List Mgmt. List changes

I reckon we should delist Lonergan, Stephenson, Petterd, Verrier, Simons, Nahas, Derrickx. Dimma won't delist his lovechild Petterd though :cool:

Doubt we delist Simon. Was always going to be a project. Doesn't take up a list spot.

I reckon we should delist Lonergan, Stephenson, Petterd, Verrier, Simons, Nahas, Derrickx. Dimma won't delist his lovechild Petterd though :cool:

You're right he won't.

Lonergan will get another year I reckon. His VFL form was very, very good in the last few rounds.

You're right he won't.

Lonergan will get another year I reckon. His VFL form was very, very good in the last few rounds.
The new VFL team will mean lonergan will likely stay on but remains unlikely to get a cull up unless out midfield brigade gets severely diminished through injuries, reckon he's bout 3rd cab off the rank

Maybe harsh but seems to be injury prone. Shoulder problems as a junior and missed nearly all of 2013 in VFL with shoulder injuries.

has only been on the list for a year, all players get injured & more often that Williams has been thus far.

We should keep them if we want to have a list of players that struggle to have an influence even at VFL level. It's only a matter of opinion

Both these players have shown they have a sh!t load of talent and need to be developed - I would love to know apart from O'hanlons afl games how many times you have actually seen Williams & O'hanlon live

Maybe harsh but seems to be injury prone. Shoulder problems as a junior and missed nearly all of 2013 in VFL with shoulder injuries.

You don't delist kids after one season. You give them at least two to three seasons even if they have injury problems because we drafted them knowing that. Especially when they are, as impressive as Cayden williams was in the three games he played for coburg.

Delist: Derickx, McGuane + White Free agency, Tuck retired and Nahas if we can't find a trade for him which i assume we wont. O'Hanlon has re-signed for those wondering.

Plough the flog is about to undertake a list dissection on us on trade radio. This is going to be interesting considering he almost single handedly destroyed the club and especially its list beyond repair. Joke.

Plough basically thinks we are in the right age demographic for success now and believes if we go backwards next year then we will never make it(I think he means with this group). I don't agree as rarely does everything go you way during a year so the vagaries of footy effect wins/losses all the time. Would everyone consider the Roos as never being good if they failed to progress like this year? No. I agree that its not a given that we will get better but disagree that its all stuffed if we don't!

I thought ploughs assessment was pretty decent. Suggested that RFC is now at the point where they need to consider themselves contenders and need to step up. Supporter and the club need to get out of the development mentality, we are no longer on a journey we are now in a performance phase.. Made the point we are not a young list anymore, referencing many players over 25 and some older recruits. Thinks we need one of Astubry or Griffiths to stand up to take bigger forwards. Club needs to make a decision where Grimes fits in. Thinks Vickery is key to our success, his best is great, his worst is poor - needs to be a 7 out of ten performer week in week out. Plough was complimentary about Hardwick "I think you've got the right bloke". Any failure next year would be a reflection on the players inability to take the next step not the coach. He was quite positive about our progress but thinks we need to step 2014 if we are going to make it. A fair enough assessment I thought, I have a few of the same question marks - im hopeful but not completely confident about future premiership capability.

Totally forgot about finishing the rest of my thoughts for the squad ahead of next season, until I found it just before. I'll repost the whole thing, minus the delistings.

Arnot: Make or break season, you would think. Shane Tuck retiring means that door has well and truly opened for Matthew to cement a best 22 spot. However, I believe his season hinges on who we draft in the National Draft this year. If we get one of Dom Sheed or Nathan Freeman, Arnot is going to be hard pressed to find a spot in the midfield, and could find himself moved on, either to another club, or delisted by the end of next year. If we do get Sheed/Freeman, the only way Arnot will get a game is if there are injuries to any of our midfielders.

Astbury: An interesting one for this year. Coming back from a serious knee injury, and was in some ripping form before his injury. Has all the tools to cement himself as a quality defender, however, he is 4th string at the moment, behind Rance, Chaplin and Grimes. Much like Arnot, opportunities seem to be pretty slim for him at the moment, and only an injury to the three aforementioned will see Astbury get many games next season. Could become trade bait at the end of this season, especially if Todd Elton comes along nicely as the defender the club are hoping, as he is a better prospect than Astbury, in my opinion.

Batchelor: A victim of our depth, this year, and that should continue next year. Competing for spots with Houli and Newman (Who are our two back flankers at the moment), Petterd, Dea and McIntosh. He is a very frustrating footballer, who has some talent, but just can't seem to make it click. Will most likely be shopped around at the end of this season, and if a suitable trade can be found, will be shown the door. If not, he will be kept as depth, and unless there are terrible form from our flankers or Grimes, he will find it hard to crack a senior game.

Chaplin: Absolutely crucial part of our 2014 campaign. Has been immeasurable in terms of value and importance to our backline. His ability to take on the bigger bodied Forwards such as Cloke and Petrie has proved to be invaluable to the side, as it provides relief to Rance and Grimes. If all three of our KPD can stay on the park, we have, genuinely, one of the best defences in the league, and Chaplin is the reason why. Really has no competition for his spot at the moment, unless he gets injured.

Conca: Has developed nicely, although there is some conjecture over whether he may, or may not be at the Tigers in 2014. he has become a genuine ball winner, and a hard nut who provides a real spark, and a determination to take the game on, and isn't afraid to take risks. With further development into Reece, and another preseason under the belts of our midfield brigade, Conca is set to really establish himself as a vital cog, and an essential part of our future success. Again, has no real competition for his spot, other than Arnot, who needs to iron out a couple of things in his game.

Cotchin: Absolute jet, however, he had a disappointing year this year, when compared to 2012. The added pressure of captaincy, as well as a couple of bruised knees had a real impact on his performance. With a solid run of injuries, and another preseason under his belt, Cotchin should return to the lofty standards he set last year, and as a result, our midfield becomes so much better. Again, no competition for his spot, and will play every game he is eligible to.

Darrou: A rookie who has shown promise. Could get elevated at the end of this season, as he is a personal favourite of Leppa. Unless we have drastic injuries to our KPD stocks, won't be in contention for 2014.

Dea: In the same boat as Batchelor. Has become a victim to our own depth. Was drafted as a skilled, but very raw prospect, and has developed into a quality footballer. Would probably be third in line for a half back position, with Batchelor ahead of him, but with speculation Batchelor may be shipped off, and Newman getting on, could find himself on the end of a few games.

Deledio: Will be a lock in our best 22, but he really needs to work on his ability to shake a tag in the off season. A firing Deledio will be immense in our pursuit of a top 4 spot. He had a disappointing 2013 season, and could have been the difference between winning and losing in a few games this year. 2014 is going to bring added pressure the likes of which we haven't seen for a long time. And Deledio has to be one of a few who need to stand up.

Edwards, A: Needs to make the most of his chances in 2014. Has some competition for his spot so he really needs to capitalise on every opportunity he is given, and he will be given a fair few. If he doesn't fire, he will more than likely be shipped off at the end of next season.

Edwards, S: A vastly improved footballer than where he was a few seasons ago, but he needs to start delivering on a consistent basis. A shift to the midfield for longer spurts has seen him become a more dangerous player, but he still needs to do more than what he does, more often. If he falters, could find himself shipped off to another club as his currency would be decent.

Ellis: Completely safe for his position in 2014. Has developed very nicely, and has really worked on his composure this season. Another year of developing and he should really start to cement himself as one of our most important players.

Elton: Tracking along nicely at Coburg, and, with the introduction of our own stand-alone VFL side, should continue to develop into a decent footballer. Wouldn't be surprised to see him manage to crack a few games at AFL level next year, but I think he is one who is very talented, but also raw. Unfortunately for Todd, he was only granted a 12 month extension, and it could very well be a make or break season. It is bittersweet. Bitter in the fact that he hasn't been afforded the same time to develop as Griffiths, McGuane or Post were afforded, but is sweet in that there is now a healthy competition for spots.

Foley: One who could very well be shown the door next year. Is still a solid contributor, but his body keeps breaking down, and the game looks to have passed him. With Arnott, McDonough, Williams and our potential first round drafee, I feel they can have close to the same impact as what Foley has now, and there is more upside in them than there is in Foley.

Griffiths: Make or break in 2014. Coming into his 5th AFL season, he is yet to show anything of substance, despite having an abundance of Talent. Talent can only get you so far, and Ben has had his injury issues, but he seems to lack a certain aggression towards the ball and the opposition that makes players succeed. Talent can only get you so far, and you only have to look at players like Jake King and Steven Morris to realise that dedication, perserverance and a hunger to succeed are as important as talent is. Will be given the best opportunity of his VFL career to date with our VFL side, and if he cannot step up to the plate, will be moved on. With the stand alone side, he will finally be able to settle into a certain spot, as he was getting shifted from Defence, to Attack, and it has disrupted his development. 12 months of playing in a constant position should be enough to see Griff, hopefully, start getting it all together.

Grigg: Had a fantastic 2012, and a disappointing 2013. This season exposed Grigg as a cruiser, in my opinion, and whilst he does get enough of the ball, he doesn't really do much damage with it. He is a serviceable player at best, and his position is under pressure in 2014. With players such as O'Hanlon, Williams and McIntosh in the VFL, Grigg cannot cruise as I think he has next season, otherwise he will struggle to hold onto his spot. I personally think he was lucky to play every game in 2013, and should have been dropped. He isn't best 22 going forward, but will be a depth player in the next couple of years. 2014 is probably Grigg's last season as an established 22 player, before his spot is in serious jeopardy.

Grimes: Injuries aside, Grimes is one of the most important players on the list. Despite only playing 26 games, he has proven to be a very good player at AFL level. Our backline is so much better both offensively and defensively with Dylan in there, than when he isn't. Dylan is almost the perfect backman in that he is as good offensively as he is defensively. I'd expect Dylan to play every game (injury preventing) in 2014, as he doesn't have much competition for his spot.

Helbig: Make or break in 2014, if he isn't moved on this year. Brad has had some injury issues, but when he has been fully fit, just hasn't really stood out at VFL level, and hasn't done much to warrant senior selection. Has been shifted around from Half Back to Inside mid, to tagger in his time, and hasn't settled at all. Needs to really show something next year, or else he is going to find himself shipped off.

Hampson: Best 22 in 2014. Liam McBean and Todd Elton are still too raw to be constant regulars in the best 22, and Maric needs some support. Tyrone Vickery is more serviceable to the side as a forward, and Maric has been pegged to spend more time in the forward line, so Hampson comes to the fore as being our Ruck Forward. With McGuane gone, that leaves Vickery as our third tall, and Hampson/Maric as our rotating forward/ruckman.

Houli: Had a great 2013. Improved defensively, and provided a great rebounding option. His kicking is a real weapon, and in 2014, with Dylan Grimes playing a majority of games (hopefully), Houli should be able to push further up the ground to really use his kicking to the teams benefit. If Kamdyn McIntosh or Jake Batchelor show some signs at VFL level, I wouldn't mind seeing Houli being pushed up to a wing.

Jackson: The most improved player of 2013, and a very surprising winner of the Best and Fairest. Has added another string to his bow as an inside mid and a goalkicker not only holding a direct opponent, but getting a few clearances a game as well. This added dimension has seen Jackson firmly establish himself as a best 22 player. 2014 should hopefully see Daniel improve again as a player. I'd expect him to still be a run with player, but is also adequate as an inside midfielder, and will provide us with another inside mid rotation.

King: Borderline best 22 in 2014, for me. His defensive pressure is good, but he is very inconsistent. With O'Hanlon and McDonough developing nicely in the VFL, with Petterd capable of playing as a defensive half forward, King is no longer an automatic starting 22 player. He will be given a few opportunities at AFL level, but if his output is anything like it was in 2013, he will find himself dropped, and hard to crack into the lineup again.

Knights: One of our best players early in the season, until that ugly injury. He has said he will be right for the start of pre-season training, and should go into season 14 fresh and ready to go. Is a starting 22 player, and one of our most important players for mine. I think the recruitment of Knights was a good thing for Dustin Martin in the games he played, allowing Dusty to spend more time in the midfield, without losing a potent player around the 50 meter arc. Injuries permitting, Knights will be one of our more influential players.

Maric: For me, structurally one of our most important players, along with Morris and Vickery. Has had injury issues the past couple of years, and has shouldered most of the workload. As a result, the club has recruited Shaun Hampson to play as a backup to Ivan, allowing Maric to spend more time resting either forward or in defence than he did in 2013, which should see Maric fresher per game than what he was this season, and should regain some of the form he was in during the 2012 season, and if not, will be a handy forward player good for a goal a game, hopefully.

Martin: Came on in leaps and bounds in 2013, after a much better pre-season than any he has previously had. Spent more time in the midfield during the season than he had previously done at AFL level, and as a result, managed to string together some consistency to his game. In 2014, with his 5th pre-season under his belt, Dusty should be able to continue working on his consistency and take his game to another level, and stamp himself amongst the competitions best players.

McBean: A revelation at VFL level in 2013, and would have been in line for an AFL debut had he not injured himself. With a solid pre-season in him, McBean will spend time at AFL level, but most at VFL, developing in our seconds. With his agility, size and athleticism, as well as he accurate kicking for goal, he is a rare commidity, and one we cannot afford to rush. He is still on the thin side, but I can't see the club wanting him to put too much muscle on, as it could hamper his biggest attribute, which is his athleticism. Someone who is as clean below his knees as a small forward, and as tall as a ruckman is someone who has the makings of a VERY good AFL player, and I feel McBean could potentially be one of the best players on our list.

McDonough: A solid debut season at VFL level, which was rewarded with a debut game. Started out as a Half Forward Flanker, but has been pushed into the midfield by the club, and has apparantly taken to it like a duck to water. With Jake King no certainty as a best 22 player, and Chris Knights injury prone status, McDonough could, and most likely will, find himself playing senior AFL football. One of the most gifted natural footballers at the club, and provides us with another versatile player, allowing Martin, Cotchin, Conca, Ellis and Vlastuin to rest forward in patches.

McIntosh: Was looking solid at VFL level before he injured himself. He is an interesting one for me, in that he has the height to play as a third tall defender, and has done at stages in his career, but also has the athletic capabilities to play as a midfielder. He reminds me a lot of Alex Rance in some regards, being that he can play as a defender, but was recruited as a rebounding defender. I don't think he has the capabilities to play as a FB like Rance does, but I think McIntosh could be a very good replacement for Newy at Half Back, or an upgrade on Grigg on a wing. Won't play much senior football next season, as he is still slightly framed.

Morris: Structurally one of our most important players. Small forwards have been the bane of our sides existent the past decade or so, and with Morris in the side, we don't really have to worry about them. Had 19 goals kicked on him this year, and was only beaten by his opponent once, and that was Michael Walters in the return game at the MCG against Freo. With our backline uniting, I think Morris could be a chance to push up the ground a bit more per game than what he is now, as he has very good lateral movement, and likes taking the game on. That is something I would personally like to see, but will be happy if it doesn't either, as he is too valuable in defence.

Newman: I'd expect it to be Newy's last year at AFL level, after tapering away slightly in 2013, compared to previous seasons. With Matt Dea, Kamdyn McIntosh, Ricky Petterd, Brad Helbig all pressing claims for senior selection, as well as our draftees, Newy's spot is under some severe pressure for the year. Could find himself playing in the VFL some weeks as teh club looks to integrate a replacement for him at AFL level.

O'Hanlon: An interesting one for me. Looke a likely type in 2012, where he played a handful of games as sub, but couldn't find a gig at AFL level this year. Has all the tools to become a decent AFL player, but for some reason or another just hasn't been able to get them to click. I still have hope for him, and think, long term, he could be a valuable player for us, but time is running out for him. With Knights and McDonough ahead of him, O'Hanlon could struggle with game time again in 2013, unless he really puts his foot down at AFL level.

Petterd: A versatile player who has some value. Can play as a marking medium forward, or as an attacking Defender. Should be best 22 in 2013, after elevation to the senior list, and hold his spot. Needs to tidy up his kicking, which cost us a few times throughout 2013, and also tends to lose track of his opponent, which also, cost us a few goals. Matt Dea, Kamdyn McIntosh and Brad Helbig will be fighting for a spot, and if they have some solid form at VFL level, Petterd could find himself playing as a forward.

Rance: Another great year for Rance, who was only beaten by a few players. One of the reasons why we are where we are now. With Chaplin and Grimes, Rance has formed a very solid, tight defensive core, and has really worked hard at his deficiencies and is now one of the best Key Defenders in the AFL. In 2013, with the recruitment of Chaplin, it allowed Rance to also play as a rebounding defender, and really took the game on, and that is something I'd expect him to continue on with in 2014. Just needs to work on containing the power forwards such as Cloke and Pavlich, but other than that, I think he is one of our most important players.

Riewoldt: Again, one of our most important players. Riewoldt's 2013 was, I'd argue, his best season at AFL level to date, and one of the reasons why we made the finals. He still kicked 2 and a half goals a game, a decent figure, but managed to average a little over 1 goal assist per game, meaning he contributed to roughly 4 goals per game. With Jack less focused on kicking goals as he has previously been, we have become a little less predictable going into attack, allowing other options to be opened up. With Vickery, and Edwards likely to be our three tall setup next year, and McBean playing here and there, I'd expect to see Jack pushed a little bit further up the ground, utilising his very good field kicking to give our forwards an advantage and quality delivery inside the forward 50.

Simon: Development year for Gideon, and will do the same next year. I have my doubts that he will make it, long term, but happy to let him spend another year at VFL level. My main knocks on him are that eh just doesn't get enough of the ball. It is all well and good being a defensively minded player, but you can't JUST be defensive. You also need to be able to attack when the opportunity arises, and I doubt that Gideon has the tools to be able to win his own ball. Most likely delisted at the end of next season.

Stephenson: An important bit player for us, who, with the recruitment of Shaun Hampson, should not see game time at AFL level unless there are some pretty serious injuries to Maric/Hampson, or both. Will spend the year at VFL level, giving us some quality service to our Reserve Side midfield, before retiring at the end of 2014.

Vickery: I know his breakout season was 2011, but I actually feel his 2013 happened to be better, overall than what his 2011 was. Yes, he kicked more goals in 2011, but in terms of impact, and contribution to the team, this season was fantastic. Even managed to play on a wing a bit per game, floating forward and taking contested marks in the defensive 50. With another year of development, and a clear run at injuries, I think that 2014 is going to be the year that Vickery finally puts his foot down. He will be playing as a stay at home Forward, with the recruitment of Hampson, and that should result in Vickery and Jack combining to form a very formidable forward duo.

Vlastuin: Very strong debut season, and will become an Elite AFL player in time. His major knock was his endurance, and whilst he rectified that somewhat this season, he still went missing for major periods of the game. Another year with Burge, on an increased fitness regime for the whole squad should see Vlastuin step up again in 2014 and really show he belongs at this level. I'd expect Vlastuin to spend more time in the midfield next season, pushing back and forward on occassion.

Williams: Shoulder injury ended his 2014, but showed some positive signs. Another year of development, as well as a clean run of injuries playing for our reserves side, could see Williams elevated to the primary list at the end of 2014. Very strong bodied, good skills, but still a raw prospect with plenty of upside.

Great stuff Grockadoc. Very good read. Pretty sure Gideon will be developing elsewhere though. ;)

Cheers tigs. Just a few thoughts I had about the list, and what I thought 2014 could be to them. I'd like to think hey are spot on, but they are, of course, my opinions and someone is bound to disagree with them at some stage, I am sure.

Have I missed something with Gideon? :D