else.

If ever there was a sport where the grass was always greener it is that.

However as that was not economically feasable , i just had to get smarter with what I had.

Every year the competition would arrive to tell me that I was slack and had not replaced my bent diff housing from last year.

Little did they know that it was bent that way on purpose to give 1 1/2 degrees camber on the right rear an 1/4 inch toe out to make the left rear work closer to it's optimum slip angle.

4 Murchison Champs wins (4 R/u's & a 3rd)
3 Fortuscue Wins (4 R/U & 2 3rd's)

4th in the Midwest super saloon challenge against the best in the State, that was the way to go. :thumbsu:

Some of the bloke i raced spent more on their on just their carbon fibre rims than the whole car owed me.

Another great lesson I learnt was that when coaching the new drivers the biggest experts on the sidelines were the one that had never done it.

Why pick out the last six years Dom?

The last six years are infinitely better than the previous six.

Because i said mediocre, not shocking.

The fact that the first six were terrible doesn't make the next six acceptable just because they were better though. If we win two finals in the next six years I'll be extremely disappointed.

Fact is that in a year that everything that could go wrong went wrong , we finished in 11th place marginally out of the top 4.

I know when i was in competitive sport (speedway) , early on every time you got beaten the temptation was there to throw out the lot and start again or buy a bigger Carburettor or camshaft or something else.

If ever there was a sport where the grass was always greener it is that.

However as that was not economically feasable , i just had to get smarter with what I had.

Every year the competition would arrive to tell me that I was slack and had not replaced my bent diff housing from last year.

Little did they know that it was bent that way on purpose to give 1 1/2 degrees camber on the right rear an 1/4 inch toe out to make the left rear work closer to it's optimum slip angle.

4 Murchison Champs wins (4 R/u's & a 3rd)
3 Fortuscue Wins (4 R/U & 2 3rd's)

4th in the Midwest super saloon challenge against the best in the State, that was the way to go. :thumbsu:

Some of the bloke i raced spent more on their on just their carbon fibre rims than the whole car owed me.

Another great lesson I learnt was that when coaching the new drivers the biggest experts on the sidelines were the one that had never done it.

Marginally outside the top four? Going into round 22 we could still have finished bottom four. Sure a lot of things went wrong, but the same could be said about the mob up the road.

You've lost me on the car stuff, I drive a camry. Just because I'm a swannies supporter doesn't mean I drive a VK commodore and smoke winnie blues. ;)

Sure the people on the sidelines have an opinion, and if they've paid their admission fee they are entitled to have one. Good on you for not letting outside opinion interfere with your better judgement.

Marginally outside the top four? Going into round 22 we could still have finished bottom four. Sure a lot of things went wrong, but the same could be said about the mob up the road.

You've lost me on the car stuff, I drive a camry. Just because I'm a swannies supporter doesn't mean I drive a VK commodore and smoke winnie blues. ;)

Sure the people on the sidelines have an opinion, and if they've paid their admission fee they are entitled to have one. Good on you for not letting outside opinion interfere with your better judgement.

Seeing as we are suffering port envy at the moment, Would you like to match up who we have that are as good or better than these stars

C Cornes
K Cornes
P Burgoune
S Burgoune
Lade
Brogan
Tredrea

There you go again ,always looking worst case scenario. We could have finished top 8 as well.

Fact was , apart from Geelong , there was really very little between 2nd and 13th.

Seeing as we are suffering port envy at the moment, Would you like to match up who we have that are as good or better than these stars

C Cornes
K Cornes
P Burgoune
S Burgoune
Lade
Brogan
Tredrea

That brings me back to my point in another thread regarding players at Fremantle not taking the step from a good player who has the occassional really good game to being a standout player in the competition. Either we aren't developing them to unleash their full potential, or drafting the wrong players. I don't think it is the latter.

Why is that of the 16 players currently on our list with 100+ games experience only Bell and Pavlich could be added to that group listed above?

The two teams playing next Saturday certainly have a core group of "A grade players", as do the side that finished top four then went out in straight sets. But the pies got within a kick of the grand final, who are their star players? We showed last season that we could win consistently without superstar players, but we need to rediscover that belief and desperation for success that lasted for 3 months.

There you go again ,always looking worst case scenario. We could have finished top 8 as well.

Fact was , apart from Geelong , there was really very little between 2nd and 13th.

Just being the ying to your yang. You brought up the four, I'm simply pointing out that we were much closer to the bottom four than the top four.

That brings me back to my point in another thread regarding players at Fremantle not taking the step from a good player who has the occassional really good game to being a standout player in the competition. Either we aren't developing them to unleash their full potential, or drafting the wrong players. I don't think it is the latter.

Why is that of the 16 players currently on our list with 100+ games experience only Bell and Pavlich could be added to that group listed above?

The two teams playing next Saturday certainly have a core group of "A grade players", as do the side that finished top four then went out in straight sets. But the pies got within a kick of the grand final, who are their star players? We showed last season that we could win consistently without superstar players, but we need to rediscover that belief and desperation for success that lasted for 3 months.

I would have added Macpharlap and the Wiz (Haze if fit) to Belly and Pav.
I don't think Justin is as good or will ever be as good as Brogan or Lade.

The one thing they have in common is that they all were there before 2002.

Much the same as

Cousiins
Kerr
Glass
Hunter
Cox
Braun
Embley
Wirra.

A lot of our 100 game players are not in the class of those above although some coming through will be.

I suppose you'll be getting Kep Bradley when his stocks are low. Pity there is basically no chance they will rise again.

Surely you have been to a game or listened to talkback Radio.

The people who hang over the fence yelling smartarse comments are either drunk, stupid, or both. The players probably assume they are away supporters anyway. Things like Schammer getting the bronx cheers and booing when we chip sideways annoys me, but I doubt that it affects the playing group.

I've lsitened to talkback radio, but I doubt the players do too often and I'm sure they take any comments with a grain of salt. If negative callers to talkback can put players off their game we should all ring 6PR bagging the eagles during derby week next year.

There you go again ,always looking worst case scenario. We could have finished top 8 as well.Fact was , apart from Geelong , there was really very little between 2nd and 13th.

Coulda woulda shoulda...story of our club since 1995...
Very little except the chance to play next Saturday...

I would have added Macpharlap and the Wiz (Haze if fit) to Belly and Pav.
I don't think Justin is as good or will ever be as good as Brogan or Lade.

The one thing they have in common is that they all were there before 2002.

Much the same as

Cousiins
Kerr
Glass
Hunter
Cox
Braun
Embley
Wirra.

A lot of our 100 game players are not in the class of those above although some coming through will be.

Why not? Sack Smart? We've had draft picks out of the wazoo and 1 finals win to show for it...

Pav didn't go down Ripper. I actually didn't think we had that much go badly. More likely we were more lucky with injuries last year.

We kept trading our top picks... Smart has done a good job with the picks he has been given.

Would disagree there. Maybe you should look at the full Draft for the last few years. Have been pushing for local talent for years.
2003 Michael Pettigrew did not go until pick 42 Port, (after we had all our picks) Jacob Surjan didn't get picked at all, did a pre season with Port and got picked up in the Pre season draft. Matt Priddis didn't get picked up until Rookied 2005. The last two would have given anything to have been on a Dockers list.
2004 (great pickup Josh Carr) but we ended up with pick 60 Benet Copping, pick 67 Toby Stribling, pick 69 redrafted Daniel Haines.
These are just 3 players who have just had stellar seasons with their respective Clubs, local kids who were on full view for any recruiter to see and were overlooked for whatever reason.

We kept trading our top picks... Smart has done a good job with the picks he has been given.

Exactly Inferno.

We dont keep our top picks, we chase quick fixes, messiahs.

We dont want to do the hard yards and develop the young kids - we go the easy route.

Wozzie, late picks are near lotteries anyway. We have done very well with our rookies too and PSD.

Exactly Inferno.

We dont keep our top picks, we chase quick fixes, messiahs.

We dont want to do the hard yards and develop the young kids - we go the easy route.

Wozzie, late picks are near lotteries anyway. We have done very well with our rookies too and PSD.

Why are we after quick fixes?