Prediction Lions v Dogs Gabba 7.35 pm Saturday 7th March

I got told by a mate when I first came to Brisbane to park near the pineapple hotel….prick set me up I reckon. Those signs that say Gabba Traffic Area I assumed to mean Traffic for the Gabba can park there. How wrong I was. Fought the council for 10 months before I had to pay the fine. They pretty much block off everywhere within a bulls roar of the ground
For a pro tip I managed to park at the Kangaroo Point Uniting Church for the last gabba game I attended in 2025, cost me $25 but the location is awesome, it's one street back from Vulture Street. It's basically behind the German Club, about 200m walk from Gate 4. They have a guy sitting at the gate that you can pay, and probably holds 50 or so cars I'd say. They don't advertise it.

It's on Linton St, but the carpark entry is on Princess St.

For a pro tip I managed to park at the Kangaroo Point Uniting Church for the last gabba game I attended in 2025, cost me $25 but the location is awesome, it's one street back from Vulture Street. It's basically behind the German Club, about 200m walk from Gate 4. They have a guy sitting at the gate that you can pay, and probably holds 50 or so cars I'd say. They don't advertise it.

It's on Linton St, but the carpark entry is on Princess St.
Mission Whitten Oval for me and those lucky enough to snag Tiks

Go Dogs

Happy with the team. Absolutely no reasons to melt. That probably means we get smashed.

Carrying Hynes, Jacques, Sellwood is a bit of a risk but be good to see them get some games and exposed form.

And let’s just stick with AJ as our preferred pressure forward as long as he’s healthy.

Well we finally see a side with no VDM or McNeil in the forward line.

We’ll see whether Hynes and Jones (who are undoubtedly more skilled) make us better.

Quite a few inexperienced players but it’s a pretty good line up. Good to see Crofty, Hynes and Davidson all in for round one backing up their debuts.

Ok. Trying to get my head around the changes from last season??

No VDM, McNeil is a good start.

Happy Davidson got a gig

Happy with the team. Absolutely no reasons to melt. That probably means we get smashed.

Carrying Hynes, Jacques, Sellwood is a bit of a risk but be good to see them get some games and exposed form.

And let’s just stick with AJ as our preferred pressure forward as long as he’s healthy.
I think it’s a well balanced team.

And I’m also acutely aware that every time this board says that we implode.

Strong team, hopefully Dale and Darcy are very close to 100%, but can't ask for much more.

Interesting to see Lewis as an emergency, not that it's always an indicator of next up, but didn't expect that.

1772695756108.webp

A strong team. Definitely something to get excited about, hopefully all the 'tests' are right to go

Pretty much full strength. Weightman walks back into the team and is still sorely missed. Treloar and Sanders are the other two who are very good but don't think their returns are as seamless

Gallagher as emergency a surprise. He looked so far off it last year and in the practice game against the Swans

If that forward line clicks, it's going to be a fun season. Think the backs are going to have to hope we keep it up there as much as possible . We're not going to die wondering . Again.

I think it’s a well balanced team.

And I’m also acutely aware that every time this board says that we implode.
I know we have spent years trying to avoid having VDM and McNeil as first choice forwards but for the purpose of never being happy no matter what….I think our forward line looks a bit tall 🤣

I would like another pure pressure forward. I'm confident in what Jones and West will bring, would be nice to have someone else. Maybe Luke Kennedy is someone who can push for that position this year. I'm also confident in what Weightman will bring pressure wise if and when he returns

I hope the footy gods are listening when I say I’ve never seen such a balanced Brisbane Lions team.

I'm still not convinced Dale plays even if he is named.
Expecting a late Gags call up

May be Kennedy as he seems to be the travelling emergency and not listed in the VFL team? Although could easily just withdraw Gags and play him if Dale does miss, which I would prefer as a already a few first gamers in.

I think L.Kennedy is travelling up with the team.

We have a great looking team on paper. Less plodders and more bite. Hynes looks like he’ll really start to establish himself this year. Definitely stronger without Poulter and VDM.