Lewis vs Pendlebury

• Thread starter Thread starter kirbatron

Hawthorn have played the crappiest brand of football over the past three-four seasons in the league. They have appeared in more out and out stinkers than any other club bar maybe Richmond (purely because they have been flogged). Im still reeling from last seasons Carlton v Hawthorn Friday night puke fest (only highlight being Dennis Commetti's Anchorman quote re: Luke Hodge "you stay classy San Diego")......let alone being able to digest some of the crap they have put on this season against Brisbane and St Kilda. This is not a sledge against your players, this is not a sledge against your football club. I believe you guys have been very smart in your rebuilding......However, it is a sledge against the tactics your coach has chosen to employ. Yes, this year you have opened up the game a little on occassions......but this is the exception moreso than the rule. The rule being Hawthorn have been an eye sore.

haha, thats a great qoute, he was probably spot on as well. i think we are certainly improving our style and hopefully it will open up alot more for us as our skills get better, its certainly something that we've lacked over the years. it finally seems that we are improving in that area. we've also started to recruit some guys that can break the lines and i'm sure this will help develop our game even further

But perhaps instead of identifying how the two teams play how about focus on the individual styles of the two players in the bet, which i think are fairly similar.

Chip, you need to settle down and stop being such a FW. Teams have woken up to Heath Shaws style and have started to man him up, clearly evident in his scores for DT - he's not getting as much cheap stuff.

For the record though i think hes a genuinely tough, good contested player when he needs to be. He still loves the cheapie and there's nothing wrong with that.

Chip, you need to settle down and stop being such a FW. Teams have woken up to Heath Shaws style and have started to man him up, clearly evident in his scores for DT - he's not getting as much cheap stuff.

If all Hawthorn supporters are worried about is what the players DT score is, then no wonder you enjoy that chip fest that Hawthorn produce.
Oh yay Danny Jacobs just scored 140, WOW what a gun.

Just because Shaw hasn't been getting as much of the ball doesn't mean he isn't doing a job still.

Ron dont become an impecile like your other mates on here...

Would you be willing to put a lazy 20 on lewis v pendlebury in most touches, with pendlebury getting 6 extra possesions to start with.

Yes or no.

If not how many touches would he need to be awarded to make it fair?

Would you be willing to put a lazy 20 on lewis v pendlebury in most touches, with pendlebury getting 6 extra possesions to start with.

Yes or no.

Why does it have to be Lewis v Pendlebury?
Shouldn't it be Pendlebury v Ellis, i mean they were both taken in the same draft, picks 4 & 5.

Lewis probably will get more touches than Pendlebury, but i'd rather have 15 from penders than 25 from Lewis.

that has to be a wind up^^

Why does it have to be Lewis v Pendlebury?
Because i said so

Shouldn't it be Pendlebury v Ellis, i mean they were both taken in the same draft, picks 4 & 5.
You're either being funny or terribly stupid. Ellis probably wont be playing that game and its hardly a fair bet.. I'm actually giving your mate Pendles a compliment.

Lewis probably will get more touches than Pendlebury, but i'd rather have 15 from penders than 25 from Lewis.
Omg who cares about that.. so you reckon Pendles needs a 10 possi head start for it to be fair?

Haven't you been reading this thread at all?
Pendlebury creates and kicks goals with his possessions, whilst Lewis gets his cheap kicks along the backline, playing kicksies with Birchall and Young.
15 Possessions from Pendlebury will hurt the opposition more than 25 from Lewis.

birchall for sure but young doesnt get cheap kicks, neither does lewis.

the thread is not about who's possessions are more effective.

in any instance, 25 from lewis is going to be more damaging than pendlebury's 15.

someone close this thread before you blokes drive me mental.. lets wait till july 1st.

This bloke wants to stack up a more experienced player in a team that over-uses the footy on a skinny second year star with excellent efficiency in the hope of some cheap money.

There is no reason to compare them as a contest, as Pendles is a goal kicking centreman and Lewis a tough accountable accumulator. They may play on each other, but that flatters Pendles even more.

Is Lewis Hawthorns top stat gatherer? Put him up against Swan.

look i'll fess up, every collingwood supporter i know loves pendles (even i do)so much i thought i could sway them into a bet by putting him up against lewis.

i still think with the margins its a reasonably fair wager... swannie is a deadset ball magnet gun, never would i consider such a bet.

Pendlebury creates and kicks goals with his possessions, whilst Lewis gets his cheap kicks along the backline, playing kicksies with Birchall and Young.
15 Possessions from Pendlebury will hurt the opposition more than 25 from Lewis.

And with that comment you've proven that you've never watched Lewis play this year.

?????

Last week when we beat West Coast:

Lewis kicked 2 goals
Lewis passed to Boyle which resulted in a goal
Lewis won a contest and tapped out to Hodge who scored a goal.

Pretty hard to do that from the backline?

Don't try to belittle Lewis without having seen him play regularly.

Yes or no.

I think we've established who the imbecile is. But but to the original point, there is no point comparing the two players because players like Lewis have inflated stats because of Hawthorn's game style. Lewis is in my dreamtime for that very reason. I suspect both clubs are more than happy with both players so whats the point of comparing apples with apples? Time to lock off this thread and give it the death it richly deserves and time for kibatrons diaper change.

Scott Pendlebury 88 and Lewis 67 was the final result. With 15 DT points handicap that makes it 103 to 67.
I think Pendles 21 possessions and +6 equals 27 to Lewis 19 possessions. Win/win. Lucky he didnt make the wager.

Comparing players simply on statistics alone is stupid. If you are going to compare midfielders compare them on hard ball gets or clearances or something a bit more meaningful.

Pendles kick to Johnson in the centre that resulted in a goal (i think it was the third quarter)was the most amazing thing i have seen for a long time. No it wasnt a goal from the boundary or mark of the year but a yougn kid in a high pressure situation with opposition all around him looking like he had all the time in the world. His kick was brilliant and he is just so cool when he gets the ball, i havnt seen him stuff up this year.

Some of his handball work is sublime. Just hitting clear targets in pressure situations. He's going to be a gun!

Pendles kick to Johnson in the centre that resulted in a goal (i think it was the third quarter)was the most amazing thing i have seen for a long time. No it wasnt a goal from the boundary or mark of the year but a yougn kid in a high pressure situation with opposition all around him looking like he had all the time in the world. His kick was brilliant and he is just so cool when he gets the ball, i havnt seen him stuff up this year.
That was.... gold, even the anti-commentators noticed. 3 players closing in fast and heaps flooding upfield and he spots him out back and.....bang! I thought he was gonna bomb it, too good for that.:thumbsu: Lewis smewis.

Yeah same I was super impressed with that, made sure I told everyone around me about how good it was as well. He just see's the options instantly and then runs along like he has no idea they are there and then last second... boom hits them with a pinpoint pass.

Pretty much sums up what he said in an age/herald sun article... something along the lines of in basketball you can't let the defenders know your team mates are there so you don't look, wait until the last minute then give it off. Sounds easy but there ain't many as good as it as he is.

He holds on to the ball for as long as possible, gives his teammates time and space by attracting their opponents. Very smart kid