List Mgmt. List Management 2022

Forget which footy show I watched but he was on it and very much implied that North and he may be open to a mutually beneficial split. North have Xeri, Coleman Jones and Edwards they need to start getting games into.. Goldy would be looking to chase a flag rather than a pay day so would fit in perfectly for us.

On The Couch.
Though, thought the premiership wasn’t the most important vs finding a matching home/right fit (wasn’t listening in too late intently).

Had offers before but had too much going on personally to consider any change/s.

Re: incoming stop gap ruckman

I can’t see how it can work…

How do we continue playing/developing tdk as a ruck/forward and playing Pitto and playing another stop gap ruckman like say Goldstein for example?

Why do we have to play Pitto? If TDKs role in the side was ruck/forward any new ruckman would only be competing with Pitto for a spot in the side, provided they were all fit.

A player like Goldy for example or a Steph Martin type this year would have been great, they compete for the number 1 ruck spot, they work in tandem with TDK, when one of the main rucks is injured the other picks up the slack, in the event of Harry or Charlie getting injured, you can play TDK as a key forward and maintain two good marking options.

I don’t understand the thought process of people who say you can’t recruit a Goldy type as how would Pitto or Mirkov feel, they would feel the same way the midfield group felt when we recruited Cerra and Hewett, as the team gets stronger competition for spots will get tougher.

Id love another capable ruck, two on the list was a mistake and I think TDK shouldn’t be the main ruck as he could be a solid forward option.

Why do we have to play Pitto? If TDKs role in the side was ruck/forward any new ruckman would only be competing with Pitto for a spot in the side, provided they were all fit.

A player like Goldy for example or a Steph Martin type this year would have been great, they compete for the number 1 ruck spot, they work in tandem with TDK, when one of the main rucks is injured the other picks up the slack, in the event of Harry or Charlie getting injured, you can play TDK as a key forward and maintain two good marking options.

I don’t understand the thought process of people who say you can’t recruit a Goldy type as how would Pitto or Mirkov feel, they would feel the same way the midfield group felt when we recruited Cerra and Hewett, as the team gets stronger competition for spots will get tougher.

Id love another capable ruck, two on the list was a mistake and I think TDK shouldn’t be the main ruck as he could be a solid forward option.
For me it’s more about what happens if TDK gets injured. In another 12 months TDK should be mature enough to be a number one ruck.
In saying that any forward ruck we get will probably be at a level where they just stuff our forward structure if played with Harry, JSOS and Charlie

I guess it comes down to how much the club wants to spend on rucks. Playing Pitto in the vfl for another 2 years and then tdk and Mirkov probably take over. In this case Pitto plays vfl and is cover for injuries.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion. He may not be a superstar ruck, but will be a very valuable player. Think Rory Lobb is closest comparison of his minimum base that comes to mind. But with a much better leap.

I have more hope that he will become a quality ruck than you and others. There are gaps in his developmnent from both a physical and craft point of view. His pre seasons have been compromised right through. He seems to periodically succumb to medium term injury early in the season. I suspect it is from attempting a heavy workload. It doesn’t mean he is not capable of a heavy workload going forward. Most people who have subjected them to a rigorous (on the edge) physical program, will attest that during this time you are prone to some ridiculous “innocuous” injuries doing basic day to day tasks as the result of fatigue from conditioning work.

With the Covid interruptions over the last few years, physical development has been far from linear for most. Similarly, specialist coaches are or at least have been less accessible. I also question his coaching from our “Tractor” Kreuzer. So much similarity between MK and Pitto, but TDK a whole different kettle of fish. I believe he needs some layers added to his craft, that I wonder if big K has the experience and nous for.

Have been trying to visualise a fair comparison to a possible ceiling for Tom. For the oldies, if he can gain a little more awareness and expand his hitting zone, I came up with Simon Madden.

It is way too early to write him off at 22, but does have some work to do to realise his undoubted potential. If he becomes a potent third tall, second ruck, that is OK, but still has layers and physical development to add, let’s wait a couple of years before making outlandish negative claims of his worth.

Note this post was offered BEFORE TDK faced down the league’s testing material in Darcy yesterday 👍
Reckon we’ve got it right with Pittonet TDK and Mirkov as our rucks.
A KPF who can take a turn in the ruck via the draft would be nice going forward …

Re: incoming stop gap ruckman

I can’t see how it can work…

How do we continue playing/developing tdk as a ruck/forward and playing Pitto and playing another stop gap ruckman like say Goldstein for example?
The ideal stop gap is someone good enough to come in when needed but not too good to be upset biding time in VFL.
Someone from state leagues is perhaps a better fit than a Goldstein type.

The ideal stop gap is someone good enough to come in when needed but not too good to be upset biding time in VFL.
Someone from state leagues is perhaps a better fit than a Goldstein type.
This is the set up I see working.

So basically we have a total of 4 ruck/forward options.

One pair play seniors
Other pair plays vfl and are cover for injuries where possible.

Think we maybe talking about two different things mate...

Pittonet and TDK would both be playing.
Pittonet - #1 Ruck
TDK - Forward/ #2 Ruck

The old Goldy (type ruck) would be cover for if either were injured...
Would give Mirkov time to develop, because his still very raw...
I don’t think so, messes with the system that is working. Charlie, Harry and Tom provide good pressure for their size but, not the sort of elite pressure we have exhibited this year. Jack S as third tall and chop out works and the Mosquito fleet is doing just fine.

Tom is lion hearted at number 1 ruck and will continue to grow into the role and become even more versatile. I dont particularly want another ruck to languish in the 2s. Jeremias said earlier, and ruck addition needs to be multi positional and those players are with too old, too young or too costly.

We are seriously vertically challenged right now and still managing/excelling. Apparently Freo talks would dominate in the ruck and forward…

So we can only have 3 rucks to the detriment of the seniors if there is an injury, so a VFL ruck Mirkov can get minutes? That makes no sense to me..

Most teams have 4 ruck options

Has anyone actually said we don't need another ruck? Most are in agreement that we need additional ruck support, but we need to be mindful of the type of ruck we add to the list.

On the one hand you want Mirkov to develop and yet on the other you want another ruck who can only play in the ruck. Can you really not see that they do not go hand in hand?

Pitto/TDK mainstays in the ruck, Mirkov developing (12-18 months away). If we get our talls back, someone like a Durdin could chop out anywhere down the spine.

So, I would draft a ruckman, who is a threat while resting forward. That player and Mirkov could still develop their game at VFL level. Draft another KPP, predominant defender and another KPF that can chopout in the ruck

Happy days

Never said I wanted just a stand alone ruck...

Meant all along I wanted a Goldy type "an old Ruck who can also play forward" (his role this year)
"I want a Ruck/Forward (TDK) type, not an undersized forward/ruck (JSOS type)"...

A Goldy, Phillips or that type who could pinch hit and play this role in the ruck or forward if we had an injury...
Only problem with them they'd probably want to play seniors...

Ideally I'd like a player that could help coach, also be injury insurance and primarily play as a 2nd ruck in the VFL...
A Kruezer would be perfect, but that ship has probably sailed...

Not against drafting another Ruck/Forward, to grow with Mirkov either...
Would give us great balance of 4 rucks... 2x Rucks (Pittonet & Mirkov) 2x Ruck Forwards (TDK & Drafted/Insurance ruck)

Most AFL teams have at least 4 ruckman...
Our team dynamic does not lend itself to sunset level stopgaps for mine. We have a dynamic young group growing together. If the club saw fit to trade someone in for coverage in emergency it should be a player on the verge of best 22 at their current club with some quality cameos behind them. I would look more at Adelaide young journeyman Billy Frampton who started as a forward/ruck at Port and has played some decent games as a key defender at the Crows. Joel Amartey at the Swans is a capable forward/ruck who is behind McLean of a similar age, veteran Reid, young gun Logan McDonald and Buddy, with Ladhams a big chance of sharing ruck duties and playing forward, behind Hickey.

My first choice remains grabbing a forward/ruck in the draft to develop. Does not have to be a high profile type. I already have an eye on Phoenix Foster from SA who would be a late pick, a little undersized as a ruck, but more than adequate rucking against Allies in the first game of the “carnival”. I am sure there are others out there (would take Keeler if he slides to our first) With Harry, Charlie, JSOS and TDK likely staples in our forward line for the foreseeable future, we don’t need to draft a future Coleman medallist for maybe another four years.

Phillips, Sinclair, NicNat, Goldy, Kruezer...

All OOC/retired and all are going to struggle to stay on a list next year...
Might jump at a coaching/cover for injuries role to stay on a list...
Kreuzberg? Wtf? He is already coaching, at our club! Phillips is about the only relevant mention there. There is no way Nic Nat because a back up ruck next year. He is still elite!

Never said I wanted just a stand alone ruck...

Meant all along I wanted a Goldy type "an old Ruck who can also play forward" (his role this year)
"I want a Ruck/Forward (TDK) type, not an undersized forward/ruck (JSOS type)"...

A Goldy, Phillips or that type who could pinch hit and play this role in the ruck or forward if we had an injury...
Only problem with them they'd probably want to play seniors...

Ideally I'd like a player that could help coach, also be injury insurance and primarily play as a 2nd ruck in the VFL...
A Kruezer would be perfect, but that ship has probably sailed...

Not against drafting another Ruck/Forward, to grow with Mirkov either...
Would give us great balance of 4 rucks... 2x Rucks (Pittonet & Mirkov) 2x Ruck Forwards (TDK & Drafted/Insurance ruck)

Most AFL teams have at least 4 ruckman...
I would question how many teams have 4 AFL standard ruckman on their list, Melbourne was a good example Gawn goes down and they see Weideman as that forward/ruck option as better than a pure ruckman.
Highly doubtful you are going to attract a experienced ruckman to be a third/four string option, Carlton had that option in the mid-season draft and elected not to go down that path, more likely they will draft a young ruckman to develop or a key forward/ruck not in the back end of their career as that does not seem the list management strategy.

regardless of the outcomes of this season, though a finals win should be the goal. we do had a solid and youthful list. We have solid core of key players, as well as players that can slot into different positions and roles where required.

So saying that i think we have a good 3-4 year window to have a great crack at a flag.

Our 4th ruck option needs to be a Levi type, play KF/2nd ruck in the 2s, and provide KPF/ruck/KPD coverage for the 1s.

Or our 4th ruck could be a versatile ruck/forward/defensive playing coach like Goldstein, and Mirkov could mix ruck minutes with getting some experience and development in the back and forward lines as well, so that if/when he gets a senior gig he's not a completely one-dimensional player?

That's a lot of assumptions

What assumptions?

Goldy has the ability to play a role down back or up forward - especially at reserves level.

He's incredibly experienced, and has been one of the top few ruckman in the competition for a very long time.

As such, he could easily be paired with Mirkov at reserves level, offering in-game coaching and support, allowing Mirkov to shoulder as much of the ruck load as we like, while also giving him a spell so that Mirkov can spend some time forward or back working on important skills that will make him a more versatile prospect should he ever play seniors.

It's hardly a leap.

That he's a good coach, to the point where we'd sack Kreuzer.
That he's happy to play 2's, predominantly as a forward and be a back up.

a) Didn't suggest sacking Kreuzer. No reason they couldn't co-exist with one of them having playing duties as well. (EDIT: Though if the club secured Goldy and felt that he offered as much as Kreuzer in that space, I wouldn't be totally against recommending that he diversify his experience elsewhere).

b) Of course....but that holds true for literally any ruckman we look at. It's also not necessarily "predominantly as a forward" - I'd actually suggest that a 50/50 split of the ruck minutes would be beneficial. Mirkov's ruck craft is coming along pretty well, and will continue to do so, but he needs to learn how to function as a forward rotation and/or dropping back into defense. A short-termer like Goldstein is perfect for that, because we could use 2023 for Mirkov's development in those areas, and then ramp up his ruck time again from 2024.