2nds Lions Reserves 2011

And, TBD, your big-mouthed Morningside mate grey mo was at it again. Provocatively stationed himself right next to our box. Tom Collier has joined Jim Hawksley in his whipping boy stable. The QAFL's own one-man peanut gallery. :eek:

Good to see acuguy is still getting out to Esplen Oval. ;)

While on the topic- who the hell is this Bonney [?] bloke who seems to have carte blanche to go around kicking people off the ball. Is this what the game is all about? How many umpires do we need?

Pretty sure he's either the son or grandson of John Bonney. Good Tasmanian stock, T4e. ;)

Drove home to me watching the seconds go through their paces on Sunday just how destructive the set-up over recent seasons has been for the development of our players.

Stood out like dog's whatsits that they were finally playing as a team, with team disciplines and set plays and trust in each other.

The Western Magpies arrangement is a winner already for mine. Looking forward to a far more fruitful season of ressies watching. :thumbsu:

Oh yeah, Patty Karnezis off the back flank. :thumbsu:

Great to hear MR but FFS we need a small/medium forward not another HBFer. I would have thought with Golby, Sheldon, Hawksley, Collier, Dyson and even Austin we are pretty decently covered for HBFers without needing to convert one of our few true forwards to that role.

Good to see acuguy is still getting out to Esplen Oval. ;)

Good try TBD, not me but i reckon i know who it is.

Nothing like tough suburban footy. Can't wait to get down this year to see a bit more local footy. As the son gets older it is now a viable option. Footy doesn't get any better than being close enough to hear the crashing of bodies, the cheers and jeers of supporters. Oh the memories, if only I was ten years younger!:D

Tomorrow's selected team:

B: S Sheldon J Hawksley C Mitchell-Hill
HB: M Golby N McKeever P Karnezis
C: B Harvey J Green M Austin
HF: R Newell B Retzlaff J Dyson
F: M Green T Collier M Dillon
R: B McCauley R Harwood A Kitching
IC: S Clarke D Barry J Parkes T Colburn J Fox A Cornelius L Woods-Hon A Dickfos

Looks like A-Corn's off to Melb. Good to see Swoop Don B back from injury.

An interesting spine!

Will you be enjoying watching the “dogs whats its” again this weekend MrR?

Has a good look to it this seconds team – who would be the ‘go to man’ out of the back-line, still Golby? Would love to hear news of Collier doing well up forward again – and Josh Green and Harwood hopefully rip it up in the middle

Oath, Fred!

Will be keeping a very close eye on Telly Karnezis and his run off half back. Haven't really noticed how he goes defensively, but geez, he can link up, break lines and deposit it to advantage in the forward line.

Green and Harwood combine beautifully at stoppages, and may actually get a chance to have a few "first uses" this week with a genuine ruck there.

And SOKS. Has really grown a pair over the off-season. Is going superbly and would be a walk-up for the ones if he could get his disposal happening.

I'm also hoping they'll give TC a full game forward of centre - just to see what he can do. He's always impressed me on the rare occasions he's played in the front half. Seems to know what he's doing and has more confidence in himself. Anyone know if he grew up as a forward? Quigs? Irel?

I've been impressed with him so far. He just looks like a neat player that does whatever it is he has to do quite competently. Not sure of his actual ball-finding ability as yet.

He's been used off the bench more so than the other listeds. Could be a bit behind the eight ball fitness-wise?

Oath, Fred!

I'm also hoping they'll give TC a full game forward of centre - just to see what he can do. He's always impressed me on the rare occasions he's played in the front half. Seems to know what he's doing and has more confidence in himself. Anyone know if he grew up as a forward? Quigs? Irel?

TC in his Tasmanian days impressed as an attacking forward. Marking and running, endurance and line breaking runs on the wing were his traits. His versatility was what got him noticed and drafted and early comparisons in terms of likeness were made with Godard. However, I can't remember him as a go to FF.

Cheers for the info MR.

IIRC he played mostly onball in the juniors when I watched him or behind the ball. His big feature was his line breaking ability and he could run and shoot from the 50 if he got the chance.

Finally got some photers up from last weegend. More 'ere.

Our two Tassie ginger ninjas in synch.
5600272388_d14961cf89.jpg

Niall did a fantastic job containing Panther danger man Kent Abey.
5600271940_8884e09f7a.jpg

Brad Harvey scoots after the agate.
5599689487_a5443d6f82.jpg

Pat Karnezis under the hammer courtesy of Spacky.
5599687935_5bbc01c453.jpg

Top-up Conrad Hudghton (yes, he is, to save you from asking) outmarks Austin Lucy.
5600269480_91f458492a.jpg

A-Corn's had just about enough of this reserves lark.
5600268986_9bd86632fa.jpg

Retzy had the hands working again in the first half.
5600268852_3aca47d825.jpg

Josh Dyson more interested in Mr Ripper than Mr, Clarke.
5599686647_819b9b0456.jpg

Tom Collier goes for a trademark dash, this time avoiding the tackler - just!
5599686229_3750e4d8f6.jpg

Mitch Golby mopped up across half back all day and won best-on plaudits from the coach.
5599685641_6a3319eaa2.jpg

Crikey Mr R, you've outdone yourself there!

Blow me down if that shot of Dyson isn't one scorcher of a photo - awesome work. :thumbsu:

2nds Lions Reserves 2011