Toast Levi Casboult

• Thread starter Thread starter blueroy

That's one of the biggest overstatements I've seen for a while. Lets not get carried away with five games against the Dogs, Richmond, Sydney, Essendon and Brisbane, Four of those sides won't play finals. Minson towelled Casboult in the ruck. Hampson has shown that he can hold his own if he's the sole ruckman.

I believe both were soccer players until they turned 16, so they have similar backgrounds. Hampson's hands aren't as bad as Levi's set shots. It's harder to improve your kicking than it is to improve your marking. Brad Fisher was a great mark, but couldn't kick over a jam tin. Levi can roost them though. :thumbsu:

Who said that?

The main board is still there if you want to troll again with comments that we'll make the GF.

Yeh but Hamspon has been in the system for what...7 years , Levi is arookie showing heaps in his first 5 senior games, you have admit he has been impressive, I read somewhere, the opposite, its harder to position your self to clunk the mark, you either have that or not, kicking technique can be taught, look at Hawkins...his kicking has improved out of sight.

Time will tell ...

Yeh but Hamspon has been in the system for what...7 years , Levi is arookie showing heaps in his first 5 senior games, you have admit he has been impressive, I read somewhere, the opposite, its harder to position your self to clunk the mark, you either have that or not, kicking technique can be taught, look at Hawkins...his kicking has improved out of sight.

Time will tell ...

Reading the flight of the ball is difficult to pick up at first but it can be taught, irish players tend to have problems with the flight from the start and get it eventually. Hampson has been improving in his marking and goal kicking, as well as aggression at the footy.

Things to rememeber: Casboult came through the elite Under 18s program, then rookied, and played VFL, Hampson came from Soccer through the QAFL and then to the AFL. The development programs they came out of are not even close to comparable.

Time will tell ...

Don't make shit up. This is Hammers' 6th year. It is Levi's 3rd.

Kicking technique can be taught. But only to an extent, and it is far easier if you have it mostly right.
Marking can likewise be taught. Likewise only to an extent, and again it is far easier with good basics.

Fisher was brought up as an example; I think our coaching during that era did not work much on skills training, and he was working from a way back. I suspect also that it is harder to add distance to kicking than accuracy.

I am not sure how Hampson was introduced here, particularly as a marking example. The man might drop some, but he certainly can mark.

Hampson drops too many simple marks to be a forward and he is too weak to compete with defenders like Casboult can.
I remember as a 19 or 20 year old he just ripped Ottens right out of a contest. Weak he is not. Certainly does not use his body in the contest as effectively as the Boult though.

Hampson drops too many simple marks to be a forward and he is too weak to compete with defenders like Casboult can.
Hammer definitely isnt a weaking when it comes to body on body stuff but I think that he is much better leading and jumping for the ball rather than getting into a wrestling match for the ball.

Partly because when he jumps for the ball, no-one is within several feet of it.

Alot to like. Big body, splits packs, takes grabs. Kicking needs some work. So, as others have said, yeah pretty much the new Earl Spalding :D:thumbsu:

He's probably a bit better at ground level than I first thought as well.

If he keeps going like he is Hampson and Warnock will struggle to get back into the side. FWIW its worth I think Kruezer is just not a forward, must be played consistently in the ruck. Reckon we have looked far better with Kreuzer doing the bulk of the ruck work and having Levi relieving him than at any stage this season with Warnock and Hampson in the side.

Kruezer = below average forward, average to fair tap ruckman, fantastic around the ground
Casboult = looks like being an above average forward, competent pinch hitter in the ruck, not bad around the ground
Hampson = below average forward, average to fair tap ruckman, average around the ground
Warnock = terrible forward, fantastic tap ruckman, terrible around the ground.

If Levi can keep progressing, pecking order seems pretty clear to me. Would be looking for a trade for either Hampson or Warnock.

Excellent summary and pretty much my exact thoughts. With Caz pinch hitting in the ruck and Kreuzer as our number one ruck there is no need to play Hammer or 206, freeing up another midfielder and extra rotations. IMO 206 should be shopped around aggressively at the end of the year.

Caboult has shown more in 5 games than Hampson has in 50. If a club comes asking and we can get something we need then it's time to trade 1 of Hampson/Warnock

Brilliant Wookie :thumbsu:

Noticed he took a couple great ones over Sauce Merritt there, who I guess is Brisbane's first choice defender. First one was on the lead with ease (considering how quick Sauce is meant to be, great effort) and the second was one on one near the goal square.

That mark in the 4th quarter just shows how much better our structures are with big guys who know where to lead. If he brought the ball to ground, you see eddie running front and centre and garlett running out the back for the crumbs rather than when kicking it to eddie in a 2 on 1 marking contest. Alot to love about Levi and Waite back in the team

I got bored early this morning and this resulted:

Good as anything I've seen here. Too professional in fact! Just a lot of FUN to watch. Remember FUN at the footy? Brilliant Wookster! Er, sticky this stuff. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I wouldnt worry too much about Hammer or Caz, both have shown heaps, Caz more recently so he has us more excited, but Hammer was on fire in the first 3 rounds.

Cast your minds back to what we all thought of Tom Hawkins early stuff. Look how that turned out. I think we have struck gold here and we still havent seen either Mitchell or Rowe.......man we are set!!!!

It's funny. Some players tend to play better and continue to improve at higher levels. I think Levi is one of these players.

One that springs to mind is Luke Dahlhaus. Played Williamstown 2's then snuck in to the 1s and was just ok. Got the call up to the seniors because the Dogs were just struggling big time and he hasn't gone out since.

is there room for all 3?mitchell was considered by gold coast as one of the 17year old pre draft selections 3 years back so he was at least in the top bracket of kids at that time and could turn out to be a steal just needs a free run at it

Absolutely!!!!
Club love Mitchell.....good kid with speed and good mark
Just hope his 2 shoulders hold up....
Could be our best forward.....

Just to illustrate what we have been missing this season, especially since we lost Hampson, Cas is now fourth for total contested marks at the club.
Up until the weekend, Hampson had been outright leader until joined by Kreuzer. Waite and Cas add another dimension, but that is an understatement.

I love the fact the when the ball goes near him, I have the confidence that he WILL mark it. Unlike Hammer, i was hoping he would just get his hands to it.
Yep more like a bloke you would field at third man instead of gully....

Edit - Apologies Aph, didn't see your post until after I had posted.

Levi will be a vital cog for us for a long time I hope and will be even more so over the next 2 to 5 weeks if our season extends that far.