Lets talk about disrepute and inconsistency

RICE80SF

Jun 14, 2000
Geelong, VIC. (Is Don Is Grand)
Disrepute: lack or decline of good reputation : a state of being held in low esteem.

Funny isn't it, the two biggest squeeler clubs in the AFL (West Coast and Bris.), who regularly lodge complaints about opposition bringing the game into disrepute, have had some of their players involved in the most disgusting act imaginable off the field.

Good old Lions and Weagles have brought more shame on the AFL than all the other clubs put together. Media coverage both National and International that is far more harmful than anything K. Sheedy has ever done. They don't think twice about dobbing other clubs in, however.

Take a leaf out of the Kangas and Essendons book - both fight like cat and dog on the field and get reported. Then at the tibunal they both fight like hell to get each other off - "didn't touch me" "I was acting" "It was one of my own guys who accidentally cut me". That's why they have respect for each other.

Thank you AFL for once again showing us your consistent inconsistency. Parko wacks a bloke in the crowd, nothing happens (even gets a compliment from Wayne). Lethal calls AFL investigation the "Gestapo", nothing happens, Eadey slams the umpires for costing his team the game, nothing happens. Sheedy rants and raves, nasty gestures, will probably get fined and fair enough. What about fining the rest though Wayne?

Oh and Johny Russo if you happen to be reading this, heard you on 3LO on Monday saying (sorry weeping) "Sheedy cost me my job at 7", broke my heart. It wasn't Sheedy mate, it was the folk from the Bombertalk forum who all sent emails to 7. So don't defame Sheeds by saying he cost you your job you bloody sook.

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

Actually, I read Sooky Eade got fined $2000 earlier in the week but it has been overshadowed.

I think Lethal got fined as well, or ordered to war a bag over his head so we dont see his ugly face. He has also asked for a voice distorter to use to get a deper voice when addressing the players so that they dont laugh and call him Mickey Mouse.
biggrin.gif

Aww poor Sheeds, does the wrong thing and we should all blame the poor WC's and Brisbane (how did they get dragged into it?)
Get real, he did the wrong thing by the actions he took. He should cop it sweet, but no he still goes squalling to the media about seagulls and squib half forwards.
If I were a Dons fan its exactly this type of thing that would worry me. Everyone knows Sheedys ability to self destruct and take good teams with him.
This team is looking great, so maybe just maybe they wont let Sheedy distract them from what they SHOULD accomplish.
I still reckon your better of without him.

Whilst I certainly dont dispute Sheeds is in the wrong here Grendel, it's a bit mystifying from where I sit as to why David Parkin wasn't treated in the same manner. Jackson says that was because no one made a complaint. What stopped him from doing so? Is taking a swing at a spectator acceptable?

As for Judge, he should have shut up himself, all he's doing is making matters worse. And his dig about having played against Sheedy's sides and having seen what went on was hilarious. The Hawks back then were no angels, as you would well know :)

To hear that Russo is still moaning has made my day. That biased idiot deserves evrything life throws at him (something terminal I hope).

ricey- great post- agree with EVERY word. Remember Eagle Rohan Jones (i think) had a cry to the tribunal about how moorcroft broke his jaw- and then was playing in about 2 weeks time with no worries. no other teams do this.

I just wanted to know if you can go into any more detail about Russo and what he was sooking about ??? Id LOVE to hear more.

I remember Sheeds used to take digs at russo during post game interviews, but I bet alot of that was just saying it on behalf of the fans.

I remember yelling and screaming more about russos comments than any umpiring call or bad kick or whatever, and to have sheeds come out at the end of games and bag russo used to make me feel so vindicated.

Someone once posted at BT that their uncle (or dad or cousin or someone) knew russo and confirmed that he hated Essendon.

He shouldve kept his bias to himself- because hes paid dearly for it. And i cant see anyone crying about his absence.
(the 4th umpire ??? geez- like 3 isnt enough!)

One of channel 7's few good decisions.

later

A.

PS- Remember earlier this year (agnst port i think)when Huddo was doing a pregamer with sheeds, and the camera went on them a second b4 they were ready, and huddo was saying to kevin "yeah sheeds-Bruce is calling your game tonite". I wouldntve thought he'd care- but he does.

G'day Arch

Yes caught your friend and mine Johny Russo on the local ABC program on Monday morning. The presenter, John Faine, had Tim Lane in for his usual weekend footy wrap-up along with Russo to comment as an ex-umpire about Sheedy's incident. He opened up with "Sheedy acctually cost me my job at 7". Went on to say that Sheedy wasn't pleased with some of his comments and rang 7 about it. He said he was advised by 7 that he was secure for next year but after all the hoo-haa with Sheeds he was told by 7 he was no longer secure. John Faine then said "but you wouldn't let that effect any comment you have to make on Sheedy?" "oh no, no," says Russo.

He then preceded to say Sheeds should not only get a fine but be suspended as well. Nice to see he didn't let his feelings get in the way, but that's the Russo we know and love.

Arch I noticed your post about the hooligans got arased, do you know why? Did you see LA after the Basketball, I think they were trying to out do the English hoods at Euro 2000. They've got pretty bad over there, seems like every Championship (football, ice hockey or Basketball) is celebrated with a riot.

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

er.....yeah- did that by accident actually (no, really)- i made a post outlining how I got thrown out of the WACA one dayer for simliar shocking behaviour and then thought maybe I shouldnt post that sort of stuff, and instead of deleting the one post, I accidently deleted the whole thread- was late at night, wasnt thinking clearly.

which is annoying since i lost that link Daniel put in about the Chelsea headmen.
Daniel if your reading could pls whack that link back down somewhere ????

Ill put my other link back on this thread too, but its on my bookmarks at home,so ill have to do it after work.

anyway- have a wild weekend ricey !!!

A.

Sheedy not a Squealer ?

For thos with memories " They're sniffin sumthin illegal, Ref ?"

Sheedy has no scruples: he will argue either side of an argument on different occasions if it suits his ends.

By the way, isn't he a dead ringer for the guy in ballykissangel ? Quigley I think his name is (unfortunately now passed away)

Sheedy not a Squealer ?

For thos with memories " They're shiffin sumthin illegal, Ref ?"

Sheedy has no scruples: he will argue either side of an argument on different occasions if it suits his ends.

By the way, isn't he a dead ringer for the guy in ballykissangel ? Quigley I think his name is (unfortunately now passed away)

Ah, I wondered where that thread went. I thought for a moment that management may have deleted it or something like that.

Arch, the link to the Chelsea Headhunters site is http://www.chelseamob.homestead.com/chelsea1.html

Don't worry about re-posting the link you gave me, I've already checked it out. The Blood and Honour site is sickening. Thank god all these white supremacist organisations aren't unified.

I really tried to let this go, but don't forget that Rowan Jones jaw WAS broken -not just allegedly- by your player. He had surgery, where a metal plate was inserted into his face. I can't see why the fact a young kid's first serious injury 'healed' (well enough to play with anyway) a week or two faster than expected is still (or ever was) a sore point for the Bombers.
Take it out on the player (Wallis? Moorcroft?) if you really need a scapegoat...

And don't forget that Stewie Loewe's hand was broken by Jason Johnson's nose either.

wink.gif

As well as Barry Hall played, we are lacking key forwards, key defenders and a few quality midfielders. But apart from that, our team is in fine shape!

Long live trading and the national draft!

Lets talk about disrepute and inconsistency