Autopsy Liked, learned, hated - Round 21 (includes results and ladder)

jshster

Rookie
Feb 2, 2017
I'll kick it off ...

Liked - Snow in Canberra. Hate on it all you want but it's something different and for some reason tickled my funny bone. Saints winning at the death.

Learned - Not much. Bombers are almost gone....

Hated - The fixture. Obviously nothing AFL can do about it but there just wasn't any matches that really grabbed your attention. Hawks still being in touch with the finals. Blow out scores.

Date
Home v Away Teams
Result
Venue
Crowd
Fri 9 Aug 7:50pm​
GWS v Hawthorn​
4.5 29 – 13.7 85​
Canberra Oval​
11741​
Sat 10 Aug 1:45pm​
Melbourne v Collingwood​
7.11 53 – 10.10 70​
MCG​
31903​
Sat 10 Aug 1:40pm​
Port Adelaide v Sydney​
15.13 103 – 7.14 56​
Adelaide Oval​
29568​
Sat 10 Aug 4:35pm​
Brisbane v Gold Coast​
22.12 144 – 8.5 53​
Gabba​
22530​
Sat 10 Aug 7:25pm​
Essendon v Western Bulldogs​
4.9 33 – 21.11 137​
Marvel Stadium​
41816​
Sat 10 Aug 7:25pm​
Geelong v North Melbourne​
9.15 69 – 1.8 14​
GMHBA Stadium​
21664​
Sun 11 Aug 1:10pm​
St Kilda v Fremantle​
10.12 72 – 10.9 69​
Marvel Stadium​
17715​
Sun 11 Aug 3:20pm​
Richmond v Carlton​
11.7 73 – 6.9 45​
MCG​
51039​
Sun 11 Aug 3:20pm​
West Coast v Adelaide​
13.12 90 – 12.8 80​
Optus Stadium​
54994​

Team
Played
Win
Loss
Draw
From Rd 20
1​
Geelong Cats​
20​
15​
5​
0​
60​
134.31%​
0​
2​
Brisbane Lions​
20​
15​
5​
0​
60​
121.85%​
1​
3​
West Coast Eagles​
20​
15​
5​
0​
60​
117.02%​
-1​
4​
Richmond Tigers​
20​
14​
6​
0​
56​
112.77%​
0​
5​
Collingwood Magpies​
20​
13​
7​
0​
52​
113.91%​
1​
6​
GWS Giants​
20​
12​
8​
0​
48​
116.53%​
-1​
7​
Essendon Bombers​
20​
11​
9​
0​
44​
93.77%​
0​
8​
Port Adelaide Power​
20​
10​
10​
0​
40​
108.98%​
1​
9​
Adelaide Crows​
20​
10​
10​
0​
40​
107.54%​
-1​
10​
Western Bulldogs​
20​
10​
10​
0​
40​
102.17%​
0​
11​
Hawthorn Hawks​
20​
9​
11​
0​
36​
102.15%​
1​
12​
Fremantle Dockers​
20​
9​
11​
0​
36​
95.79%​
-1​
13​
St Kilda Saints​
20​
9​
11​
0​
36​
85.29%​
1​
14​
North Melbourne Kangaroos​
20​
8​
12​
0​
32​
94.03%​
-1​
15​
Sydney Swans​
20​
6​
14​
0​
24​
91.59%​
0​
16​
Carlton Blues​
20​
6​
14​
0​
24​
86.07%​
0​
17​
Melbourne Demons​
20​
5​
15​
0​
20​
79.69%​
0​
18​
Gold Coast Suns​
20​
3​
17​
0​
12​
62.81%​
0​

Last edited by a moderator:
Aug 31, 2008
Nuggets
Hated that the Doggies let Essendon kick three cheap goals at the end.

Liked Ratten steering Saints to a nice win at the death. Also liked to see Steven and Hanners make a successful return.

Learned that the difference between Hawthorn's best and worse is huge.

Balls In

May 25, 2018
Liked - the snow game was hilarious
Learned - not a lot but this weekend should tell a tale
Hated - AFL is in trouble with some shockingly poor games again

Sep 13, 2015
Hillary Step
76ers
Liked: the snow, statistical anomalies, the set up for one of the more exciting rounds in recent memory with a 1v2 and a 3v4 clash

Learnt: blues are going somewhere, cats aren’t done yet, 7th and 8th won’t be the pushover most are predicting for week 1 of finals

Hated: a few teams seem to have checked out. Dees in particular were a long shot late in the last quarter on Saturday but completely snuffed their chances by having no desire to win.
A couple of checked out teams being scheduled Friday night this week.

Apr 18, 2005
Liked - Cats staying in touch. WB throwing up a serious finals smoky if they make the 8. Darcy Fogarty. Adelaide have been playing Jenkins over him?

Learnt - Hawks aren’t going away. Hard to make the 8 but still a huge chance. If Adelaide can get within 10 of WC in Perth the Hawks can win.

That Brisbane will be tested the next two weeks. Geelong and Richmond. Let’s see what they’re made of. Win both and they’re a big flag chance.

Worsfold could be gone. Melbourne will trade a big name. Bulldogs can shake it up if they make the 8.

Richmond v WC will could probably be the GF preview.

Hated - Melbourne? I am so used to saying that now it’s getting old.

Liked - being at the snow game, never been so cold in my life, but I'll never forget it
Learnt - next time I go to a night game in Canberra I'm taking heated clothing.
Hated - a few teams not showing any ticker when the going got tough. GWS, North, Essendon.

blckcaviar

Jul 21, 2018
Liked: Blues form solid, Clarko in shorts and a T-shirt in the snow was hilarious.
Learned: Some teams could make top 4 with really dodgy form and then finals for them might be a blow out.
Hated: Bombers, North efforts

Liked: The FOG!!! Showed the competition what most of us (AFC Selection Panel excluded) already knew.
Learned: GWS are the greatest downhill skiers out there. If Manuka Oval had a slope, they might have won on Friday night.
Hated: Slow, mediocre, experienced players keeping exciting, fast, young players out of the starting 22. Looking at YOU AFC!

Jul 28, 2012
Melbourne, the lost City.
QPR, Buffalo Bills
Liked: Wet weather football, was hoping for an old fashioned stormy, rainy, muddy ground at Geelong, didn't quite get that, but it made for more fun anyway!
Retro jumpers...with collars! All they need to do now is make it compulsory for all players to wear their socks Up!

Learnt: Was never big on a 17 Round season, but i have changed my mind. Go to a final 10, scrap the post season BYE and play 7 v 10 and 8 v 9. Have the BYE for the top 6 only. How convenient that Brisbane play Gold Coast twice every year!l Just play each team once, Gil will have a coronary, but it's crazy the way it is. They can increase it to a 19 game season if they bring in Tassie and another team from either WA or SA?

Hated: The score review failure again. Ben Simmons PR fiasco. Are Melbourne tanking? Constable not getting a game?

Apr 18, 2005
Liked - being at the snow game, never been so cold in my life, but I'll never forget it
Learnt - next time I go to a night game in Canberra I'm taking heated clothing.
Hated - a few teams not showing any ticker when the going got tough. GWS, North, Essendon.
How could you not take warm clothes? Check the forecast? Mate, I feel for you!

I did, 2 sets of thermals, gloves, coat, beanie... but next game I'm taking battery operated heated stuff!

gingernuts

binlicker
Apr 25, 2018
the southern end of the minyip swamp
I did, 2 sets of thermals, gloves, coat, beanie... but next game I'm taking battery operated heated stuff!
nah just get those little handwarmer thingys from the chemist , get about 8 for 10 bucks. bout the size of a tea bag, whack em in your hand or wherever, givem a stir up and the little fookers throw out the heat.all time great invention.

Angus Young

Oct 3, 2008
liked the hawks and the saints and fogarty

hated the bullshit free kick to taylor walker in goal square...that s**t will cost someone a game one day.

1achie

Mar 22, 2008
Sturt
Oscar Allen rising star nom over Fogarty was just strange. But I guess it just proves what we all knew already, it's not picked off of 1 game.

Jun 14, 2015
In a house with a sausage dog Trevor
Port Adelaide Power
Liked
Essendon just "copping it". 21 goals straight from a bottom 8 side against a team in the Top 8.
North kicking one goal.
Goodwin still having 90% of the footy world fooled into thinking we're crap. Now he's playing Oscar MacDonald in the forward line and people still think we're "playing to win". One of the all-time great coaching/tanking performances, sadly unappreciated.

Learned
Nothing

Hated
Bulldogs letting Essendon kick a couple. s**t effort.

Generalissimo

His Excellency
Jul 14, 2002
Somewhere
The Mighty Cats
Liked: Our backline putting the clamps on North Melbourne. And that's with our usual full back otherwise occupied.

Learnt: Retro Round has a way of bringing out the St Kilda 1899 in a lot of teams.

Hated: Richmond elbowing blokes in the throat. One rare larynx injury might be a freak occurrence, but two Carlton players suffering this very rare injury in successive years against the same opposition is not a coincidence.