Opinion List Breakdown

There's how we'd like it to happen and then there's how it will probably pan out. For me we have 26 blokes looking at a round one start.

B: D. Grimes, T. Chaplin, S. Morris
HB: J. Batchelor, A. Rance, B. Houli
C: B. Ellis, T. Cotchin, S. Grigg
HF: C. Newman, T. Vickery, B. Deledio
F: S. Edwards, J. Riewoldt, D. Martin
Foll: I. Maric, S. Tuck, N. Foley
Int (from): R. Conca, R. Nahas, D. Jackson, A. Edwards, B. Griffiths, N. Vlastuin, J. King & C. Knights.

27-33: M. Dea, B. O'Hanlon, R. Petterd, S. Lonergan, B. Helbig, D. Astbury & O. Stephenson.

34-37 : M. White, L. McGuane, T. Derickx & T. Elton.

The unknowns: M. Arnot, K. McIntosh, L. McBean, M. McDonough, B. Darrou, S. Verrier, C. Williams & G. Simon.

Like the look of this team, could probably push Elton up a bit looking at how much size he's put on in pre season, he looks pretty good in vids and photos i've seen.
Really like newman on a HFF and how many we have in that forward line that can slot them from outside 50. I reckon thats something you can catch other teams out with sometimes.

There's how we'd like it to happen and then there's how it will probably pan out. For me we have 26 blokes looking at a round one start.

B: D. Grimes, T. Chaplin, S. Morris
HB: J. Batchelor, A. Rance, B. Houli
C: B. Ellis, T. Cotchin, S. Grigg
HF: C. Newman, T. Vickery, B. Deledio
F: S. Edwards, J. Riewoldt, D. Martin
Foll: I. Maric, S. Tuck, N. Foley
Int (from): R. Conca, R. Nahas, D. Jackson, A. Edwards, B. Griffiths, N. Vlastuin, J. King & C. Knights.

27-33: M. Dea, B. O'Hanlon, R. Petterd, S. Lonergan, B. Helbig, D. Astbury & O. Stephenson.

34-37 : M. White, L. McGuane, T. Derickx & T. Elton.

The unknowns: M. Arnot, K. McIntosh, L. McBean, M. McDonough, B. Darrou, S. Verrier, C. Williams & G. Simon.
Bang on dbf! This would be my team I'd reckon..

realise how silly this statment is ?
If you disagree by all means go for it and back it up with your thoughts, but don't quote a long well constructed post with a silly one line response like that.

Like the look of this team, could probably push Elton up a bit looking at how much size he's put on in pre season, he looks pretty good in vids and photos i've seen.
Really like newman on a HFF and how many we have in that forward line that can slot them from outside 50. I reckon thats something you can catch other teams out with sometimes.
Fair call on Elton, purely going off him only having played one game. Re: the bulking comment, good to hear, but like many around here, take most of those comments with a grain of salt. How many pre-seasons was Titch killing it in? Dusty? However, I certainly hope he comes on, him and Benny G were steals.

Great summary MR.

At face value it does look pretty dire for outside mids but if you're talking mids capable of playing outside we'd have this list:

Deledio
Grigg
Ellis
White
Cotchin
Martin
Conca
Houli
Newman
McIntosh (eventually)

Many of those are better suited to other positions but are more than capable of playing outside roles as well. Not as dire as all IMO

yes i think we have alot of hybrids.

If you have something to dispute, then by all means, say it. However, if all you're going to contribute is a meaningless statement like that, then it's best that you don't post at all.
righto didnt highlight what i meant your post last paragraph said we will pick up a gun outside mid with our 1st pick and so wont get a chance at the talent available ffs we gain a gun outside mid and still have the rest of our picks so the statement we dont gat a crack at the pool is SILLY

do tell. tyson is an inside mid isnt he?
I was waiting for someone to pick that up. I was quite surprised how long it took. Yes, Tyson is an inside midfielder.

righto didnt highlight what i meant your post last paragraph said we will pick up a gun outside mid with our 1st pick and so wont get a chance at the talent available ffs we gain a gun outside mid and still have the rest of our picks so the statement we dont gat a crack at the pool is SILLY
I implied that we'd be trading our 1st round pick, so we wouldn't have a crack at the quality described in the post that I quoted. All clubs must take a minimum of three picks in the ND, so we have to take players anyway.

I haven't actually seen how elton is looking, anyone got a link to a pic or video? thanks.

who do we think gets first crack at the 3rd tall forward role? Astbury, Mcguane, Elton?
Astbury for me.

I was waiting for someone to pick that up. I was quite surprised how long it took. Yes, Tyson is an inside midfielder.

I implied that we'd be trading our 1st round pick, so we wouldn't have a crack at the quality described in the post that I quoted. All clubs must take a minimum of three picks in the ND, so we have to take players anyway.

alright give us a clue mate.

I can't say too much at the moment, because it's still in early stages.

Please don't ask any more questions, but there is a gun outside midfielder who is from a non-Victorian club who we will be targeting in the off-season. This player will force us to use our 1st round pick minimum.
I'm going to set up a thread on the 8-interstate clubs boards "Your Gun Outside Mids!" ...

Let the Guessing games begin !!

I really like your post MR and enjoy your thoughts and respect you as a member but to say that we are after a certain star from another club and not name the players is really not achieving anything and you must know that you will get 100 people either guessing or sending you pm's

Either name him or dont mention it, what could a poster sacrifice on an internet forum !

I can't say too much at the moment, because it's still in early stages.

Please don't ask any more questions, but there is a gun outside midfielder who is from a non-Victorian club who we will be targeting in the off-season. This player will force us to use our 1st round pick minimum.

Can i ask if its an established gun or just someone with a a lot of potential??

I somewhat disagree that the squad lacks outside mids . There is 9 small forwards from that list who with the exception of King and A.Edwards are extremely outside dominate. Small forwards who can't play inside are all but an extinct species .
Dustin's best work is one on one , or bursting from a pack , not in tight situations where quick decision making , quick disposal and nibble feet are needed , ala Conca and Ellis ( who has potential ) .
IMO the real issue is genuine inside mids , there is 3 upon the list , Tuck , Cotchin and Foley , one goes down and the " IN THE SHIT " alarm screams loud and clear .
The percentage of clearances and contested possessions around stoppages these 3 get is alarming .
No more Aaron Fiora , JON's , Bling's we need more Foley , Cotchin's .
Finals and grand finals are won by contested footy !

Opinion List Breakdown