List Mgmt. List changes

Why is everyone keen on trading Batchelor but keeping Dea? IMO Batchelor has shown twice the amount of Dea (despite a poor season) and is two years younger!

Because Batch has value and can't get a game. Dea isn't worth anything. Dea was also a project who was always going to take a while. They're also only 3-4 months apart in age.

Because Batch has taken Nahas`s spot from last years threads when it was "Nahas + pick bla, bla for Dom Tyson"

Trade and draft threads are so stupid because everyone has such crazy theories and none ever pan out except for a pure fluke through weight of prediction numbers.

How about if you add McGuane? Surely Batch/McGuane and our second round is worth Adams and their second?

It's pretty obvious that these threads aren't your cups of tea. Maybe just avoid them?

potential trade discussion is my cup of tea

people suggesting stupid trades where 4 weak players combined somehow equals a good player is just stupid though. First question we need to ask with these suggestions is "would we accept it if they were asking for our first round pick or Martin", and the answer is nearly always no.

discussion is good, guesswork is good, suggesting the impossible though is silly

potential trade discussion is my cup of tea

people suggesting stupid trades where 4 weak players combined somehow equals a good player is just stupid though. First question we need to ask with these suggestions is "would we accept it if they were asking for our first round pick or Martin", and the answer is nearly always no.

discussion is good, guesswork is good, suggesting the impossible though is silly

I get that but I and I'm sure many others hate wading through pages of posters potting other posters like the other thread. Batch will have value. Not first round quality type value but pick around 30 or a player worth the same.

I don't think we would be querying it if he was being linked only to later trades.

Personally I think we may be pushing it for second round - he has barely gotten a game in a side where we did have a number of injuries down back, and when he did looked out of sorts.

On form, I think he's likely for a 3rd round, or a like player (in terms of struggling for opportunity but "has something").

Cant believe some of the trades that get mentioned on these threads
Jake Batchelor is 21 years of age - What did you expect him to be when he was 1st drafted at the age of 21 ??

Really guys need to give players 4-5 years before writing them off

Been thinking about the list the last couple of days. Even though we have just played our first final in 12 years I wonder whether we're really set up for sustained success, or just got lucky that we didn't really have many injuries to key players and were able to benefit from other sides sliding because of the same thing happening to them.

I've come to the conclusion that we may need to take a step backwards to take the next couple of steps forward and that means some rather aggressive list management strategy. With that in mind here is what I would do:

Trade Bait:
Dustin Martin - if the contract doesn't get signed soon I'd be taking offers come trade week
Shane Edwards - hasn't been mentioned anywhere when talk of tradeable players has come up but may help us get something that we need/want.
Jake Batchelor - like Titch hasn't been mentioned anywhere and like Titch could be useful in getting us something that we need/want
Ben Griffiths - once again not really spoken about but if traded could get us some value.

All those above would only be traded in deals that were of benefit to us rather than trading for the sake of it.

Delist:
Luke McGuane
Shane Tuck - retired
Orren Stephenson (r)- retired
Sam Lonergan (r)
Robin Nahas
Brad Helbig
Tom Derickx
Ben Darrou(r)
Stephen Verrier(r)
Gideon Simon(r)

Upgrade:
Petterd

Trade/Draft Targets:
1. Midfield depth - specifically an experienced midfielder who can stand up in big games/finals. The ability to push forward and kick goals wouldn't hurt either.
2. Developing Ruckman - rather than a genuine lumbering ruckman I'd like to get another ruckman who can split the role with Vickery as a ruck/forward. With interchange caps coming in having the ability to rotate through the F50 would be great.
3. Small/Medium Defenders - Morris is our only true shutdown in this area, while Houli is our rebounding defender. Another 2 would be ideal.
4. Goal kicking defensive minded small forwards. Fact is we don't have a genuine goal kicking small forward who puts fear into opposition defences.
5. Genuine Developing KPD - Chaplin is 28 next year and Grimes is still an injury risk which leaves us with just Rance. Bringing in another genuine KPD to develop would prepare us for 2-3 years time when Chaplin is on the decline.

Cant believe some of the trades that get mentioned on these threads
Jake Batchelor is 21 years of age - What did you expect him to be when he was 1st drafted at the age of 21 ??

Really guys need to give players 4-5 years before writing them off

Haven't you written off Griffiths?

Delist:
Ben Darrou(r)

Trade/Draft Targets:
5. Genuine Developing KPD - Chaplin is 28 next year and Grimes is still an injury risk which leaves us with just Rance. Bringing in another genuine KPD to develop would prepare us for 2-3 years time when Chaplin is on the decline.

?

Darrou is a 190cm 97kg backman. He isn't a true KPD just plays as one because of his weight.

No reason to get rid of him though. He could be a very good third tall, and rebounds well at Coburg (could be our Mackie).
If he doesn't crack a game next year then he goes ... but that's just my opinion.

Not too many changes for mine unless it will help us to get targets in to the club:

Gone:
Tuck
Derickx
Nahas (possible trade but only for a draft pick and not a good one). If no trade then delist.
McGuane/Edwards - surely we'll only keep one of them. Edwards finished in the best 22 but McGuane has age on his side. Gut feel is McGuane will be able to test FA if no takers, then delisted and rookied by us.
Possibly one of Helbig/O'Hanlon but I doubt it. May depend on if Orren stays or retires.

Trade bait:
Griff but I'd rather keep him (i'd also rather he realised his potential). Could help us sweeten potential trades.
Foley - yes I know he's contracted but he's also one player we have that may have currency somewhere else that could help us bring quality into the club.
Grigg - I doubt it but in my mind is a player we need to upgrade in our best 22.
Batch - A lot of upside which may be enticing for other clubs. Again I'd rather keep him. It'll be between Dea/him and Ricky Bobby for Newy's spot during or after next season.

Bring in: Without knowing much about the potential draftees I like the sound of Freeman. Would take some more midfield class with our second pick as well and then best available...key defender would be good. Adams would definitely be a great inclusion if we can get him. Need either a young ruckman/elder back up on the rookie list if Orren retires/we don't get Longer. If it was between Longer or Adams, I'd prefer Adams in the short term. Also need a genuine crumbing forward. Arnott should take over from King as defensive forward sooner or later but we lack the polish.

Not at all. Im just annoyed he is getting played out of position an believe he would have a better opportunity to make a career for himself at another club

I'm not about to let anyone else get the best out of him ... even if we never can.

Dean - The kid is a foward
Next year we have our own reserves vfl team and if we still continue to f*** this kid around , I wouldnt hold it against him to leave for greener pasture mate.

He should be plonked at chf/ff along with Todd Elton and Liam McBean to prosper or bust

Dean - The kid is a foward
Next year we have our own reserves vfl team and if we still continue to f*** this kid around , I wouldnt hold it against him to leave for greener pasture mate.

He should be plonked at chf/ff along with Todd Elton and Liam McBean to prosper or bust

I agree, but what I'm saying (all in jest too, by the way), is he has a very high ceiling with the attributes he possesses, and I'm more than happy to play reserves footy for 15 years with us, than let him become this monster forward for another club. :D

Darrou is a 190cm 97kg backman. He isn't a true KPD just plays as one because of his weight.

Based on his form at Coburg, I wouldn't delist him though. And I would feel pretty comfortable bringing him in to play FB on any sub 195cm forward. Obviously he's going to be too short to take a Petrie/Tippet type, but I reckon he'd do a fine job pinch hitting on a "standard" height key forward.

Seen a bloke called Josh Gibson play lately? Seen Coburg play at all this year?

Yep seen Gibson play and also saw Hawthorn go out and get Lake to move Gibson away from being played as a KPD.

Not at all. Im just annoyed he is getting played out of position an believe he would have a better opportunity to make a career for himself at another club

If he had been good enough to this point he would 've proved himself to be the answer as a fwd so I don't subscribe to the theory that he has stagnated purely because of being played out of position. I'm not saying he can't approve but to suggest its all the clubs fault is folly imo.

Yep seen Gibson play and also saw Hawthorn go out and get Lake to move Gibson away from being played as a KPD.

Darrou is Grimes back-up. Which IMO we desperately need.

Did they get rid of Gibson?

I dont subscribe to the Darrou will be a good afl backmen theory, He has been on the rookie list 2-3 years and still no upgrade even when Grimes was out for extended periods

Very unlikely to make it in my opinion similar to Verrier

I am not sure either way although generally if they are going to show something they should have already usually.

Having said that RFC selections under Dimma seem like the Aus cricket team where it is harder to get out than in lately