Let's Talk Trade

• Thread starter Thread starter ottenz

theres a far bit of crap on this post so i thought i would offer mine as well
ottens must stay as a chf
gasper must go, he is not interested and is setting a poor example and is bleeding us bloody dry the pruck
we must get some good defenders and another 2 onballer types
as for the blokes that should go read my post in the pre season about "good cattle, poor cattle and very bad cattle"/ we have a lot in the last two categories and unfortuantely we cannot turn over 20 players in one year so as wboy said we need balance, maybe someone like pettifer needs to be kept and played in defence even though i think he should have been offloaded

I`m fed up with this Ottens crap. Anyone who has played the game and nows it ,can see that Ottens has no passion , grunt or ticker and makes no real impression on the game ,other than winning meaningless tap-outs. When was the last time he split a pack. Your kidding yourselves .

Trade him now while he has maximum value , nuff said

Originally posted by IDGAF
I`m fed up with this Ottens crap. Anyone who has played the game and nows it ,can see that Ottens has no passion , grunt or ticker and makes no real impression on the game ,other than winning meaningless tap-outs. When was the last time he split a pack. Your kidding yourselves .

Trade him now while he has maximum value , nuff said

Couldn't agree with you more .... except if you were right.

the tiges would be mad to voluntarily trade Ottens - he'd be welcome at the swans though;)

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Couldn't agree with you more .... except if you were right.
Right........ so you are saying that he is physical, he does constantly split packs , he does make a consistent impression on the game ? And he dosen`t just win meaningless tap-outs that generally go nowhere and make the odd cameo in the forward line ?

IDGAF, I reckon he's one of the few big guys going around that is actually hard at the ball once it's hit the ground (That said, maybe he has to be because it so often doesn't go to one of his own guys).

Brad's attack on the ball when it hits the deck is far better than the likes of King, White, Allan, Brogan etc..., and at least the equal of Everitt and Charman.

Otto definitely has had some flaws in his 2004 game, especially his inability to get the ball from its highest point into the arms of one of our running midfielders but, at the same time, he has also been the victim of a disproportionate level of criticism from lazy media folk who seek reasons for Richmond's ineptitude without actually doing the hard yakka of truly analyzing our games.

He's simply an easy target.

Everyone that complains about Ottens should watch how Steven King tears us a new ahole on the weekend and then there opinions might change. I believe that Ottens has the chance to be as good, if not better than King. Ottens hasn't delivered yet, but finding a replacement for him will be an absolute nightmare.

Originally posted by Tiger Survivor
"The crows will not move mountains to get Ottens, I would hope we have learnt from the carey debactle that we need to persevere with our youngsters and not go for a quick fix."

How is this a quick fix? Ottens is 24/25...He's young and still has a fair few years of footy left in him.

I don't think we'll get rid of him anyway.

I think what jc meant was that, at the stage we are at, we can't afford to give away first round draft picks or talented young players even for someone with as much talent as Ottens. The reality is that we need to develop as many quality youngsters in the 18-22 age bracket as possible, as the "stars" of our list, are in their late twenties and will not be around when we next push, seriously, for a flag.

(Reilly also happens to be my favourite player, so I don't want him traded, obviously)

As for the Tigers, IMO you'd be crazy to let Ottens go, and I don't think Miller will. You have no one to replace him and, as someone already mentioned, he is the guy, along with Coughlan, that you need to build the team around.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Originally posted by McLeod23
As for the Tigers, IMO you'd be crazy to let Ottens go, and I don't think Miller will. You have no one to replace him and, as someone already mentioned, he is the guy, along with Coughlan, that you need to build the team around.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Maybe only 2 cents worth, mac ... but absolutely spot on nonetheless.

I hear what your saying ghost , but is it the ruckmans job to be down on the ground getting hard ball gets ?

It`s his work in the air that is most critical to us , and that is where he is lacking . He should be tear- a..sing down the forward line kicking 3-4 goals a week , taking 8- 10 marks , not rumaging around on the deck getting hard ball gets

Originally posted by IDGAF
I hear what your saying ghost , but is it the ruckmans job to be down on the ground getting hard ball gets ?

Fair point, ID ... but it's probably more of an indictment on our pathetic onballers over the past 18 games that Otto is continually forced onto terra firma.

You must realise, too, that all of those dinky little taps he engages in are, alomost certainly, under the direction of the coaching staff. Because if our coach ever actually gave him the instruction to punch the freakin' thing forward, and he didn't ... ABOUT 500 TIMES THIS SEASON !!!... surely he'd be dragged.

As they all said at Nuremburg ... "Just following orders".

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Fair point, ID ... but it's probably more of an indictment on our pathetic onballers over the past 18 games that Otto is continually forced onto terra firma.

You must realise, too, that all of those dinky little taps he engages in are, alomost certainly, under the direction of the coaching staff. Because if our coach ever actually gave him the instruction to punch the freakin' thing forward, and he didn't ... ABOUT 500 TIMES THIS SEASON !!!... surely he'd be dragged.

As they all said at Nuremburg ... "Just following orders".
Having thought long and hard about it ,your definatly right in saying that it is an indictment on our onballers and the jury is most definately in on the way we have been coached these last few years .

I guess my feelings are based largely on the fact that The Richmond Football Club has made a bloody artform over the last 2 decades of retaining players and giving them salaries based on thier potential and not thier deeds on the field . I`m fed up with it .I`m sick of hearing " This kid will be a star " .

Brad Ottens has got all the tools . There is absolutely no doubt about that . I will admit that there is a chance that under the right direction he will make the step to match-winner . But , in all honesty , and this is only my opinion , i don`t see it in him . I don`t see the fire in the belly . Maybe there are reasons for that that we don`t know about but i can only go on what i see . To me he looks and plays as if footy is not the most important thing in his life .

If he stays at punt rd and gives us 7-8 years of really good solid service i will be the first bloke to stand up and say well done , i was wrong . But should we bite the bullet and trade him now , we will get ( potentially , unless we stuff it up ) top value for him , i`m talking first rnd d-pick and quality player . So that is the decision the club has to make . And in any case , he may have already made that decision for us

rgauci said:
Im a dockers supporter, so maybe a 3 way deal with fremantle or eagles, with stenglein, ottens and someone else involved.

Can use draft picks to correct for player talent. Richmond give adelaide 3rd rounder for thier 2nd round. Cause Ottens is better than Stenglein.

Haven't really thought about who would be part of the deal. Any suggestions? Who would richmond like from either of the West Australian teams.
Reckon you are right that if Ottens is traded to the Crows, more than 1 club would be involved. The Crows will not pay over-the-top price for Ottens (eg. round 1 pick & Reilly), as we have been burnt on the Carey deal.

What would you guys offer for Andrew McLeod, as he needs a change in scenery?

Kane McGoodwin said:
What would you guys offer for Andrew McLeod, as he needs a change in scenery?
I don't think getting McLeod is going to help us too much in the long run. Definetly wouldn't give up a priority pick or 1st round choice, so in other words the Crows wouldn't want to do business. Would also need to take a pay-cut or the Crows would have to pay some of his contract. Is on a fairly large wage after signing his contract last year isn't he?

mcleod would most likely be sought after by clubs like st kilda, collingwood etc who think they can make a tilt for a flag. tigers wouldnt be interested in giving up what the crows would want for him.

Darth_Tiger said:
mcleod would most likely be sought after by clubs like st kilda, collingwood etc who think they can make a tilt for a flag. tigers wouldnt be interested in giving up what the crows would want for him.
Reckon he would also be suited to Essendon who need to get some genuine pace through the midfield.

CJH said:
It may also be worth trading Gaspar to West Coast or Freo. At present, we would get probably a 2nd round pick in return for them paying his full salary. Maybe a 1st round pick with us picking up $200K of his salary.

Where can I come and see your stand up routine as I must admit that this is just about the funniest thing I have seen in years. Nobody will pick up Gaspar.

The way I see it,

If we get Wallace then both Ottens and Gaspar will be required players. I think getting Wallace will persuade Ottens to stay on... I just hope we dont pay him a "Gaspar" like contract because he doesnt deserve it.

If we dont get Wallace then I see Ottens wanting to get out.

What I'm interested in is to see if Miller will chase anyone at seasons end, because I cant see him being prepared to give away any of our first 2 picks, from what Wallace has said he sees us as a long term view and recruiting top kids would be his number 1 priority.

Wouldnt be suprised to see the likes of Chaffey, Rodan and Fiora thrown around the trade tables.

It all really depends on whether we get Wallace or not IMO.