Pottering

Perth (Redlegs), Hiroshima Carp
I think we should defy the mantra of one week at a time and put all our eggs into the Rd 2 clash against Hawthorn in 3 weeks time.

We get Brisbane at home first up and we should use this match to tune up for the following week. That might involve playing some underdone players or even resting a player or two. If we can't beat Brisbane with a 3/4 strength outfit (at home) then we are way off the pace. All we need is the win, even if it's by a point, because the next match could be season defining.

If we go to Melbourne and get done comfortably by the Hawks that will be a huge body blow. They know we'll be coming at them and they'll be revved up to put us in our place. If they win handily they'll take heaps from that and we'll be left scratching our heads and wondering what to do. The rest of the comp will then have had 2 games to look at to see how to undo us.

If we play well but still lose, assuming the game's of a reasonable standard, that won't give us much comfort either. Nor will it worry them much, nor the rest of the competition.

But if we beat them, at their home ground, that will send a huge message to everyone that last year was no fluke and we are the real deal. More importantly it will give the players a huge boost and help them shelve the memory of last year's GF.

So, against current footbal wisdom, I think we should be strategic with team selection right from round 1 rather than in round 22. Let's put everything into this match and give ourselves the very best chance we can.

I think we should defy the mantra of one week at a time and put all our eggs into the Rd 2 clash against Hawthorn in 3 weeks time.

We get Brisbane at home first up and we should use this match to tune up for the following week. That might involve playing some underdone players or even resting a player or two. If we can't beat Brisbane with a 3/4 strength outfit (at home) then we are way off the pace. All we need is the win, even if it's by a point, because the next match could be season defining.

If we go to Melbourne and get done comfortably by the Hawks that will be a huge body blow. They know we'll be coming at them and they'll be revved up to put us in our place. If they win handily they'll take heaps from that and we'll be left scratching our heads and wondering what to do. The rest of the comp will then have had 2 games to look at to see how to undo us.

If we play well but still lose, assuming the game's of a reasonable standard, that won't give us much comfort either. Nor will it worry them much, nor the rest of the competition.

But if we beat them, at their home ground, that will send a huge message to everyone that last year was no fluke and we are the real deal. More importantly it will give the players a huge boost and help them shelve the memory of last year's GF.

So, against current footbal wisdom, I think we should be strategic with team selection right from round 1 rather than in round 22. Let's put everything into this match and give ourselves the very best chance we can.
That sounds completely ridiculous and like a good way to start the season off with 2 losses.

It's not bold though, it's stupid. If anything the players need more game time, not less, at this time of the year, so I wouldn't be resting anyone. And playing underdone players is a fantastic way of re-injuring them.

Like playing Redden tonight?

Whatever happens against hawthorn it'll be round 2 and by the end of the season will largely irrelevant much as our round 3 shellacking by freo was last year

Like playing Redden tonight?
Redden who was on a minute restriction (61% game time) in a meaningless pre-season game, designed for players to get match fit before the real season starts? Yeh, not much difference between that and a real match, at full pace, with a smaller bench, where he wouldn't have the luxury of playing just over half a game, is there?

Nah we play our best FIT 22 .
If someone needs a tune up they can play for EP .
If that means we play guys like bennell , hutch , giles who are depth then we do it . No point in others having to work extra to cover underdone players

Also you should never take a win for granted as it will bite you on the arse. Our poor showing against Gold Coast last year I think was in part because we weren't properly focused on that game

From memory hawks arent blistering starters. We r right in it for round 2. I mean even essendon beat them early last year

I think we play our best 22 for now, and look at "resting" players later in the year if we can afford to do so. I agree the Hawks game is an important one towards ladder position later in the year. (If we had beaten Freo last year in round 3 we would have finished top)

I also think Hawks might not be our main concern this year. They're looking great now but I think towards the end of the year there is a chance that some of their ageing stars will start to slow down.

They still have their big time players out there like Gibson, Mitchell, Hodge, Burgoyne, Smith, Gunston. Going to be very hard to beat this year again.

True but they are missing Roughy and then some Key players in Hale and Lake and then they also traded out a handy Suckling and then all of a sudden you have really young players filling those gaps. Mitchell is looking in fine form through.

We get Brisbane at home first up and we should use this match to tune up

I agree lets relax against Brisbane and use the inevitable shocking loss to motivate us against the Hawks :)

Also you should never take a win for granted as it will bite you on the arse. Our poor showing against Gold Coast last year I think was in part because we weren't properly focused on that game

No reason ever to be not totally focussed in round 1 and in that game against GCS last year (away from home as opposed to rd 1 here) we went in with Schofield and Barrass as our key defenders (no McGovern) against Lynch, Dixon and Day and it was Lynch who exposed our backline. We're much better placed this year and Brisbane doesn't have the class of player that Gold Coast do, so there's no way we should lose even without our best 22 (they'll likely be missing D. Beams and Rockliff hasn't played a NAB cup game, so they're hardly flying).

And I disagree with a comment made by another that 4 points against Brisbane is no different to 4 points against Hawthorn (therefore make sure you bank the Brissie points). Beating Hawthorn in round 2 would be a massive boost and a real statement whereas flogging Brisbane proves little and might even make a few players think they're better than they are.

As fans, we can take it 25 weeks at time and look forward to the Grand Final if we like (and I do like). But I really hope the players are a little more focused than us as fans. Just a fan by the way, not obsessed like you blokes.

Insert cliché here about the process being important and the results taking care of themselves. I know it's cheezey as can be, but it is just so important for the players to focus on what they can control. Looking ahead to a big game or a rivalry completely undermines what works in building a good successful footy team.