Toast Levi Casboult

• Thread starter Thread starter blueroy

Actually I agree with this. If he was on the third forward, we would thrash most teams aerially, and have the option to switch it up.
So Watson, Hendo and Jamo along with Laids, Duigs and Yarran, thats a great back half, although I would expect Yarran to eventually move into the midfield so that leaves a spot in our premiership backline....

and Caz, Waite, Squidd or Rowe, along with Eddie, Jeff and Tex as our premiership forward line.....

And Murph, Judd, Carrots, Gibbs and Mclean with Bell in the pivot and Simmo and Robbo on the wings to Kruzes rucking is our middle (and Army as the super sub, with apologies to 2E, McInnes, White, Collins, Hammer and others I cant fit in right now and assume Scotty only has a season left in him).

Whats not to like? In fact it beggars belief that this unit, if fit, would not win multiple flags, I know I have a certain bias, but I cant see a weakness.

So Watson, Hendo and Jamo along with Laids, Duigs and Yarran, thats a great back half, although I would expect Yarran to eventually move into the midfield so that leaves a spot in our premiership backline....

and Caz, Waite, Squidd or Rowe, along with Eddie, Jeff and Tex as our premiership forward line.....

And Murph, Judd, Carrots, Gibbs and Mclean with Bell in the pivot and Simmo and Robbo on the wings to Kruzes rucking is our middle (and Army as the super sub, with apologies to 2E, McInnes, White, Collins, Hammer and others I cant fit in right now and assume Scotty only has a season left in him).

Whats not to like? In fact it beggars belief that this unit, if fit, would not win multiple flags, I know I have a certain bias, but I cant see a weakness.
Paddy Mac might be the wild card in your line up there as well, 40YB.
If Yazz moves into the midfield, I would think Bootsma replaces Duigan in defence, giving us an extra bit of dash. ROK might just really add something, I hope he gets a chance because we need players who can kick like that.

I was inspired by Wookie's vids ;)

The more I see of the New Duke, the more I like this kid. Textbook run down tackle, turning his body so as not to infringe, great dukes runs straight at it and clunks them. Just his easy shot kicking to work on, the kid already knows how to position himself, where to lead to, how to apply forward pressure....hard to believe he only has 5 games under his belt. Imagine, if he maintains this pace, that this time next year he would still only have around 30 games to his name.

I am with the others who say stuff paying overs for another Cloke, lets stick with what we have.

I think we underestimated how good he is, simply because the game has changed. AFL has moved more towards a scrappy contest, so players who can take powerful marks are now gold. Perhaps 2 years ago his fitness was not letting him show his mobility either, I know it had me worried.
Yeah, I tend to think we have some good options up forward. I would love a couple of extra gun midfielders though.

McCarthy has probably been the worst performed of all the 2010 recruits yet has the capacity to be the best.
Imagine we're still another year away from seeing Pat, as he'll need to fill his body and get used to playing with it.
Still showing up as 84 kgs and 196cm. Look forward to him being 95 odd kgs. and quite a bit of strength loaded on.
Clever lad and very well respected around the club. He will come good soon enough and may yet be the versatile CHB that Henderson has been forced to be.
I just wonder, is it possible that with his speed off the mark, could he be the best lead up forward of the lot?

It's just bloody good to have 2 targets (Waite & Levi) up fwd. Our improvement has, IMO a shit load to do with this fact. The boys have the confidence to kick it deep - Carrots said this in a post match interview - and know that we have the gys down there capable of taking the marks.

Confidence is a big thing in footy.

It's just bloody good to have 2 targets (Waite & Levi) up fwd. Our improvement has, IMO a shit load to do with this fact. The boys have the confidence to kick it deep - Carrots said this in a post match interview - and know that we have the gys down there capable of taking the marks.

Confidence is a big thing in footy.
It just removes that millisecond of hesitation, definitely good for our boys.

Not just that but it sucks defenders to the talls exposing them to the run of Jeff, Eddie and Tex. We kicked 5 or 6 goals from the goal square as a result of this.

There were holes all over the place for players to run into. If 4 defenders follow 2 forwards that leaves 2 forwards free. And often Waite and Caz needed double teaming, and still Caz outmarked them. Still its only one game. Lets just keep a lid on it shall we? Yeah, Nah!

Not just that but it sucks defenders to the talls exposing them to the run of Jeff, Eddie and Tex. We kicked 5 or 6 goals from the goal square as a result of this.

There were holes all over the place for players to run into. I think we took 15 or more marks inside 50. If 4 defenders follow 2 forwards that leaves 2 forwards free. And often Waite and Caz needed double teaming, and still Caz outmarked them. Still its only one game. Lets just keep a lid on it shall we? Yeah, Nah!

There were holes all over the place for players to run into. If 4 defenders follow 2 forwards that leaves 2 forwards free. And often Waite and Caz needed double teaming, and still Caz outmarked them. Still its only one game. Lets just keep a lid on it shall we? Yeah, Nah!
So much better than a few weeks earlier when almost all our goals were coming from scrappy ground level contests 40 out. Let's see if we can maintain this- there is still a chance for this to be an improvement on last year.

From a club that copped grief over not taking Talia, because of our perceived big man deficit, we now seem to be in surplus.

When a club wins flags, the recruiting teams farts smell like rose petals, so I fully expect that when we win the flag, this year or next, that WH and SR start being labelled the best in the biz.

I just like having anyone in our forward line really. Seemed like our game plan for a while was to suck the other team high up the ground then bomb it forward in hope that Eddie ran forward and burnt the opposition off.

McCarthy has probably been the worst performed of all the 2010 recruits yet has the capacity to be the best.
Imagine we're still another year away from seeing Pat, as he'll need to fill his body and get used to playing with it.
Still showing up as 84 kgs and 196cm. Look forward to him being 95 odd kgs. and quite a bit of strength loaded on.
Clever lad and very well respected around the club. He will come good soon enough and may yet be the versatile CHB that Henderson has been forced to be.
Ran around a headless chook in the first half against Werribee, but showed good hands (overhead and on the deck) and mobility with some cameos after that. :thumbsu:

McCarthy could become a better option as a forward/relief ruck than Levi. Played everywhere for Glenelg and SA. Might even be our replacement for Waite.

Very good frame that should fill out.

DSC_9084.JPG

Picture courtesy of dsav https://picasaweb.google.com/116741...VsWerribee20120819?authuser=0&feat=directlink

I would look for another power defender with our first or second pick.

Forwards: Waite Mitchell Rowe
Second ruck/forward: Hampson Kreuzer Casboult
Swingmen: McCarthy Henderson White
KPD: Jamison Watson
Third talls: Laidler Bootsma McInnes

Ran around a headless chook in the first half against Werribee, but showed good hands (overhead and on the deck) and mobility with some cameos after that. :thumbsu:

McCarthy could become a better option as a forward/relief ruck than Levi. Played everywhere for Glenelg and SA. Might even be our replacement for Waite.

I would look for another power defender with our first or second pick.

Forwards: Waite Mitchell Rowe
Second ruck/forward: Hampson Kreuzer Casboult
Swingmen: McCarthy Henderson White
KPD: Jamison Watson
Third talls: Laidler Bootsma McInnes
Has the mobility and marking strength to replace Waite and not too bad of a kick.

Would definitely take a midfielder with our first pick but am open to a defender like Parko said in the Blueprint for our second pick.

Can we stretch Andy Mac to 197cms?

Would definitely take a midfielder with our first pick but am open to a defender like Parko said in the Blueprint for our second pick.
Another half back flanker and mature age KPP ahead of a flanker.#Meltdown

;)

If we make the finals, our first pick could be in the ball park for a tall defender. A few of clubs below us could do with talls, so someone we rate could slide if they draft for needs. Freo need talls. Saints needs mids and talls.

It seems unlikely that we'll go for a big KPF with our first pick.

Another half back flanker and mature age KPP ahead of a flanker.#Meltdown

;)

If we make the finals, our first pick could be in the ball park for a tall defender. A few of clubs below us could do with talls, so someone we rate could slide if they draft for needs. Freo need talls. Saints needs mids and talls.

It seems unlikely that we'll go for a big KPP with our first pick.
Should've got Murdoch!

Pretty much exactly as I see our 2013 team. This is how I have it at the moment:

B:Jamison -- Watson -- Duigan
HB:Laidler -- Henderson -- Yarran
C:Gibbs -- Judd -- Simpson
R:Murphy -- Kreuzer -- Carrazzo
HF:Garlett -- Mitchell -- Waite
F:Walker --Casboult -- Betts
Int:Robinson -- McLean -- Bell --Scotland
Emg: Hampson --Tuohy -- Armfield

Rotating keys to structure are Mitchell, Armfield, Hampson and Waite. Multitude of forward/ruck structures available based on the selection and positioning of these four players and our opposition match ups.

I reckon we trade either Hampson or Warnock, although if we trade Hampson we lose Megan Gale and we are not the best looking most glamorous footy club anymore!

Also Thornton, Ellard and Russell should be traded, we need some nuggety rebound tough-nut defenders like Sydney have got.
Thornton and Russell are both free agents so if they get an offer from another club, then we lose them both. If we dont pick up a player in the free trade period, then I think that we will get at least 2 compensation picks for them.

I'm not sure this is actually right. You get compensation for your overall Free Agent position, so this could be 2 picks for 2 players, or it could possibly be 1 higher pick. But a maximum of 1 compo pick per player out.

SO MANY LIKES for that picture Aph,
new desktop background? I think so!

I'm with you on that. That pic is now my desktop wallpaper. In order to achieve that, it had to bump the Gemma Atkinson in lingerie pic that has been my background for a while now, so that gives you a bit of an idea of how excited I am about Levi and his development.

No homo.

Bluebloods through the ages
LEVI Casboult was a keen Carlton fan long before he joined the Blues, but he was unaware that he had a family connection to the club.

Among the Blues' best last Saturday was emerging forward Casboult, and he has a family connection with an ill-fated former star who was prominent when Carlton defeated Essendon in 1913.

The former star was George Challis, a brilliant and popular wing/half-forward who had four splendid seasons with the Blues before he was killed at the Western Front in 1916.

He was the eldest of eight siblings. His brother Archie, who was also a talented footballer, settled at Scottsdale (north-east of Launceston), where he worked for the Commonwealth Bank. One of his daughters, Roberta (Bobbie), married Graeme Casboult in 1953. Graeme's first cousin Lance Casboult was to become Levi Casboult's grandfather.

Levi Casboult, like Graeme and Charlie - and George Challis - was born and raised in Tasmania. His early allegiance to Carlton was influenced by relatives on his mother's side. For years his preferred football code was soccer, and it was not until he was 16, after his family moved to Melbourne, that he found himself drawn to making Australian rules his priority.
Bluebloods through the ages