News Light Tiger

• Thread starter Thread starter tunksy

Shane Edwards, now been in the system for around 5 years still has poor kicking skills, just can't carry these turn overs anymore. For someone of his size to be this bad just cannot see how things will now change in 2012, should have been added to delisted / traded if posssible. If he could aleast hurt you in tackel or bump would not be so bad.

just balancing out an overly optimistic fluff piece.

what saddens me is the fact this very ordinary player will get 6 yrs minimum.
yep we just keep on making the same mistakes over and over. jeremy webberley is a better player and thats saying something.
edwards is your typical rfc player. a couple of decent attributes which wins over the blind ferals with plenty of poor ones. yep glass half full sums him up well.
personally ive seen more than enough of him. the only thing that will make me happy is if he never plays another game for us.
no more duds i say and no more bloody fluff pieces either what a joke.

Ferals... Kiddin aren't ya mate???... we who support the club and our players aren't ferals... not sure if I can say the same for those that find every opportunity to put down players who don the yellow and black. Reckon black and white would look better on you.

Not a fan, Ok in 2010 off half back, is a outside type who tends to run into trouble , placing himself under pressure and shanks kicks. Was tried a few times this season inside the square and was very ordinary !
Think he is on borrowed time, but happy to be proven wrong ?

Why are you putting a ? On everything you say, it's almost a tad condescending the way you do it.

Go Edwards :thumbsu: :D Hopefully in for a big season and many more to come. I wish people would stop bagging him. Take note Jimmy he will be good
I'll take note of his delisting.

I agree with Santa on this one, been in the system too long, his cons out-do his pros and he has to have a Reiwolt like year (More than a Rance) to stay on the list.

Personally, if he was a touch taller, he might pull of his kicks better.
Longer legs - more momentium in the kick, not blazing away or stabbing at them.

I'd take both King and Nahas over Edwards (whatever his weight) any day of the week. I'd say Edwards needs a huge year to actually grab a hold of a best 22 spot (if he can't, theres no point on holding on to him next year, in an uncompromised draft if he is uncontracted) Miracles can happen, but i'm not holding my breath.
Been interesting to see his 'development'. Small defender (didn't work IMO), small forward (didn't work IMO) and now midfield (which in fairness has required him to get his tank up a bit)

I commented on another thread about how he was looking 4-5 kg heavier and that it will be interesting to see how he performs. I am like a few on here and do not think his kicking is as bad as everyone is making it out to be. By far and away not the best, but not too bad. Look he just turned 23, he looks fitter than ever and is receiving great training reports. He has been in our best 22 for the last 4 years, never can I recall him being dropped back down to Coburg and if he has he has come straight back up. In the 2012 thread I did not have him in the best 22, but year in year out he is and he only looks to be more a player now!

People saying they hope he does not play another game and he is shit etc. Thats why he is playing AFL and alot of us are not . Edwards better then all of us on here for that reason alone. He will prove many wrong next season. :D

Is that you TW? Like the change up dude..is that the same as when you "alerted" the footy world about JON with the classic, "he will make his critics eat their words?"...because if it is, then Titch is looking at getting ditched, seeing as you seem to pin point the next delisting with such comments..;)

Really??

So if his 2012 is as good as Rance's 2011, you'd still delist him? Christ I'm glad people like you and santa aren't in charge
Rance's 2011 was very good, but other than become a good defender for the tigers, he didn't do much in the comp, where Jack won a AFL award.
Edwards needs to do something really big, because he is already in our 22, but he needs to show that he is capable of really turning the comp upside down, by winning our B&F or pollinig well in AFL awards.

I don't think Edwards is worried, he has the talent and the competitiveness to take the next step. It's just all all up to him to do it, i hope he does :thumbsu:

Rance's 2011 was very good, but other than become a good defender for the tigers, he didn't do much in the comp, where Jack won a AFL award.
Edwards needs to do something really big, because he is already in our 22, but he needs to show that he is capable of really turning the comp upside down, by winning our B&F or pollinig well in AFL awards.

Going to have to respectfully disagree mate. What you're saying is that in order to justify his place on the list Edwards needs to become elite/A-grade, I think all he needs to do is clean up his disposal and show some consistency. Don't get me wrong, it would be nice if he did go and win our B&F next year but I don't think he needs to improve that much in order to stay on the list and win over some darksiders.

I'd agree with you Stylo, if it wasn't his 6th year on the list.
I doubt by this point he can turn his disposal around.

Not a fan, Ok in 2010 off half back, is a outside type who tends to run into trouble , placing himself under pressure and shanks kicks. Was tried a few times this season inside the square and was very ordinary !
Think he is on borrowed time, but happy to be proven wrong ?

Agree , reckon he got a year to greatly improve or he is gone.
He not going to improve his decision making but what he can do is work on his ball drop on his kicking with our skills coach this is where his problem comes from.
Trouble is under pressure usually he drops the ball onto his boot rather than guide it,at times it is laughable because it is so bad.
But it can be improved if he works on it as much as building on his body weight!;)

FWIW...... tipping he will be spending a bit of time deep in defence next year. If he has added the bulk and the subsequent strength reckon he has been told he is going to be tried as an answer to one of our biggest nemesis over the last few years, the small forward..;)

Needs to get his ball drop right. Holds the ball too high and wide and mistimes his kicks and delivers too many grubbers

Doesn't stay over the ball long enough and is very open in his shoulders when he sometimes kicks , is without doubt the most common fault in kicking at various levels yet relatively easy to fix .

We put a lot of cash into extra coaches so hopefully a few on our list who have stagnated can work on a few technical issues. I don't believe you can become a good kick so late in your career, but a better technique and improved decision making he'd be at least servicable. I think other sides of his game are good but his kicking at the moment is so bad that he's a liability.