Lions outrate Broncho's

Dec 4, 2000
The Bay
NO Saints LUFC
The Lions outrated the Drongo's last Saturday.
This is because AFL is obviously a better sport than RL, and the Drongo's have had their day.
Good on you QLD, showing the poor old Sydneysiders the way again.

And while on Sydney. Great crowd at the Worryers v Guppy game at Staduim Cant See. What was it 45,000, with at least 15,000 being paying customers.
What a joke, having to give away thousands upon thousands of tickets to the second most important game of the year.

Just a comparasion. The Collingwood v Adelaide game (ie only one local team) drew a crowd well in excess of 80,000. ALL WERE PAYING CUSTOMERS.

The long slow painful demise of the once great and proud game of RL continues.

And what a joke. The Worryers v the Chooks.
Neither side could hold a candle to the great Bulldogs, easily the best side in the League.
But the stupid League kicked them out. What a farce and a joke this so called competition has become.
Two inferior sides to the real champion team.

HOLLOW VICTORY ON SUNDAY!!!!

firstly, exactly how was the league outrated... was it outrated in melbourne? sydney? australia wide or what? i did hear something on the radio that more people watched the AFL than the league but wasnt sure if that was a national thing.

secondly, about the hollow victory, i dont think there would be any sweeter feeling than
a) having just won the grand final, and
b) knowing that the cheating dogs got what they deserved

i mean, i might as well come in (if i had the money) and buy every single international superstar and get them to play for the cowboys. of couse the cowboys would be expelled, but do you think that it would also be hollow for the other teams? of course not, they would be cheating dogs, and getting stripped of their points is really just a light punishment. souths had to endure far worse than the dogs due to their corruption and cheating ways.

another point... and another disgrace... scott macdougall was found guilty of avoiding a drug test and will be suspended until march 28th (or some date like that) so in other words... he's not allowed to play during the off season

Re: Lions outrate Broncho's (according to afl propaganda)!!

Originally posted by Joffaboy
The Lions outrated the Drongo's last Saturday.
This is because AFL is obviously a better sport than RL, and the Drongo's have had their day.
Good on you QLD, showing the poor old Sydneysiders the way again.

And while on Sydney. Great crowd at the Worryers v Guppy game at Staduim Cant See. What was it 45,000, with at least 15,000 being paying customers.
What a joke, having to give away thousands upon thousands of tickets to the second most important game of the year.

Just a comparasion. The Collingwood v Adelaide game (ie only one local team) drew a crowd well in excess of 80,000. ALL WERE PAYING CUSTOMERS.

The long slow painful demise of the once great and proud game of RL continues.

And what a joke. The Worryers v the Chooks.
Neither side could hold a candle to the great Bulldogs, easily the best side in the League.
But the stupid League kicked them out. What a farce and a joke this so called competition has become.
Two inferior sides to the real champion team.

HOLLOW VICTORY ON SUNDAY!!!!

Joffa Boy

I had this wonderful long reply to you ready to post, but lost it
:rolleyes: (This has happened to me a couple of times....so I can't really be bothered doing a long one again)

To summarise:
Your post is a lot of codswallop:p :D
Now that the afl has finished you are looking for a bit of fun with us, hey;)

I think you will find that the Broncos game was in delay anyway....so everyone knew the result.

Leigh Matthews himself said, prior to GrandFinal Day, that the Broncos outrate the Lions 4 to 1 during the year .......He actually thanked the Broncos and Q'ld Reds teams for their *goodluck telegrams and messages*.....how refreshing is that?
Now do you think Victorians would do that.......well may be some thankfully;)

I actually thought the promotional purchase of 10,000 tickets for Kiwi fans was a fantastic idea.....and the tickets were paid for, unlike the 15,000 freebies that went to Sydney people for the games that were played at Stadium Aust:cool:

Good to see you are keeping up with the rugby league world.....and enjoy Sunday Night.......you are welcome to come and watch the game at Crown with all Storm and League supporters, if you like.....bet you there will be some Doggies there;)

Cheers

great work Joffa, a true scholar you are

Lets not forget the 80,000 that will be at the ground this weekend, million of viewers in MORE than one country ;) and the fact that it will be the biggest sporting event of the year in the biggest state in Australia.

Did you watch the 2 semi finals mate?? They drew 74,000 combined. Not bad for league eh?

But anyways, the rest of the post is a yawn. Id also dispute that the AFL outdrew it, i believe the AFL had a higher peak audience, but not overall

The figures should have been 398K for the RL game & 375K for the AFL game.The figures are for SE Queensland only

Moffo

Glad i woke you all up:D :D

Just speaking about the Lions v Drongo's in Brisbane, thats all!!!

Still reckon RL is up the .... when it has to give away thousands upon thousands of tickets to a PRELIMINARY FINAL!!!!!1

Sorry Ms Storm can't make it to Crown, but I will watch the game on TV if the Elvis movie on Channel 7 finishes in time:D :D :D

Whoever wins Worryers or Chooks, they will know that they are not the real premiers and their team is a proxy winner, becaue neither side can hold a candle to the Dogs.

HOLLOW HOLLOW HOLLOW!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by MoffOnTou

Lets not forget the 80,000 that will be at the ground this weekend

How many are freebies? 40,000? 50,000?

million of viewers in MORE than one country

Funny how the AFL was telecast in many countries worldwide. Who will watch the RL, about 3 Kiwi's, two Pommys from the north, and a couple of PNG highlanders?

and the fact that it will be the biggest sporting event of the year
Except for
The AFL grand Final
The F1 GP
The Melbourne Cup
The Australian Tennis Open

but hey dont let facts get in the way of your delusions

in the biggest state in Australia.

Yeah I suppose SA and WA dont count do they? Then again we are talking about someone from Sydney who thinks the universe revolves around the crime ridden slum.

Well done fella, great effort.

Lets not forget the 80,000 that will be at the ground this weekend

How many are freebies? 40,000? 50,000?

million of viewers in MORE than one country

Funny how the AFL was telecast in many countries worldwide. Who will watch the RL, about 3 Kiwi's, two Pommys from the north, and a couple of PNG highlanders?

and the fact that it will be the biggest sporting event of the year
Except for
The AFL grand Final
The F1 GP
The Melbourne Cup
The Australian Tennis Open

but hey dont let facts get in the way of your delusions

in the biggest state in Australia.

Yeah I suppose SA and WA dont count do they? Then again we are talking about someone from Sydney who thinks the universe revolves around the crime ridden slum.

Well done fella, great effort.

Who will watch the RL in New Zealand?503,000 watched the prelim live, another 927,000 watched it on two hour delay which equals 1.4 million. Not a bad television audience I would have thought.

What Freebies? Every single ticket was brought and paid for.

joffa my friend, at least try and quote me accurately. I said the biggest event in the biggest state of Australia for the year.

There were no Freebies. Dont u comprehend the english language?? Vodafone BOUGHT 10,000 tickets and distributed them to NZ warriors fans. They were ALL paid for.

Yeh, the AFL final went to 130 countries. Great, thats wonderful. But AFL is played in one country, apart from the ex-pat comps that are played in countries such as England. How many Swedes do u think would've got up to enjoy the splendour that is AFL??? lol

All tickets for the GF were sold. Goosing yourself again

NSW is the biggest state in Australia in terms of population. You know thats what i meant. You really need to think before you write. WA and SA, yeh, they are bigger in terms of size, but thats all. Wow, u can twist my words around, aren't u a genius.

I tire of arguing with your 1/2 truths and misquotings. Come back when you can hold a conversation...cheers

Moffo

JoffaBoy

Glad i woke you all up:D :D

Just speaking about the Lions v Drongo's in Brisbane, thats all!!!

Still reckon RL is up the .... when it has to give away thousands upon thousands of tickets to a PRELIMINARY FINAL!!!!!1

Sorry Ms Storm can't make it to Crown, but I will watch the game on TV if the Elvis movie on Channel 7 finishes in time:D :D :D

Whoever wins Worryers or Chooks, they will know that they are not the real premiers and their team is a proxy winner, becaue neither side can hold a candle to the Dogs.

HOLLOW HOLLOW HOLLOW!!!!!!!!

Good to see you in good spirits...:D

What's this about an Elvis Movie....:rolleyes: How can you watch that 2000th repeat:p and not have a squizz at rugby league.? But I bet you do, and you will enjoy it heaps:)
Its a shame you cannot make it to the Crown Casino with your wife too (if she likes) because we'll be getting the pre-match entertainment (geez why can't Ch.9 show that here in Melb. too....it truly amazes me!)...anyway....you are welcome, but it may be too late because I think its a sellout now.

Re your Doggies....next year....definately:D

MOff

great work Joffa, a true scholar you are

Lets not forget the 80,000 that will be at the ground this weekend, million of viewers in MORE than one country ;) and the fact that it will be the biggest sporting event of the year in the biggest state in Australia.

Did you watch the 2 semi finals mate?? They drew 74,000 combined. Not bad for league eh?

But anyways, the rest of the post is a yawn. Id also dispute that the AFL outdrew it, i believe the AFL had a higher peak audience, but not overall

The figures should have been 398K for the RL game & 375K for the AFL game.The figures are for SE Queensland only

Moffo

Thanks for all that info...I now have some ammunition for the afl board;) ...I've been waiting for some info on that.

One thing Moff, the afl is a real *good propoganda machine*.
Here in Melb. (very much like last year) the press and media (and the Lions camp....players too) are wallowing in the Lions victory and how afl has taken over the town and that it outrated the Broncos game, blah, blah blay.

I am sure I saw Leigh Matthews on the news during their parade in Brisbane, saying to all the Brisbane media that he now officially declares Q'ld. an afl town.......knowing full well, many Lions supporters also follow rugby league, and even more are ex-pat Victorians.:p

ms storm, when you are writing a long post, cut and past it to word every now and then.. i know how frustrating it can be.. i sometimes write long and involved emails only to have the computer stall, and i just couldnt be bothered to write a decent one second time round ;)

i know that all of those tickets were paid for in the prelim final, but i have to admit it is a worry that the people will only go to the match when they dont have to pay to get in. its a bit of a superficial crowd if a major company pays for the tickets and then gives them all away... i wonder how many kiwi fans in australia are actually passionate enough that they would go to a game if they had to pay for it themselves?

Nicho

Thanks for the cut and paste hint.....I am still fairly new to computers and learning all the time....will give it a go, because I have lost a few posts which I considered were pretty good and you do get frustrated on losing them, ending up with a poorer 2nd effort.

Back to those tickets....

One could well argue both ways.
I feel in the long run, it was a winning move.

a. introduced new kiwi fans to the game... with some surely becoming long term supporters

b. good to see the sponsors doing something for the fans...many would probably not have been able to afford a ticket and I am sure many of those fans will never forget the gesture shown by Vodafone

c. putting rugby league on the map in NZ

d. got everyone around Aust. and NZ talking about rugby league.

I guess, we will all have to wait and see the spin offs......but as usual, I feel it was a positive move.

It' interesting stuff . Statistics do lie .The only facts out there are that the NRL relies heavily on ratings whilest the AFL relies heavily on crowds through the turnstiles .And who really cares ?
I think there should be more co-operation between the sports .I think the contact sports should work together to form solid partnerships so that we don't all end watching soccer in prime time .
By the way how are we do internationally ? I know the AFL has made some big strides in North Amereica and Europe .
We don't get any news here in the West let alone international rugby league .

Re: Nicho

Originally posted by Ms.Storm

Back to those tickets....

One could well argue both ways.
I feel in the long run, it was a winning move.

a. introduced new kiwi fans to the game... with some surely becoming long term supporters

Personally I don't think it introduced any new fans to the game as such. As a gross simplification it has always been a part of New Zealand culture to watch Rugby League, but support Rugby Union.

b. good to see the sponsors doing something for the fans...many would probably not have been able to afford a ticket and I am sure many of those fans will never forget the gesture shown by Vodafone

c. putting rugby league on the map in NZ

The game has been played in New Zealand since 1908, got 45,000 to a New Zealand/Australia test at Eden Park in the 80s, has a team in the NRL, and even has the Bulldogs play 'home' games in New Zealand to get larger crowds.

Mind you Union has had a free ride since the SuperLeague war, Warriors making the Grand Final is the first good piece of news the code has had since then, and it certainly needed it.

I have no doubt that if the Sharks/Warriors prelim was played at Eden Park the game would have been a sell out.

d. got everyone around Aust. and NZ talking about rugby league.

Can't speak for Australia, but it certainly has in New Zealand.

I guess, we will all have to wait and see the spin offs......but as usual, I feel it was a positive move.

Nothing against the 'free' tickets but it was a bit embarrasing hearing that after the free tickets 'sold out' Kiwis continued to queue hoping for more to be released. At some point even the cheapest bastard should stump up with their own money.

Lions outrate Broncho's