Liam Jurrah's performance against Essendon

Re: How many goals will Liam Jurrah kick against a woeful Essendon backline?

Jurrah to kick 6, go off for a slash then come back and kick another lazy six. Head of and do a TV interview then finish off with a lazy 10. 22 goals.:)

Cannot see the point in resting Jurrah. If he gets injured so be it.

Pretty sure Pears is a few weeks away from playing. A quality player. I read some spaz article in the HUN saying he needs to stand up this year or his future could be in trouble.... What rubbish.

Fletcher is old. I didn't really see him slow down last year. people have written him off due to age before. They don't do it again.

I thought Jurrah was going to miss either rd2 or 3 anyway.

I hope we can break 2 hoodoo's (AAMI and Ethiad) in 2 games (3? :confused:) but
I can't bet on that. I wouldn't anyway, NAB cup is all about the funny bugger results. I would casually throw out there that Hird would like to win the preseason more then Bail's as he needs to prove himself more. Bailey will be thinking about rd1, though no one is going to try to lose a game of football :cool:. I would think we will be treating this as a preparation. Of course we want to win and I would like us too but I think prep for the season proper is the priority.

Sorry Brocky S but you may not get to see any of that. :(

I don't like Essendon all that much, but I think its because of 2000 GF more then anything else though. Which I like to think is understandable.

Not when there are no draft picks up for grabs anyway...

can't wait for Thursday. Honestly can say there isn't a team I'd rather play more. That's obviously not because I think we're a shoo-in against you; far from it.

But because I like the way you guys go about it, and it should be a fascinating duel.

I sincerely hope Jurrah does play and kick a few. The guy is a bona fide star, and worth the price of admission alone. I <3 Grimes, and I too won't to see how Watts and Hurley go - though sadly I don't think they'll play directly on each other.

As for Dustin being too old... far out, he did alright on Friday night. At least wait until he has some kind of form taper off before you sink the slipper. The guy is a genuine legend of the game, and I reckon he'll be good enough for another season after this one.

I'll be there with bells on. Here's hoping the umpires don't go nuts on the 50 metre penalties eh ;)

Good luck guys, see you there. I'll be the slightly drunk obnoxious dude you want to throw things at :thumbsu:

Comrade LU I could not agree more. I was watching some highlights from 1993 and Fletcher was starring. Fast forward 18 years, and the bugger is still here. He is a fair dinkum champion, and our chances against Essendon always go up by 15% whenever he does not play. I really do wish that he would retire - for our sake, not Essendons !!!

Comrades, we have every right to be somewhat optimistic, and who does not enjoy beating Essendon, but these kinds of threads, IMO, do nothing to add lustre to our Board. We are not even at Base Camp.

I thought the Dons looked very well prepared mentally the other night. Hird will have them playing more accountable and focussed footy than Knights ever could have. Like Melbourne in Adelaide you could tell that the younger players were responding to their conditioning and coaching.

Should be an interesting game. Too hard to pick without knowing the ins and outs though.

Anyone know where this is played? Technically our "home" game isn't it?

Not when there are no draft picks up for grabs anyway...

As I said ":cool:".

RandB, the game is at ethihad. A good chance to get some much needed practice at another of our kryponite stadiums

16. In the first 5 minutes.
Then I would expect both Hird and Bomber to start crying due to them both being so overconfident plus they will admit to being the biggest silly billy's of all time.

Will possibly get Hibberd (VFL recruit, looks the goods) or Browne (young tall HB type, looked OK too).
I would assume Hooker will get Watts - seems to be the right match-up for size/weights, Fletch if he plays (unsure) will get a bit more freedom.

Should be an interesting match, both sides looked more switched on than others.

Srs question, will my membership get me into teh game on Thurs? Being our home game n all? Kthxbye

I know my AFL membership gets me in which is sweet! I hope normal memberships work - I was going to use my normal one for a mate.

Woeful backline.
H8 2 think what u will do 2 our midfield then.
hacks like Watson, Stanton, Zaharakis, Melksham, Colyer, Howlett ect
you guys should smash us, but I bet you wont.

Only AFL memberships get you, nab cup sucks...

A few getting ahead of themselves in a massive way here, including the OP.

If Essendon are half serious they'll put Dustin Fletcher on him (or i imagine they will during the h&a)....and from memory he's done a pretty fair job over the years on a few players that one may consider slightly better than Jurrah. Say Lockett, Dunstall, Ablett, Sumich, Modra, Carey etc....i hear they were ok :rolleyes:.

Don't get me wrong guys and gals, i rate Jurrah and i like Melbourne, but both he and his team still have a lot of work to do imo.

Also for those predicting 5+ goals, here's a question i genuinely don't know the answer to, but am curious as to the answer:

How many times ever, has Jurrah kicked more than 4 goals in a game???

I would casually throw out there that Hird would like to win the preseason more then Bail's as he needs to prove himself more. Bailey will be thinking about rd1, though no one is going to try to lose a game of football :cool:. I would think we will be treating this as a preparation. Of course we want to win and I would like us too but I think prep for the season proper is the priority.

Sorry Brocky S but you may not get to see any of that. :(

I don't like Essendon all that much, but I think its because of 2000 GF more then anything else though. Which I like to think is understandable.

Hird did say in his interview after the game "no one takes nab cup results seriously" and therefore he wasn't nervouse about the stkilda result in the dying minutes......i don't think Essendon or Melbourne will lose any sleep either way, and i certainly won't.

Should be an interesting game. Too hard to pick without knowing the ins and outs though.
Yep, pretty much.
If any one side's flat stick & the other's not, that'll decide it.
I know we've put NLM on ice with a minor niggle but really that's not too much difference either way.

Theoretically, given normal Saturday squads come out on Thursday ie 2 days in advance; should the sides come out today???

How many times ever, has Jurrah kicked more than 4 goals in a game???
In his career of 17 games, he's kicked 4 goals 5 times, and 5 goals once.

Total of 17 games, 41 goals.

Anyways I think he will kick 4.2 on Thurs.

Guess we will just have to wait and see, apologies if i have offended any essendon fans with the thread but i do get a tad over-excited over liam jurrah as im sure many other football supporters do. However i am still sticking to my original prediction of 4 - 6 goals.

Also in regards to fletcher, yes he has been a legend of the game and he has shown no sign of slowing down, however i do feel that he will show signs throughout the year that he is not the player he once was.

Yes there is no sign he has done so just yet but after all this is a prediction of mine and we will see whether or not that comes true. I am prepared to say that he will announce his reitrement mid-season and not make it till the end of the year, bookmark this post if this prediction backfires.

Guess we will just have to wait and see, apologies if i have offended any essendon fans with the thread but i do get a tad over-excited over liam jurrah as im sure many other football supporters do. However i am still sticking to my original prediction of 4 - 6 goals.

Also in regards to fletcher, yes he has been a legend of the game and he has shown no sign of slowing down, however i do feel that he will show signs throughout the year that he is not the player he once was.

Yes there is no sign he has done so just yet but after all this is a prediction of mine and we will see whether or not that comes true. I am prepared to say that he will announce his reitrement mid-season and not make it till the end of the year, bookmark this post if this prediction backfires.
why apoligise, it is a demon board, 4.4 goals for the champ.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

In his career of 17 games, he's kicked 4 goals 5 times, and 5 goals once.

Total of 17 games, 41 goals.

Anyways I think he will kick 4.2 on Thurs.

Cheers, appreciate it.......pretty decent for a bloke to have kicked 4+ in 6 out of his first 17.:thumbsu: .....although having said that, i'm pretty sure these games are still less minutes than H&A footy.

How's his pre season gone?
He played a fair few of those games with a low fitness base to this point yeah?

because humility is important to some people, whether in defeat or victory.....

... and so is fantasy, and in the privacy of our own back yard, some people like to dream.

No harm done I would think, not too many here slagging off the Bombers.

On topic: 5 shots at goal if he gets a decent run (playing time). They may prefer to give players like Bate, Petterd (if he plays) or even Cook some time to set out their stall.

Liam Jurrah's performance against Essendon