Analysis Lin Jong 2017

Criticize his play all you want, but he chose to stay on in 2017 and has played his heart out for the club every week. ACL is just something he doesn't deserve. Shit news! all the best Jongy hope you recover well for next year.

Correct. Unlike some others, he always turns up.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2017-06-19/jong-fears-confirmed

Jong fears confirmed

520954-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 18: Lin Jong of the Bulldogs comes off the ground injured during the 2017 AFL round 13 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Melbourne Demons at Etihad Stadium on June 18, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)

Western Bulldogs midfielder Lin Jong will miss the remainder of the 2017 season after scans today confirmed a ruptured ACL.

Jong was injured early in the Dogs’ 57-point loss to Melbourne on Sunday afternoon and will undergo a traditional reconstruction in coming days.

“I’m afraid today that scans have confirmed our fear that Lin Jong has ruptured his ACL,” Head Physiotherapist Chris Bell told westernbulldogs.com.au on Tuesday.

“We’re all devastated for Jongy and we’ll put a really strong support network around him.

“He’ll undergo a conventional hamstring tendon reconstruction later this week but we look forward to seeing Jongy back into some football in the early parts of 2018.”

In better news, captain Robert Murphy has resumed training with the group and is a chance to return to action after missing the past fortnight with a hamstring injury.

“Bob Murphy has continued to progress really well through his rehab for his hamstring injury, Bell said.

“He has nearly ticked of his full speed and has resumed some modified training with the group.

“At the moment he’s on track to resume in the next one to two weeks and we’ll work with Bob this week to determine when that is.”

Finally, defender Fletcher Roberts may yet be available for selection after suffering a concussion in the VFL on Saturday night against Casey.

“We’ll put Fletcher through our normal concussion processes this week to determine his availability to play this weekend.”

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2017-06-19/jong-fears-confirmed

Jong fears confirmed

520954-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 18: Lin Jong of the Bulldogs comes off the ground injured during the 2017 AFL round 13 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Melbourne Demons at Etihad Stadium on June 18, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)

Western Bulldogs midfielder Lin Jong will miss the remainder of the 2017 season after scans today confirmed a ruptured ACL.

Jong was injured early in the Dogs’ 57-point loss to Melbourne on Sunday afternoon and will undergo a traditional reconstruction in coming days.

“I’m afraid today that scans have confirmed our fear that Lin Jong has ruptured his ACL,” Head Physiotherapist Chris Bell told westernbulldogs.com.au on Tuesday.

“We’re all devastated for Jongy and we’ll put a really strong support network around him.

“He’ll undergo a conventional hamstring tendon reconstruction later this week but we look forward to seeing Jongy back into some football in the early parts of 2018.”

In better news, captain Robert Murphy has resumed training with the group and is a chance to return to action after missing the past fortnight with a hamstring injury.

“Bob Murphy has continued to progress really well through his rehab for his hamstring injury, Bell said.

“He has nearly ticked of his full speed and has resumed some modified training with the group.

“At the moment he’s on track to resume in the next one to two weeks and we’ll work with Bob this week to determine when that is.”

Finally, defender Fletcher Roberts may yet be available for selection after suffering a concussion in the VFL on Saturday night against Casey.

“We’ll put Fletcher through our normal concussion processes this week to determine his availability to play this weekend.”
Damn :'(

Lin Jong seems incredibly unlucky with injuries. Wish him all the best in his recovery.

When the dust has settled one wonders if Gold Coast would renew their apparent over the odds interest in Lin. Surely Lin knows more than any footy player how fragile a career in footy can be. And that a longish contract on good money can be a beautiful thing when your have year of rehab ahead of you.

Could well be a little to play out come season's end.

Whatever happens, all the best to Lin.

It will be interesting to see how the team performs in Jong's absence.

Lin Jong seems incredibly unlucky with injuries. Wish him all the best in his recovery.

When the dust has settled one wonders if Gold Coast would renew their apparent over the odds interest in Lin. Surely Lin knows more than any footy player how fragile a career in footy can be. And that a longish contract on good money can be a beautiful thing when your have year of rehab ahead of you.

Could well be a little to play out come season's end.

Whatever happens, all the best to Lin.

It will be interesting to see how the team performs in Jong's absence.
Will be one less scapegoat for everyone to blame the losses one, good luck with the extra heat Mr Suckling.

Seeing Jong is sparking discussion, rather than have it possible derail every other thread, perhaps put it here. Hopefully people can post reasonably without alleging any Jong criticism is a racist conspiracy....

Jong is coming back from a knee so I guess we need to give him time but....

I recall a story of Hird practicing his ball handling skills on his knees when recovering from a broken foot. IIRC He did this knowing he was losing weight to protect his foot meaning he was going to play more mid.

Hird was a great ball handler but he practiced hard on his skills in rehab and got better to become elite.

So why couldn't Lin practice ball handling while injured? Fair dinkum it is exceedingly rare for Lin to cleanly pick up a ground ball in one grab. His left handed handballing is so bad that he can miss Tim English from five metres. His decision making when handballing under pressure remains, handball it - fast - to the bloke next to him.

So I don't accept that Lin's knee injury stopped him working on his handballing and ball handling skills. Not at all. So the injury is no excuse for what he is continuing to serve up IMO.

Yes Lins set shot kicking is appalling. In fact whenever he has time to think about kicking ie after a mark be it field kicking or set shots, more often than not Lin will only manage a fifty fifty at best. His kicking on the run or in general play isnt terrible. But I can cop the shit kicking after the knee (yes it was bad pre knee but trying to be fair).

Can even cop hesitancy at the contest after a knee (which he never shows - much respect).

But I cannot accept Jong's fumbling and poor hands. His fumbling and poor handball decision-making and execution kills our forward momentum every week.

I dont think he will get better in this regard. So sbould he play as much as he does? Should he remain on our list?

For me Lin is canon fodder, a soldier to be sacrificed to protect our more talented youngsters. He is brave and will do the tough things often to his own personal cost as he has suffered a few impact injuries.

Until we get some mature bodies back Lin is fulfilling a role. But when and if these mature bodies are recruited or come back from injury Jong is first dropped after Honeychurch IMO. In the meantime, sadly that means team performance will suffer as Jong continues to fumble his lines, be it handballing and picking the ground ball up cleanly or even catching a quick handball or his set shots up fwd.

Seeing Jong is sparking discussion, rather than have it possible derail every other thread, perhaps put it here. Hopefully people can post reasonably without alleging any Jong criticism is a racist conspiracy....

Jong is coming back from a knee so I guess we need to give him time but....

I recall a story of Hird practicing his ball handling skills on his knees when recovering from a broken foot. IIRC He did this knowing he was losing weight to protect his foot meaning he was going to play more mid.

Hird was a great ball handler but he practiced hard on his skills in rehab and got better to become elite.

So why couldn't Lin practice ball handling while injured? Fair dinkum it is exceedingly rare for Lin to cleanly pick up a ground ball in one grab. His left handed handballing is so bad that he can miss Tim English from five metres. His decision making when handballing under pressure remains, handball it - fast - to the bloke next to him.

So I don't accept that Lin's knee injury stopped him working on his handballing and ball handling skills. Not at all. So the injury is no excuse for what he is continuing to serve up IMO.

Yes Lins set shot kicking is appalling. In fact whenever he has time to think about kicking ie after a mark be it field kicking or set shots, more often than not Lin will only manage a fifty fifty at best. His kicking on the run or in general play isnt terrible. But I can cop the shit kicking after the knee (yes it was bad pre knee but trying to be fair).

Can even cop hesitancy at the contest after a knee (which he never shows - much respect).

But I cannot accept Jong's fumbling and poor hands. His fumbling and poor handball decision-making and execution kills our forward momentum every week.

I dont think he will get better in this regard. So sbould he play as much as he does? Should he remain on our list?

For me Lin is canon fodder, a soldier to be sacrificed to protect our more talented youngsters. He is brave and will do the tough things often to his own personal cost as he has suffered a few impact injuries.

Until we get some mature bodies back Lin is fulfilling a role. But when and if these mature bodies are recruited or come back from injury Jong is first dropped after Honeychurch IMO. In the meantime, sadly that means team performance will suffer as Jong continues to fumble his lines, be it handballing and picking the ground ball up cleanly or even catching a quick handball or his set shots up fwd.
I notice that his hand balling/skills generally get worse as the game goes on, especially if we've been doing a lot of defending. Yesterday he was pretty solid for the first 2 1/2 nearing 3/4s and then it went south a bit, especially a period in the 4th where he had a run in quick succession ( he got a pretty big knock I think amidst that as well as numerous other big hits including a wicked falcon early). My point being that I think fatigue plays a big part in his skill errors. There was reference to him building his tank on that acl recovery video as it affects his concentration and skill and everyone is aware of it.

Possibly, as the season progresses, his tank might build back up to a level where that mitigates things. There are quite a few other factors that will affect his fatigue levels. One of which is our poor conversion when we have shots on goal (Jongy shares some responsibility for that also). Rather than running back to the centre bounce for a 30 sec breather we're/he's chasing oppo kick ins etc and we have to defend way more than we should (not the only one and I think you also see that reflected in the pressure act stats with the younger players yet build their tanks - defending is exhausting).

Another thing that impacts on his energy levels will be his opponents. Fyfe and Cripps for example are big strong blokes - quite a bit bigger than Jongy - and in Fyfes case quick as well. That has to take a physical toll on Jongy and wear him down over the course of a game. But he's up for it and better at it than most others ( I'm certain that Honey and Webb were dropped because they offered no effective resistance at stoppages). At this stage he might only be effective for 3/4 of a game when he has these assignments. Game time seems to be being managed to a degree. 71% yesterday which was up from 65% (I think) against Freo.

Hard to know how it pans out for Jongy long term but given he has the capacity to curb big and dangerous players and relieve/free up our dangerous players he probably has a role and a place. As long as big fast players like Danger, Fyfe and Martin exist we have to have an answer for them for periods of the game to give our stars a break. At the moment it's Jongy as no-one else is putting their hand up.

I notice that his hand balling/skills generally get worse as the game goes on, especially if we've been doing a lot of defending. Yesterday he was pretty solid for the first 2 1/2 nearing 3/4s and then it went south a bit, especially a period in the 4th where he had a run in quick succession ( he got a pretty big knock I think amidst that as well as numerous other big hits including a wicked falcon early). My point being that I think fatigue plays a big part in his skill errors. There was reference to him building his tank on that acl recovery video as it affects his concentration and skill and everyone is aware of it.

Possibly, as the season progresses, his tank might build back up to a level where that mitigates things. There are quite a few other factors that will affect his fatigue levels. One of which is our poor conversion when we have shots on goal (Jongy shares some responsibility for that also). Rather than running back to the centre bounce for a 30 sec breather we're/he's chasing oppo kick ins etc and we have to defend way more than we should (not the only one and I think you also see that reflected in the pressure act stats with the younger players yet build their tanks - defending is exhausting).

Another thing that impacts on his energy levels will be his opponents. Fyfe and Cripps for example are big strong blokes - quite a bit bigger than Jongy - and in Fyfes case quick as well. That has to take a physical toll on Jongy and wear him down over the course of a game. But he's up for it and better at it than most others ( I'm certain that Honey and Webb were dropped because they offered no effective resistance at stoppages). At this stage he might only be effective for 3/4 of a game when he has these assignments. Game time seems to be being managed to a degree. 71% yesterday which was up from 65% (I think) against Freo.

Hard to know how it pans out for Jongy long term but given he has the capacity to curb big and dangerous players and relieve/free up our dangerous players he probably has a role and a place. As long as big fast players like Danger, Fyfe and Martin exist we have to have an answer for them for periods of the game to give our stars a break. At the moment it's Jongy as no-one else is putting their hand up.

Some good points re handballing and fatigue.

His fumbling though is just constant 1st qtr or last imo.

Biggish body and has a crack so Im not seeing him going anywhere at present.

Some good points re handballing and fatigue.

His fumbling though is just constant 1st qtr or last imo.

Biggish body and has a crack so Im not seeing him going anywhere at present.
Yesterday I noticed a lot fumbling across the board, and from players you wouldn't normally associate with it. Also a lot of players were losing their feet. Wondering about the surface yesterday.

He tries hard, he tries hard. I hear it, but I’m over the cons. He makes poor decisions, his kicking is no good, his handballs are no good. The only asset he has is his marking. But I’ve seen enough. We have to drop him for a good stint. I’d rather a local footballer right now, and I’m serious. Play Callam Porter or Fergus Greene, anyone else.

But it's actually a bit more than he tries hard. There are a number of teams now with big, quick and damaging midfielders that need to be curbed for periods if they are not to rip us a new one. It's an important role. Jongy is the most capable of doing it. Technically good in that role and committed to doing it, more so than any other player IMO. Where there is a need for someone like that he is almost a certain starter. In an opposition team that is devoid of those damaging mids then perhaps there is less need but increasingly they are there and need to be contained (at least partially and for periods of time otherwise you exhaust and limit your own damaging players influence and scoring impact). It's clearly a trade off but one the coaches can live with.

That's leaving aside his ability to take a mark and contest a mark/split a contest to bring others into the game up forward. 50/50 with set shots but even that's better than half the team. His tackles generally stick and often causes a spill for us to feed off.

No doubt his skills are at the lower end and his errors have cost momentum on occasion or stopped a score. Many, many of our players are as guilty of this as Jongy this season but they have their strengths too. Jongy does far more than just try hard.

But it's actually a bit more than he tries hard. There are a number of teams now with big, quick and damaging midfielders that need to be curbed for periods if they are not to rip us a new one. It's an important role. Jongy is the most capable of doing it. Technically good in that role and committed to doing it, more so than any other player IMO. Where there is a need for someone like that he is almost a certain starter. In an opposition team that is devoid of those damaging mids then perhaps there is less need but increasingly they are there and need to be contained (at least partially and for periods of time otherwise you exhaust and limit your own damaging players influence and scoring impact). It's clearly a trade off but one the coaches can live with.

That's leaving aside his ability to take a mark and contest a mark/split a contest to bring others into the game up forward. 50/50 with set shots but even that's better than half the team. His tackles generally stick and often causes a spill for us to feed off.

No doubt his skills are at the lower end and his errors have cost momentum on occasion or stopped a score. Many, many of our players are as guilty of this as Jongy this season but they have their strengths too. Jongy does far more than just try hard.
Like his game on Fyfe last week? He got murdered, even last night, Cripps did what he liked. He’s not upto it mate.

Fyfe murdered our entire team last week. Jong didn't play big minutes on Fyfe last week but Freo were awake to it when he did. If you review it carefully enough you'll notice that Freo put a bit of time into specifically blocking/stopping Jong from getting to him and the personnel that we had in there lacked the strength, positioning and awareness to do much about it. Again if you review, you'll notice that our stoppage set ups were so disorganised and the personnel in there so small that Fyfe just ran riot.

As for Cripps, he did far from what he liked once they made the decision to put Jongy on him for longer periods. I'm not sure how Cripps dropping from 10 1st qtr possessions down to 3 in the 2nd qtr doesn't illustrate that.

Anyway, you're entitled to your view. We see it differently.

with so many smaller type players jong's size is imperative.He is just lacking confidence after a knee injury.Redpath,Smith and Wally were the same.Takes time.

Agree with this. The impact of the falcon where he nearly had a head-football transplant shouldn’t be underestimated, nor should the fact he’s coming back from a knee reco (or even the nasty whack on the eye he had which has added to his bad luck).

He makes mistakes but so have lots of players this year. He’s not in our best either but add that the coach seems to like him and no one really pushing him out of the side it’s not hard to see why he gets a game.

tbh he shouldnt be in the team beyond this year.
ive seen enough of this guy to know he wont get any better. he is a VFL player

if we can get something decent from trading ill be for it. he isnt going to be apart of our next finals side