Let's talk about lawns

The sheep seem to avoid the cape weed. If they don't it seems to give them the runs, which is the last thing I want when walking around.
I was wrong. They ate the damn stuff. Now they are dropping runny turds like the world is about to end. They also aren't eating and are just sitting all day. Unless you approach and then they will sort of get up.

Had this problem before and didn't know what it was. Had people ringing every vet around the place and none of them were interested in helping. It's like they treat a sheep as an "expendable" animal. I bet if it was a horse it would have been a different story. It's not like we weren't going to pay...

Like last time I'm sure they will get it out of their system. Did think they were dying last time but this time doesn't seem as bad.

I was wrong. They ate the damn stuff. Now they are dropping runny turds like the world is about to end. They also aren't eating and are just sitting all day. Unless you approach and then they will sort of get up.

Had this problem before and didn't know what it was. Had people ringing every vet around the place and none of them were interested in helping. It's like they treat a sheep as an "expendable" animal. I bet if it was a horse it would have been a different story. It's not like we weren't going to pay...

Like last time I'm sure they will get it out of their system. Did think they were dying last time but this time doesn't seem as bad.
When my goats get scoured I give them solid food like lucerne hay or grains like Goat Blend. Only dry stuff. No green stuff like grass.
Hope they get better soon. I can tell when my goats are crook because they don’t want to eat and look forlorn.

When my goats get scoured I give them solid food like lucerne hay or grains like Goat Blend. Only dry stuff. No green stuff like grass.
Hope they get better soon. I can tell when my goats are crook because they don’t want to eat and look forlorn.
My Nanny was like this for a day I tend to give them hay mostly, as well as some vegetables I can get from the pub. Should get some grains. What grains do you get?

Same. They have these sheeps pellets you give them once a day and they go nuts for them. One of them just wasn't interested today and was just sitting looking sad.

I don't know how many times I have checked up on them today. I feel like it is a thing that will pass, it seems like they are getting better and not worse. That can only be a good thing.

My Nanny was like this for a day I tend to give them hay mostly, as well as some vegetables I can get from the pub. Should get some grains. What grains do you get?
I buy Goat Blend, it’s got all sorts of grains in it as well as molasses. A vet put me on to it but it can be hard to get, not many places stock it, they tend to have the pellets.

My two goats look after about an acre and do a fine job. They keep the Blackberries away but won’t touch Cape weed so have to spray that horrible stuff.
What are your two goats called?

I borrowed two sheep to eat a massive back yard 'lawn' we once had.

Called them Scott and Bonner.

They did a fine job.

There is a bulk pet store chain in Perth called Better Pets and Gardens. I think they are only in WA.

They have this stuff called "sheep pellets". Around $30 for a 30kg bag. It's like crack for sheep, they go nuts over it. They only get a bit a day.

Today only one went for it. The other one was just on the ground with it's head in the dirt. It was looking pretty grim. It seemed to perk up later in the day and was grazing around but not touching the pellets but I think it will be OK.

You'd think they'd learn what not to eat but it seems like they will go for anything. Toxic or not.

The sheep seem fine now. Up and about. It's odd how you think nothing of eating a lamb roast but if you have your own sheep you really want them to be healthy. When they are sad I am sad.

Now I need to get some kind of battery powered line trimmer. Went full on and bought some commercial German made Stihl one (2 stroke I think) a few years ago but it has hardly been used and is probably overkill. Any suggestions for a battery powered one of any brand would be welcomed.

The sheep seem fine now. Up and about. It's odd how you think nothing of eating a lamb roast but if you have your own sheep you really want them to be healthy. When they are sad I am sad.

Now I need to get some kind of battery powered line trimmer. Went full on and bought some commercial German made Stihl one (2 stroke I think) a few years ago but it has hardly been used and is probably overkill. Any suggestions for a battery powered one of any brand would be welcomed.
I’m glad the sheepies are better mate, can’t help you with battery powered stuff though, never used them.

Can get a 36v ryobi line trimmer in a kit with a 2ah battery for $200. The 4.0ah battery kit is $379. Super reliable and then once you got the battery and charger you can buy the tool only stuff for heaps cheaper. Definitely get the 36 volt stuff whatever you buy.

Is this the one you have? Seems like pretty good value. How easy is it to feed the line and how long do the batteries last?

I will probably give the Stihl another try but I feel like I am just breaking a butterfly on a wheel. Plus I hate the smell of 2 stroke exhaust.

Is this the one you have? Seems like pretty good value. How easy is it to feed the line and how long do the batteries last?

I will probably give the Stihl another try but I feel like I am just breaking a butterfly on a wheel. Plus I hate the smell of 2 stroke exhaust.
Yeah mines probably an older model as I’ve had it a few years. The lines easy to do. I’ve got the 4ah battery. Can edge, line trim and blow all the pavers etc. probably 3 times front and back yards on a full battery. I’ve got a massive hedge in both yards and the hedge trimmer will cut them both back with a bit left over in a full battery. The scarifier chews the battery pretty quick but it’s working pretty hard cutting through the thatch and only gets used once a year.
Was pretty skeptical on ryobi stuff in the past but the value for money is insane.

Let's talk about lawns