Life

Independent tradies maybe not, but bigger building business and company trades (mining, health service, etc) do.
And they're the exact employers you want to avoid if you ever want to end up a decent trades person.

Like slot of jobs these days but more so government jobs, women do well when they want a family. As you say, get a teacher job, after a couple of years earn $70k+ a year. Get pregnant and work every 2nd year you aren't pregnant at 3 days a week until your kids are school age. Obviously pay at 3/5 of the $70k but you get the drift.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Even full time it's a great job if you have school aged kids because you are literally on the same timetable.

Why's that do you think?

I have a mate who works for a medium sized builder doing contract maintenance and defects stuff. Reckons the quality of workmanship is pathetic. Company is just looking for turnover and will hire whoever is available at the time to churn through work. People are employed short term for a quick pay day and don't take pride in their work. Low rates, no job security and it's not your name going against the work - not a recipe for quality.

The bigger the company the bigger the overheads also. My sparky mate charges (heh) $80/hr and his business is really just him and a van full of stuff, and I think his missus helps out occasionally with the invoicing. If he worked for the same builder they are going to factor in $80/hr or more to their estimate but he'd be lucky to see half of that going to him.

Why's that do you think?
I have a mate who works for a medium sized builder doing contract maintenance and defects stuff. Reckons the quality of workmanship is pathetic. Company is just looking for turnover and will hire whoever is available at the time to churn through work. People are employed short term for a quick pay day and don't take pride in their work. Low rates, no job security and it's not your name going against the work - not a recipe for quality.

The bigger the company the bigger the overheads also. My sparky mate charges (heh) $80/hr and his business is really just him and a van full of stuff, and I think his missus helps out occasionally with the invoicing. If he worked for the same builder they are going to factor in $80/hr or more to their estimate but he'd be lucky to see half of that going to him.
Kind of what Scotland said. You're likely not going to be working with the same couple of guys or girls on a continual basis. So when it comes time for you to do something you may not have done before the likelihood of the tradesperson you're with wanting to take the time to show you how to do it is low, they'd rather just do it themselves and get it done quicker.

Also, if there's an issue that needs fixing they're going to send an experienced person and the apprentice is in all likelihood not going to be tagging along to see how to fix it.

They spent their apprenticeship putting doors on and dont know how to build a fence is what I ve found in the past

Haha. Yes for that stuff there's old handymen that usually do the work. My partner's parents just had a front fence put up and the guy turned up with a Monaro towing a trailer, his mate in a Commodore. No need for a 4x4 twin cab covered in stickers.

I got a building company to do the fence between us the neighbors, was the best quote for the quality and timeframe I was expecting.

Otherwise if it wasn't involving neighbors I would have done it with dad like we did with the back fence to the lane.

Haha. Yes for that stuff there's old handymen that usually do the work. My partner's parents just had a front fence put up and the guy turned up with a Monaro towing a trailer, his mate in a Commodore. No need for a 4x4 twin cab covered in stickers.

I got a building company to do the fence between us the neighbors, was the best quote for the quality and timeframe I was expecting.

Otherwise if it wasn't involving neighbors I would have done it with dad like we did with the back fence to the lane.
I hired a Tassy chippy up in FNQ he had the papers,nice kid but didnt know much
Lucky he was a Hawks supporter and a quickish learner off the other chippys

Even full time it's a great job if you have school aged kids because you are literally on the same timetable.
Not the case at all. We don’t have kids yet but my partner leaves for work at 7:30am and doesn’t finish up at school until 5pm. It would be advantageous for school holidays though.

70-90k is pretty much just marking time though, depending on where the school is and where you can live. Ok in Pakenham. Not brilliant in Clifton Hill

I went to Pakenham races as a kid and my mother won the ladies bracelet. I got given 5 bucks. Pakenham ruled that day.

Anyone really feel like they don't have any mates that are in that 'ride or die' territory? Lame term I know but felt it was a good explainer.

Getting into the mid twenties and just feel more and more like it's just me. As a single guy with a lot of friends in relaitonships I don't really get too mad about it, but sometimes it just feels like none of my friends are really that kind of friend who really want to hang out no matter what. I dunno.
Lucky to still have a fair few mates to go out with but a few of my older mates have been like this for a number of years now. Frustrating because they’re fun to hang out with but would now rather spend their entire life with their missus.

One of my good mates is now single which works out for me because now at least he’ll want to do things. A number of times last year I wanted to head out and have a bit of fun and everyone was too busy doing their own s**t.

From where I sit it’s frustrating that some of these friends don’t want to come out and have a bit of fun with their partners. You’re mid 20s not bloody 40 years old.

I find when i do catch up with mates thay the chat simply isn't what it was in the glory days. Everyone has become a boring campaigner and the talk centres around work and life progression, rather than the riffing and ripping on each other that I found to be so enjoyable.
Yeah I’ve had this happen lately at a few social events. One minute we’ll be talking nonsense the next everyone starts boring me to death with what they’re doing at work. What happens on a day to day basis at your work really isn’t that interesting. Certainly not interesting enough to be brought up each time we see each other.

From where I sit it’s frustrating that some of these friends don’t want to come out and have a bit of fun with their partners. You’re mid 20s not bloody 40 years old.

Big mistake by them, especially at that age. Not all 20s relationships last and even if they do you don't want to find yourself isolated. It's not healthy to spend all of your time with just your partner, and if you can't spend time with your friends and partner together, or can't spend time with your friends because of your partner then it's probably a ticking time bomb. Does anyone want to become that guy whose only 'friends' are his wife's friends' partners and/or his kids' friends' parents?

People grow apart for a bunch of reasons. I don't spend as much time as I did 5 years ago with friends that now have very young kids. That's to be expected. Different timelines, different priorities. I haven't forgotten they exist, I just don't expect to be able to call them at 6pm on a weeknight and expect they can just come to the pub on a whim.

I've seen some people over the years isolate themselves from social groups to the point that they aren't invited to stuff any more. I know of one relationship (mid 30s) that is looking very shaky and I don't know what each party will do if they end up splitting given they've barely kept in contact with anyone for years.

Looking back my parents were friends with parents of my friends. Or was I friends with the children of my parents' friends? :think:

I guess when you are 8 it's easier to just play with kids your own age and get along. When you are 45 and some bloke turns up to pick up their kid your inner voice is saying 'Please me normal. Please be normal.' when the doorbell rings.

At the time I never thought anything of it but some parents would come over to pick up their kid and hang around for a chat and a beer etc. and others were more of a cordial 'Yep, Billy was well behaved. See you next time' quick in and out. As a kid you hope for the former so you get more play time in the pool or whatever.

I'm noticing on Facebook some of my friends seem to be socialising with my older brother more than myself these days.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Lucky to still have a fair few mates to go out with but a few of my older mates have been like this for a number of years now. Frustrating because they’re fun to hang out with but would now rather spend their entire life with their missus.

One of my good mates is now single which works out for me because now at least he’ll want to do things. A number of times last year I wanted to head out and have a bit of fun and everyone was too busy doing their own s**t.

Haha yeah jeez. In a very similar spot to you mate. Just got a few closer mates who have been in relationships for a while now and while they do like a few beers, they're not into clubbing at all anymore which sucks for a single guy like I am.

Just find too often they either don't want to do anything or they're with their partner, and as you said you're mid 20s. Feel like you're setting yourself up for unhappy-ness later in life when you're that keen to not enjoy your mid 20s. Some of them speak as if being 23/24 years old is so old and that they need to have their s**t together. Just a strange world view to me.

I've got a few mates who still like a good time which is good and still playing footy helps but it's just a shame it is the way it is. And it'll be annoying to an extent if one of them does become single because their personality and attitude will completely change. I think it's been spoken about on here a few times how it's not really that easy at all to find proper new mates at this stage, everyone is kind of set in their ways.

Big mistake by them, especially at that age. Not all 20s relationships last and even if they do you don't want to find yourself isolated. It's not healthy to spend all of your time with just your partner, and if you can't spend time with your friends and partner together, or can't spend time with your friends because of your partner then it's probably a ticking time bomb. Does anyone want to become that guy whose only 'friends' are his wife's friends' partners and/or his kids' friends' parents?

People grow apart for a bunch of reasons. I don't spend as much time as I did 5 years ago with friends that now have very young kids. That's to be expected. Different timelines, different priorities. I haven't forgotten they exist, I just don't expect to be able to call them at 6pm on a weeknight and expect they can just come to the pub on a whim.

I've seen some people over the years isolate themselves from social groups to the point that they aren't invited to stuff any more. I know of one relationship (mid 30s) that is looking very shaky and I don't know what each party will do if they end up splitting given they've barely kept in contact with anyone for years.
Yeah I don’t really understand it. Especially after the last six months where I’ve two long term relationships my mates had just suddenly end. The idea of neglecting so much socially all for one person seems insane to me. But also to just be committing yourself to such a mundane lifestyle from a young age. Good health permitting you’ve got years to do that s**t.

Couldn’t imagine enjoying spending social outings with your girlfriends friends only on a consistent basis. Sounds awful to me.

Haha yeah jeez. In a very similar spot to you mate. Just got a few closer mates who have been in relationships for a while now and while they do like a few beers, they're not into clubbing at all anymore which sucks for a single guy like I am.

Just find too often they either don't want to do anything or they're with their partner, and as you said you're mid 20s. Feel like you're setting yourself up for unhappy-ness later in life when you're that keen to not enjoy your mid 20s. Some of them speak as if being 23/24 years old is so old and that they need to have their s**t together. Just a strange world view to me.

I've got a few mates who still like a good time which is good and still playing footy helps but it's just a shame it is the way it is. And it'll be annoying to an extent if one of them does become single because their personality and attitude will completely change. I think it's been spoken about on here a few times how it's not really that easy at all to find proper new mates at this stage, everyone is kind of set in their ways.
Yeah I’m thankful I’ve still got a few who like a beer and all that plus the recently single mate. Playing footy has been my saviour. Made new mates who are younger and therefore more keen on a good time and means I will even see the whipped mates at times. Without it things would be really dire and it would probably just be myself and one maybe two other mates who do anything on a weekend together.

Yeah it frustrates me to no end when some mates can’t seem to understand why a young single male would want to do something on the weekend.

I get some want to save for a house or for moving out etc but I also feel that can be a bit shortsighted. With the house prices as they are I don’t see the rush to be buying your own property and as I’ve seen with two mates recently a once steady relationship suddenly ends.

I had mates that were hard to hang out with when they had girlfriends in their 20's.

Some (now married with kids) now suddenly seem interested to be sociable again, they won't admit it but I think they are looking for a reason to escape the household when things get hectic. I actually told one they should of hung out more when they were younger and when I wasn't as busy with life. He didn't take that well but i'm glad I told him and got it off my chest.