Universal Love Lets stand as ONE!

Hey guys, don't post on the Essendon board very often at all, but lurk my way around a lot.
If those goes ahead, I will be there with bells on. Red and black bells. #StandAsOne

Is that Puffing Billy that avatar pic?

how about if we replicate Collingwood (as much as I hate to say that) and chant Eeesssssseennnnddddoooonnnn ? get all ourfans to chat it out. I am sure we will be able to do it early on vs Doggies ha ha
No. I will not be part of doing anything that Collingwood would do.

What would be better would be to do a massive one at the family day. Get the whole crowd to do one while the team are on stage. They'd definitely take notice then whereas they may try to put the crowd in the back of their mind on Friday.
I like that idea.

how about if we replicate Collingwood (as much as I hate to say that) and chant Eeesssssseennnnddddoooonnnn ? get all ourfans to chat it out. I am sure we will be able to do it early on vs Doggies ha ha

There are already at least three clubs who have that chant well and truly wrapped up.

No. I will not be part of doing anything that Collingwood would do.
This. Same goes with Moooooooose, I cringe whenever I hear Hawthorn and Carlton do it and I hope to god it doesn't become a thing. Th Collingwood chant is just obnoxious anyway. "We are Essendon" isn't obnoxious, it just passionate.

Last year I lost my younger brother to Cancer. 32 and with three young kids. It's a pretty ugly death and he faded pretty fast and with the combination of strong pain relief and chemo his wife prefered him in the hospital. He spent every day of his last 2 months in hospital, except for one.

I wipe back tears as I write this.

We have reserve seats on second and third level among our family members. Simon was keen to see the bombers one last time, and we'd even bought him a membership in December because he tail spin hadn't gone that fast.

I called the club and told them of our predicament, Simon needed easy access on the ground level. They organised seats among the cheer squad for us and parking, and because of how ill Simon was the parking attendent let us park next to the elevator. Sitting behind the goals that day Fletch put on a clinic for us. We have this to remember the day.

Simon\'s last game.jpg

I share so many special moments with this club and to be honest even if I didn't have the information that I do I'd still be arguing as hard as I have been on the main board. I just want this over with. I know I'm fired up about all this and I've been told that our boys are too. They'll come out breathing the fire that I am right now. The club also gave Simon, who called his first son James, a hat that Hird signed for him. He's wearing that in the picture.

**** you all. We're gonna win the ****ing flag this year.

ps, the boy on the left can play a bit and has promised me that if he gets good enough to get drafted and a club other than Essendon drafts him ... he wont try!! (pm me if you want to see his highlight reel!)

Fishardansin there is nothing worst than losing a family member and in the circumstances you have shared, I hope that you and your family are coping ok.​
Your passion for the club really leaps out from the screen when reading your post and I am sure that many Essendon supporters are also emotional about this situation. I know I am and others I have spoken to over the last few days are also.​
We love this club and in my lifetime there has never been such negative spotlight placed on us. It is difficult at the moment to see past it as there is so much negativity in the media at the moment and we do not have much solid information to go on.​
The one thing I am sure of is that I will continue to support the club, whatever happens from this investigation. We all hope the cloud is lifted and there is a positive result that doesn't affect us in the short or long term.​
We Are Essendon and I can't wait to yell this chant out the next chance I get with other Bomber supporters.​

Last year I lost my younger brother to Cancer. 32 and with three young kids. It's a pretty ugly death and he faded pretty fast and with the combination of strong pain relief and chemo his wife prefered him in the hospital. He spent every day of his last 2 months in hospital, except for one.

I wipe back tears as I write this.

We have reserve seats on second and third level among our family members. Simon was keen to see the bombers one last time, and we'd even bought him a membership in December because he tail spin hadn't gone that fast.

I called the club and told them of our predicament, Simon needed easy access on the ground level. They organised seats among the cheer squad for us and parking, and because of how ill Simon was the parking attendent let us park next to the elevator. Sitting behind the goals that day Fletch put on a clinic for us. We have this to remember the day.

View attachment 11502

I share so many special moments with this club and to be honest even if I didn't have the information that I do I'd still be arguing as hard as I have been on the main board. I just want this over with. I know I'm fired up about all this and I've been told that our boys are too. They'll come out breathing the fire that I am right now. The club also gave Simon, who called his first son James, a hat that Hird signed for him. He's wearing that in the picture.

**** you all. We're gonna win the ******* flag this year.

ps, the boy on the left can play a bit and has promised me that if he gets good enough to get drafted and a club other than Essendon drafts him ... he wont try!! (pm me if you want to see his highlight reel!)

I'm literally going to be cheering 3 times as hard because of this, bloody inspirational.

I'm glad.

Bombers have been weirdly quiet since we moved to the dead zone ... docklands.

We first arrived with a team that was so good we'd sit back with an almost Carlton level of arrogance and know that the boys would win, even 6 goals down at 3/4 time against the Crows. Longy, my favorite ever (Fletch drawing level though), kicking 6 himself in the last quarter!!!!

Unfortunately it didn't work every game and we lost the game on my b'day!!! I actually "had words" with Rohan Smith about this once!! He told me to stop sooking as we won a flag!! I grew up playing basket ball so I knew how to deal with a zone. Clearly our players hadn't!! You hang on to the ball and draw them out, move the ball sideways and if you can't spread their zone enough to make a hole for Lloydy to lead into surely Fletch, Lucas or Hird can bang it home from 55. I was screaming out but they couldn't hear my "coaching" from the front row of the top deck!!

Our dominance and being at docklands lead to games almost devoid of atmosphere. The only game that provided any was the game against Carlton in round 20. The blues actually looked awesome that night and a few injuries cost them. Dean Rioli swung to the back flank in the third quarter cut it up though and we were back in business!!

Then there was the almost family day atmosphere of the qualifying final. Even my mum, who was 44 at the time, jumped the fence after Lloydy banged home his 100th.

Then we lost a grand final we should have won. Then we stuffed up the salary cap management. Then Sheeds got greedy thinking we could pinch a flag with 4 of the best players in the game and a few journey men. I hated that team because the superstars carrying some hacks had a definite Carlton feel to it ... eww.

Then we decented into shit.

I was living in Darwin for the no rules game. When I returned to live in Melbourne Essendon was certified middle of the road and well onto the road to rubbish. The first time I took my son to a game was the line in the sand game. Even that wasn't as atmospheric as you'd think that violence would make, and it was at the G. Clearly our culture was changed.

I mean eff all that. We're the club that shook the G when Mercs kicked that goal in 93 prelim! What is with this almost golf clap rubbish!!

Finally we saw the passion start to come back in Knights' best season, the rollercoaster 2009. Oh the highs, oh the lows!! Finally we shook the G again. With Zaka living EVERY SINGLE ONE OF OUR'S FANTASIES!! Who wouldn't dream of growing up following this club, especially with ANZAC day such a big thing for his family, and kicking your first goal in front of close to 100k people to win the most improbable of wins ... WOW!!

Later on that season I was with my kids and my cousin, who is a Hawker, was with us too. I missed Lloydy's big hit (cop that you line in the sand scum) ... went to grab a couple of beers to drink away my disappointment in the first half. Then up stands a highly touted young fella in his first season, Michael Hurley. Ok, eyes a tad moist here .... Anyhow we were in the Ponsford stand (which was annoying as the hawks have the whole of the ground level empty as the obviously can't bring their pets to the game) and up the other end of the ground Hurls takes a mark just outside the 50, swings around and bangs it home with his left ... he'd already been bringing the rukus, but that was exciting. My son, who was sitting next to me, turns to me with his mouth open like a side show clown and says "he's a right footer isn't he dad". To which I reply "sure is". He then turns back with mouth still in same position looks out to Hurls like I would at the hottest woman in the world walking past me in a bikini as a teen, then rests his elbows on his knees and rests his face on his hands like a woman in a cheesy old film would when talking about a cute guy. That was love right there!!

Anyhow we all know the disaster the following season was and when Knights finally lost the players it was very much the winter of discontent. I sat with my best mate growing up in the Carlton social club for the first game that Knights coached a loss against the scum. I refused to sook it up and go home. Thanks Kyle Hardingham for making it all worth while.

From the disaster there was some hope. Knights was sacked and two days later I ran into Jetta at the Nike outlet store in Smith st while shopping with my son. My kids are indigenous (Warlpiri) too and the indigenous players are always happy to say hello to my kids for that reason. Anyhow there was talk that Jetta was going home at that stage. I had to ask him if he was staying. He was adamant, I knew something was afoot ... of course there was media speculation about Hirdy, but he seemed positive about the club.

Sure enough the golden boy returned. A man who is derided with that term, but **** it, he truly deserves it with genuine scencerity. He has the midas touch, in fooball, marriage and family, business and if he can ride this one out he'll also show he has it regards coaching. For those of us who don't achieve like he does it is easy to get jealous. I certainly believe in a high tax for people who earn what he does, however, I do not deny him is plaudits and am glad for his success.

Hirdy was also a person with no extra ordinary athletic talents and was no stand out as a junior who only got drafted because his grand father, who has a stand named after him at Windy Hill, pestered the club to pick him up. He was going to be cut after 1 year so unimpressive was his first year at the club. Despite this sheer bloody hard work, high intenlligence and an attitude to leave no stone unturned saw that 16 years later he retired being considered an all time great of the club, one of the best players in the league in his generation and decorated with a Brownlow, Norm Smith and two premierships, one of them he captained.

No surprises the players play for him.

Anyhow the was much "meh" about his first season in charge, especially to the end. But lets face who didn't feel that the real Essendon was woken in the first game against Carlton. I mean two men down each providing blistering speed at either end of the ground and playing against one of the quickest teams in the league. Fletch kicks a monster to warm the cockels of your heart, and then despite the odds with the injuries the player NEVER EVER GIVE UP and salvage a draw. So close to a memorable win.

However, I come from the school of thought that an effort like that is worth more than a win. One of my favorite ever performances of the mighty bombers was actually a game we lost. It was Windy Hill and playing against West Coast we were down to 16 fit men. We had two blokes in the backline that could bearly stand up. One of them carrying a name that will once again bring us glory. Chris Daniher, Joes dad was up the other end.

Then last year the bombers finally stired. They had a game that saw them stiffle opposition with fantastic pressure and through sheer hard work created plenty of opportunity. The club made special mention of the roar given out at the West Coast game. They said it felt like a giant had awoken.

That night had special significance to me. I still had my brother in town, both live over seas. They had come to spend the last few months of our brother's life. He had passed away 4 weeks earlier. I was going to a party straight after the game. That was for a high school friend of mine who had beaten breast cancer earlier that year, so it was a special one for her. Unfortunately it was her last b'day as she passed away when the cancer came back more aggressively a few months later.

Anyhow the club fell apart, on field, last year and that was frustrating. Clearly many pieces are in place but we need a little luck, injuries to go our way. Now the club has been hit from pillar to post off field. It is possible that some shenanigans did occur there that might see some penalties. However, I'm confident in my sources that no player will be suspended.

We've added a super star to our midfield rotations. We've got a new young superstar as a father son. We have a lot of highly talent youngsters about to get more game time since a fair bit of middle of the road talent was delisted last year. There are some little holes in our list but over all it is looking good and finally getting a spread of the right demographics. Hurley is in great shape, Pears is in great shape. GUMBY HAS DONE SOME OF THE PRESEASON!!!

Not only are these planets aligning my source also tells me that the players have taken this contraversy well. They are very strong with the us vs them and are training better than anyone has seen since 2002.

I have a really good feeling about this season.

C'mon bomber fans. You've seen and felt the hate that many have for us. You know that many are going to sledge and troll us this year. All together.

LETS BRING THE FERKING RUCKUS!!! STARTING FRIDAY. LET THE PLAYERS HERE US ROAR AS THEY RUN OUT FOR SOMETHING AS MEANINGLESS AS A NAB CUP GAME. LET HIRDY KNOW HE MAY HAVE MADE A MISTAKE, we don't know yet, BUT HE HAS MANY FERKING CREDITS IN THE BANK WITH EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US!!!

See you all there! I'll be there with my mum, my kids, 4 cousins, 3 aunties and an uncle.

10/10 would read again.

So good to hear the boys are staying strong and using this as motivation rather than letting it mess with their heads, but what'd we expect with such an inspirational leader like Hirdy as their coach. I almost feel stupid for ever being worried. Go Dons!

I've been hoping for awhile that you boys will be fine and things are looking good, a weak Essendon isn't good for footy! fishardansin, I know what it's like to lose family members to that dreadful disease and there's nothing worse as you can't do much but stay positive for that person. Great picture and it shows how much the footy club means to you and your family. Hope it's a good year for you!

The trolls and the flogs on the Main Board just ignore/don't care what an impact this stuff has on its fans, the past week must be so hard for you guys to deal with but I'm confident as all you are that there's nothing in it and you will be up and about come this season. I hope my fellow hawks haven't been too bad, after viewing the threads this past week, what's with the Kangaroos fans obsession with you guys? Also the Tigers supporters seem to be getting stuck in quite a bit too. Anyway I hope my venture over here was alright with you boys, all the best and once again you gotta love Lance Uppercut's never say die attitude in defending the club on the Main Board, great form Lance!

I've been hoping for awhile that you boys will be fine and things are looking good, a weak Essendon isn't good for footy! fishardansin, I know what it's like to lose family members to that dreadful disease and there's nothing worse as you can't do much but stay positive for that person. Great picture and it shows how much the footy club means to you and your family. Hope it's a good year for you!

The trolls and the flogs on the Main Board just ignore/don't care what an impact this stuff has on its fans, the past week must be so hard for you guys to deal with but I'm confident as all you are that there's nothing in it and you will be up and about come this season. I hope my fellow hawks haven't been too bad, after viewing the threads this past week, what's with the Kangaroos fans obsession with you guys? Also the Tigers supporters seem to be getting stuck in quite a bit too. Anyway I hope my venture over here was alright with you boys, all the best and once again you gotta love Lance Uppercut's never say die attitude in defending the club on the Main Board, great form Lance!

Thanks mate. Hawks are a good rivalry that I've enjoyed my whole footy life. The first game I can remember is the 83 grand final. It was where my tradition of watching a game to the end, even when being spanked, began!!

The following year my dad took me to the show on Grand final day. We didn't have a TV in those days, but we came to my grand parents house .... at 3/4 time and that was my first ever taste of premiership joy!!

Even though my son's first game was the line in the sand game he probably enjoys watching the Hawks more than Essendon at the moment because of Buddy and Cyril!!!

Obviously since then we were up and about in 90s and you guys in 00s, without the other. Lets hope you're still around the top as we get into our time there.

10/10 would read again.

So good to hear the boys are staying strong and using this as motivation rather than letting it mess with their heads, but what'd we expect with such an inspirational leader like Hirdy as their coach. I almost feel stupid for ever being worried. Go Dons!

Don't feel stupid. Hirdy is a massive worrier if you belived what Lloyd said on FC last thursday.

Hawkas1988, in all honesty most Hawthorn posters have been decent about it all. I hate throwing a blanket, but in general Richmond, North and Carlton fans have been the worst. All three of those have had very notable exceptions, though, which shouldn't be forgotten. The main board is a cesspit and is rarely worth bothering with- not that I take my own advice often enough!

Cheers for the kind words, you're welcome here anytime. To be honest I think most of us have recovered from being somewhat punch drunk over the whole thing and are just sick of it. Unfortunately though, it probably won't go away for a little while just yet.

Disappointing that yet again we only play once this year!

I've been on these boards a hell of a lot over the last week. The more I read, the more I'm getting pumped for Friday night. I'm really looking forward to the game.

I don't bother with the main boards, too many flogs looking for a rise out of our fans. There has been a lot of love shown in the Essendon boards.

Thanks mate. Hawks are a good rivalry that I've enjoyed my whole footy life. The first game I can remember is the 83 grand final. It was where my tradition of watching a game to the end, even when being spanked, began!!

The following year my dad took me to the show on Grand final day. We didn't have a TV in those days, but we came to my grand parents house .... at 3/4 time and that was my first ever taste of premiership joy!!

Even though my son's first game was the line in the sand game he probably enjoys watching the Hawks more than Essendon at the moment because of Buddy and Cyril!!!

Obviously since then we were up and about in 90s and you guys in 00s, without the other. Lets hope you're still around the top as we get into our time there.

Yeh I was born in 88 so I missed all the glory years of the Hawks so it was a struggle for many years and all I remember about Essendon and Hawthorn games was the absolute beatings you would give us from like 97-05, I think you guys won like every match against us in that period or something.

It would be great to see us play when we are both at the top, I can only imagine how good a PF or GF would be with the 2 of us facing off. The 2001 PF was a pretty epic match from memory. In 09 when you got us and made the finals and kicked us out of them, the feeling around the ground that day was pretty electric, you could feel that the rivalry and hate is still there so if we faced off in a big final, the atmosphere would be pretty sweet, when you guys get back to the top I think we will be on the way down but who knows! :thumbsu:

Hawkas1988, in all honesty most Hawthorn posters have been decent about it all. I hate throwing a blanket, but in general Richmond, North and Carlton fans have been the worst. All three of those have had very notable exceptions, though, which shouldn't be forgotten. The main board is a cesspit and is rarely worth bothering with- not that I take my own advice often enough!

Cheers for the kind words, you're welcome here anytime. To be honest I think most of us have recovered from being somewhat punch drunk over the whole thing and are just sick of it. Unfortunately though, it probably won't go away for a little while just yet.

Disappointing that yet again we only play once this year!

Yeah the Main Board seems like Bay 13 too often which is a shame because good footy discussion between opposition supporters is always good fun. I'm surprised my lot have been ok, there seems to be a few standout flog Hawks bigfooty posters who really annoy me with their drivel they write. I guess every club have there flogs haha.

Yeah I know, hopefully in the years to come we get to play each other twice like we did a couple of years back.

Universal Love Lets stand as ONE!