Let's Kick The Vfl Up The Ass !

Glenelg, Redbacks, Lakers
The SANFL will hopefully prove to the VFL that we are the BEST state league in Australia just like we did 2 years ago on their own crap hole !!!!!!!!

Not a chance mate, the Big V will open a big can of whop-ass all over the canaries, just like nearly every other time we have to show you where the home of football is.

Victoria - The only home of football!

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Not a chance mate, the Big V will open a big can of whop-ass all over the canaries, just like nearly every other time we have to show you where the home of football is.

The SANFL always has been the best, arrogant victorians should realise this and acknowledge it too ! Nearly all the VFL team are unknowns !!!!!!!

Originally posted by eastaugh36
The SANFL will hopefully prove to the VFL that we are the BEST state league in Australia just like we did 2 years ago on their own crap hole !!!!!!!!

This is probably the only time I will agree with you. But I hope the SANFL win for a different reason. I hate state of origin footy, and I wish it would die. If the SANFL can win by a huge margin, and I am talking about a 75 point margin, then maybe the VFL will drop state of origin footy like the AFL have done. Their is a Coburg player involved, and if he gets injured, I will never forgive the selectors for picking him. I am sure you hope no Glenelg player hurts himself. So do I.

I have never gone to any state of origin game in any level of footy. If this game was at Coburg, I still wouldn't go. It is not my thing. Die state of origin.

To top it off, the VFL clubs are not playing this weekend.:mad: So because they choose to play stupid state of origin footy, we the people who support the league have to miss out. Bloody wounderful:rolleyes:

------------------------------
Play on says the umpire

PLAY ON: I hate state of origin footy, and I wish it would die.

I understand your thoughts on your teams player safety PLay on, just like Hawthorn and Tony Hall in 89, but I think you are in a minority of people that don't like state of origin.
Personally I think the Allies concept is the one which killed real State of Origin.
The AFL went all out to satisfy 3 of the biggest players in the league in Carey, McLeod and Buckley a bigger stage to strut their stuff and ignored SA which is sad,, but I am all for it,,,, every other sport has state clashes.

Smithy

State of Origin died when the Crows entered the AFL.

The last big SOO game was at the MCG in 89.

In regards to the topic: I think it would be much more pleasureable to kick easty up the arse.

Re: Re: Let's Kick The Vfl Up The Ass !

Originally posted by play on
This is probably the only time I will agree with you. But I hope the SANFL win for a different reason. I hate state of origin footy, and I wish it would die. If the SANFL can win by a huge margin, and I am talking about a 75 point margin, then maybe the VFL will drop state of origin footy like the AFL have done. Their is a Coburg player involved, and if he gets injured, I will never forgive the selectors for picking him. I am sure you hope no Glenelg player hurts himself. So do I.
There will be no chance of a Glenelg player getting injured. Glenelg's only representative in the squad has been omitted from final selection, due to an existing thigh strain. C'est la vie.

I appreciate your feelings regarding injuries suffered during state matches (note - it's not actually state of origin), but consider the other side of the coin: While there is one Coburg player who runs the risk of injury this week, there are 20 more who aren't. Does the VFL currently have a bye in it's fixtures? If not, then the bye comes as a very handy break for the other 20 players to rest up and let the sore spots heal. The week off is less of an issue for the SANFL since each team gets 3 byes already.

Myself, I think it's a real shame that state-of-origin died. Look at the SOO matches in rugby league - I really wish that Aussie Rules had been able to engender the same passion and excitement for SOO. I think it died mainly through lack of interest from Victoria and WA. Only the Croweaters seemed to have any real passion for it.

State league matches are a poor substitute for the Real Thing, but hell, it's a lot better than nothing. Once a year we still have the chance to stand on the same side as the fans of the other SANFL clubs - yes, even Port - and unite against a common enemy. Next week we'll all go back to calling each other w***ers but for this week we'll all be screaming for SA in unison. Myself, I love it, and think it would be a massive shame if the unique atmosphere of state matches was lost forever.

I'll be there. CAR'N THE CROWEATERS!

Re: Re: Re: Let's Kick The Vfl Up The Ass !

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Does the VFL currently have a bye in it's fixtures? If not, then the bye comes as a very handy break for the other 20 players to rest up and let the sore spots heal. The week off is less of an issue for the SANFL since each team gets 3 byes already.
CAR'N THE CROWEATERS!

This weekend is the only week where all sides get the week off. We have 16 sides in the league.

Play on says the umpire

Re: Re: Re: Let's Kick The Vfl Up The Ass !

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

There will be no chance of a Glenelg player getting injured. Glenelg's only representative in the squad has been omitted from final selection, due to an existing thigh strain. C'est la vie.

I appreciate your feelings regarding injuries suffered during state matches (note - it's not actually state of origin), but consider the other side of the coin: While there is one Coburg player who runs the risk of injury this week, there are 20 more who aren't. Does the VFL currently have a bye in it's fixtures? If not, then the bye comes as a very handy break for the other 20 players to rest up and let the sore spots heal. The week off is less of an issue for the SANFL since each team gets 3 byes already.

Myself, I think it's a real shame that state-of-origin died. Look at the SOO matches in rugby league - I really wish that Aussie Rules had been able to engender the same passion and excitement for SOO. I think it died mainly through lack of interest from Victoria and WA. Only the Croweaters seemed to have any real passion for it.

State league matches are a poor substitute for the Real Thing, but hell, it's a lot better than nothing. Once a year we still have the chance to stand on the same side as the fans of the other SANFL clubs - yes, even Port - and unite against a common enemy. Next week we'll all go back to calling each other w***ers but for this week we'll all be screaming for SA in unison. Myself, I love it, and think it would be a massive shame if the unique atmosphere of state matches was lost forever.

I'll be there. CAR'N THE CROWEATERS!

I agree , uncle steve. Its good to put aside hostilities with other sanfl clubs and supporters to unite to cheer on the croweaters once a year ! The only thing that rugby league kills AFL in is state of origin ! I am envious when I see origin rugby games, but dont worry origin will be back in a few years, because players from all states are more and more being spread out to teams all over the country through the draft and we will one day have origin back so that SA can continue to do some Vic kicking, just like we will this saturday !

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Another example of Victoria's arrogance toward state footy. And still, some people cannot tell the diff between State of Origin and State League! State of Origin footy is AFL property. State League footy is league against league. But getting back to the Big V bullcrap. I do not give a rats backside about where football was played first...I believe it is called Australian Football. Not Victorian Football.

The reason that we call it Australian football is because...simply...

VICTORIA DOES NOT OWN FOOTBALL!

Maybe, the interstate teams which entered the VFL/AFL in 87, 91, 95 and 97 should have told them to kiss their ass, because what would VFL/AFL football be without those sides?

NOTHING! BUGGER ALL!

The VFL would continue to be a single state league and you could have all been very happy just being the Victorian Football League.

I don't think the AFL will go back to being the VFL. Sorry...NOT!

P.S. AND IT IS WHOOP -ASS. To quote Sam Newman--"You idiot."

Re: Re: Let's Kick The Vfl Up The Ass !

Originally posted by play on

. I hate state of origin footy, and I wish it would die.
Play on says the umpire

Some State of Origin have been some of the best games ever

93 and 94 for instance

One goal or less in each game

Brilliant skills to watch.

Bring it back...please.

Rest in Peace Ted Whitten - unfortunately your legacy is being betrayed.

Originally posted by JUBJUB

EASTY
You've proved what a dumb campaigner you are.
Have you not heard of Essendon,Carlton or Geelong ?

JUBJUB
Can you not read properly? He wasnt talking about the teams in the VFL, he was tlaking about the players in the VFL state side.

Originally posted by Macca19

JUBJUB
Can you not read properly? He wasnt talking about the teams in the VFL, he was tlaking about the players in the VFL state side.

thanks mate, are you going to the game on saturday when we kick some victorian ass ?

Jars 458: Yet more insightful and thought provoking comment from the Blues brigade.

Jars,, I respect your opinion,, becuase you can,, but as I have mentioned before, If you don't like a couple of Sturt supporters, don't stereotype us all.........
I dont barrack for the crows, and if I disagree with something you say, I dont go slagging the other 50,000 people along with it.
So if you disagree with a blues supporter,, slag them personally and not the other 16 million of us around Australia please.
Smithy

Originally posted by smithy

Jars,, I respect your opinion,, becuase you can,, but as I have mentioned before, If you don't like a couple of Sturt supporters, don't stereotype us all.........
I dont barrack for the crows, and if I disagree with something you say, I dont go slagging the other 50,000 people along with it.
So if you disagree with a blues supporter,, slag them personally and not the other 16 million of us around Australia please.
Smithy

Smithy - sorry

I meant Blues brigade as persons with Blues in their user names

From now on I will try and be specific but if I slip up, be rest assured there are only two people I could be referring too.

Blues Brat andBlues Girls - they don't seem to like me for some reason

And I am such a nice guy too!

cheers
Jars

Originally posted by eastaugh36

thanks mate, are you going to the game on saturday when we kick some victorian ass ?

Did i just stick up for Easty??? Whats this world coming too! :rolleyes:

Not sure if i am going...i might end up going, ill see what happens

I saw the scores on the news. Today has made it certain that state football will continue. 38 points is nowhere near enough of a margin for Victoria to think that state footy is a waste of time. Thanks very much SANFL:rolleyes: You have made my day. You needed to belt the vics. This just means that state footy for Victoria will continue, and the VFL supporters like me have to miss out on watching any of it for a week.

Next time, make sure you belt the vics, for god sake:mad: :mad: Give them the mother of all thrashings.

Play on says the umpire

Play on,

I don't really know why you feel the way you do.

With State of Origin seemingly finished in the AFL, I think it is a great concept for two of the strongest leagues in the country, the SANFL and VFL, to battle it out each year.

I think most people expected the SANFL to be too strong and it showed out in the end. From a Victorians perspective, the amount of players with AFL experience that the SANFL had over the VFL was telling. Still, a lot of their better players were largely unknown outside of SA.

For the VFL side, Josh Mahoney was excellent and Victoria's Best on Ground, even though Springvale's David Robbins got the nod. I was rapt with the form of Chris Oliver in the ruck, a St Kilda Rookie-Listed youngster who will definitely be promoted to our senior list after the bulks up a little more. Watching the highlights of the 1999 game at half time and seeing Pavlich and Biglands play so well, I think the signs are good that a few players from today's game may graduate to the AFL.

The VFL is going through a transistion time at the moment. Some VFL teams are forming alliances with AFL clubs while others are remaining stand alone clubs. As the VFL can begin to develop its own identity, hopefully this will be the start of a big annual rivalry between the two competitions.

Good news for all state league footy lovers!

Matches between the SANFL and the VFL could become a regular occurence! As quoted from the SA paper The Advertiser...

'The SANFL will investigate the prospect of playing the VFL annually after the success of the highly-competitive interstate clash at Adelaide Oval on Saturday. SANFL president Max Basheer and chief executive Leigh Whicker spoke with VFL leaders before Saturday's game--in which SA claimed the inaugural Advertiser Cup with a fine 38-point win.

'The SANFL will meet again with the VFL after fully assessing the financial costs of entertaining the interstate team and officials. Whicker has said publicly the SANFL is dedicated to continuing interstate football to fill the void left after the collapse of AFL State-of-Origin fixtures, even at a cost to the SANFL.

'The Western Australia state league (WAFL) has expressed interest in playing an SANFL representative team next season, possibly in Perth, leaving the SANFL with a tough decision to make.'

What do you reckon? Is state footy worth supporting?

Well...7,300 patriotic SA people can't be wrong!

Let's keep State Footy!

and lets keep it Adelaide Oval too. Fantastic place to watch footy......I wish Centrals played there more often.