• Thread starter Thread starter Lore
  • Tags Tags
    draft

I was asked previously who i would take @ one - i reckon lukosius

i dont think its trolling

I know - thats what im saying; a club in carltons position should not be worried about profiles. They should be bringing best available talent IMO

i know blues fans dont like the phrase "many draft scribes think that", but many were saying lukosius was the best talent
More recruiters said that Walsh was the best talent, we didn't need another tall. If you keep going with this i'll apologize for calling you a troll. I'll call you stupid.

Blues are the worse team and at a bottom of a rebuild; they should be taking the best available talent at this stage not looking at list needs when they are so far off the pace

Nah, a bunch of recruiting managers said they would’ve taken Walsh first, being the closest thing to a sure bet out of the best players in the draft. This was the last draft of Carlton’s aggressive reset period and they needed to nail a 200 game player. Given they took a talls first approach to their rebuild, they took exactly who they needed to.

More recruiters said that Walsh was the best talent, we didn't need another tall. If you keep going with this i'll apologize for calling you a troll. I'll call you stupid.

Recruiters get it wrong fairly often and you blokes are saying around half didn't half Walsh at one anyway. Does Carlton have enough quality talls to win the flag in 3/5/8 years? Im not sure but you guys sound confident. Many people were saying prior to the draft Lukosius was the 'best' or at least had the highest ceiling.

Many carlton have echoed similar comments in the two stocker threads on this board ie. walsh is the safest 200game pick but might not be the best talent. I dont reckon its stupid or trolling; no need to get upset about it

The knock on him would be his upside having been a full time player againt school kids.but Higgins disproved that myth. Hope he gets to the suns

im not sure if higgins being a gun with good upside does disprove the theory for other players

Recruiters get it wrong fairly often and you blokes are saying around half didn't half Walsh at one anyway. Does Carlton have enough quality talls to win the flag in 3/5/8 years? Im not sure but you guys sound confident. Many people were saying prior to the draft Lukosius was the 'best' or at least had the highest ceiling.

Many carlton have echoed similar comments in the two stocker threads on this board ie. walsh is the safest 200game pick but might not be the best talent. I dont reckon its stupid or trolling; no need to get upset about it

im not sure if higgins being a gun with good upside does disprove the theory for other players
Mate i'm not upset, if we had drafted Lukosius you would have said we should have drafted Walsh, i suppose that's the price you pay when you finish last, every so called expert want to put their 2 bobs worth in. I'm quite content with our rebuild and if it doesn't work this time then i'll get angry

You think rating Smith as a better draft pick than Walsh doesnt indicate bias? Knightmare only threw him in as theres no basis for drafting Lukosius over a midfielder given our KPF depth. We needed midfielders and the next highly rated midfielder was Smith. Maybe without the achilles injury he may have gone higher, but as it stands he'll have a restricted preseason. Whereas Walsh is running in Curnow's group and is setting an impressive pace.
I think it’s more the person who wrote the article was trying to go against the grain to big note themselves.

Check his thread - KM rated Smith and (particularly) Lukosius ahead of Walsh all season. It is what it is, and has nothing to do with where they wound up.
So I learned today that this Knightmare dude who I have never heard of...or someone who is not in a role at any club in a recruiting capacity is the ‘holy grail’ for scouting AFL talent.
Well there you go...
I guess it is what it is.

So I learned today that this Knightmare dude who I have never heard of...or someone who is not in a role at any club in a recruiting capacity is the ‘holy grail’ for scouting AFL talent.
Well there you go...

Like it or not. The only thing that kept Smith out of the pick 1 conversation was his Achilles injury. read this from Cal Twomey.

An Achilles injury has kept Smith out of action the past two weeks, but he'll be keen to get back out there soon to finish off what has been an excellent season. Some recruiters have Smith in the No.1 pick conversation, such has been his capacity to impact games this season. He has a lot going for him as a modern midfielder given his size, endurance, speed and power. As hard-working and relentless as any player in the pool.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-08-08/cal-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-august

Say what you want about Cal's ability to spot talent but he has shown over the journey that he has great sources.

Well there you go...

The guy is getting paid from the media for his thoughts on draft prospects

hes ahead of you and i

Well there you go...

That doesn't say much when the likes of Wayne Hughes and Stephen Silvagni have been employed in AFL recruitment circles for more than ten years.....

And a few that work in the industry, are saying the Oakleigh boys could be very good. Projected top 5 draft picks next draft.

Surely you are not suggesting Hughes is in the same postcode as Silvagni?

Don’t bother.

Sometimes you just have to learn to ignore certain posters when they chime in on certain topics.

GWS and Carlton could share the next 10 flags and poor Buzz would still find a way to be critical of Silvagni.

I hear SOS’ choice of pets is questionable and his taste in music leaves a lot to be desired.

Seen a lot of Rankine & Lukosius in the SANFL and they have been overhyped in the extreme, they should be good players but nowhere near the superstars the SA media has been peddling. Walsh would not have to be a champion to be comfortably the best player in the top 3 selections.

Don’t bother.

Sometimes you just have to learn to ignore certain posters when they chime in on certain topics.

GWS and Carlton could share the next 10 flags and poor Buzz would still find a way to be critical of Silvagni.

I hear SOS’ choice of pets is questionable and his taste in music leaves a lot to be desired.

I hear you, same poster that threatened to put me on ignore, prior to the trade period for suggesting a better list management strategy was to stagger their departures over 2 years, due to salary cap pressure. Stated it was a VFL media beat up and wouldn't lose anyone of note (best 22)

Some people struggle with reality

Don’t bother.

You are so right. i just deleted my last post.

Like it or not. The only thing that kept Smith out of the pick 1 conversation was his Achilles injury. read this from Cal Twomey.

An Achilles injury has kept Smith out of action the past two weeks, but he'll be keen to get back out there soon to finish off what has been an excellent season. Some recruiters have Smith in the No.1 pick conversation, such has been his capacity to impact games this season. He has a lot going for him as a modern midfielder given his size, endurance, speed and power. As hard-working and relentless as any player in the pool.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-08-08/cal-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-august

Say what you want about Cal's ability to spot talent but he has shown over the journey that he has great sources.

Compare Cal's opinion of Smith to Dangerfields opinion of Walsh

"I wouldn't be handing (pick one) over for anything," Dangerfield said on SEN's Time On.

"He will lead a football club at some stage, I believe. So I'd be doing everything I possibly could to secure him."

"He spent a week at our footy club through that AFL academy and he wouldn't have looked out of place playing AFL footy this year
."

https://m.qt.com.au/news/sam-walsh-among-top-prospects-at-this-years-afl-dr/3578240/

Sam has been training well so and has been doing runs with Ed's group. Havent hit the heavy stuff just yet but at this stage Walsh is looking at playing a large part of the season to a high level.

I had a couple of players ahead of Walsh
Lukosius, Blakey, Smith, B King, Caldwell
Walsh will be a great player at the next level, has mix of Cotchin/Sidebottom

Is that another way of saying, "I'm not very good at this drafting game"?
Nothing to brag about, but it's OK I guess :)

Too early to make any such calls on Stocker because not many of us would have seen much of him, but clearly some people that did rated him.
So much talk, so little real knowledge.

I had a couple of players ahead of Walsh

Lukosius, Blakey, Smith, B King, Caldwell

Walsh will be a great player at the next level, has mix of Cotchin/Sidebottom

Agree Arrow Sam Walsh will be a great Bagger and the comparison is spot on too.
A professional determined and mature attitude and has,not played a game yet’ so refreshing and wholesome we’re gonna love this kid he’ll win us over quickly in 2019 , if he hasn’t already .