Like, learn, hate - Round 23

Feels pretty good to the over 1,000,000 supporters who saw them win 12 games.

Yeah, we will probably lose the final, but just because it's still annoying people that we are becoming successful again, is pleasing enough.

I think the main issue is that Essendon haven't not been successful - atleast in the sense of being a middling / finals contender for a while - certainly not a legit wooden spoon squad and getting #1 draft pick

That's about all I'llsay about it

Hated:
Geelong playing Richmond on a Friday Night. Needed to be the Saturday Arvo game, many people from Geelong and further west won't be able to make it to the game. I understand the AFL wants as many fans to attend as possible, so it seems weird to pick a timeslot which disadvantages the majority of Geelong's fan base.

Geelong's past six finals have been on Friday nights.

Richmond was the non-finalist to make top 4, continuing that trend going back years.

Any other top 8 cliches continued? Who was the top 4 side to miss finals? Dogs and Hawks I suppose.

Geelong's past six finals have been on Friday nights.
Doesn't change the reason why I hate them (from a club perspective). Lucky to be living in Melbourne now and can more easily attend them, before the trains every 20mins to Geelong, it got quite chockers on the train at 5.30 up to Melbourne. (The next one was normally at least 45mins later).

Lack of Buddy in the likes - what a freak. Worth every cent thrown at him and then some.
Liked: Buddy kicking 10. The most pure football moment of the round.

Learned: according to this thread no one cares about Buddy kicking 10. Therefore I hope BF whinging about the death of football will cease to be a thing.
The Tall Poppy Syndrome is alive and well, I'm afraid.

Australia can be so f***ed at times.

Hell, even the Froggies were quick to pay tribute to his genius.

IMG_5074.jpg

Much as it sticks in my craw to say it, Geelong has been absolutely reamed with this. Finish 2nd, get to play away against Richmond at the G.

This is very unfair.

(Except in situations where Hawthorn gets a home Grand Final - in those cases, it's good for the sport.)
Well - maybe they should have built a big enough stadium to hold all the fans who want to go. Actually, they haven't even built a big enough stadium for most of their home games.

Disagree again, it's just the spiel of some with a journalistic platform. Not unlike the Hillary good/Trump bad narrative.

Ok, so it's just a journalist conspiracy in your view.
Regardless of the relative numbers in each group, there are those who are pleased that Essendon have emerged from the turmoil as strong as ever, and there are those who are bitter that they have.
You are in the latter, I am in the former. Let's leave it at that.

Ok, so it's just a journalist conspiracy in your view.
Regardless of the relative numbers in each group, there are those who are pleased that Essendon have emerged from the turmoil as strong as ever, and there are those who are bitter that they have.
You are in the latter, I am in the former. Let's leave it at that.

Yeah, there is a very obvious program afoot to "re-socialise" Essendon among the football public. Blind Freddy can see it.

Essendon has done its penance. Just don't sell it to me as a positive.

Feels pretty good to the over 1,000,000 supporters who saw them win 12 games.

Yeah, we will probably lose the final, but just because it's still annoying people that we are becoming successful again, is pleasing enough.
I dunno. Make the game a fast paced shoot out and you are in with a shot at winning. Speed kills.

Spare a thought for our Melbourne brothers and sisters. Be gentle.
Learnt Jobe Watson is a gentleman,
Hawthorn produce a new baby with tons of potential named Morrison, or as I called him "who is that"?
Poppy still has it.
Hawthorn will love the full break and full pre season
Collingwood did the sensible thing with Buckley.
No idea who will coach GC17 , maybe Sumich may finally get his senior chance, but he'll be entering devastation land.
There is no guarantee who will be premiers , I have an inkling Sydney may just get there.
Tigers should win a final.
Geelong looked really great, at Simmonds, and GWS? Can't tell if they lay down or not but they looked crappy.
Dees shouldn't have had the heart attack all day Sunday , should have won there own game.
I think Goddard sometimes takes to long to decide who or where to kick the ball. Doesn't mean he's no good, but?

Last but never least Hodgey is a once in a life time General, and Gibbo is bloody magnificent those punches to save an enemy attack, we'll miss them both. And Jack Fitzpatrick, go well young fellow, thanks for your great effort at the Hawks, got to look after your health and future first mate.
I can now relax for once. Since the prelim in 2011 September has been nerve racking.

Geelong playing Richmond on a Friday Night. Needed to be the Saturday Arvo game, many people from Geelong and further west won't be able to make it to the game. I understand the AFL wants as many fans to attend as possible, so it seems weird to pick a timeslot which disadvantages the majority of Geelong's fan base.

Wasn't as bad as playing a night final at the 'G on a Sunday night back in 1997 when kids had school and parents had to work the next day, and would've got home after midnight if they traveled up the highway.

- For only the third time in 20 years the reigning premiers missed the finals. Bulldogs 2017, Hawthorn 2009, Adelaide 1999
- Every team won at least 5 games and lost at least 6 games this season, this last happened in 1998.
- Every team played in at least 1 game decided by 3 points or less. Geelong had 1, 2 and 3 point wins.
- Adelaide never won a game decided by 3 points or less for the 13th time in 15 years.
- For the 4th time in 6 years the Coleman medalist failed to kick 70 goals in the H&A season.
- No team won or lost 10 or more consecutive games (longest losing streak 9, longest winning streak 7)
- The GWS Giants lost only 1 home game for the season, all other non Victorian teams lost 3 or more home games.
- Only 7 of the 18 teams had losing records.
- The wooden spooner never lost by 100 points.
- The Brisbane Lions never had a winning streak, all other teams had at least two winning streaks of two games.

Liked: Tom Lonergan and Andrew Mackie's selfless farewell, and understated wander around their home ground.

Learned: That Buddy has decided to turn the tape on... to 'red hot'.

Hate: Qld footy in doldrums and the road back for the two teams will be tough ... plus no AFL next weekend to enjoy.

Liked: Cutting the short people down to size; playing the Tiggers first up in the finals :)

Learned: Geelong can win the premiership if they come to play.

Hated: The very thought of even the slightest possibility of having to play the Swans at any time during the finals.

Wasn't as bad as playing a night final at the 'G on a Sunday night back in 1997 when kids had school and parents had to work the next day, and would've got home after midnight if they traveled up the highway.
What was the reason for three Sunday games, two at 2.30pm and one at 7.30pm?

Liked that the last game of the year determined who made the 8. If they all started at the same time, we might have had a different result

Learnt that every goal and point counts. To make or break finals on .5% show every game is important and no team can afford to give away goals

Hated the umpires colours, thought they were players at times.

Like, learn, hate - Round 23