List Changes

So we have 1 pick in the National draft. No picks in the PSD and 2 rookie selections?

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Pretty sure we will have 4 RD picks, 2 Vets(Gilbee and Hargrave probably) + 2 rookies(Panos & Prato). This is under the proviso that Moles gets upgraded.

OFF
Aker, Harbrow, Johno, Eago, Thorne, Tiller, Boumann, Everitt and Callan + Gilbee and Hargrave onto Vet list.

ON
Hooper, Sherman, Veszpremi, Djerrkura and Moles

So we should have 4 ND picks as well.

OFF
Aker, Harbrow, Johno, Eago, Thorne, Tiller, Boumann, Everitt and Callan + Gilbee and Hargrave onto Vet list.

ON
Hooper, Sherman, Veszpremi, Djerrkura and Moles

So we should have 4 ND picks as well.

Don't think they are eligible until 2012 season, I don't think we have any vets eligible this coming season as you need to be 30 before end of this year and been on list 10 years.

They have changed the rule recently and you have to be 30 by September 1st in that season. Both Gilbee and Hargrave(or Hahn if he's still around) are be eligible.

13. VETERANS LIST
13.1 (a) An AFL Club may nominate for each AFL Season up to two eligible Players to be transferred from its Primary List to the Veterans List and/or any
number of eligible Players to be classified as a veteran on its Primary List,
provided the transfer or classification occurs no later than two weeks after
the Pre-Season Draft prior to the relevant AFL Season.

(b) An AFL Club which classifies a Player on its Primary List as a veteran, may, at a later stage, but no later than two weeks after the Pre-Season Draft prior
to the relevant AFL Season, transfer the Player to the AFL Club’s
Veterans
List

(c) A Player who is transferred to the AFL Club’s Veterans List can only be
transferred back to the Primary List of the AFL Club between the end of an
AFL Season and two weeks after the Pre-Season Draft prior to the next AFL
Season and provided that Player remains classified as a veteran on the
Primary List.

(d) A Player that is classified as a veteran on the Primary List must remain
classified as a Veteran until that Player leaves the Club or is transferred to
the Veterans List.

13.2 A Player is eligible for inclusion on an AFL Club’s Veterans List or to be classified as a veteran, on the Primary List if:

(a) the Player has been at the AFL Club on the Primary List for at least ten (10)years; and

(b) the Player is 30 years of age or older as at 30 September in the relevant AFL Season,

If 'Simon Says' we'll have 3 draft picks, it will mean a significant overhaul of our list.

Johnson & Eagleton will be replaced on the 'Veteran's List' by Gilbee & Hargrave.

10 additions to the list:

(Trades In) Veszpremi, Djerrkura, Sherman,
(Rookie Upgrades) Hooper, Moles,
(F/S) Wallis, Liberatore
& 3 draft picks.

Means there have to be 10 delistings:

Harbrow, Everitt, Akermanis, Callan & Thorne are 5 for sure.

Gilbee & Hargrave going onto the Veterans List are 2 more, makes 7.

I reckon there are 6 remaining that can fit into the 3 others:

Hahn, Stack, Mulligan, Boumann, Tiller & Markovic.

I'm sure that somewhere someone will point out that I missed someone's name.

If 'Simon Says' we'll have 3 draft picks, it will mean a significant overhaul of our list.

Johnson & Eagleton will be replaced on the 'Veteran's List' by Gilbee & Hargrave.

10 additions to the list:

(Trades In) Veszpremi, Djerrkura, Sherman,
(Rookie Upgrades) Hooper, Moles,
(F/S) Wallis, Liberatore
& 3 draft picks.

Means there have to be 10 delistings:

Harbrow, Everitt, Akermanis, Callan & Thorne are 5 for sure.

Gilbee & Hargrave going onto the Veterans List are 2 more, makes 7.

I reckon there are 6 remaining that can fit into the 3 others:

Hahn, Stack, Mulligan, Boumann, Tiller & Markovic.

I'm sure that somewhere someone will point out that I missed someone's name.

Stack being contracted may save him.

Still like to keep boumann. He has significant upside and is a tall, mobile player in the jarrad grant mould. If I was rocket, I would play him for all the nab cup games and tell him that it is his last chance on our list, so step up and have a bit of improvement.
Like my footy coach says, hard work will beat talent if talent doesn't work hard. Fortunately boumann has talent, he just needs the work ethic.

I would also like to keep markovich on as well. Tall defender, big body and ready to step in if god forbid, our tall defenders get injured. We don't have any other cover bar these two. Remember markovich hasn't had the greatest of years thanks to his injuries, when he wasn't Injured, he was in Willi's best consistently. A full preseason will do wonders for him and we would be stupid to let either of these young blokes go. Much rather see us say goodbye to Hahn tiller and even stack to an extent.

They have changed the rule recently and you have to be 30 by September 1st in that season. Both Gilbee and Hargrave(or Hahn if he's still around) are be eligible.

ahh, didn't realise that, that certainly is handy in opening up a couple of spots.

Yep, it is. But with Lake eligible in 2012 it might be an idea to hold a spot open for him, because once your on the Vet list the only way you can come off is to be delisted.

I imagine they will prob do that then as Lake signed big contract last year which I assume is heavilly back ended, would be on a fair bit more than Gilbee or Hargrave.

Sorry to intrude, but I'm pretty sure you can have as many veterans as are eligible, it's just the 'third' veteran only has 33% of their salary excluded from the salary cap and their position does not count as a 'rookie' spot on your list.

e.g. the first two veterans have 50% of their salary excluded from the cap and are outside the senior list (in effect, reducing rookie spots available by two). the third has a small proportion of their wages excluded and counts as part of your standard 39, or whatever it is, 'regular' senior list spots.

Sorry to intrude, but I'm pretty sure you can have as many veterans as are eligible, it's just the 'third' veteran only has 33% of their salary excluded from the salary cap and their position does not count as a 'rookie' spot on your list.

e.g. the first two veterans have 50% of their salary excluded from the cap and are outside the senior list (in effect, reducing rookie spots available by two). the third has a small proportion of their wages excluded and counts as part of your standard 39, or whatever it is, 'regular' senior list spots.

Still like to keep boumann. He has significant upside and is a tall, mobile player in the jarrad grant mould. If I was rocket, I would play him for all the nab cup games and tell him that it is his last chance on our list, so step up and have a bit of improvement.
Like my footy coach says, hard work will beat talent if talent doesn't work hard. Fortunately boumann has talent, he just needs the work ethic.

He is tall & fast, but that's about all.

He doesn't like physical contact & doesn't use the ball well... I think it's time to cut ties.

I would also like to keep markovich on as well. Tall defender, big body and ready to step in if god forbid, our tall defenders get injured. We don't have any other cover bar these two. Remember markovich hasn't had the greatest of years thanks to his injuries, when he wasn't Injured, he was in Willi's best consistently. A full preseason will do wonders for him and we would be stupid to let either of these young blokes go. Much rather see us say goodbye to Hahn tiller and even stack to an extent.

Will it make him faster?

He doesn't have the pace to play at AFL level.

He is tall & fast, but that's about all.

He doesn't like physical contact & doesn't use the ball well... I think it's time to cut ties.

I recall similar calls on Grant....plus a lot more negatives.

Who would you prefer to him and what chances are there of us drafting someone better so late in the draft? Keep him for one more year.

Whoa, pull the reins on comparing these 2. Grant came into the system after playing good footy at TAC level, most contested marks in his final year if i recall. Boumann ran 20 metres quickly at the draft camp and was tall, thats it, and has since proven that is all he has.

You'd be better of picking up a VFL player late in the draft, who wants to be at the club.

He has shown no real improvement this year and I don't see him getting to a point where he could contribute in the senior team.

One of Boumann or Mulligan has to go (maybe both)... I don't really care either way.

I have seen Boumann play quite a lot. He's very good in a contested marking contest, he's quick, he's tall and he is very good by foot, despite what some others have said on here.

I'm just not sure footy is important enough to him or if he even realises how important it is to him. But it's not about ability for him, he has heaps of it and young tall developing defenders are what we need.

I would be keeping him, but he has to really want to be there.

Daniels is a player from the rookie list I think will go. Depending on contract status you would think Tiller would go. Hahn I think would be on my list.

Other than that i'm not sure who will go as we don;t seem to know who's got contracts.

I have seen Boumann play quite a lot. He's very good in a contested marking contest, he's quick, he's tall and he is very good by foot, despite what some others have said on here.

I'm just not sure footy is important enough to him or if he even realises how important it is to him. But it's not about ability for him, he has heaps of it and young tall developing defenders are what we need.

I would be keeping him, but he has to really want to be there.

Daniels is a player from the rookie list I think will go. Depending on contract status you would think Tiller would go. Hahn I think would be on my list.

Other than that i'm not sure who will go as we don;t seem to know who's got contracts.

Good post. Boumann certainly has the ability but I think a number of people question his desire for good reason. His first season was just so so with some half hearted efforts but then his 2nd was full of promise. This year I think he stalled and he didn't make the progress like he should have.

I really want him to succeed but the decision to keep him or not will hinge more on his work around the club at training etc than his actual form on the field.

*Boumann to be announced as a being delisted (shame).
*Tiller will retire and go back to Adelaide (to play SANFL).
Not sure why you would think it a shame. He's had 3 years & hasn't looked like ever cementing a spot in the Williamstown Seniors, let alone playing for the Western Bulldogs.

If he was good enough he would have shown something, sometime, somewhere, sadly for him, he hasn't.

Appreciate the heads up on him & Tiller BTW. :thumbsu:

Depending on who is available in the rookie draft, I can see the possibility of Thorne (as mentioned by Dalrymple in article linked above) and Boumann being dropped off the list and rookied?

Also: do you think Sydney shafting us on the Vezpremi deal draft pick will cost us this Norwood guy?

List Changes